Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 9, 12 – 14, and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 12 – 14, and 18 a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 5, 12 – 14, and 18 recites the broad recitation within a temperature range, and the claim also recites preferably within a smaller temperature range which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “or the cathode material being prepared by the method according to claim 1”. It is unclear which limitation the above citation is paired with in an either/or relationship. For the purpose of examination this limitation is interpreted as the cathode material of claim 7 is formed from the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the claim cites “the nickel cobalt manganese lithium aluminate”, but this limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 15 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 depends upon itself.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 7, 10 – 16, and 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saito, US20230246183A1.
Regarding claim 1, Saito teaches a method for preparing a cathode material [0001], comprising:
performing a first sintering treatment (first heating (S43))[0173] on a lithium source material (S11)[0143] and a cathode precursor material (S42)[0167] to obtain a first sintered product (heated mixture)[0173]; and
coating a surface of the first sintered product with a coating agent (apply additive coating (s33))[0207][0208] and then performing a second sintering treatment to obtain the cathode material (second heating step (S63) whereby positive electrode material (100) is obtained)[0209],
wherein the coating agent is a nickel source material and/or a manganese source material (nickel or manganese)[0207].
Regarding claim 2, Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the manganese material source is selected from one or more of groups consisting of Mn(OH)2, MnO, MnO2, Mn2O3, Mn3O4, Mn2O7 and MnCO3 (additives)[0190]; and
the nickel source material is selected from one or more of groups consisting of Ni(OH)2, NiSO4, NiCO3, NiF2, NiCl2, NiBr2, NiI2 and Ni2O3 (additives)[0190].
Regarding claim 3, Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a weight of the first sintered product to a total weight of nickel and manganese in the coating agent is 1:0.0008-0.0015 (additive ratio 1:0.001 – 0.01)[0300][0459].
Regarding claim 5, Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 700° C. to 1000°C (800 - 1100 °C)[0149] and a sintering time is 8-20 hours (2 – 20 hrs)[0150]; and
preferably, the temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 800° C. to 950° C.
Regarding claim 6, Saito teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the lithium source material is one or more of groups consisting of lithium hydroxide, lithium carbonate, lithium acetate, lithium oxide, lithium nitrate and lithium oxalate (lithium source)[0143]; and
the cathode precursor material is a compound represented by a formula NiaCobMncAldMy (OH)2, M being one or more elements of Y, Sr, Mo, La, Al, Zr, Ti, Mg, B, Nb, Ba, Si, P and W, a being 0.5-0.92, b being 0.02-0.06, c being 0.01-0.03, d being 0.01-0.03 and y being 0.00-0.01 [0250]
Regarding claim 7, a cathode material, wherein the cathode material is a monocrystal-like cathode material formed by a plurality of monocrystal particles (monoclinic crystal)[0080],
a particle size of the monocrystal particles being 0.10-2 μm (d50 600 nm – 20 μm)[0166] and
a particle size D50 of the monocrystal-like cathode material being 2-7.5 μm (d50 600 nm – 20 μm)[0166],
the cathode material comprising a lithium cobalt nickel manganese compound oxide [0205] and
a coating layer coated to the cobalt nickel manganese compound oxide,
the coating layer (covered by daughter particles)[0020] being lithium manganate and/or lithium nickelate formed by sintering a nickel source material and/or a manganese source material (preferably covered with Nickel or the like)[0300];
or the cathode material being prepared by the method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Saito teaches a lithium-ion battery (battery)[0001], comprising the cathode material, wherein the cathode material comprises the cathode material according to claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Saito teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein a ratio of a weight of the first sintered product to a total weight of nickel and manganese in the coating agent is 1:(0.0008-0.0015) (additive ratio 1:0.001 – 0.01)[0300][0459].
Regarding claim 12, Saito teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein a temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 700° C. to 1000° C. (800 - 1100 °C)[0149] and a sintering time is 8-20 hours (2 – 20 hrs)[0150]; and
preferably, the temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 800° C. to 950° C.
Regarding claim 13, Saito teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein a temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 700° C. to 1000° C. (800 - 1100 °C)[0149] and a sintering time is 8-20 hours (2 – 20 hrs)[0150]; and
preferably, the temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 800° C. to 950° C.
Regarding claim 14, Saito teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein a temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 700° C. to 1000° C. (800 - 1100 °C)[0149] and a sintering time is 8-20 hours (2 – 20 hrs)[0150]; and
preferably, the temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 800° C. to 950° C.
Regarding claim 15, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 15, wherein the manganese material source is selected from one or more of groups consisting of Mn(OH)2, MnO, MnO2, Mn2O3, Mn3O4, Mn2O7 and MnCO3(additives)[0190]; and
the nickel source material is selected from one or more of groups consisting of Ni(OH)2, NiSO4, NiCO3, NiF2, NiCl2, NiBr2, NiI2 and Ni2O3 (additives)[0190].
Regarding claim 16, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 15, wherein a ratio of a weight of the first sintered product to a total weight of nickel and manganese in the coating agent is 1:(0.0008-0.0015)(additive ratio 1:0.001 – 0.01)[0300][0459].
