DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/22/2025 in which claims 1 and 8 were amended, claims 2-4 were canceled, has been entered. Claims 12-19 were previously withdrawn.
Claims 1, 5-8 are under examination on the merits.
Drawings
(Previous objection, withdrawn) Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings submitted on 12/22/2025 have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 08/20/2025.
Specification
(Previous objection, withdrawn) Applicant’s amendments to the Specification submitted on 12/22/2025 have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 08/20/2025.
Claim Objections
(Previous objections, withdrawn as to claims 1, 8). Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 3 have overcome previous objections to those claims.
(New objection, as to claim 5). Claim 5 is objected to because it recites two sentences and two periods. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 1-8) Claims 1-8 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims 1, 5-8 as submitted on 12/22/2025.
The previous rejections of claims 2-4 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
Applicant’s amendment to the instant claims filed on 12/22/2025 has overcome previous rejection to claims 1, 5-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 2-4, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claims 1, 5-8) Claims 1, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth below.
See claims 1, 5-8 as submitted on 12/22/2025.
The previous rejections of claims 2-4 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
It is noted that amended claim 1 recites the limitations previously recited by claims 2-4. However, as previously discussed these limitations we already previously analyzed for eligibility in accordance with their broadest reasonable interpretation.
As previously indicated, these claims are analyzed for eligibility in accordance with their broadest reasonable interpretation. In view of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes and the Steps cited below (See flowchart at pages 10-11 at https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/peg_oct_2019_update.pdf ).
The claims are directed to a process, which is one of the four statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claims are directed to a method comprising a step of determining or appreciating the presence or absence of viral CHIKV, DNV1, DNV2, DENV3, DNV4 and ZIKV sequences in a sample. The instant claims are further directed to a step of distinguishing which of the viral sequences encoding CHIKV, DNV1, DNV2, DENV3, DNV4 and ZIKV genes are present in the sample. The steps of determining and distinguishing can be performed by a human using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas (e.g., the mental comparison in Ambry Genetics, or the diagnosing an abnormal condition by performing clinical tests and thinking about the results in Grams). As such, the instant claims recite judicial exceptions (JEs) in the form of a law of nature and abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
The crux of the claimed method is the appreciation of the presence or absence of viral nucleic acids sequences of CHIKV, DNV1, DNV2, DENV3, DNV4 and ZIKV in a sample. Obtaining and detecting the nucleic acids in a biological sample would constitute insignificant extra-solution activities.
It is noted that the claims further require “performing reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction.” This not a particular field of use, but, rather, a generic way to obtain a read out from an existing sequence in a biological sample. Hence, the instant claim do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (abstract idea) into a practical application. Integration into a practical application requires an additional element(s) or combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (See for example, Slide 18 of 2019 PEG training at http://ptoweb.uspto.gov/patents/exTrain/101.html). Further, the steps of “determining” and “distinguishing” in claim 1 are performed separately from the RT-PCR assay. There is no improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a). Further, generally linking of the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use is not indicative of integration into a practical application – see MPEP 2106.05(h)”.
As such, the instant claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the JEs into a practical application (Step 2A, Prone Two: NO).
It was well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) at the time of filing to perform an RT-PCR assay (see Metsky et al. and Cheu, both cited below). As such, beyond the JEs, the instant claims only recite WURC data-gathering steps and generic instructions to apply the JE. These constitute insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not reasonably provide an inventive concept.
As such, the instant claims do not recite significantly more than the JE (Step 2B: NO).
Accordingly, the instant claims do not constitute patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § § 102
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 2-4, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claims 1, 5-7) Claims 1-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Metsky et al. Prior art of record.
See claims 1, 5-7 as submitted on 12/22/2025.
The previous rejections of claims 2-4 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
Regarding amended claim 1, it is noted that claim 1 recites the limitations previously recited by claims 2-4. However, those limitations are already taught by Metsky et al. As previously noted, Metsky et al. teach a method of detecting, differentiating, and/or quantifying multiple flaviviruses including Zika, chikungunya, and dengue viruses serotypes 1-4 (Abstract, page 2) comprising a RT-PCR amplification-based panel for a range of pathogens including DENV1–4, CHIKV, and ZIKV as a low-cost routine diagnostic procedure (Abstract, ¶¶ [0012], [0079], [0145]).
