DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-16, and 18-21 are pending. Claim 7 is canceled. Claims 4 and 17 are previously canceled. Claims 1, 12, 13, and 18 are amended. Claims 3, 5-6, 8-11, 15-16, and 19-21 are previously presented. Claims 2 and 14 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on page 13 of the remarks that primary reference CHEN does not disclose “charging state prompt information” and “charging completion prompt information”, it is submitted that the “charging state prompt information” and “charging completion prompt information” are not specifically defined in the claims, allowing for a broad interpretation. In CHEN, when the electronic ink display apparatus is powered on and started normally (and is thus charged), it transmits tag information to the writer. The writer (which corresponds to the claimed “terminal equipment”) then sends the tag information to the server, wherein the sending of the tag information reads on the claimed recitation “outputting charging completion prompt information” within the broadest reasonable interpretation. It is therefore maintained that CHEN discloses “charging state prompt information” and “charging completion prompt information” within the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended recitations of “an amount of electricity in a capacitor”, “a stop transmission instruction”, “a retransmission instruction”, and “a suspension transmission instruction” as recited in independent claim(s) 1, 12, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly found reference BAARMAN is relied upon to teach the recitations of “an amount of electricity in a capacitor”, and newly found reference VYTLA is relied upon to teach the recitations of “a stop transmission instruction”, “a retransmission instruction”, and “a suspension transmission instruction” as described in the rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitations “the completion of the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor of the electronic ink display apparatus is not less than a rated amount of electricity, the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the electronic ink display apparatus to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 12, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, the comma before “an amount of electricity” should be removed.
In claim 10, line 3, it is not clear if “the connection” is the same or different than “the wireless communication connection” as recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted as referring to the same connection.
In claim 12, line 9, “a data update instruction” should be changed to --the data update instruction--.
In claim 18, line 19, “that” should be removed before “the first charging and communication device”.
In claim 18, lines 19-20, “a data update instruction” should be changed to --the data update instruction--.
In claim 18, line 27, --the-- should be inserted before “target update content”.
In claim 18, line 39, “230” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 8-11, 18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (CN110533141A; cited in previous office action; English Machine translation was included with previous office action) in view of ESPINOZA (WO2015/075500; cited in previous office action), BAARMAN (US Pub. No. 2014/0103870), and VYTLA (US Pub. No. 2015/0358389).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN discloses a control method of an electronic ink display apparatus (100, Fig. 3), applied to a terminal equipment (200, Fig. 3), and comprising:
charging the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0045: This embodiment utilizes the characteristics of the ink screen that it can supply power when refreshing the display and can maintain the display when there is no power. It can implement the writing operation of the ink screen electronic tag without the need for a built-in or external power supply, thereby achieving the purpose of saving energy and reducing costs on the basis of the electronicization of the ink screen electronic tag; ¶ 0048: the data to be written and the wireless power are provided by the writer. The writer first provides wireless power to the ink screen electronic tag. After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components, the communication module communicates wirelessly with the writer to obtain the data to be written; ¶ 0055: wireless charging receiving coil 130 and the rectifier module 140 in the e-ink electronic tag can convert wireless energy into a stable DC power supply in this electromagnetic field to power the control module of the e-ink electronic tag. After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed);
outputting charging state prompt information, wherein outputting the charging state prompt information includes: outputting charging completion prompt information in response to a completion of the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties.; ¶ 0062: After the electronic tag on the ink screen is started, it sends the tag information to the writer; ¶ 0064: the writer can send tag information to the server via WLAN, Bluetooth, NFC, infrared, etc. to query the data to be written from the server; sending tag information to the server may read on the “outputting charging completion prompt information”); and
after the terminal equipment establishes a wireless communication connection with the electronic ink display apparatus, receiving a data update instruction (¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information) and sending target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed; ¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information and sends the data to be written to the electronic tag of the ink screen; ¶ 0064: the ink screen electronic tag receives the data to be written).
CHEN fails to disclose receiving the data update instruction includes: receiving a click instruction of a data update button displayed on the terminal equipment; and if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of electronic ink display apparatus is completed, recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction; and the control method of the electronic ink display apparatus further comprising: if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is not completed, not recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction.
