DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 4/17/26.
Claim(s) 7-9, 11-13 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2014/0369324 A1 in view of Xu, US 2021/0195623 A1.
As to claim 7, Lin teaches a terminal comprising:
a transceiver that performs:
uplink transmission (Lin, page 6, paragraph 131; i.e., [0131] Preferably, when the PUSCHs on more than two different carriers and the SRSs on more than two different carriers have symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, after processing all the overlapped SRSs and PUSCHs according to the method); and
transmission/reception in communication between terminals (Lin, page 6, paragraph 131; i.e., [0131] Preferably, when the PUSCHs on more than two different carriers and the SRSs on more than two different carriers have symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, after processing all the overlapped SRSs and PUSCHs according to the method); and
a processor that performs, if a resource of a channel for the communication between terminals overlaps with a resource of an uplink channel for the uplink transmission, prioritization between the uplink transmission and the transmission/reception in the communication between terminals (Lin, page 4, paragraph 68; page 6, paragraph 131; i.e., [0068] in the case that the PUSCHs with the same priority having symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, said UE simultaneously sends the PUSCHs with the same priority; [0131] when the PUSCHs on more than two different carriers and the SRSs on more than two different carriers have symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, after processing all the overlapped SRSs and PUSCHs there are still symbols to be overlapped in the time domain in said more than two PUSCHs),
wherein the another uplink channel is an uplink shared channel (Lin, page 1, paragraph 2; i.e., [0002] Physical Random Access Channel (referred to as PARCH), Physical Uplink Shared Channel (referred to as PUSCH), and Physical Uplink Control Channel (referred to as PUCCH));
wherein each of an uplink for the uplink transmission and a link for the communication between terminals has a priority (Lin, page 10, paragraph 218 & 237; page 11, paragraph 248-249; i.e., [0218] the UE can reduce the transmission power
of all the uplink channels by the same ratio; or, can also reduce the power according to the priorities of the uplink channels, first reduce the transmission power of the uplink channels with lower priority, only reduce the power of the symbols that are overlapped on different channels; [0249] the UE reduces the power in accordance with the priority rule, ensures the transmission power of one or more uplink channels with higher priority, and reduces the transmission power of one or more uplink channels with lower priority), and
wherein if the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals overlaps with the resource of the uplink channel, the processor reduces transmission power for a link having a lower priority between the uplink and the link for the communication between terminals ((Lin, page 10, paragraph 218 & 237; page 11, paragraph 248-249; i.e., [0218] the UE can reduce the transmission power of all the uplink channels by the same ratio; or, can also reduce the power according to the priorities of the uplink channels, first reduce the transmission power of the uplink channels with lower priority, only reduce the power of the symbols that are overlapped on different channels; [0249] the UE reduces the power in accordance with the priority rule, ensures the transmission power of one or more uplink channels with higher priority, and reduces the transmission power of one or more uplink channels with lower priority).
But Lin failed to teach the claim limitation wherein if the resource of the uplink channel overlaps with a resource of another uplink channel, the processor performs the prioritization after performing a collision procedure for the overlapping between the resource of the uplink channel and the resource of the another uplink channel; wherein the uplink channel is an uplink control channel for a scheduling request used to request the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals; wherein if the resource of the uplink shared channel overlaps with the resource of the uplink control channel, the processor performs, based on a priority of the uplink shared channel and a priority of the scheduling request, prioritization between the uplink shared channel and the scheduling request.
