DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. Accordingly, the drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are moot. Applicant’s arguments are directed at the current amendment. Applicant has amended the claims to present a new combination(s) of limitations for examination, necessitating the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20, 23, 25, 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furui (EP-2357427-A1: cited by Applicant: previously cited) in view of Kim (US-20140305144-A1: previously cited), Honda (US-20070245752-A1: previously cited), and Manole (US-20050150248-A1: previously cited).
Regarding claim 17, Furui discloses an air conditioner comprising (Fig 1 air conditioner #1):
an outdoor unit including a compressor (compressor #50) and an outdoor heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger #12);
an indoor unit including a first heat exchanger (indoor heat exchanger #14) and a first throttle regulator (expansion valve #13);
a discharge pipe (line from #52 to valve #11) connected to a discharge side of the compressor (Fig 1 discharge side located at discharge pipe #52);
a low-pressure suction pipe (Fig 1 line from #53/#54 to #11) connected to a low-pressure suction side of the compressor (compressor #50);
a first piping (Fig 1 lines from #11 to #12, #12 to #6, and #6 to #7) connecting the discharge pipe (Fig 1 line from #52 to valve #11), the outdoor heat exchanger (#12), the first throttle regulator (#13), and the first heat exchanger (#14) in sequence (see Fig 1);
a second piping (Fig 1 line from #14 to #11) connecting the first heat exchanger (#14) and the low-pressure suction pipe (Fig 1 line from #53/#54 to #11);
an economizer (Fig 1 first heat exchanger #30) arranged at the first piping (Fig 1 arranged at #6) between the outdoor heat exchanger (Fig 1 #12) and the first throttle device (Fig 1 #13)(see Fig 1);
a first refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 flow path #31) arranged in the economizer (Fig 1 #30) and connected in the first piping (Fig 1 lines from #11 to #12, #12 to #6, and #6 to #7) through a refrigerant bridge (Fig 1 bridge circuit #15);
a second refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 flow path #32) arranged in the economizer (Fig 1 #30), one end of the second refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 #32) communicating with the first piping (Fig 1 communicating with #6) through a liquid pickup pipe (Fig 1 branched pipe #33) and another end of the second refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 end of #32 connecting to first injection path #35) communicating with a medium-pressure suction port (Fig 1 first compression mechanism #71) of the compressor (Fig 1 #50) through a return pipe (Fig 1 first injection path #35);
a first switching device (Fig 1 four-way valve #11)
wherein:
refrigerant flow directions in the first refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 #31) and the second refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 #32) are opposite to each other (Fig 1, see arrows);
the first switching device (Fig 1 four-way valve #11) is configured to switch between:
a first switching state, in which the first switching device (Fig 1 #11) causes the first piping (Fig 1 lines from #11 to #12, #12 to #6, and #6 to #7) to communicate with the low-pressure suction pipe (Fig 1 line from #53/#54 to #11) (Fig 1, see dashed arrows at #11) and causes the second piping (Fig 1 line from #14 to #11) to communicate with the discharge pipe (Fig 1 line from #52 to valve #11) (Fig 1, see dashed arrows at #11); and
a second switching state, in which the first switching device (Fig 1 #11) causes the first piping (Fig 1 lines from #11 to #12, #12 to #6, and #6 to #7) to communicate with the discharge pipe (Fig 1 line from #52 to valve #11) (Fig 1, see solid arrows at #11) and causes the second piping (Fig 1 line from #14 to #11) to communicate with the low-pressure suction pipe (Fig 1 line from #53/#54 to #11) (Fig 1, see solid arrows at #11);
in response to the air conditioner being in the heating mode, a connection position between the liquid pickup pipe (Fig 1 branched pipe #33) and the outdoor heat exchanger (outdoor heat exchanger #12) is configured as a first liquid pickup point for liquid pickup (see annotated Fig G with dashed arrows indicating heating operation); and
in response to the air conditioner being in the cooling mode, a connection position between the refrigerant bridge (Fig 1 bridge circuit #15) and the first throttle regulator (#13) is configured as a second liquid pickup point for liquid pickup (see annotated Fig G with solid arrows indicating cooling operation).