ESPINOZA discloses receiving the data update instruction includes: receiving a click instruction of a data update button displayed on the terminal equipment (page 5, line 36 – page 6, line 1: A "push update" button 208 enables a user of the application 200 to transmit an update to the electronic ink display element 14 on demand instead of waiting for a next scheduled update). CHEN discloses receiving the data update instruction and sending target update content only when the charging state prompt notification indicates that the charging of the electronic ink display is completed (see ¶ 0045: After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components…; and ¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out…), and including the data update button of ESPINOZA in the control method of CHEN teaches “if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of electronic ink display apparatus is completed, recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction” and “if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is not completed, not recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction”. For example, if the electronic ink display has received power and is powered on as disclosed in CHEN, and then the data update button of ESPINOZA is pressed, an update will be transmitted to the electronic ink display (“recognizing the click instruction”), whereas if the data update button of ESPINOZA is pressed before the electronic ink display has finished receiving power and is power on, then the update will not be transmitted (“not recognizing the click instruction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the click instruction of the data update button of ESPINOZA into the control method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of a control method of an electronic ink display apparatus including a click instruction of the data update button. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience by allowing for manual data updates in addition to the automatic updates of CHEN.
CHEN fails to disclose the completion of the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor of the electronic ink display apparatus is not less than a rated amount of electricity, the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the electronic ink display apparatus to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time.
BAARMAN discloses the completion of the charging of the [apparatus] (14, Fig. 1) indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor (72, Fig. 1) of the [apparatus] is not less than a rated amount of electricity (¶ 0029: power stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 is used to charge the battery 100 over an extended timeframe suitable for battery charging. Accordingly, power can be quickly stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 and used to continue to charge the battery 100 even after the remote control 14 is removed from the inductive power supply 12. In some applications, the power stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 may be used to provide a short-term source of power for the remote control 14. For example, in some applications, the remote control 14 may be capable of drawing power directly from the charge storage capacitor 72. In such embodiments, the remote control 14 can be charged sufficiently to function much more quickly than would be required if the system relied solely on battery charging), the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the [apparatus] to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time (¶ 0013: the present invention allows the secondary power circuit to quickly store sufficient power to operate the electronic device for at least a short period; ¶ 0029: see above). It would be obvious to apply the charging of a capacitor to an amount of electricity required as disclosed in BAARMAN to the electronic ink display apparatus of the control method of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the charging of a capacitor to an amount of electricity required as disclosed in BAARMAN into the control method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of a control method of an electronic ink display apparatus which has a capacitor that is charged to a required amount of electricity. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to permit the electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to function more quickly compared to relying solely on battery charging (BAARMAN, ¶ 0029).
CHEN fails to disclose after receiving the data update instruction and sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus, the control method of the electronic ink display apparatus further comprises: receiving a stop transmission instruction to stop sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus, and outputting stop transmission prompt information; receiving a retransmission instruction, resending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus, and outputting retransmission prompt information; and receiving a suspension transmission instruction to suspend the sending of the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus, and outputting suspension transmission prompt information.
VYTLA discloses after receiving the data update instruction and sending the target update content to the [apparatus], the control method of the [apparatus] further comprises: receiving a stop transmission instruction (¶ 0046: cancel transfers) to stop sending the target update content to the [apparatus], and outputting stop transmission prompt information (¶ 0046: user interface can indicate transfer status and progress); receiving a retransmission instruction (¶ 0046: resume transfer), resending the target update content to the [apparatus], and outputting retransmission prompt information (¶ 0046: user interface can indicate transfer status and progress); and receiving a suspension transmission instruction (¶ 0046: pause transfer) to suspend the sending of the target update content to the [apparatus], and outputting suspension transmission prompt information (¶ 0040: the data transfer manager on the client system then sends a file transfer request to a server system in the product data management system. The file transfer request can be, for example, a file download request or a file upload request; ¶ 0046: Users of client system 302 can initiate file transfers between file server 306 and client system 302 by invoking data transfer manager 304. The file transfers may be initiated in various manners. For example, in disclosed embodiments, a user of client system 302 can interact with a user interface that allows the user to initiate a file transfer. The user interface may also display various functionality features, such as “pause”, “resume”, and “cancel” features. The user interface can indicate transfer status and progress, along with any errors and interruptions. In a particular embodiment, a user can monitor multiple file transfers in the user interface and pause, resume, or cancel the transfers at any time). It would be obvious to include the transmission instructions as disclosed in VYTLA for the electronic ink display apparatus target update content transmissions of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the stop transmission, retransmission, and suspension transmission instructions as disclosed in VYTLA into the control method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of a control method of an electronic ink display apparatus including stop transmission, retransmission, and suspension transmission instructions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user greater control over the sending of the target update content of CHEN.
