DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages claim 21 raises issues of new matter outlined in the previous rejection. To overcome this previous rejection, applicant points to paragraph [0128] of the published application. From this paragraph, applicant contends a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Fig. 29 shows a hole between elements 26 and that elements 26 are connected, but this connection is not shown or described. Since any supposed connection is not shown or described, there is no evidence that Fig. 29 actually shows a hole instead of two elements 26. Additionally, both elements labeled as 26 were originally intended to be a single element, it is unclear why a single element would be provided two labels. Accordingly, applicant has not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 1st paragraph or the objection to the drawings.
On page 9 of the response, applicant contends Fig. 5 of Roff shows only one laser assembly. This is clearly incorrect. Fig. 5 shows 4 submounts (505, 507, 512, 513) and two lasers (506, and the unlabeled box behind lens 511). Indeed, Roff explicitly describes Fig. 5 at col. 14 ll. 29-30 as "As shown in FIG. 5, each one of the plurality of laser diode chips". Continuing on page 9 applicant appears to contend that Fig. 5 does not motivate the outlined modification in the previous Office Action. The Office did not rely on Fig. 5 to teach or motivate the modification. Roff discloses the modification in a different embodiment. On page 10, applicant contends Fig. 4 of Roff does not show "conductive layers is placed across sub-mounts (plural) that are adjacent to each other". The Office agrees. Fig. 5 of Roff was relied on to show this feature. Fig. 4 is relied on to modify the location of the conductive elements. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references (i.e. the distinct embodiments) individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). On page 11, applicant further attacks the rejection, because a "person of ordinary skill in the art obtains no hint from Roff to provide an additional path for heat distribution by the conducting bridge and by increasing the area for heat transfer by placing the conducting bridge not only on the sub-mounts byt by placing the conducting bridge across the submounts [sic]." However, none of this is claimed. Applicant merely claims "a conducting bridge" and the location of the conducting bridge. The claims are entirely silent regarding heat, heat distribution, and heat transfer. The claims do not specify what the bridge conducts at all (e.g. electricity, heat, light, etc.). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., heat, heat distribution, and heat transfer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). On page 11, applicant further contends "the fast axis orientation of the lasers is different in the present application versus Roff" and Roff does not disclose the claimed fast axis orientation. The Office disagrees. Figs. 14A-15B show a configuration identical to applicant's Figs. 2A and 2B. Roff further discloses at col. 19 ll. 14-24 "Another way to define the deviation in alignment of diode laser chips in the direction of radiation, is to determine for each diode laser chip a plane through the active area, which is an end surface, perpendicular to radiation propagation from the active area and perpendicular to the carrier. This would be a plane in the plane of the image provided in FIG. 15A or parallel to that plane. One can thus create a plurality of parallel or substantially parallel planes that each determines the plane of the active area of each laser diode chip." As would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, the size of the aperture will control the divergence and the direction that diverges faster is considered the "fast axis". Accordingly, Roff shows the long axis (i.e. vertically along the page) of the emitter will be the "slow axis" direction and the short axis (e.g. horizontally along the page) will be the "fast axis" because the apertures in the horizontal direction are smaller and will result in faster divergence. Accordingly, Roff explicitly discloses that the fast axis planes should be in the same plane at col. 19 ll. 14-24.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, Subspecies A1, and Species 2 in the reply filed on 05/02/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant has indicated that claims 1-16 read on the elected invention. Species A was characterized by a reflector. See, e.g., Fig. 2A. Applicant does not appear to disclose any embodiments combining a reflector and a waveguide. Accordingly, claim 9 is also withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Claims 9 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/02/2025.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2020/077314 and further claims priority to U.S. Provisional Applications 63/038,058, 62/982,151, 62/969,622, 62/943,860, 62/930,762, 62/927,372, and 62/907,799.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/05/2025. These drawings are accepted.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Specifically, claim 21 recites “wherein the laser assemblies are placed…opposite each other on a common base and wherein a conducting bridge is placed across the sub-mounts, wherein the sub-mounts are arranged between the common base and the conducting bridge”. The closest figure is Fig. 29 which shows two laser assemblies placed opposite to each other on a common base and two conductive “bridges” (26). However, Fig. 29 fails to show “a conducting bridge is placed across the sub-mounts (emphasis added).” Fig. 29 fails to show “a conducting bridge” that is on both sub-mounts, because each “bridge” is confined to a single sub-mount. Compare Fig. 28 showing adjacent assemblies with a bridge across a plurality of sub-mounts. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites “wherein the laser assemblies are placed…opposite each other on a common base and wherein a conducting bridge is placed across the sub-mounts, wherein the sub-mounts are arranged between the common base and the conducting bridge”. The closest figure is Fig. 29 which shows two laser assemblies placed opposite to each other on a common base and conductive “bridges” (26). However, Fig. 29 fails to show “a conducting bridge is placed across the sub-mounts (emphasis added)”, because each “bridge” is confined to a single sub-mount. Compare Fig. 28 showing adjacent assemblies with a bridge across a plurality of sub-mounts. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff et al. (US9450377B1), hereafter Roff.