Furui does not disclose the another end of the second refrigerant flow path communicating with the low-pressure suction pipe through a return pipe; the return pipe includes: a return pipe body; a first communication pipe, one end of the first communication pipe communicating with the return pipe body and another end of the first communication pipe communicating with the medium-pressure suction port of the compressor, and the return pipe body or the first communication pipe being provided with a first control valve; and a second communication pipe, one end of the second communication pipe communicating with the return pipe body and another end of the second communication pipe communicating with the low-pressure suction pipe, and the second communication pipe being provided with a second control valve; the first control valve and the second control valve are configured such that: in response to the air conditioner being in a heating mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain open while the second control valve is controlled to remain closed; and in response to the air conditioner being in a cooling mode or a thermostatic dehumidification mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain closed while the second control valve is controlled to remain open.
Kim teaches another economizer (Kim Fig 1 injection heat exchanger #172) with another end of a second refrigerant flow path (Fig 1 path from point “j” to point “k” in the #172, path end located in #172 on the side of point “k”) communicating with both a medium-pressure suction port (Kim injection port #112, par 0024) of a compressor (Kim compressor #110) and a low-pressure suction pipe (annotated Fig A) through a return pipe (annotated Fig A);
the return pipe (Kim annotated Fig C) includes:
a return pipe body (see annotated Fig C);
a first communication pipe, one end of the first communication pipe communicating with the return pipe body and another end of the first communication pipe communicating with the medium-pressure suction port (Kim #112) of the compressor (see annotated Fig C), and the return pipe body or the first communication pipe being provided with a first control valve (annotated Fig C, Kim injection valve #173); and
a second communication pipe (annotated Fig C), one end of the second communication pipe communicating with the return pipe body and another end of the second communication pipe communicating with the suction pipe (see annotated Fig C), and the second communication pipe being provided with a second control valve (Kim Fig 1 supercooling valve #174); and the first control valve and the second control valve are configured such that:
during an entire time period that the air conditioner is in a heating mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain open while the second control valve is controlled to remain closed (par 0048 and 0049: #173 is opened and #174 is capable of closing during an entire time period in the heating operation); and
during an entire time period that the air conditioner is in a cooling mode or a thermostatic dehumidification mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain closed while the second control valve is controlled to remain open (par 0048 and 0049: #173 is closed and #174 is opened in in cooling operation).
It is also noted that "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (in this case, “during an entire time period that the air conditioner is in a heating mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain open while the second control valve is controlled to remain closed; and during an entire time period that the air conditioner is in a cooling mode or a thermostatic dehumidification mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain closed while the second control valve is controlled to remain open”) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations (in this case, the “first control valve” and the “second control valve”) of the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Furui with another end of the second refrigerant flow path communicating with both a medium-pressure suction port of the compressor and the low-pressure suction pipe through a return pipe; the return pipe includes: a return pipe body; a first communication pipe, one end of the first communication pipe communicating with the return pipe body and another end of the first communication pipe communicating with the medium-pressure suction port of the compressor, and the return pipe body or the first communication pipe being provided with a first control valve; and a second communication pipe, one end of the second communication pipe communicating with the return pipe body and another end of the second communication pipe communicating with the suction pipe, and the second communication pipe being provided with a second control valve; and the first control valve and the second control valve are configured such that: during an entire time period that the air conditioner is in a heating mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain open while the second control valve is controlled to remain closed; and during an entire time period that the air conditioner is in a cooling mode or a thermostatic dehumidification mode, the first control valve is controlled to remain closed while the second control valve is controlled to remain open, as taught by Kim, as doing so would improve the system of Furui by improving the reliability of the compressor when switching between cooling or heating modes by preventing or allowing the flow of refrigerant to different ports of the compressor (see Kim par 0100-0101).
Furui does not disclose a second heat exchanger; a second throttle regulator; a branch pipe branching off from the discharge pipe; a third piping connecting an intersection point of the first piping, the second throttle regulator, the second heat exchanger, and the branch pipe in sequence; the intersection point is located between the first throttle regulator and the outdoor heat exchanger; and the economizer is located at the first piping between the intersection point and the outdoor heat exchanger.