However, Xu teaches the limitation wherein if the resource of the uplink channel overlaps with a resource of another uplink channel, the processor performs the prioritization after performing a collision procedure for the overlapping between the resource of the uplink channel and the resource of the another uplink channel (enhanced Mobile Broadband) or URLLC (Ultra-Reliable and Low Latency Communications) (Xu, page 1, paragraph 3; , page 4, paragraph 92-96; i.e., [0003] uplink control information (UCI) of the two types of services overlaps in the time domain and/or a case where UCI of the same type of services overlaps in the time domain; [0093] an identifier/a priority of a service to be transmitted, an identifier/a priority of a service/data/a MAC CE/a logical channel carried by a PUSCH". [0096] that an uplink control channel resource transmitting the first scheduling request overlaps with an uplink control channel resource transmitting a second scheduling request, and a priority of a logical channel and/or logical channel group for the first scheduling request is higher than a priority of a logical channel and/or logical channel group for the second scheduling request); the uplink channel is an uplink control channel for a scheduling request used to request the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals (Xu, page 4, paragraph 92-96; i.e., [0096] that an uplink control channel resource transmitting the first scheduling request overlaps with an uplink control channel resource transmitting a second scheduling request, and a priority of a logical channel and/or logical channel group for the first scheduling request is higher than a priority of a logical channel and/or logical channel group for the second scheduling request, the first scheduling request and the second scheduling request being pending scheduling requests); wherein if the resource of the uplink shared channel overlaps with the resource of the uplink control channel, the processor performs, based on a priority of the uplink shared channel and a priority of the scheduling request, prioritization between the uplink shared channel and the scheduling request (Xu, page 4, paragraph 92-96; i.e., [0093] Optionally, for "a priority of a logical channel to be transmitted, an identifier of a logical channel to be transmitted, an identifier/a priority of a service to be transmitted, an identifier/a priority of a service/data/a MAC CE/a logical channel carried by a PUSCH"; [0096] that an uplink control channel resource transmitting the first scheduling request overlaps with an uplink control channel resource transmitting a second scheduling request, and a priority of a logical channel and/or logical channel group for the first scheduling request is higher than a priority of a logical channel and/or logical channel group for the second scheduling request, the first scheduling request and the second scheduling request being pending scheduling requests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to substitute QoS requirement from Xu to meet the requirement on high reliability and low latency needs to be ensured for the URLLC services (Lee, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 8, Lin-Xu teaches the terminal as recited in claim 7, wherein
each of an uplink for the uplink transmission and a link for the communication between terminals has a priority (Lin, page 4, paragraph 68; page 6, paragraph 131; i.e., [0068] b) said UE discards the PUSCHs with lower priority according to certain priorities, and sends the PUSCH with higher priority; [0131] Preferably, when the PUSCHs on more than two different carriers and the SRSs on more than two different carriers have symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, after processing all the overlapped SRSs and PUSCHs), and
wherein if the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals overlaps with the resource of the uplink channel, the transceiver transmits on a link having a higher priority between the uplink and the link for the communication between terminals (Lin, page 4, paragraph 68; page 6, paragraph 131; i.e., [0068] b) said UE discards the PUSCHs with lower priority according to certain priorities, and sends the PUSCH with higher priority. In the case that the PUSCHs with the same priority having symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, said UE simultaneously sends the PUSCHs with the same priority; [0131] Preferably, when the PUSCHs on more than two different carriers and the SRSs on more than two different carriers have symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, after processing all the overlapped SRSs and PUSCHs).
As to claim 9, Lin-Xu teaches the terminal as recited in claim 7,
wherein each of an uplink for the uplink transmission and a link for the communication between terminals has a priority (Lin, page 4, paragraph 68; page 6, paragraph 131; i.e., [0068] b) said UE discards the PUSCHs with lower priority according to certain priorities, and sends the PUSCH with higher priority. In the case that the PUSCHs with the same priority having symbols to be overlapped in the time domain, said UE simultaneously sends the PUSCHs with the same priority), and
wherein if the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals overlaps with the resource of the uplink channel, the processor reduces transmission power for a link having a lower priority between the uplink and the link for the communication between terminals (Lin, page 9, paragraph 208; i.e., [0208] the power reduction method specified by the evolved NodeB may be: reduce the transmission power of the uplink channels on different carriers by a same ratio).
As to claim 11, Lin-Xu teaches the terminal as recited in claim 7, wherein if the resource of the uplink shared channel overlaps with the resource of the uplink control channel, the transceiver does not transmit the uplink shared channel (Lin, page 3, paragraph 61; i.e., [0061] discarding is particularly: discard the specific uplink channels and/or uplink signals in which symbols are to be overlapped in the time domain, and not send the discarded uplink channels and/or uplink signals).
Claim(s) 12 & 13 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim(s) 12 & 13 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-9, 11-13 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “wherein if the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals overlaps with the resource of the uplink channel, the processor reduces transmission power for a link having a lower priority between the uplink and the link for the communication between terminals” (see Applicant’s response, 4/17/26, page 9). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Lin disclosed this functionality (see Lin, page 10, paragraph 218 & 237; page 11, paragraph 248-249). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “wherein if the resource of the channel for the communication between terminals overlaps with the resource of the uplink channel, the processor reduces transmission power for a link having a lower priority between the uplink and the link for the communication between terminals” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Takeda, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20170086149 A1 discloses PUSCH, priority level threshold, priority.
Li, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220225341 A1 discloses terminal reduce power.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416