Regarding claim 2, CHEN discloses charging the electronic ink display apparatus includes: in response to the establishment of the wireless communication connection of the terminal equipment to the electronic ink display apparatus, wirelessly charging the electronic ink display apparatus; or, in response to the electronic ink display apparatus entering a wireless field provided by the terminal equipment, wirelessly charging the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN discloses charging the electronic ink display apparatus includes: charging the electronic ink display apparatus through a near field communication technology; and sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus includes: sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus through another near field communication technology (¶ 0047-0049).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN discloses obtaining an identification of the electronic ink display apparatus; and sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus includes: sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus according to the identification of the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0062).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN discloses after a transmission of the target update content is completed and before an update of the electronic ink display apparatus is completed, outputting update incompletion prompt information and charging the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN discloses in response to a completion of an update of the electronic ink display apparatus, outputting update completion prompt information (¶ 0065).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN as modified by ESPINOZA, BAARMAN, and VYTLA teaches the control method of the electronic ink display apparatus as applied to claim 1 but CHEN fails to disclose obtaining information about the connection between the terminal equipment and the electronic ink display apparatus; and outputting connection state prompt information according to the information about the connection.
ESPINOZA further discloses obtaining information about the connection between the terminal equipment and the electronic ink display apparatus; and outputting connection state prompt information according to the information about the connection (page 4: An application on the wireless terminal 10 provides users with the ability to verify a communication link to the electronic ink display element 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the information about the connection of ESPINOZA into the control method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of a control method of an electronic ink display apparatus including information about the connection. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 11, CHEN discloses receiving an instruction for a connection to at least one electronic ink display apparatus; scanning electronic ink display apparatuses within a predetermined range; and establishing a wireless communication connection with at least one electronic ink display apparatus within the predetermined range (¶ 0049).
Regarding claim 18, CHEN discloses a terminal equipment (200, Fig. 3), comprising a first charging and communication device (230/250, Fig. 5), a first processor (220, Figs. 4 & 5), and an output device (270, Fig. 4), wherein
the first charging and communication device is configured to charge an electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0045: This embodiment utilizes the characteristics of the ink screen that it can supply power when refreshing the display and can maintain the display when there is no power. It can implement the writing operation of the ink screen electronic tag without the need for a built-in or external power supply, thereby achieving the purpose of saving energy and reducing costs on the basis of the electronicization of the ink screen electronic tag; ¶ 0048: the data to be written and the wireless power are provided by the writer. The writer first provides wireless power to the ink screen electronic tag. After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components, the communication module communicates wirelessly with the writer to obtain the data to be written; ¶ 0055: wireless charging receiving coil 130 and the rectifier module 140 in the e-ink electronic tag can convert wireless energy into a stable DC power supply in this electromagnetic field to power the control module of the e-ink electronic tag. After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed);
the first processor is configured to control the output device to output charging state prompt information, outputting the charging state prompt information includes: outputting charging completion prompt information in response to a completion of the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties.; ¶ 0062: After the electronic tag on the ink screen is started, it sends the tag information to the writer; ¶ 0064: the writer can send tag information to the server via WLAN, Bluetooth, NFC, infrared, etc. to query the data to be written from the server; sending tag information to the server may read on the “outputting charging completion prompt information”);
the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a data update instruction after the terminal equipment establishes a wireless communication connection with the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information); and
the first processor is further configured to control, in response to the data update instruction, the first charging and communication device to send target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed; ¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information and sends the data to be written to the electronic tag of the ink screen; ¶ 0064: the ink screen electronic tag receives the data to be written).
CHEN fails to disclose the completion of the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor of the electronic ink display apparatus is not less than a rated amount of electricity, the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the electronic ink display apparatus to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time.