Honda teaches another air conditioner (Honda Fig 1-Fig 7) comprising a second heat exchanger (Honda utilization heat exchanger #42); a second throttle regulator (Honda utilization expansion valve #41); a branch pipe branching off from the discharge pipe (annotated Fig E); and a third piping connecting an intersection point of the first piping (annotated Fig E), the second throttle regulator, the second heat exchanger, and the branch pipe in sequence (see annotated Fig E); wherein: the intersection point (annotated Fig E) is located between the first throttle regulator (Honda utilization expansion valve #31) and the outdoor heat exchanger (Honda heat source heat exchanger #23); and the economizer (Honda cooler #121) is located at the first piping between the intersection point (annotated Fig E) and the outdoor heat exchanger (Honda heat source heat exchanger #23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Modified Furui with a second heat exchanger; a second throttle regulator; a branch pipe branching off from the discharge pipe; and a third piping connecting an intersection point of the first piping, the second throttle regulator, the second heat exchanger, and the branch pipe in sequence; wherein: the intersection point is located between the first throttle regulator and the outdoor heat exchanger; and the economizer is located at the first piping between the intersection point and the outdoor heat exchanger, as taught by Honda, as doing so would improve the system of Furui by having an arrangement with multiple heat exchangers that would enable an air conditioning system to have additional operating modes such as being capable of performing simultaneous cooling and heating such as conducting a cooling operation in regard to a certain air conditioned space and conducting a heating operation in regard to another air conditioned space (Honda par 0105 and 0153).
Furui does not disclose a second switching device; a gas-liquid separator; the second switching device is configured to switch between: a third switching state, in which the second switching device causes the third piping to communicate with the branch pipe, and causes the low-pressure suction pipe to communicate with an auxiliary branch pipe, the auxiliary branch pipe including a filter and a capillary; and a fourth switching state, in which the second switching device causes the third piping to communicate with the suction pipe, and causes the branch pipe to communicate with the auxiliary branch pipe, and a first port of the gas-liquid separator is connected to both an end of the capillary and an end of the low-pressure suction pipe, and a second port of the gas-liquid separator is connected to the compressor.
Honda further teaches a second switching device (Honda Fig 1-7 second switch mechanism #26); a gas-liquid separator (Honda Fig 1-7 oil separator #21b); the second switching device (Honda Fig 1-7 second switch mechanism #26) configured to switch between: a third switching state, in which the second switching device causes the third piping to communicate with the branch pipe (annotated Fig E, see dashed line in #26 connecting third piping to branch pipe), and causes the low-pressure suction pipe to communicate with an auxiliary branch pipe (annotated Fig E, see dashed line in #26 connecting suction pipe to auxiliary branch pipe), the auxiliary branch pipe including a capillary (annotated Fig E and Fig 1 capillary tube #92), and
a fourth switching state, in which the second switching device causes the third piping to communicate with the suction pipe (annotated Fig E, see solid line in #26 connecting third piping to suction pipe) and causes the branch pipe to communicate with the auxiliary branch pipe (annotated Fig E, see solid line in #26 connecting branch pipe to auxiliary branch pipe), and a first port of the gas-liquid separator is connected to both an end of the capillary and an end of the low-pressure suction pipe (annotated Fig E first port of #21b connected to end of suction pipe and an end of capillary #92 via the suction pipe), and a second port of the gas-liquid separator is connected to the compressor (annotated Fig E second port of #21b connected to compressor #21a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Modified Furui with a second switching device; a gas-liquid separator; the second switching device is configured to switch between: a third switching state, in which the second switching device causes the third piping to communicate with the branch pipe, and causes the low-pressure suction pipe to communicate with an auxiliary branch pipe, the auxiliary branch pipe including a capillary; and a fourth switching state, in which the second switching device causes the third piping to communicate with the suction pipe, and causes the branch pipe to communicate with the auxiliary branch pipe, and a first port of the gas-liquid separator is connected to both an end of the capillary and an end of the low-pressure suction pipe, and a second port of the gas-liquid separator is connected to the compressor., as taught by Honda, as doing so would improve the system of Furui by facilitating the operation of additional modes such that having two switching valves would enable the system to perform simultaneous cooling and heating operations such as conducting a cooling operation in regard to a certain air conditioned space and conducting a heating operation in regard to another air conditioned space (Honda par 0105 and 0153) and including capillary tube(s) and a gas liquid separator improve the operation efficiency of the compressor.
