DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 18-30, in the reply filed on 9/3/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that lack of unity was not previously asserted. This is not found persuasive because applicant has not pointed out any error in the examiner’s restriction requirement but merely asserts it was not done previously in this application. This is not persuasive without further pointing out any supposed error in the examiner’s requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 20 and 24, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20,22, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimazu et al. (US 2013/0029897).
Regarding claim 18 Shimazu discloses a method of improving the sustainability profile of a detergent composition, the method comprising replacing partly or fully one or more antiredeposition polymers in the detergent composition with a cellulase, wherein the replacement with cellulase improves the sustainability profile of said detergent composition. (See Shimazu Abstract and [0002]-[0004] wherein cellulase is used in place of traditional antiredepsition polymers, i.e. it replaces them, and thus sustainability profile is inherently improved.)
Regarding claim 19 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the cellulase is selected from the group consisting of cellulases belonging to GH5, GH7, GH44, GH45. EC 3.2.1.4, EC 3.2.1.21, EC 3.2.1.91 and EC 3.2.1.172. (See Shimazu wherein the cellulase belong to EC 3.2.1.4 or EC 3.2.1.91.)
Regarding claim 20 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the cellulase is obtained from a fungal source, preferably Humicola insolens or Thielavia terrestris or a bacterial source, preferably Bacillus akibai or Paenibacillus polymyxa. (See Shimazu [0065] wherein the cellulase may be from any source including Bacillus bacteria.)
Regarding claim 22 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the detergent composition further comprises at least one additional enzyme selected from the group consisting of protease, amylase, deoxyribonuclease, lipase, xyloglucanase, cutinase, pectinase, pectin lyase, xanthanases, peroxidase, haloperoxygenases, catalase and mannanase. (See Shimazu [0032] wherein the composition also includes enzymes include at least xyloglucanase, cutinase, pectinase, etc.)
Regarding claim 28 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the one or more replaced antiredeposition polymers is selected from the group consisting of polyacrylic acid, modified polyacrylic acid polymer, modified polyacrylic acid copolymer, maleic acid-acrylic acid copolymer, carboxymethyl cellulose, cellulose gum, and methyl cellulose, or a combination of two or more of said polymers. (See Shimazu [0002] wherein the antiredeposition polymers replaced include carboxymethyl cellulose)
Regarding claims 29-30 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the wash performance, as measured by delta REM of an item, of the detergent composition comprising the replaced one or more antiredeposition polymers is at least maintained after at least one full scale wash cycle and wherein the wash performance is improved after at least one full scale wash cycle. (See Rejection of claims above and wherein when the cellulase used is the same above than the improvement in wash performance is inherent by following the method.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimazu et al. (US 2013/0029897) as applied to claims above.
Regarding claims 26-27 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the cellulase and additional enzymes are provided in some w/w percentage but does not specifically disclose it being from 0.0001% to 5% (w/w) active enzyme protein.
As the cost of enzyme as well as amount of material which may be treated are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said %(w/w) of active enzyme protein, with said cost and material treated both increasing as the %(w/w) of active enzyme protein, is increased, the precise %(w/w) of active enzyme protein, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed %(w/w) of active enzyme protein cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the %(w/w) of active enzyme protein in the method of Shimazu to obtain the desired balance between the material cost and materials treated (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimazu et al. (US 2013/0029897) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Schulein et al. (US 6,117,664).
Regarding claim 21 Shimazu does not specifically disclose the cellulase has an amino acid sequences claimed.
Schulein discloses detergent compositions comprising cellulase which is used to prevent backstaining, i.e. redeposition and wherein the cellulase has an amino acid sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 10, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 12 and SEQ ID NO: 13, or a cellulase that has an amino acid sequence having at least 60 % of SEQ ID NO: 10. (See Schulein Abstract and Seq 4 which has at least 60 % of SEQ ID NO: 10.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the cellulase having the amino acid sequences of Schulein in the method of Shimazu because such cellulase enzymes are useful in detergents to prevent redeposition and are less harsh than other known cellulase enzymes as would be desirable in the method of Shimazu.
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimazu et al. (US 2013/0029897) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Gori et al. (US 2017/0107457).
Regarding claims 23-25 Shimazu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above as well as the method wherein the composition may include various other materials including other enzymes and deodorizing materials but does not specifically disclose deoxyribonuclease.
Gori discloses a laundry composition comprising deoxyribonuclease obtained from a fungal source having at least 60 %, sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 which may be used in combination with cellulase. (See Gori Abstract [0007], [0024], and SEQ ID NO: 2 which has at least 60 %, sequence identity to any of SEQ ID NO: 1 of the present application.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a DNase as described by Gori in the method of Shimazu because such a DNase represents a material known to be used in combination with cellulase and provide specific beneficial and deodorizing properties to a detergent as would be desirable in the method of Shimazu.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M HURST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799