BAARMAN discloses the completion of the charging of the [apparatus] (14, Fig. 1) indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor (72, Fig. 1) of the [apparatus] is not less than a rated amount of electricity (¶ 0029: power stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 is used to charge the battery 100 over an extended timeframe suitable for battery charging. Accordingly, power can be quickly stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 and used to continue to charge the battery 100 even after the remote control 14 is removed from the inductive power supply 12. In some applications, the power stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 may be used to provide a short-term source of power for the remote control 14. For example, in some applications, the remote control 14 may be capable of drawing power directly from the charge storage capacitor 72. In such embodiments, the remote control 14 can be charged sufficiently to function much more quickly than would be required if the system relied solely on battery charging), the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the [apparatus] to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time (¶ 0013: the present invention allows the secondary power circuit to quickly store sufficient power to operate the electronic device for at least a short period; ¶ 0029: see above). It would be obvious to apply the charging of a capacitor to an amount of electricity required as disclosed in BAARMAN to the electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the charging of a capacitor to an amount of electricity required as disclosed in BAARMAN into the terminal equipment of CHEN to produce an expected result of a terminal equipment which charges a capacitor to a required amount of electricity. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to permit the electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to function more quickly compared to relying solely on battery charging (BAARMAN, ¶ 0029).
CHEN fails to disclose the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a data update instruction includes: receiving a click instruction of a data update button displayed on the terminal equipment; and if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of electronic ink display apparatus is completed, recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction; the first processor is further configured to not recognize the click instruction as the data update instruction if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is not completed.
ESPINOZA discloses the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a data update instruction includes: receiving a click instruction of a data update button displayed on the terminal equipment (page 5, line 36 – page 6, line 1: A "push update" button 208 enables a user of the application 200 to transmit an update to the electronic ink display element 14 on demand instead of waiting for a next scheduled update). CHEN discloses receiving the data update instruction and sending target update content only when the charging state prompt notification indicates that the charging of the electronic ink display is completed (see ¶ 0045: After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components…; and ¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out…), and including the data update button of ESPINOZA in the terminal equipment of CHEN teaches “if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of electronic ink display apparatus is completed, recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction” and “not recognize the click instruction as the data update instruction if the charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is not completed”. For example, if the electronic ink display has received power and is powered on as disclosed in CHEN, and then the data update button of ESPINOZA is pressed, an update will be transmitted to the electronic ink display (“recognizing the click instruction”), whereas if the data update button of ESPINOZA is pressed before the electronic ink display has finished receiving power and is power on, then the update will not be transmitted (“not recognize the click instruction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the click instruction of the data update button of ESPINOZA into the terminal equipment of CHEN to produce an expected result of a terminal equipment including a click instruction of the data update button. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience by allowing for manual data updates in addition to the automatic updates of CHEN.
CHEN fails to disclose after the first charging and communication device sends target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus: the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a stop transmission instruction, and the first processor is further configured to stop sending the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus and control the output device to output stop transmission prompt information; the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a retransmission instruction, and the first processor is further configured to resend the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus and control the output device to output retransmission prompt information; the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a suspension transmission instruction. and the first processor is further configured to suspend the sending of the target update content to the electronic ink display apparatus and control the output device 230 to output suspension transmission prompt information.
VYTLA discloses after the first charging and communication device sends target update content to the [apparatus]: the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a stop transmission instruction (¶ 0046: cancel transfer), and the first processor is further configured to stop sending the target update content to the [apparatus] and control the output device to output stop transmission prompt information (¶ 0046: user interface can indicate transfer status and progress); the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a retransmission instruction (¶ 0046: resume transfer), and the first processor is further configured to resend the target update content to the [apparatus] and control the output device to output retransmission prompt information (¶ 0046: user interface can indicate transfer status and progress); the first charging and communication device is further configured to receive a suspension transmission instruction (¶ 0046: pause transfer), and the first processor is further configured to suspend the sending of the target update content to the [apparatus] and control the output device 230 to output suspension transmission prompt information (¶ 0040: the data transfer manager on the client system then sends a file transfer request to a server system in the product data management system. The file transfer request can be, for example, a file download request or a file upload request; ¶ 0046: Users of client system 302 can initiate file transfers between file server 306 and client system 302 by invoking data transfer manager 304. The file transfers may be initiated in various manners. For example, in disclosed embodiments, a user of client system 302 can interact with a user interface that allows the user to initiate a file transfer. The user interface may also display various functionality features, such as “pause”, “resume”, and “cancel” features. The user interface can indicate transfer status and progress, along with any errors and interruptions. In a particular embodiment, a user can monitor multiple file transfers in the user interface and pause, resume, or cancel the transfers at any time). It would be obvious to include the transmission instructions as disclosed in VYTLA for the electronic ink display apparatus target update content transmissions of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the stop transmission, retransmission, and suspension transmission instructions as disclosed in VYTLA into the terminal equipment of CHEN to produce an expected result of a terminal equipment including stop transmission, retransmission, and suspension transmission instructions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user greater control over the sending of the target update content of CHEN.
