Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindgren et al. in view of Knaebel and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art for the reasons set forth on pages 2-10 of the previous Office Action mailed 10/02/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lindgren et al. does not teach a method for determining a concentration of one or more polyhalogenated compounds in a gas stream.
Claim 1 recites determining a concentration of one or more polyhalogenated compounds in a gas which reads on any determined concentration up to the total concentration.
Lindgren et al. teaches various efficiencies in Table 1, including as high as 99.8% and notes on page 576 teaches that the “removal efficiency” is higher in a dry scrubber.
Removal efficiency is effectiveness of eliminating components from a gas.
Therefore, when for example Lindgren et al. teaches an efficiency of 99.8, it can be determined that initial inlet concentration was reduced by 99.8% so that 0.2% of the initial concentration passes downstream of the absorbent.
Lindgren et al. further teaches on page 517 that “By analyzing the dioxin concentration of the Adiox material, it is possible to estimate the total amount of dioxins captured. By applying a mass balance, an estimate of the mean dioxin concentration removed from the gas during the operating period can be made.”
Therefore, Lindgren et al. renders it obvious to determine the concentration polyhalogenated compounds in a gas stream.
Further, Knaebel teaches determining the amount of components in a gas that are absorbed in an absorbent can be determined by the weight change of the absorbent.
Therefore, the prior art of record renders applicant’s invention on determining a concentration of one or more polyhalogenated compounds in a gas obvious.
Applicant argues that the one skilled in the art would not consider the efficiencies in Table 1 of Lindgren et al. as being equal to the upstream concentration.
As noted, when for example Lindgren et al. teaches an efficiency of 99.8, it can be determined that initial inlet concentration was reduced by 99.8% so that 0.2% of the initial (upstream) concentration passes downstream of the absorbent.
Applicant argues that Lindgren et al. teaches several scrubber stages arranged in series.
Applicant’s claims do not exclude several scrubber stages arranged in series and applicant’s claim 7 allows for a plurality of samplers.
Applicant argues that Lindgren et al. is directed to a different purpose that involves removing dioxin from a gas.
Beyond removing dioxin from a gas, Lindgren et al. renders obvious determining the concentration of dioxin in a gas as noted above.
Applicant argues that “Lindgren discloses only that the absorption rate of dioxins is proportional to the dioxin concentration in the gas phase.”
Lindgren et al. does not mention “absorption rate.”
Applicant argues that the weight the absorbent would change would be too small to measure.
As noted above, Lindgren et al. teaches that “by applying a mass balance, an estimate of the mean dioxin concentration removed from the gas during the operating period can be made.”
The amount to dioxin absorbed would depend on the total volume of gas to which the absorbent was exposed, so that increasing the volume would increase the weight gain by the absorbent up to a measurable weight gain.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798