Regarding claim 18, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 15, wherein a temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 700° C. to 1000° C. (800 - 1100 °C)[0149] and a sintering time is 8-20 hours (2 – 20 hrs)[0150];
preferably, the temperature of the first sintering treatment process ranges from 800° C. to 950° C.
Regarding claim 19, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 15, wherein the lithium source material is one or more of groups consisting of lithium hydroxide, lithium carbonate, lithium acetate, lithium oxide, lithium nitrate and lithium oxalate (lithium source)[0143]; and
the cathode precursor material is a compound represented by a formula NiaCobMncAldMy (OH)2, M being one or more elements of Y, Sr, Mo, La, Al, Zr, Ti, Mg, B, Nb, Ba, Si, P and W, a being 0.5-0.92, b being 0.02-0.06, c being 0.01-0.03, d being 0.01-0.03 and y being 0.00-0.01 [0205].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito, US20230246183A1 as applied to claims 3 above, and further in view of Fang, CN111129448A.
Regarding claim 4, Saito teaches the method according to claim 3.
Saito does not teach wherein a temperature of the second sintering treatment process ranges from 150° C. to 250° C. and a treatment time is 4-8 hours.
Fang teaches a method of making a cathode material [pg. 1 para. 15] wherein a temperature of the second sintering treatment process ranges from 150° C. to 250° C. and a treatment time is 4-8 hours [pg. 2 para. 5][pg. 3 para. 2]. Fang does not teach values for temperature within the claimed range of temperature, but the values are close enough to support a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Fang teaches the low temperature second sintering method allows for greater structural stability of the material. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Fang with the method of Saito to improve the stability of the cathode material.
Regarding claim 17, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 15,
Saito does not teach wherein a temperature of the second sintering treatment process ranges from 150° C. to 250° C. and a treatment time is 4-8 hours.
Fang teaches a method of making a cathode material [pg. 1 para. 15] wherein a temperature of the second sintering treatment process ranges from 150° C. to 250° C. and a treatment time is 4-8 hours [pg. 2 para. 5][pg. 3 para. 2]. Fang does not teach values for temperature within the claimed range of temperature, but the values are close enough to support a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05 I]. Further, Fang teaches the low temperature second sintering method allows for greater structural stability of the material. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Fang
Claim 8 – 9 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito, US20230246183A1 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Huang, CN110970604A.
Regarding claim 8, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 7.
Saito does not teach wherein the cathode material is represented by a formula LixNiaCobMncAldMyRzO2, wherein x is greater than or equal to 1.00 but less than or equal to 1.35, y is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, z is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, a is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.92, b is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.06, c is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, d is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, the sum of a, b, c, d and z is equal to 1, M is one or more elements of Y, Sr, Mo, La, Al, Zr, Ti, Mg, B, Nb, Ba, Si, P and W, and R is Ni and/or Mn.
Huang teaches a method of making a cathode material [pg. 1 para. 3] wherein the cathode material is represented by a formula LixNiaCobMncAldMyRzO2, wherein x is greater than or equal to 1.00 but less than or equal to 1.35, y is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, z is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, a is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.92, b is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.06, c is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, d is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, the sum of a, b, c, d and z is equal to 1, M is one or more elements of Y, Sr, Mo, La, Al, Zr, Ti, Mg, B, Nb, Ba, Si, P and W, and R is Ni and/or Mn [pg. 2 para. 1]. Further, this composition for cathode material is known in the art, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine with the method of Saito as an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 9, Saito teaches the cathode material according to claim 7, wherein a particle size D50 of the nickel cobalt manganese lithium aluminate is 2-7.5 μm (d50 600 nm – 20 μm)[0166], and
Saito does not teach a particle size of a particulate matter in the coating layer is 0.01-0.45 μm.
Huang teaches a method of making a cathode material [pg. 1 para. 3] wherein the cathode material has a coating layer wherein a particle size of a particulate matter in the coating layer is 0.01-0.45 μm [pg. 3 para. 12]. Further, Huang teaches the coating layer to improve stability and rate performance. Then, it would have been obvious to combine the particle size of Huang with the coating of Saito to improve stability and rate performance.
Regarding claim 20, Saito teaches the lithium ion battery according to claim 10.
Saito does not teach wherein the cathode material is represented by a formula LixNiaCobMncAldMyRzO2, wherein x is greater than or equal to 1.00 but less than or equal to 1.35, y is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, z is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, a is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.92, b is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.06, c is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, d is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, the sum of a, b, c, d and z is equal to 1, M is one or more elements of Y, Sr, Mo, La, Al, Zr, Ti, Mg, B, Nb, Ba, Si, P and W, and R is Ni and/or Mn.
Huang teaches a method of making a cathode material [pg. 1 para. 3] wherein the cathode material is represented by a formula LixNiaCobMncAldMyRzO2, wherein x is greater than or equal to 1.00 but less than or equal to 1.35, y is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, z is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.01, a is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.92, b is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.06, c is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, d is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 0.03, the sum of a, b, c, d and z is equal to 1, M is one or more elements of Y, Sr, Mo, La, Al, Zr, Ti, Mg, B, Nb, Ba, Si, P and W, and R is Ni and/or Mn [pg. 2 para. 1]. Further, this composition for cathode material is known in the art, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine with the method of Saito as an obvious design choice.
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724