Regarding claim 20, CHEN discloses an update system of an electronic ink display apparatus (100, Fig. 3), comprising:
the terminal equipment as applied to claim 18; and
the electronic ink display apparatus including a second charging and communication device (120/130, Fig. 2), a second processor (150), and a display device (110); wherein
the second charging and communication device is configured to perform the charging through the terminal equipment (¶ 0045: This embodiment utilizes the characteristics of the ink screen that it can supply power when refreshing the display and can maintain the display when there is no power. It can implement the writing operation of the ink screen electronic tag without the need for a built-in or external power supply, thereby achieving the purpose of saving energy and reducing costs on the basis of the electronicization of the ink screen electronic tag; ¶ 0048: the data to be written and the wireless power are provided by the writer. The writer first provides wireless power to the ink screen electronic tag. After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components, the communication module communicates wirelessly with the writer to obtain the data to be written; ¶ 0055: wireless charging receiving coil 130 and the rectifier module 140 in the e-ink electronic tag can convert wireless energy into a stable DC power supply in this electromagnetic field to power the control module of the e-ink electronic tag. After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed), and receive the target update content sent by the terminal equipment after the electronic ink display apparatus establishes the wireless communication connection with the terminal equipment and the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is completed (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed; ¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information and sends the data to be written to the electronic tag of the ink screen; ¶ 0064: the ink screen electronic tag receives the data to be written); and
the second processor is configured to control, according to the target update content, the display device to refresh display content (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed; ¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information and sends the data to be written to the electronic tag of the ink screen; ¶ 0064: the ink screen electronic tag receives the data to be written; ¶ 0065: the electronic tag on the ink screen is refreshed to display the data to be written).
Regarding claim 21, CHEN discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer program instructions that, when executed on a computer (e.g., 220, Figs. 4 & 5; a medium with instructions is implied in order for the computer 220 to carry out the steps of the control method of claim 1), cause the computer to perform the control method of the electronic ink display apparatus as applied to claim 1 (¶ 0054-0059).
Claim(s) 3, 12-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of ESPINOZA, BAARMAN, and VYTLA as applied to claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-11, 18, and 20-21 above, and further in view of MURAYAMA (US Pub. No. 2012/0007549; cited on IDS; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN as modified by ESPINOZA, BAARMAN, and VYTLA teaches the control method of the electronic ink display apparatus as applied to claim 1 but CHEN fails to disclose obtaining charging information of the electronic ink display apparatus, wherein outputting the charging state prompt information includes: outputting the charging state prompt information according to the charging information.
MURAYAMA discloses obtaining charging information of the electronic ink display apparatus, wherein outputting the charging state prompt information includes: outputting the charging state prompt information according to the charging information (¶ 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate outputting the charging state prompt information according to the charging information as disclosed in MURAYAMA into the control method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of an control method of an electronic ink display apparatus including outputting the charging state prompt information according to the charging information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 12, CHEN discloses an update method of an electronic ink display apparatus (100, Fig. 3), comprising:
performing charging through a terminal equipment (200, Fig. 3; ¶ 0045: This embodiment utilizes the characteristics of the ink screen that it can supply power when refreshing the display and can maintain the display when there is no power. It can implement the writing operation of the ink screen electronic tag without the need for a built-in or external power supply, thereby achieving the purpose of saving energy and reducing costs on the basis of the electronicization of the ink screen electronic tag; ¶ 0048: the data to be written and the wireless power are provided by the writer. The writer first provides wireless power to the ink screen electronic tag. After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components, the communication module communicates wirelessly with the writer to obtain the data to be written; ¶ 0055: wireless charging receiving coil 130 and the rectifier module 140 in the e-ink electronic tag can convert wireless energy into a stable DC power supply in this electromagnetic field to power the control module of the e-ink electronic tag. After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed);
after the electronic ink display apparatus establishes a wireless communication connection with the terminal equipment and the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is completed (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties), in response that the terminal equipment receives a data update instruction (¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information), receiving target update content sent by the terminal equipment (¶ 0048: the data to be written and the wireless power are provided by the writer. The writer first provides wireless power to the ink screen electronic tag. After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components, the communication module communicates wirelessly with the writer to obtain the data to be written; ¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed; ¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information and sends the data to be written to the electronic tag of the ink screen; ¶ 0064: the ink screen electronic tag receives the data to be written); and
refreshing display content according to the target update content (¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out through the communication modules of both parties. Finally, the control module of the ink screen electronic tag obtains the data to be displayed; ¶ 0063: the writer obtains the data to be written according to the tag information and sends the data to be written to the electronic tag of the ink screen; ¶ 0064: the ink screen electronic tag receives the data to be written; ¶ 0065: the electronic tag on the ink screen is refreshed to display the data to be written).
