DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Non-Final Office Action is in reply to Applicant’s RCE filed July 21, 2026.
Claims 10-14 are amended.
Claims 10-14 are currently pending.
Claims 10-14 have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because “wherein the” is repeated:
The method of claim 10,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20150059819 A, machine translation, cited on 3/28/22 IDS, figure 2 translation cited on June 5, 2024 PTO-892) in view of Kuehnel et al. (US 20130144879 A1).
Regarding claim 10
Kim teaches:
A method of single-use processing of data saved in a quick response (QR) code, the method comprising: {[0001] “The present invention is a process”}
obtaining an image of the QR code using a scanning module; {[0008] “The camera recognizes the QR code”; Figure 2 (translated below) 310.}
decoding the obtained image using a decoding module of an IT system to extract data saved in the QR code; {[0008] “The camera recognizes [decoding] the QR code”; Figure 2 (translated below) 310.}
processing the extracted data in the IT system, including determining whether the extracted data has been used previously; {[0009] “The medium connected to the camera and the communication device recognizes the ID, matches the ID to the server”; Figure 2 320 and 330.}
Matching the ID to the server reads on determining because the ID is only present in the case where the data has not been used previously.
enabling processing of the extracted data only if it is determined that the extracted data has not been used previously; {[0008] “a database including all ID values”; [0013] “The server determines whether the corresponding database value exists (330), and if the value exists [data has not been used previously], deletes the value (340) and imports the sound source list [processing the extracted data] included in the prepared FIG. 2 (360). The play event is executed based on the sound source list and the process ends (380).”; Figure 2 360}
Kim teaches a QR code containing an ID ([0009]), and a database containing all ID values ([0008]). Kim further teaches when reading an ID value, both deleting it from the database and using the QR code data only if the ID value is present in the database ([0013]). It is therefore implied that the data-using and ID-deleting steps only occur when the data has not been used previously.
preventing further processing of the extracted data when it is determined that the data has already been used. {[0009] “When there is no ID value [already been used], a process for single-use sound source reproduction is made by ending all events [preventing further processing]”; Figure 2 350}
Kim teaches deleting ID values from a database to prevent re-use (see paragraph [0013]). Kim does not teach tagging the data to prevent re-use. However, Kuehnel teaches:
performing a deactivation operation that prevents subsequent processing of the extracted data, wherein the deactivation operation comprises tagging the extracted data in connection with processing of the extracted data, in a manner that enables determination, during subsequent processing of the extracted data, that the extracted data has already been used; and {[0003] “The single-use data tag in the received packet is validated by searching for the single-use data tag in a tag store maintained by the cloud service. The collected data is stored based on the validation. The tag store is updated to prevent re-use of the single-use data tag.”; [0025] “The data tags 206 are "single-use" because each data tag 206 cannot be used for more than one submission to the cloud service 104. For example, as described herein, after submission of the tagged sensor data 314 to the cloud service 104, the probe device 102 discards, deletes, alters, voids, expires, or otherwise prevents the used data tag 206 from subsequent use.”; [0055] “For example, updating the tag store 504 may include removing the used data tag 206 from the tag store 504, updating a manifest of valid data tags 206, marking the data tag 206 as used [tagging], or otherwise preventing the data tag 206 from being used to store collected data again.”}
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the deleting of data of Kim with the altering/voiding of data of Kuehnel. Kuehnel teaches [0025] “discard[ing], delet[ing], alter[ing], void[ing], expir[ing]” are equivalent methods of making data single-use. A person would be motivated to make this change because Kuehnel’s approach of altering/voiding data has the benefit of allowing retention of used data and also allows identification of a subsequent attempt to use already used data as a second attempt, as opposed to an attempt to use data which was never stored in the database to begin with.
Regarding claim 11
Kim teaches:
The method of claim 10, {Fig. 2, steps 330 (processing) and 340 (deactivation)}
Additionally, it is noted that the above limitation merely specifies the order of the processing and deactivation steps. The order of these two steps does not appear to have any effect on the operation of the method. Either way, the data is used and deactivated. This limitation is therefore considered obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV C “selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.”
Regarding claim 12
Kim does not teach, however Kuehnel teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein the deactivation operation comprises removing the extracted data from the IT system. {[0038] “For example, the data tag 206 may be altered by removing the identified single-use data tag 206 from the memory area, and/or altering the expiration data 312 to indicate that the identified single-use data tag 206 has expired.”}
The reasons for substituting the marking and deleting data of Kuehnel for the deleting data of Kim is the same as given above in relation to claim 10.
Regarding claim 13
Kim does not teach, however Kuehnel teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein the determining, processing, and deactivation are performed by a single module or by separate modules in the IT system. {[0067] “Embodiments of the invention may be described in the general context of computer-executable instructions, such as program modules, executed by one or more computers or other devices. The computer-executable instructions may be organized into one or more computer-executable components or modules.”; [0029] “The instructions may be performed by the processor 306 or by multiple processors executing within the mobile computing device”}
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to organize Kim’s smartphone executable functionality into one or more modules, as taught by Kuehnel, in order to logically group related software functions and permit those functions to be implemented and maintained as identifiable software components. Whether the functions are grouped as a single module or divided into multiple modules would allow the software to be organized with the desired degree of functional separation.
Regarding claim 14
Kim teaches:
The method of claim 10, wherein when it is determined that the extracted data has already been used, the extracted data is not sent to a processing module and further processing of the extracted data is prevented. {Fig. 2; [0009] “When there is no ID value, a process for single-use sound source reproduction is made by ending all events”}
This step is made contingent on it being determined that the extracted data has already been used. Therefore, this step is not necessary when the condition is not satisfied. See MPEP 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS.
In the method of Kim in view of Kuehnel, as discussed above, it is not necessary that it be determined that the extracted data has already been used, and the above step is therefore not required. However, it is taught by Kim.
Response to Arguments
Objections
The previous objections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
35 USC § 112
All 112 rejections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
35 USC § 103
Applicant argues primary reference Kim deletes an identifier and leaves no information enabling subsequent determination of prior use, and that deletion therefore is not the claimed tagging operation. However, Kim is not relied upon for tagging. Kim supplies the QR-code acquisition, extraction, checking of the ID, conditional use, and termination when the ID is unavailable. Secondary reference Kuehnel supplies the used-tag marking operation that enables subsequent determination of prior use.
Applicant further argues Kuehnel does not disclose the claimed deactivation operation because the claims require that tagging be performed “in connection with processing of the extracted data” whereas the tag in Kuehnel exists independently of the processing of the extracted data and is merely updated to reflect usage. However, it is not clear how this argument distinguishes the claim from the prior art. The quoted phrase is interpreted as merely requiring that the created tag data be associated with the processed data. Physical separation of the tag and processed data does not erase the association between the two.
Applicant argues Kuehnel does not teach the claimed tagging operation because Kuehnel teaches updating a pre-existing tag and does not generate a tag. However, it is not clear what claim language Applicant is relying on that specifically requires generating a tag and not updating data. Furthermore, the teaching relied upon from Kuehnel is [0055] “marking the data tag 206 as used,” which suggests generation of a mark and therefore would satisfy Applicant’s stated requirement.
Conclusion
/S.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698