Furthermore, it is old and well-known to include a filter and a capillary on a pipe of a refrigeration system, as evidenced by (Manole par 0042).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Modified Furui with the auxiliary branch pipe including a filter and a capillary, since, as evidenced by Manole, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of preventing contamination and debris from collecting in the capillary tube (Manole par 0042).
Regarding claim 18, Furui further discloses wherein: the refrigerant bridge (Furui #15) includes a first port and a second port (see annotated Fig B); and the refrigerant bridge is connected in the first piping through the first port and the second port of the refrigerant bridge (Furui Fig 1 #15 is connected in the first piping--lines from #11 to #12, #12 to #6, and #6 to #7 via first port and second port).
Regarding claim 19, Furui further discloses wherein: the refrigerant bridge further includes a third port and a fourth port (annotated Fig B); two ends of the first refrigerant flow path (Furui Fig 1 #31) are connected to the third port and the fourth port of the refrigerant bridge, respectively (annotated Fig B, ends of #31 connected to third port or fourth port); the first port of the refrigerant bridge communicates with the third port through a first bridge section which allows unidirectional fluid flow from the first port of the refrigerant bridge to the third port of the refrigerant bridge (annotated Fig B, see arrows); the third port of the refrigerant bridge communicates with the second port of the refrigerant bridge through a second bridge section which allows unidirectional fluid flow from the second port of the refrigerant bridge to the third port of the refrigerant bridge (annotated Fig B, see arrows); the second port of the refrigerant bridge communicates with the fourth port of the refrigerant bridge through a third bridge section which allows unidirectional fluid flow from the fourth port of the refrigerant bridge to the second port of the refrigerant bridge (annotated Fig B, see arrows); and the fourth port of the refrigerant bridge communicates with the first port of the refrigerant bridge through a fourth bridge section which allows unidirectional fluid flow from the fourth port of the refrigerant bridge to the first port of the refrigerant bridge (annotated Fig B, see arrows).
Regarding claim 20, Furui further discloses wherein the first bridge section, the second bridge section, the third bridge section, and the fourth bridge section are each provided with a one-way valve (annotated Fig B, check valves #16, #17, #18, #19).
Regarding claim 23, Furui further discloses wherein the liquid pickup pipe (Furui first branched pipe #33) is provided with a liquid pickup throttle valve (Furui Fig 1 expansion valve #34).
Regarding claim 25, Furui further discloses wherein an inflow end (annotated Fig B) of the liquid pickup pipe (Furui Fig 1 #33) communicates with the first piping at a location: between the economizer (Furui Fig 1 #30) and the outdoor side heat exchanger (Furui Fig 1 #12); or between the economizer and the first throttle regulator (annotated Fig B, inflow end at location between #30 and #12).
Regarding claim 31, Furui does not disclose an outdoor side throttle regulator located at the first piping between the economizer and the outdoor side heat exchanger.
However, it is old and well-known to use an outdoor side throttle regulator in systems with a reversible cycle and therefore it is well-known to use an outdoor side throttle regulator (Kim Fig 1 outdoor expansion valve #140) located at a first piping (Kim Fig 1 line going from #190 to #120 to #140 to #172) between an economizer (Kim Fig 1 #172) and an outdoor side heat exchanger (Kim Fig 1 outdoor heat exchanger #120), as evidenced by Kim.
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Modified Furui with an outdoor side throttle regulator located at the first piping between the economizer and the outdoor side heat exchanger, since, as evidenced by Kim, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of enabling independent control of refrigerant flow to each of an indoor heat exchanger and the outdoor heat exchanger with the advantage of being able to space the heat exchanger components farther apart if required by design constraints.
Regarding claim 32, Furui does not disclose a first connection pipe branching off from an intersection point of the first piping, the intersection point being located between the first throttle regulator and the outdoor heat exchanger; a second connection pipe branching off from the second piping; and wherein the indoor unit is one of a plurality of indoor units of the air conditioner that are connected in parallel to the first connection pipe and the second connection pipe.
