DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 10-12 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the charge passivation layer comprises constituent units derived from tetracarboxylic dianhydrides which contain electro-withdrawing groups, constituent units derived from diamines which contain electro-withdrawing groups, constituent units derived from tetracarboxylic dianhydrides which are free of electro-withdrawing groups, and constituent units derived from diamines which are free of electro-withdrawing groups.” Dependent claim 9 recites “the charge passivation layer comprises a constituent element represented by -X-Y-, wherein, group X comprises a first constituent unit derived from tetracarboxylic dianhydride, group Y comprises a second constituent unit derived from diamine, and at least one of the first constituent unit and the second constituent unit comprises the at least one electro-withdrawing group; and the at least one electro-withdrawing group is selected from at least one of nitro group, trifluoromethyl, trichloromethyl, tribromomethyl, triiodomethyl, cyano group, sulfonic acid group, fluorine atom, chlorine atom, bromine atom, and iodine atom.” Dependent claims 10-12 further describe constituent units. The dependent claims, however, use different language to describe the constituent units and do not explicitly refer back to the constituent units derived in parent claim 1 (e.g., claim 9 does not require four constituent units as in claim 1). The dependent claims are indefinite because it is not clear if the constituent units of the dependent claims are the same as or different from the constituent units of the parent claim, or otherwise how they are related.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiyoshi (US 2022/0293871) in view of Lai et al. (US 2018/0230270).
Regarding claims 1-2:
Fujiyoshi discloses a flexible display [abstract; 0002; 0006-0008; 0101]. In one embodiment, the display comprises a first substrate 21, a first lower barrier layer 31, a second substrate 122, a second lower barrier layer 132, and a thin film transistor (TFT) layer 40 [0065; Fig. 5]. The first substrate 21 comprises organic material [0037]. The second substrate 122 (charge passivation layer) comprises fluorinated polyimide (wherein a fluorine atom is an electron-withdrawing group) [0066]. The second lower barrier layer 132 comprises inorganic material [0067].
Fujiyoshi is silent with regard to the claimed constituent units derived from tetracarboxylic dianhydrides and diamines as presently claimed.
Polymers having such constituent units were known in the art to have utility. For example, Lai discloses a polyimide resin having good chemical, mechanical, and electrical properties for use as an insulation substrate for display devices [abstract; 0001; 0006-0007]. The polyimide is formed from a fluorine-containing (electron-withdrawing group) dianhydride (6FDA); at least one other dianhydride, including those not containing electron-withdrawing groups (ODPA, BPDA, BPADA); and two diamines selected from a group comprising diamines containing a sulfone group or fluorine atoms (electron-withdrawing group) (e.g., BAPS, HF-BAPP, TFMB, BISAF) and those without such groups (e.g., BAPP, ODA, m-tolidine) [0007-0016]. Specific examples comprise a combination of monomers falling within the scope of the presently claimed invention, e.g., Example 1 comprises BAPDA, 6FDA, BPDA, TFMB, and ODA [0043-0056; Table 1].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known fluorine-containing polyimides, including those taught by Lai falling within the scope of the present claims, to provide their known properties to Fujiyoshi’s display.
Although Fujiyoshi does not describe the second substrate 122 as “a charge passivation layer” and Lai does not disclose its polyimide insulation substrate as “a charge passivation layer”, the examiner submits the combination of prior art meets the requirements implied by the claim limitation because the references disclose a material that is otherwise the same as claimed.
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seon et al. (US 2022/0165825) in view of Lai et al. (US 2018/0230270).
Regarding claims 1-2:
Seon discloses a flexible display [abstract; 0002; 0005; 0066]. In one embodiment, the display comprises a first base substrate BSUB1, a first barrier layer BA1, a second base substrate BSUB2, a first sub-substrate SSUB1, a second barrier layer BA2, first and second buffer layers BF1 and BF2, and a thin film transistor (TFT) [0099; 0103; Fig. 4]. The first base substrate BSUB1 comprises plastic (organic material) [0100]. The first sub-substrate SSUB1 (charge passivation layer) comprises at least one dopant selected from a group including fluorine, chlorine, and bromine (which are electron-withdrawing) [0107] to provide electrical properties that improve display performance. In particular, Seon teaches the use of fluorinated polyimide [0109-0117]. Seon teaches fluorinated polyimide prevents an accumulation of surface charges (charge passivation) [0096-0098]. The second barrier layer BA2 comprises silicon oxynitride, aluminum oxide, etc. [0123]. Seon teaches forming the fluorinated polyimide is formed from a dianhydride and a diamine, wherein at least one of these monomers comprises fluorine [0114-0117].