Metsky et al. further teach wherein the target regions are encoded by CHIKV E1 protein consensus sequence, DENV1 NS5, DENV2 NS5, DENV3 NS5, DENV4 capsid protein, and ZIKV NS5. These target regions are shown by Metsky et al.’s target sequences as follows, (see below for alignments). It Is noted that amended claim 1 recites the target regions in SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 corresponding to CHIKV E1 protein consensus sequence, DENV1 NS5, DENV2 NS5, DENV3 NS5, DENV4 capsid protein, and ZIKV NS5, respectively. The probe sequences for the indicated viruses recited in claim 1 share 100% identity with the target regions. Therefore, instant probe sequences in SEQ ID NOs: 19, 12, 23, 15, 27, 8 which correspond to probe sequences of CHIKV E1 protein consensus sequence, DENV1 NS5, DENV2 NS5, DENV3 NS5, DENV4 capsid protein, and ZIKV NS5, respectively are contained within instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6. Metsky et al. further teach these precise sequences as follows:
SEQ ID NO: 8383 is target sequence comprising CHIKV E1 protein, which shares 100% identity with instant probe sequence SEQ ID NO: 19 and target region in instant SEQ ID NO: 1
SEQ ID NO: 55008 is target sequence comprising DENV-1 NS5 protein, which shares 100% identity with instant probe sequence SEQ ID NO: 12 and target region in instant SEQ ID NO: 2
SEQ ID NO: 56214 is target sequence comprising DENV-2 NS5 protein, which shares 100% identity with instant probe sequence SEQ ID NO: 23 and target region in instant SEQ ID NO: 3
SEQ ID NO: 54693 is target sequence comprising DENV-3 NS5 protein, which shares 100% identity with instant probe sequence SEQ ID NO: 15 and target region in instant SEQ ID NO: 4
SEQ ID NO: 56869 is target sequence comprising DENV-4 capsid protein, which shares 100% identity with instant probe sequence SEQ ID NO: 27 and target region in instant SEQ ID NO: 5
SEQ ID NO: 1142 is target sequence comprising ZIKV NS5 protein, which shares 100% identity with instant probe sequence SEQ ID NO: 8 and target region in instant SEQ ID NO: 6
Metsky et al. further teach primer and probe sequences targeting the regions as explained above. Metsky et al. teach primer and probe sequences which share 100% sequence identity with instant primer and probes sequences as shown below. The claimed primer and probe sequences share over 90% sequence identity with Metsky et al.’s sequences as shown in the alignments below:
CHIKV E1 protein:
CHIKV forward primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 18, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 8383
CHIKV reverse primer (Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 21, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 7444
CHIKV probe: Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 19, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 8383
DENV-1 NS5 protein:
DENV-1 forward primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 10, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 55114
DENV-1 reverse primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 13, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 55112
DENV-1 probe, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 12, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 55008
DENV-2 NS5 protein:
DENV-2 forward primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 22, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 55964
DENV-2 reverse primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 24, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 56476
DENV-2 probe, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 23, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 56214
DENV-3 NS5 protein:
DENV-3 forward primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 14, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 56485
DENV-3 reverse primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 17, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 372276
DENV-3 probe, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 15, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 54693
DENV-4 capsid protein:
DENV-4 forward primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 25, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 57236
DENV-4 reverse primer shared 91.1% sequence identity to Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 372397, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 28, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 372397
DENV-4 probe, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 27, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 56869
ZIKV NS5 protein:
ZIKV forward primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 7, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 2397
ZIKV reverse primer, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 9, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 361427
ZIKV probe, Qy is instant SEQ ID NO: 8, Db is Metsky et al.’s SEQ ID NO: 1142
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that no amendments were introduced to claim 5 in the amendment filed on 12/22/2025. As previously explained, Metsky et al. teach wherein the primers and probes are conjugated to a fluorescent label and a quencher (¶¶ [0165]-[168]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, it is noted that no amendments were introduced to claims 6 and 7 in the amendment filed on 12/22/2025. As previously explained, Metsky et al. teach a whole blood sample (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-7 is maintained for reasons of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Previous rejection, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claim 8) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metsky et al., as applied to claims 1-7 above, in view of Cheu R. Prior art of record.
See claim 8 as submitted on 12/22/2025.