CHEN fails to disclose the terminal equipment receives a data update instruction includes: receiving a click instruction of a data update button displayed on the terminal equipment; and if a charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of electronic ink display apparatus is completed, recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction.
ESPINOZA discloses the terminal equipment receives a data update instruction includes: receiving a click instruction of a data update button displayed on the terminal equipment (page 5, line 36 – page 6, line 1: A "push update" button 208 enables a user of the application 200 to transmit an update to the electronic ink display element 14 on demand instead of waiting for a next scheduled update). CHEN discloses receiving the data update instruction and sending target update content only when a charging state prompt notification indicates that the charging of the electronic ink display is completed (see ¶ 0045: After the wireless charging receiving coil of the ink screen electronic tag powers other components…; and ¶ 0055: After the ink screen electronic tag is powered on and started normally, communication is carried out…), and including the data update button of ESPINOZA in the update method of CHEN teaches “if a charging state prompt information is used for indicating that the charging of electronic ink display apparatus is completed, recognizing the click instruction as the data update instruction”. For example, if the electronic ink display has received power and is powered on as disclosed in CHEN, and then the data update button of ESPINOZA is pressed, an update will be transmitted to the electronic ink display (“recognizing the click instruction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the click instruction of the data update button of ESPINOZA into the update method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of an update method of an electronic ink display apparatus including a click instruction of the data update button. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience by allowing for manual data updates in addition to the automatic updates of CHEN.
CHEN fails to disclose the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus is completed indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor of the electronic ink display apparatus is not less than a rated amount of electricity, the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the electronic ink display apparatus to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time.
BAARMAN discloses the charging of the [apparatus] (14, Fig. 1) is completed indicates that, an amount of electricity in a capacitor (72, Fig. 1) of the [apparatus] is not less than a rated amount of electricity (¶ 0029: power stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 is used to charge the battery 100 over an extended timeframe suitable for battery charging. Accordingly, power can be quickly stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 and used to continue to charge the battery 100 even after the remote control 14 is removed from the inductive power supply 12. In some applications, the power stored in the charge storage capacitor 72 may be used to provide a short-term source of power for the remote control 14. For example, in some applications, the remote control 14 may be capable of drawing power directly from the charge storage capacitor 72. In such embodiments, the remote control 14 can be charged sufficiently to function much more quickly than would be required if the system relied solely on battery charging), the rated amount of electricity is an amount of electricity required for internal circuits of the [apparatus] to be turned on and to maintain running for a subsequent period of time (¶ 0013: the present invention allows the secondary power circuit to quickly store sufficient power to operate the electronic device for at least a short period; ¶ 0029: see above). It would be obvious to apply the charging of a capacitor to an amount of electricity required as disclosed in BAARMAN to the electronic ink display apparatus of the update method of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the charging of a capacitor to an amount of electricity required as disclosed in BAARMAN into the update method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of an update method of an electronic ink display apparatus which has a capacitor that is charged to a required amount of electricity. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to permit the electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to function more quickly compared to relying solely on battery charging (BAARMAN, ¶ 0029).
CHEN fails to disclose the update method of the electronic ink display apparatus further comprises: after the electronic ink display apparatus establishes the wireless communication connection with the terminal equipment, feeding back charging information to the terminal equipment; wherein the terminal equipment outputs the charging state prompt information according to the charging information.
