DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, note that the preamble is interpreted as intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020). See MPEP 2111.02(II). In the instant case, the body of the claim fully sets forth that the claimed method is the administration of a compound of Formula I, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, solvate or prodrug thereof to a cognitively health subject which is defined at Para. [0102] – [0106] of the instant specification. The prevention and/or treatment of cognitive decline is therefore of no significance to claim construction.
Applicant argues that a PHOSITA would not recognize that the missing elements are necessarily present in the subject matter disclosed in NCT03830762. The identical compound (i.e., XANAMEMTM) applied to an identical subject (e.g., a cognitively healthy subject) must inherently have the same claimed effect (i.e., preventing and/or treating cognitive decline, including improved psychomotor function, improved visual attention, improved visual learning, improved working memory, improved Hippocampal dependent learning and memory, and improved speed or performance) even if not recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, the administration of XANAMEMTM to a cognitively healthy subject would necessarily fulfill the requirements of the instant claims, regardless of whether the outcomes are recognized or whether the study is focused on safety and tolerability.
Applicant argues similarly with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection over Webster et al. It remains that the identical compound (i.e., UE2343/XANAMEMTM) applied to an identical subject (e.g., a cognitively healthy subject) must inherently have the same claimed effect (i.e., preventing and/or treating cognitive decline) even if not recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, the administration of UE2343/XANAMEMTM to a cognitively healthy subject would necessarily fulfill the requirements of the instant claims, regardless of whether the outcomes are recognized or whether the study is focused on safety, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacodynamics.
Applicant argues similarly with respect to the 103 rejection over Webster et al. The identical compound (i.e., UE2343/XANAMEMTM) applied to an identical subject (e.g., a cognitively healthy subject) must inherently have the same claimed effect (i.e., preventing and/or treating cognitive decline, including improved psychomotor function, improved visual attention, improved visual learning, improved working memory, improved Hippocampal dependent learning and memory, and improved speed or performance) even if not recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, the administration of UE2343/XANAMEMTM to a cognitively healthy subject would necessarily fulfill the requirements of the instant claims, regardless of whether the outcomes are recognized or whether the study is focused on safety and tolerability.
Applicant further argues that there is insufficient reasonable expectation of success and thereby insufficient motivation to administer UE2343 to the claimed patient population. Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, but at least some degree of predictability is required. See MPEP 2143.02(II). Applicant’s arguments on pp. 11-13 regarding unpredictability are well-taken but insufficient to support a conclusion of nonobviousness. Webster et al. clearly states a clear nexus between the use of 11beta-HSD1 in improving memory and treating cognitive impairment in numerous models (AD, diabetes, cognitively impaired healthy elderly men) using UE2343, a known 11beta-HSD1 inhibitor. In light of this, applicant’s arguments are insufficient to prove that there is no reasonable expectation of success in using an 11beta-HSD1 in preventing/treating cognitive decline in a wide range of subjects as taught by Webster et al. and merely provide that there is no absolute expectation of success.
Applicant suggests unexpected results at p. 14. While the results are acknowledged, applicant is reminded that the burden is on applicant to establish that results are unexpected and significant and to explain proffered data. See MPEP 716.02(b). In the instant case, results show efficacy of UE2343 in various tests of cognitive health compared to placebo but it is unclear how these results can be considered unexpected in view of the teachings of Webster et al. Applicant is also reminded that unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See MPEP 716.02(d). The claims are drawn to both prevention and treatment of cognitive decline in cognitively health subjects and only claim 7 limits the compound of Formula I to UE2343.
With respect to the 103 rejection over NCT03830762, the identical compound (i.e., XANAMEMTM) applied to an identical subject (e.g., a cognitively healthy subject) must inherently have the same claimed effect (i.e., preventing and/or treating cognitive decline, including improved psychomotor function, improved visual attention, improved visual learning, improved working memory, improved Hippocampal dependent learning and memory, and improved speed or performance) even if not recognized in the art. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the claimed chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. Consequently, the administration of XANAMEMTM to a cognitively healthy subject would necessarily fulfill the requirements of the instant claims, regardless of whether the outcomes are recognized or whether the study is focused on safety and tolerability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NCT03830762 (provided as cite no. C4 on IDS filed 3/29/22).
NCT03830762 teaches the oral administration of XanamemTM to cognitively healthy subjects. The subjects are 50 to 75 and in good health (Brief Summary). Doses of 20mg or 30mg are administered daily (Brief Summary, Detailed Description). Instant claims drawn to outcomes are inherent to said administration. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 31 are anticipated.
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Claims 1, 3-7, 12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Webster et al (provided as cite no. C8 on IDS filed 3/29/22).
Webster teaches administration of UE2343 which is equivalent to the elected species (compound 4, p. 401) to healthy subjects (including males). Doses of 10, 20 and 35 mg were administered twice daily (p. 399). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this reads on the administration of the elected species to the claimed patient population (a cognitively healthy subject). Claims drawn to patient outcomes are drawn to inherent properties upon administration. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, 12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NCT03830762 (provided as cite no. C4 on IDS filed 3/29/22).
NCT03830762 teaches the oral administration of XanamemTM to cognitively healthy subjects. The subjects are 50 to 75 and in good health (Brief Summary). Doses of 20mg or 30mg are administered daily (Brief Summary, Detailed Description). Instant claims drawn to outcomes are inherent to said administration.
NCT03830762 does not teach a twice-daily dosage of 10 mg per dosage.
Modification of dosage and dose scheduling is routine in the art and amounts to routine optimization. A PHOSITA would have found the dosing parameters of claim 30 obvious in view of the once-daily 20mg or 30mg dosage taught by NCT03830762. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23 and 30-31 are obvious.
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster et al. (provided as cite no. C8 on IDS filed 3/29/22).
Webster teaches administration of UE2343 which is equivalent to the elected species (compound 4, p. 401) to healthy subjects. Doses of 10, 20 and 35 mg were administered twice daily (p. 399). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this reads on the administration of the elected species to the claimed patient population (a cognitively healthy subject). Claims drawn to patient outcomes are drawn to inherent properties upon administration.
Webster does not teach administration to cognitively healthy subjects wherein the subject has an increased risk of cognitive decline (claims 9 and 11).
Webster teaches UE2343 as a 11beta-HSD1 inhibitor and its use for treating AD (Conclusions and Implications, Abstract). “In aged rodents, modulation of 11β-HSD1 by genetic knockdown or pharmacological inhibition improves memory ..., while treatment of cognitively impaired healthy elderly men and patients with type 2 diabetes, with the non-selective 11β-HSD1 inhibitor carbenoxolone, has been shown to improve memory.” (Introduction, p. 397). A PHOSITA would have been motivated to administer UE2343 to subjects at increased risk of cognitive decline in view of these teachings. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in preventing and/or treating cognitive decline based on its known 11beta-HSD1 inhibitory activity. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21-23, 28 and 30-31 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JED A KUCHARCZK/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623