Regarding amended claim 8, it is noted that all of the amendments were made to overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/04/2024. No new limitations were introduced in the amendment filed on 12/22/2025. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 set forth in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed on 08/20/2025 still applies to amended claim 8. As previously explained, Metsky et al. teach the method of claim 1. Metsky does not teach wherein the sample is whole blood treated with EDTA.
However, Cheu teaches blood sample handling for analysis comprising RT-PCR (page 1). Cheu further teaches treatment of whole blood samples with EDTA to prevent coagulation (page 1, Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the EDTA treatment to whole blood samples as taught by Cheu into the method taught by Metsky et al. for the benefit of preventing coagulation in a sample of whole blood for RT-PCR analysis. See MPEP 2144.07. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in incorporating a EDTA treatment in the method taught by Metsky et al. given that the methods of preventing coagulation in a whole blood sample are well known, successfully demonstrated, and commonly used as evidenced by the applied prior art.
Accordingly, the limitations of claim 8 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends on page 14 and 15 of the Remarks submitted on 12/22/2025:
“Amended claim 1 simultaneously detects six viruses by performing RT-PCR with the list of primers and probes that are only disclosed in the present application. Therefore, the RT-PCR of the present application performed with the specific primers and probes is an active step that is not merely data gathering as the specific primers and probes of the present application allow technical improvements over diagnostic methods in the art as discussed below. The method of the present application therefore includes a practical application and is significantly more than a judicial exception”… “The selection of oligonucleotides, primers and probes provided in amended claim 1 are not mere design alternative primers and sequences / nucleotide sequences that can be easily obtainable through the sequences in the art. Instead, the primers and probes are specifically designed according to the consensus sequences in the present application and have been experimentally validated.”
In response:
As indicated above, the crux of the claimed invention is the appreciation of the presence or absence of viral nucleic acids sequences of CHIKV, DNV1, DNV2, DENV3, DNV4 and ZIKV in a sample. Obtaining and detecting the nucleic acids in a biological sample would constitute insignificant extra-solution activities. RT-PCR is a widely practiced routine, conventional method, exceptionally well-understood in the art (WURC). Further, the cited prior art teaches primer probe design and it is well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to design and optimize primer probe sets that allow for optimal detection. Further, the instant rejection is in view of instant claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the Specification, limitations from the Specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is noted that the instant claims recite the open-ended language of “comprising”. See MPEP 2111.03.
Applicant contends on page 14 of the Remarks submitted on 12/22/2025:
“Claim 2 of the present application discloses target regions or fragments encoded by sequences SEQ ID NO: 1 to 6 and not SEQ ID NO: 19, 12, 23, 15, 27 and 8 as alleged by the Office. Therefore, the sequences in claim 2 are different from the sequences that the Office alleges to be the same as Metsky. Regarding claim 4, there are sequences recited that are not disclosed by Metsky (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 32, SEQ ID NO: 33, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 16, SEQ ID NO: 20 and SEQ ID NO: 26). The combination of all the primers and probes of the present application are novel in view of Metsky.”
In response:
As indicated above, amended claim 1, (previous claim 2, as submitted on 03/29/2022) recites the target regions in SEQ ID NOs: 1-6 corresponding to CHIKV E1 protein consensus sequence, DENV1 NS5, DENV2 NS5, DENV3 NS5, DENV4 capsid protein, and ZIKV NS5, respectively. The probe sequences for the indicated viruses recited in claim 1 share 100% identity with the target regions. Therefore, instant probe sequences in SEQ ID NOs: 19, 12, 23, 15, 27, 8 which correspond to probe sequences of CHIKV E1 protein consensus sequence, DENV1 NS5, DENV2 NS5, DENV3 NS5, DENV4 capsid protein, and ZIKV NS5, respectively are contained within instant SEQ ID NOs: 1-6. Metsky et al. teach these precise sequences as show above. With respect to the sequences allegedly not disclosed by Metsky et al. (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 32, SEQ ID NO: 33, SEQ ID NO: 11, SEQ ID NO: 16, SEQ ID NO: 20 and SEQ ID NO: 26), it is noted that these sequences comprise second primer or probes and they are recited in the alternative to sequences taught by Metsky et al. Further, these sequences are taught by Metsky et al. as they correspond to the same target regions as the first primer-probe sequences.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas J. Visone can be reached on (571)270-0684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARLENE V BUCKMASTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672