MURAYAMA discloses after the [apparatus] establishes the wireless communication connection with the terminal equipment, feeding back charging information to the terminal equipment; wherein the terminal equipment outputs the charging state prompt information according to the charging information (¶ 0050: the charging device 20 has a function of displaying information on charge, such as the progress of charging of a battery in the electronic device 30 as a charging object in percentage terms (charging rate), a time remaining until full charge, charge completion, and the like, on the display device 22; ¶ 0127: As the reply to the authentication command, for example an ID number written in advance on the side of the electronic device 30 and status information indicating a rechargeable state are returned; ¶ 0157: according to another command, information such as the progress of charging of a battery in the electronic device 30 such as a digital camera or the like in percentage terms (charging rate), full charge and hence charging completion, a time remaining until full charge, and the like can also be communicated, and displayed on the display device 22 of the charging device 20). It would be obvious to apply the feeding back of charging information and outputting charging state prompt information as disclosed in MURAYAMA to the electronic ink display apparatus and terminal equipment of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the feeding back of charging information and outputting charging state prompt information as disclosed in MURAYAMA into the update method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of an update method of an electronic ink display apparatus including feeding back of charging information and outputting charging state prompt information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
CHEN fails to disclose after receiving the target update content sent by the terminal equipment, the update method of the electronic ink display apparatus further comprises: in response that the terminal equipment receives a stop transmission instruction, the electronic ink display apparatus stops receiving the target update content; in response that the terminal equipment receives a retransmission instruction, the electronic ink display apparatus receives the target update content again; and in response that the terminal equipment receives a suspension transmission instruction, the electronic ink display apparatus suspends the receiving of the target update content.
VYTLA discloses after receiving the target update content sent by the terminal equipment, the update method of the [apparatus] further comprises: in response that the terminal equipment receives a stop transmission instruction, the [apparatus] stops receiving the target update content (¶ 0046: cancel transfer); in response that the terminal equipment receives a retransmission instruction, the [apparatus] receives the target update content again (¶ 0046: resume transfer); and in response that the terminal equipment receives a suspension transmission instruction, the [apparatus] suspends the receiving of the target update content (¶ 0046: pause transfer; ¶ 0040: the data transfer manager on the client system then sends a file transfer request to a server system in the product data management system. The file transfer request can be, for example, a file download request or a file upload request; ¶ 0046: Users of client system 302 can initiate file transfers between file server 306 and client system 302 by invoking data transfer manager 304. The file transfers may be initiated in various manners. For example, in disclosed embodiments, a user of client system 302 can interact with a user interface that allows the user to initiate a file transfer. The user interface may also display various functionality features, such as “pause”, “resume”, and “cancel” features. The user interface can indicate transfer status and progress, along with any errors and interruptions. In a particular embodiment, a user can monitor multiple file transfers in the user interface and pause, resume, or cancel the transfers at any time). It would be obvious to include the transmission instructions as disclosed in VYTLA for the electronic ink display apparatus target update content transmissions of CHEN.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the stop transmission, retransmission, and suspension transmission instructions as disclosed in VYTLA into the update method of an electronic ink display apparatus of CHEN to produce an expected result of an update method of an electronic ink display apparatus including stop transmission, retransmission, and suspension transmission instructions. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow a user greater control over the sending of the target update content of CHEN.
Regarding claim 13, CHEN discloses further comprising feeding back connection information to the terminal equipment (¶ 0061-0065).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN discloses after the electronic ink display apparatus establishes the wireless communication connection with the terminal equipment, feeding back the charging information to the terminal equipment includes: after the electronic ink display apparatus establishes the wireless communication connection with the terminal equipment, in response to a completion of the charging of the electronic ink display apparatus, feeding back a charging completion message to the terminal equipment; and feeding back the connection information to the terminal equipment includes: in response to the establishment of the connection with the terminal equipment, feeding back a connection success message to the terminal equipment (¶ 0061-0065).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN discloses performing the charging through the terminal equipment includes: after the electronic ink display apparatus enters a wireless field provided by the terminal equipment, in response to the establishment of the wireless communication connection of the electronic ink display apparatus to the terminal equipment, performing wireless charging through the wireless field provided by the terminal equipment; or, after the electronic ink display apparatus enters the wireless field provided by the terminal equipment, performing wireless charging through the wireless field provided by the terminal equipment (¶ 0061).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN discloses performing the charging through the terminal equipment includes: performing charging through the terminal equipment based on a near field communication technology; and receiving the target update content sent by the terminal equipment includes: receiving the target update content sent by the terminal equipment based on another near field communication technology (¶ 0047-0049).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN discloses an electronic ink display apparatus, comprising a second charging and communication device (120/130, Fig. 2), a second processor (150), and a display device (110; ¶ 0046-0047) that are configured to perform the update method of the electronic ink display apparatus as applied to claim 12.
Conclusion
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 2/2/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859