DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Group I (directed to L101 = single bond) in response to the Requirement for Restriction/Election filed 12/03/25.
The election reads on Claims 1, 5-8, 12-20, 27-33, and 37.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-20, 27-33, and 37 are pending. Claims 2, 3, 9, and 10 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12, 14-17, 18-20, 27-33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoessel et al. (WO 2008/145239 A2) in view of Kubota et al. (US 2007/0152565 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2010/0187505 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2008/145239 A2 (herein referred to as “Stoessel et al.”). Unless otherwise indicated, all figures and page and paragraph numbers references herein correspond to those found in the national phase publication.
Regarding Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 18-20, 27-33, and 37, Stoessel et al. discloses an organic electroluminescent (EL) device comprising a pair of electrodes, interposed therein at least one light-emitting layer comprising its inventive compounds as host (or dopant) material (Abstract; [0062]-[0063], [0067]-[0069]). The organic EL device comprises three sequential light-emitting layers: blue, green, and red or orange light-emitting layers (wherein any one of the green and red or orange can be defined as the second emitting layer) interposed between a pair of electrodes which emit at 380-750 nm, and wherein at least one of these layers, particularly the blue light-emitting layer (first emitting layer) preferably comprises its inventive compounds ([0063], [0066]-[0067]). The light-emitting layers each comprise a host material and a “plurality of dopants” (third and fourth compounds) ([0068]). Stoessel et al. discloses the following embodiment:
(page 8) (first compound) such that R101 = R103-112 = hydrogen and R102 = Applicant’s formula (11) (with mx = 1, L101 = single bond, and Ar101 = unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl)) of Applicant’s formula (1). However, Stoessel et al. does not explicitly disclose a second compound (as a second host material).
Kubota et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 7) (second compound) such that R201-208 = hydrogen, L201-202 = single bond,
Ar202 = unsubstituted aryl group having 10 ring carbon atoms (naphthyl), and Ar201 = substituted aryl group having 10 ring carbon atoms (substituted naphthyl) of Applicant’s formula (2) as host material in the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with high efficiency and long life (Abstract; [0058]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound AN2 as disclosed by Kubota et al. (above) into any of the light-emitting layers of the organic EL device as disclosed by Stoessel et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kubota et al., which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with high efficiency and long life.
Regarding Claim 7, Stoessel et al. discloses another embodiment:
(page 20) such that mx = 1, L101 = single bond, and R121-130 = R133-134 = bond to L101 or hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (101).
Regarding Claim 12, Stoessel et al. discloses another embodiment:
(page 47) such that L132 = single bond, R122 = substituted aryl group having 18 ring carbon atoms (substituted benz[a]anthryl), L131 = single bond, R131 = hydrogen, and R121 = R123-130 = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (11B).
Regarding Claim 14, Stoessel et al. discloses the organic EL device of Claim 12 as shown above. Stoessel et al. discloses that its inventive compounds correspond to the following formula:
([0021]) where m, n = 0-3, R = hydrogen (among others), and Ar and Y = divalent aromatic ring system ([0010]-[0012], [0015]). However, Stoessel et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the compounds as recited in the claim. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound (274) as disclosed by Stoessel et al. such that L131 = substituted arylene group having 18 ring carbon atoms (substituted benz[a]anthryl), R131 = hydrogen, and R121-130 = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (11B). The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves change in position of the substituted benz[a]anthryl group (dotted box below), producing a positional isomer that can be expected to have highly similar chemical and physical properties; further motivation exists, including the fact that the modification merely involves the selection of one possible embodiment from a highly finite list as envisioned from the scope of Stoessel et al.’s general formula (particularly in regards to the manner of connection between [Ar]m and Y), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 15-17, Stoessel et al. discloses another embodiment:
(page 28) R111-112 = Applicant’s formula (11) (with mx = 1, L101 = single bond, and Ar101 = unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenyl)), R101 = unsubstituted heterocyclic group having 13 ring atoms (N-carbazolyl), and R102-110 = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoessel et al. (WO 2008/145239 A2) in view of Kubota et al. (US 2007/0152565 A1) and Kubota (US 2007/0273272 A1).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on national phase publication US 2010/0187505 A1 as the English equivalent of WIPO publication WO 2008/145239 A2 (herein referred to as “Stoessel et al.”). Unless otherwise indicated, all figures and page and paragraph numbers references herein correspond to those found in the national phase publication.
Stoessel et al. discloses the organic electroluminescent (EL) device of Claim 12 as shown above. Stoessel et al. discloses its inventive compounds of formula (1) as host material in the (blue) light-emitting layer ([0066]); however, alternatively, its inventive compounds can serve as dopant material or as hole-transporting and/or electron-transporting materials (comprising the hole-transporting and/or electron-transporting layers). However, Stoessel et al. does not explicitly disclose a first compound of Applicant’s formula (103).
Kubota discloses compounds of the following form:
([0019]) where n = 1-4, L = single bond or divalent aromatic hydrocarbon cyclic group (among others), and Ar = hydrogen or aromatic hydrocarbon cyclic group (among others) ([0021]-[0023]). An embodiment is disclosed:
(page 8) such that L132 = unsubstituted arylene group having 6 ring carbon atoms (phenylene), L131 = single bond, R131 = hydrogen, and R101-112 = R121-130 = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (103). Kubota discloses its inventive compounds as host material, the use of which results in a device with great efficiency of light emission (Abstract; [0053]). It would have been obvious to incorporate compound BAN-17 as disclosed by Kubota into any of the light-emitting layers of the organic EL device as disclosed by Stoessel et al. (as host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kubota, which teaches that the use of its inventive compounds in such a manner results in a device with great efficiency of light emission.
Furthermore, Kubota does not explicitly disclose an embodiment wherein L132 = single bond. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to modify compound BAN-17 such that L132 = single bond of Applicant’s formula (103). The motivation is provided by the fact that the modification merely involves an exchange of one functional linking group (phenylene) for another (single bond) selected from a highly finite list of possible classes as taught by Kubota (in regards to the scope of the L group in its general formula), thus rendering the production predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786