DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-32 have been canceled.
Claims 33-38 are pending.
Applicant, on pages 5-6 of the remarks, argues that claim 33 requires both filtered RSRP and filtered transmit power using the same configuration, which is neither taught nor suggested by the cited references, or any combination thereof. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ryu et al. disclose at least in paragraph 228 that the L3-RSRP may refer to an RSRP value obtained by layer 3 by averaging the L1-RSRP during a certain period of time (e.g., 100 ms). In this case, a filter coefficient for obtaining an average may be required. In other words, L3-RSRP is obtained by using the filter coefficient. Furthermore, Ryu et al. disclose in claim 7 that the transmission power is determined by using the L3-RSRP. However, the L3-RSRP being obtained by the second terminal using a filter coefficient based on the PSSCH DMRS. For reason above, the Examiner contends that Ryu et al. disclose that both filtered RSRP and filtered transmit power are using the same filtered coefficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. 20220007302) in view of Ryu et al. (U.S. 20250063513).
For claim 33, Lin discloses a method for a first terminal device comprising:
receiving, from a second terminal device, a higher layer (RRC) filtered Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (at least Fig. 4-5, [0048]-[0054] and claims 1-4. A Tx-UE1 504 first triggers a Rx-UE2 505 to report a sidelink—reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) by indicating a SL-RSRP measurement period/timeframe or reporting slot number as part of sidelink control information (SCI), which is to be encoded and transmitted in PSCCH at an operation 402. Once the Rx-UE2 505 received the SL-RSRP reporting triggering indicated in PSCCH SCI at the operation 402, the Rx-UE2 505 performs measurements of SL-RSRP level according to the indicated measurement period/timeframe 503. If the Tx-UE1 504 transmits more than one PSSCH intended for the Rx-UE2 505 during the measurement period/timeframe, the Rx-UE2 505 can perform SL-RSRP measurement per PSSCH transmission at the operation 502 and average across the multiple measured SL-RSRP levels by means of layer 3 filtering. Once the Tx-UE1 504 receives the SL-RSRP report from the Rx-UE2 505, the Tx-UE1 504 estimates a pathloss value. The trigger signaling for the SL-RSRP measurement reporting is part of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.); and
determining a path loss by subtracting the filtered RSRP from a value based on a transmit power filtered across a plurality of Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) transmissions (at least Fig. 4-5 and [0048]-[0054]. Once the Tx-UE1 504 receives the SL-RSRP report from the Rx-UE2 505, the Tx-UE1 504 estimates a pathloss value at an operation 406 based on the received SL-RSRP report and the transmission power used to transmit PSSCH during the SL-RSRP measurement period/timeframe, according to a simple calculation: pathloss=Tx power used for transmitting PSSCH—reported SL-RSRP level.) However, Lin does not disclose obtained using a filter configuration based on a filter coefficient for sidelink; and the transmit power being filtered, using the filter configuration based on the filter coefficient for sidelink, across a plurality of PSSCH transmission occasions.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu et al. disclose obtained using a filter configuration based on a filter coefficient for sidelink; the transmit power being filtered, using the filter configuration based on the filter coefficient for sidelink, across a plurality of PSSCH transmission occasions (at least [0228] and claim 7. The L3-RSRP may refer to an RSRP value obtained by layer 3 by averaging the L1-RSRP during a certain period of time (e.g., 100 ms). In this case, a filter coefficient for obtaining an average may be required. Furthermore, Ryu et al. disclose in claim 7 that a first terminal comprising: a transceiver; a memory storing a power control method program; and a processor configured to execute the program stored in the memory and control the transceiver to: transmit a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) demodulation reference signal (DMRS) to a second terminal, receive a report for a layer 3 reference signal received power (L3-RSRP) from the second terminal, the L3-RSRP being obtained by the second terminal using a filter coefficient based on the PSSCH DMRS, determine a transmission power based on the L3-RSRP, and perform a sidelink transmission based on the determined transmission power, wherein the filter coefficient is configured through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling for PC5 RRC connection configuration between the first terminal and the second terminal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Lin as taught by Ryu et al. for purpose of estimating inter-terminal sidelink path loss for control information and data information transmission between terminals.
For claim 34, the combination of Lin and Ryu et al. discloses the method of claim 33. Lin discloses the filtered RSRP is reported with a predetermined period by the second terminal device (at least Fig. 4-5 and [0048]-[0054]. If the SL-RSRP measurement period/timeframe is expressed as a time length duration or a number of PSSCH transmissions, the Rx-UE2 505 can perform SL-RSRP measurement on every PSSCH transmitted at the operation 502 from the Tx-UE1 504 intended for the Rx-UE2 505 during the measurement period/timeframe 503.)
For claim 35, the combination of Lin and Ryu et al. discloses the method of claim 34. Lin discloses the predetermined period is configured via higher layer signaling (at least claim 3. The trigger signaling for the SL-RSRP measurement reporting is part of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.)
For claims 36-38, the claims have feature similar to claims 33-35. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason in claims 33-35.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644