Regarding claim 1, Roff discloses a laser package (Figs. 1-15B), comprising at least two laser assemblies (Fig. 1 elements 105; Figs. 12 and 13 elements 1601 and 1602), each laser assembly having at least one laser diode (Fig. 1 element 105) on a sub-mount (Fig. 1 element 104), wherein the laser assemblies are placed adjacent to each other (Figs. 1, 5, 12, and 13 show at least adjacent to each other) on a common base (Fig. 1 element 102; Fig. 5 element 401) and wherein a conducting bridge is placed across the sub-mounts (Fig. 5 element 502), each of the laser diodes emits light having a fast axis plane defined by the fast axis and an emission direction of an emitted light beam (col. 8 ll. 59-62), and a slow axis plane defined by the slow axis and the emission direction of the emitted light beam (col. 8 ll. 59-62), wherein the fast axis planes of all laser diodes are in the same plane (Fig. 1 elements 1010; col. 9 ll. 65-66) or fast axis planes of all laser diodes are parallel to each other (Fig. 1 elements 1010; col. 9 ll. 65-66) and the distance between the fast axis planes of at least two laser diodes is smaller than the lateral distance between these diodes (Fig. 14A element 1414; The distance between the fast axis planes in adjacent lasers is zero which is necessarily smaller than the pitch). In the embodiment of Fig. 5, Roff does not explicitly disclose the sub-mounts are arranged between the common base and the conducting bridge. However, in a different embodiment Roff discloses that the conductive bridges (Fig. 11 element 1204) may be formed so that the sub-mounts (Fig. 11 elements 1201 and 1203) are arranged between the common base (Fig. 11 element 1301) and the conducting bridge (Fig. 11 element 1204). An advantage is to allow different types of materials to be used for the submount (col. 17 ll. 25-30). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roff with the sub-mounts are arranged between the common base and the conducting bridge as disclosed in a different embodiment of Roff in order to allow different types of materials to be used for the submount and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Roff further discloses a prism or reflecting mirror or reflector associated to the at least one sub-mount or to one or more of a plurality of sub-mounts (Fig. 13 elements 1603).
Regarding claim 6, Roff further discloses wherein the laser assemblies are placed adjacent to each other or opposite to each other with an intermediate prism or reflecting mirror or reflector (Fig. 13 elements 1603, 1604, and 1605), so that paralleled light beams are emitted during operation (Fig. 13 shows gray beams parallel to the black beams between 1601 and 1603 and again the black beams and gray beams are parallel after element 1605).
Regarding claim 8, Roff does not explicitly disclose at least one photodetector. However, the Office takes Official Notice that photodetectors are well known in the art with an advantage of monitoring the optical output of the laser. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with a photodiode as is known in the art in order to monitor the output of the laser.
Regarding claim 11, Roff further discloses at least one of a plurality of sub-mounts has a p-side-up laser diode configuration (Fig. 1 elements 105 and 104; Abstract) and at least one of the plurality of sub-mounts has a p-side-down laser diode configuration (Fig. 1 elements 105 and 104; Abstract)1.