Seon is silent with regard to the claimed constituent units derived from tetracarboxylic dianhydrides and diamines as presently claimed.
Polymers having such constituent units were known in the art to have utility. For example, Lai discloses a polyimide resin having good chemical, mechanical, and electrical properties for use as an insulation substrate for display devices [abstract; 0001; 0006-0007]. The polyimide is formed from a fluorine-containing (electron-withdrawing group) dianhydride (6FDA); at least one other dianhydride, including those not containing electron-withdrawing groups (ODPA, BPDA, BPADA); and two diamines selected from a group comprising diamines containing a sulfone group or fluorine atoms (electron-withdrawing group) (e.g., BAPS, HF-BAPP, TFMB, BISAF) and those without such groups (e.g., BAPP, ODA, m-tolidine) [0007-0016]. Specific examples comprise a combination of monomers falling within the scope of the presently claimed invention, e.g., Example 1 comprises BAPDA, 6FDA, BPDA, TFMB, and ODA [0043-0056; Table 1].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known fluorine-containing polyimides, including those taught by Lai falling within the scope of the present claims, to provide their known properties to Seon’s display.
Regarding claims 3-4:
As noted above, Seon discloses the first base substrate BSUB1 (first organic substrate), the first barrier layer BA1 (second inorganic layer), the second base substrate BSUB2 (second organic substrate), and the sub-substrate SSUB1 (charge passivation layer), and the second barrier layer BA2 (first inorganic layer). The first barrier layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxide, etc. [0101]. The second base substrate BSUB2 comprises plastic (organic material) [0102].
Regarding claims 5-6:
In another embodiment, the display comprises the first base substrate BSUB1 (first organic substrate), the sub-substrate SSUB1 (charge passivation layer), the first barrier layer BA1 (second inorganic layer), a second sub-substrate SSUB2 (second organic substrate), the second barrier layer BA2 (first inorganic layer), the first and second buffer layers BF1 and BF2, and TFT [0180-0181; Fig. 16]. Seon teaches the first sub-substrate SSUB1 (charge passivation layer) and the second sub-substrate SSUB2 (second organic material) can be identical and fluorinated [0186].
Regarding claim 7:
In another embodiment, the display comprises the first base substrate BSUB1 (first organic substrate), the first barrier layer BA1 (second inorganic layer), the second base substrate BSUB2 (second organic substrate), the sub-substrate SSUB1 (charge passivation layer), a third base substrate BSUB3, the second sub-substrate SSUB2, the second barrier layer BA2 (first inorganic layer), the first and second buffer layers BF1 and BF2, and TFT [0200-0201; Fig. 21]. Seon teaches the first base substrate BSUB1 (first organic substrate) and the second base substrate BSUB2 (second organic substrate) both comprise polyimide [0100; 0102].
Regarding claim 8:
Seon discloses a flexible display as previously explained. The dielectric constant of the first sub-substrate SSUB1 is 2 to 3.8 [0024]. Seon teaches the substrates can be transparent [0100]. Lai teaches its polyimide has a dielectric constant is as small as possible and a transparency at 550 nm of at greater than 85% [0003; 0011].
Seon and Lai are silent with regard to the level of transparency in the visual wavelengths as presently claimed. The reference, however, intends to use the material in a display device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide high levels of transparency in the visual wavelengths to provide the utility of a display device. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the level of transparency in the visual wavelengths, including over values falling within the presently claimed range, to provide a good visual image in a display device. Additionally, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the dielectric constant, including over values falling within the presently claimed range, to provide desirable electrical properties to a display device.
Regarding claim 9:
The present claim is indefinite for the reasons described in the rejections under 35 USC 112. See above for an explanation of how Seon in view of Lai discloses constituent units derived from dianhydrides and diamines, wherein at least one of each comprises fluoro-containing groups.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues neither Fujiyoshi nor Seon discloses the claimed charge passivation layer comprising the claimed constituent units (p10-11). Applicant further states it is necessary for the charge passivation layer to comprise the combination of four constituent units to provide improved thermal stability, which is not taught by the previously cited prior art (p11).
While the examiner agrees Fujiyoshi and Seon are silent with regard to polyimides formed from four constituent units as claimed, such polymers were known in the art to have utility as demonstrated by newly cited Lai. For the reasons described above, the examiner submits the claimed invention would have been obvious to one skilled in the art in view of these references. Additionally, Lai discloses its polyimide have improved dimensional stability, heat resistance, etc. [0006; 0012]. Furthermore, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787