DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/29/2022. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (“Structural and electrochemical properties of LiNi0.5Mn0.5-xAlxO2 cathode materials for lithium-ion batteries” Solid State Ionics vol. 180 pg. 398-404, hereafter Zhang).
With regard to claims 1-2, Zhang teaches a cobalt-free cathode material with a formula of LiNi0.5Mn0.5-xAlxO2 where x may be 0.02, 0.05, .0.8, and 0.1 [abstract, pg. 399 col. 1, paragraph 1]. This anticipates the claimed formulas for claims 1 and 2 when x is 0.05.
With regard to claims 3 and 11, Zhang teaches a R3m spatial point group [pg. 399, col. 2 paragraph 2].
With regard to claims 4 and 12, Zhang teaches a I(003) to I(104) ratio of 1.2 or greater (as seen in fig. 1-2) [pg. 399 col. 2 paragraph 2-pg. 400 col. 1 paragraph 1; fig. 1-2].
With regard to claim 10, Zhang teaches a lithium-ion battery [pg. 399 col. 1 paragraph 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“Structural and electrochemical properties of LiNi0.5Mn0.5-xAlxO2 cathode materials for lithium-ion batteries” Solid State Ionics vol. 180 pg. 398-404, hereafter Zhang) as applied to claims 1-4 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Koshika et al. (US 2020/0052295 A1, hereafter Koshika).
With regard to claims 5 and 13, Zhang does not explicitly teach the claimed tap density. However, in the same field of endeavor, Koshika teaches a tap density of at least 2.2 g/cm3 (which overlaps and obviates the claimed range) [0021, 0110]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the tap density of Koshika with the cathode material of Zhang for the benefit of high capacity and energy density [Koshika 0021, 0110].
With regard to claims 6-8 and 14, Zhang does not explicitly teach mixing the claimed precursor and lithium hydroxide. However, in the same field of endeavor, Koshika teaches a method of making a cathode material comprising mixing lithium hydroxide with a material of the formula Nix1Mny1Mz1(OH)2+α where M may be Al or W, 0.70≤x1≤0.95, 0.05≤y1≤0.30, x1+y1+z1=1.0, 0≤α≤0.4 (which overlaps and obviates the claimed composition), and firing the mixed material between 800°C and 950°C (which falls within the claimed range, claim 7) for 1 to 24 hours (which encompasses and obviates the claimed range, claim 7) [0016, 0116, 0121-0125]. Koshika further teaches a temperature raising rate of 1°C/min to 10°C/min (which encompasses and obviates the claimed range, claim 8, claim 14) [0126]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Koshika to produce the material of Zhang since it is known to be effective to produce a material with a uniform composition [Koshika 0122].
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Koshika as applied to claims 5-8, and 13-14 above, and further in view of Mori et al. (US 2012/0276454 A1, hereafter Mori).
With regard to claims 9 and 15, modified Zhang teaches the method of claims 6-7 as detailed in the rejection of claims 6-7 above. Modified Zhang does not explicitly teach the oxygen content of the heating atmosphere. However, in the same field of endeavor, Mori teaches the use of an oxygen concentration of 18% to 100% (which encompasses and obviates the claimed range) [0157]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the oxygen concentration of Mori with the method of modified Zhang for the benefit of ensuring sufficient crystallinity after heating/calcining [Mori 0157].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/785,900 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to cobalt free cathode materials with lithium nickel manganese complex oxides that may contain aluminum or tungsten and may have identical compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724