Regarding claim 13, Roff further discloses a plurality of sub-mounts with at least one laser diode, wherein each of the sub-mounts further comprises: a conductor between the sub-mount and the at least one laser diode (Fig. 7 element 706-709; col. 16 ll. 15-26; col. 9 ll. 9-41); and a further conductor on the other side of the sub-mount in case that other side is not an external side (Fig. 7 element 706-709; col. 16 ll. 15-26; col. 9 ll. 9-41).
Regarding claim 14, Roff does not explicitly disclose a temperature sensor on a sub-mount. However, the Office takes Official Notice that temperature sensors on sub-mounts is well known in the art with an advantage of more accurately monitoring the diode temperature. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with a temperature sensor on a sub-mount as is known in the art in order to more accurately monitor the diode temperature.
Regarding claim 15, Roff further discloses at least one conductor formed by a metallized pad between each sub-mount and a base or conducting bridge (Fig. 5 element 502 and 401).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff in view of Auen et al. (US20130272329A1), hereafter Auen.
Regarding claim 3, Roff does not explicitly disclose a window. However, Auen discloses a window ([0058]). An advantage is to allow the light to be emitted from the package while enclosing the lasers ([0058]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with a window as disclosed by Auen in order to allow the light to be emitted from the package while enclosing the lasers.
Regarding claim 5, Roff does not explicitly disclose a metallic or ceramic top cover. However, Auen discloses a metallic or ceramic top cover ([0058]). An advantage is to enclose the lasers ([0058]) in order to protect them ([0019]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with a metallic or ceramic top cover as disclosed by Auen in order to enclose the lasers in order to protect them.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff in view of Kato (US20040109329A1), hereafter Kato.
Regarding claim 7, Roff does not explicitly disclose a wave-plate section or wave-plate set to differentiate the output beam polarization originated from different laser diodes. However, Kato discloses a wave-plate section or wave-plate set to differentiate the output beam polarization originated from different laser diodes (Fig. 3 element 103 and 104). An advantage is to create randomly polarized light based on the desired use of the device ([0018]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary kill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with a wave-plate section or wave-plate set to differentiate the output beam polarization originated from different laser diodes as disclosed by Kato in order to create randomly polarized light based on the desired use of the device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff in view of Takagi (US20080192206A1), hereafter Takagi.
Regarding claim 10, Roff further discloses each of a plurality of sub-mounts are placed adjacent to each other (Fig. 1 elements 104) and is oriented such that the one or more laser diodes on the sub-mount face inward (Fig. 1 elements 105 always results in a submount 104 being on the outer edge). Roff does not explicitly disclose the sub-mount generating the most heat is located at one end of the laser package. However, Takagi discloses that it is easier to dissipate heat at the edges of a laser array as compared to the center ([0005]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Roff with the sub-mount generating the most heat is located at one end of the laser package, since Takagi discloses that it is easier to dissipate heat at the edges of a laser array as compared to the center it logically follows to place the highest heat generating component on the outer edge of the array in order to facilitate easier heat dissipation and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff in view of Mclaurin et al. (US20190097722A1), hereafter McLaurin.
Regarding claim 12, Roff further discloses the laser package comprises a base (Fig. 5 element 401) and plurality of sub-mounts (Fig. 5 elements 505, 507, 512, 513) with at least one laser diode (Fig. 5 elements 506). Roff does not explicitly disclose the base comprises a metal core printed circuit board comprising a metal core and an insulating cover; and each of the sub-mounts with at least one laser diode is directly connected to the insulating cover and the sub-mount with at least one laser diode that generates the most heat is directly connected to the metal core printed circuit board. However, McLaurin discloses the base comprises a metal core printed circuit board comprising a metal core and an insulating cover ([0327]); and each of the sub-mounts with at least one laser diode is directly connected to the insulating cover and the sub-mount with at least one laser diode that generates the most heat is directly connected to the metal core printed circuit board ([0327]). An advantage, as is known in the art, is improved heat dissipation. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary kill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with the base comprises a metal core printed circuit board comprising a metal core and an insulating cover; and each of the sub-mounts with at least one laser diode is directly connected to the insulating cover and the sub-mount with at least one laser diode that generates the most heat is directly connected to the metal core printed circuit board as disclosed by McLaurin in order to provide improved heat dissipation.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff in view of Dykaar (US20190121141A1), hereafter Dykaar.
