Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5, 12, 17, 20, 24, 30, 34, 40-41, 43-44, 50, 67, 70-71, and 85 are pending.
Claims 71 and 85 are withdrawn (see restriction/election below).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.
120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to
Application Serial No. PCT/US2020/052953, filed 09/26/2020. The application also claims priority to FOR application number IN201941039277, filed on 09/27/2019. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 3/25/2022 and 2/11/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive.
In a non-final dated 08/29/2025, Claims 1, 3-5, 12, 17, 20, 24, 30, 34, 40-41, 43-44, 50, 67, and 70 were examined upon their merits.
In a non-final dated 08/29/2025, Claims 1, 3-5, 12, 17, 20, 24, 30, 34, 40-41, 43-44, 50, 67, and 70 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. In response, Applicant did not amend any claims.
With respect to the 103 rejection, the Applicant argues that the prior art provided by the Examiner (“KBP”) teaches BTK inhibitors while the instant application teaches EGFR inhibitors, and therefore a person skilled in the art would not be motivated to select embodiments from the gens structure taught by KBP to arrive at the instant invention. The Examiner argues that according to the MPEP a POSITAs motivation to produce a compound does not have to be the same as the instant application. “Where the claims are not limited to a particular use, and where the prior art provides other motivation to select a particular species or subgenus, a showing of a new use alone may not be sufficient to confer patentability. See Dillon, 919 F.2d at 692, 16 USPQ2d at 1900-01.” See MPEP 2145. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would be motivated to arrive at the elected specie as motivated by producing a BTK inhibitor. The claims of the instant application do not reflect the necessity for the compounds to be EGFR inhibitors and therefore, the compound itself would be taught by KBP. Therefore, the 103 rejection is maintained. Examiner would recommend scheduling an interview if the Applicant chooses to go RCE.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 12, 17, 20, 24, 30, 34, 40-41, 43-44, 50, 67, 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KBP Bioscience (WO2014089913A1; cited in IDS filed 3/25/2022; “KBP Bioscience”).
KBP Bioscience teaches an overlapping genus structure with Formula I (Claim 1) for use as a tyrosine kinase inhibitor in the treatment of diseases, such as blood cancer.
KBP Bioscience teaches a structural example with almost each embodiment of the elected specie, with the exception of the phenyl of the elected specie is a cyclopropane in the prior art (see below).
However, this embodiment holds the position of X in the prior art. KBP bioscience teaches X can be Ra and Ra can be a phenyl group (Claim 2). Therefore, KBP Bioscience teaches all the embodiments of the elected specie and therefore the limitations of the instant claims.
It would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to substitute the cyclopropane with other cyclic groups, including a phenyl group, as taught by KBP Bioscience.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement
to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a
reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same
field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are
predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of
ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to
arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (B), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the structural example taught by KPB Bioscience and substitute the cyclopropane for a phenyl group, as required by the elected specie. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to make this substitution since it is also taught as an embodiment by KBP Bioscience. Therefore, claims 1, 3-5, 12, 17, 20, 24, 30, 34, 40-41, 43-44, 50, 67, 70 would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time. Further, structurally similar compounds are expected to have similar properties and the genus of the art links these compounds as having similar properties.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-5, 12, 17, 20, 24, 30, 34, 40-41, 43-44, 50, 67, 70 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621