Honda further teaches a first connection pipe (annotated Fig F) branching off from an intersection point of the first piping (annotated Fig F), the intersection point being located between the first throttle regulator (Honda Fig 1-7 #31) and the outdoor heat exchanger (Honda Fig 1-7 #23); a second connection pipe (annotated Fig F) branching off from the second piping; and wherein the indoor unit (Honda Fig 1-7 utilization heat exchanger #32 and utilization expansion valve #31) is one of a plurality of indoor units (see Honda Fig 1-7 utilization heat exchangers #42, #52 and utilization expansion valves #41, #51) of the air conditioner that are connected in parallel to the first connection pipe and the second connection pipe (annotated Fig F, #42/52/41/51 are connected in parallel to first and second connection pipe).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Modified Furui with a first connection pipe branching off from an intersection point of the first piping, the intersection point being located between the first throttle regulator and the outdoor heat exchanger; a second connection pipe branching off from the second piping; and wherein the indoor unit is one of a plurality of indoor units of the air conditioner that are connected in parallel to the first connection pipe and the second connection pipe, as taught by Honda, as doing so would improve the system of Furui by having an arrangement with multiple indoor units that would enable an air conditioning system to be capable of performing operations in multiple air conditioned spaces (Honda par 0105 and 0153).
Regarding claim 33, Furui further discloses wherein the economizer includes a plate heat exchanger (Furui Fig 1 and Fig 12, par 0133-0134) or a double-pipe heat exchanger having a first end and a second end opposite to each other (see annotated Fig B).
Regarding claim 34, Furui further discloses wherein: the first refrigerant flow path (Furui Fig 1 #31) enters and exits the plate heat exchanger or the double-pipe heat exchanger through the first end and the second end, respectively (annotated Fig B, see arrows); and the second refrigerant flow path (Furui Fig 1 #32) enters and exits the plate heat exchanger or the double- pipe heat exchanger through the second end and the first end, respectively (annotated Fig B, see arrows).
Claim(s) 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furui in view of Kim, Honda, and Manole, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of ITF (NPL: Instrument Thread Fittings, 2018: previously cited).
Regarding claim 26, Modified Furui is silent regarding wherein an inflow end of the liquid pickup pipe has a liquid pickup port at a junction with the first piping, and the liquid pickup port is located below the first piping.
However, it is old and well-known to integrate fittings into pipes and therefore it is well-known to have an inflow end of a liquid pickup pipe that has a liquid pickup port (annotated Fig D) at a junction with a first piping (annotated Fig D, first piping would be located at points indicated), and the liquid pickup port is located below the first piping (annotated Fig B), as evidenced by ITF (see annotated Fig D).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Modified Furui with wherein an inflow end of the liquid pickup pipe has a liquid pickup port at a junction with the first piping, and the liquid pickup port is located below the first piping, since, as evidenced by ITF, such provision is old and well-known, and would provide the predictable benefit(s) of ensuring reliability in pipe connectivity by providing a leak-proof connection.
Regarding claim 27, Modified Furui further discloses a liquid pickup structure including: a liquid pickup chamber (annotated Fig D); a first refrigerant port communicating with the liquid pickup chamber (annotated Fig D); a second refrigerant port communicating with the liquid pickup chamber (annotated Fig D); and the liquid pickup port communicating with the liquid pickup chamber (annotated Fig D), the liquid pickup port being located below the first refrigerant port and the second refrigerant port (see annotated Fig D).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furui in view of Kim, Honda, and Manole, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Wu (CN207702778U: cited by Applicant: previously cited).
Regarding claim 35, Furui does not disclose wherein the refrigerant bridge is connected to the first heat exchanger through the first throttle regulator.
Wu teaches wherein a refrigerant bridge (Fig 2 arrangement with pipes #61-64 and valves 610/620/630/640) is connected to a first heat exchanger (Wu Fig 2 indoor heat exchanger 8) through the first throttle regulator (Wu Fig 2 valve(s) labeled EXV adjacent to exchanger #8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Furui with wherein the refrigerant bridge is connected to the first heat exchanger through the first throttle regulator, as taught by Wu, as doing so would provide the benefit of having the expansion valve of Furui be more proximate to the first heat exchanger (and also including a secondary valve for the second heat exchanger, as taught by Wu) which will minimize the heat gain when traveling through the pipes allowing for optimal cooling performance of the heat exchanger(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESMERALDA ARREGUIN-MARTINEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763