Regarding claim 16, Roff further discloses a reflecting optic (Fig. 13 element 1603). Roff does not explicitly disclose a reflecting optic configured to perform beam conditioning, wherein beam conditioning may include anisotropy correction, collimation, and coherence control due to a surface structure or a coating, and wherein the surface structure or coating comprises at least one of a metasurface or a concave or convex shape of the reflecting optic. However, Dykaar discloses a reflecting optic configured to perform beam conditioning, wherein beam conditioning may include anisotropy correction, collimation, and coherence control due to a surface structure or a coating (Fig. 1A element 118a; [0056]), and wherein the surface structure or coating comprises at least one of a metasurface or a concave or convex shape of the reflecting optic (Fig. 1A element 118a; [0056]). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to help collimate the light. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary kill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roff with a reflecting optic configured to perform beam conditioning, wherein beam conditioning may include anisotropy correction, collimation, and coherence control due to a surface structure or a coating, and wherein the surface structure or coating comprises at least one of a metasurface and a concave or convex shape of the reflecting optic as disclosed by Dykaar in order to help collimate the light.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roff in view of Lell et al. (US20120039072A1), hereafter Lell.
Regarding claim 21, Roff discloses a laser package (Figs. 1-15B), comprising at least two laser assemblies (Fig. 1 elements 105; Figs. 12 and 13 elements 1601 and 1602), each laser assembly having at least one laser diode (Fig. 1 element 105) on a sub-mount (Fig. 1 element 104), wherein the laser assemblies are placed adjacent to each other (Figs. 1, 5, 12, and 13 show at least adjacent to each other) on a common base (Fig. 1 element 102; Fig. 5 element 401) and wherein a conducting bridge is placed across the sub-mounts (Fig. 5 element 502), each of the laser diodes emits light having a fast axis plane defined by the fast axis and an emission direction of an emitted light beam (col. 8 ll. 59-62), and a slow axis plane defined by the slow axis and the emission direction of the emitted light beam (col. 8 ll. 59-62), wherein the fast axis planes of all laser diodes are in the same plane (Fig. 1 elements 1010; col. 9 ll. 65-66) or fast axis planes of all laser diodes are parallel to each other (Fig. 1 elements 1010; col. 9 ll. 65-66) and the distance between the fast axis planes of at least two laser diodes is smaller than the lateral distance between these diodes (Fig. 14A element 1414; The distance between the fast axis planes in adjacent lasers is zero which is necessarily smaller than the pitch). In the embodiment of Fig. 5, Roff does not explicitly disclose the sub-mounts are arranged between the common base and the conducting bridge or the laser assemblies are placed opposite to each other. However, in a different embodiment Roff discloses that the conductive bridges (Fig. 11 element 1204) may be formed so that the sub-mounts (Fig. 11 elements 1201 and 1203) are arranged between the common base (Fig. 11 element 1301) and the conducting bridge (Fig. 11 element 1204). An advantage is to allow different types of materials to be used for the submount (col. 17 ll. 25-30). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Roff with the sub-mounts are arranged between the common base and the conducting bridge as disclosed in a different embodiment of Roff in order to allow different types of materials to be used for the submount and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Roff, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the laser assemblies are placed opposite to each other. However, Lell discloses laser assemblies opposite to each other (Fig. 27 elements 2a and 2b) and a bridge over the assemblies (Fig. 27 elements 12). An advantage is to allow for devices having different dimensions based on the intended use of the device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Roff with the laser assemblies are placed opposite to each other as disclosed by Lell in order to allow for devices having different dimensions based on the intended use of the device and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/Joshua King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 07/22/2026
1 Since diodes 105 have an N-side submount and a P-side submount, the first element on the left of Fig. 1 can be considered to have a p-side up laser diode configuration with respect to the N-side submount and the second element on the right of Fig. 1 can be considered to have a p-side down laser diode configuration with respect to the P-side submount.