DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claims 1-12 are pending and examined herein.
Priority
This application, 17/764,931, filed on 03/29/2022, is the 371 of PCT/JP2020/033211, filed on 09/02/2020, which claims priority to JAPAN 2019-179385, filed on 09/30/2019. The claims examined herein are treated as having an effective filing date of 09/30/2019.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 03/26/2026 and 04/28/2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Amended Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0271710 A1 (Kolb et al., IDS filed 03/29/2022; herein referred to as Kolb) in view of Luo et al., “Microglial internalization and degradation of pathological tau is enhanced by an anti-tau monoclonal antibody” Sci. Rep. (published 06/09/2015, referred to herein as Luo).
Regarding claim 1, Kolb teaches a tau protein detection method (Abstract, p. 1, para. 0009, lines 1-2) with a plasma specimen (p. 1, para. 0011, line 1-4) collected from a subject (p. 1, para. 0011, lines 1-4) comprising antigen-antibody reactions using two different antibodies that bind to Tau (p. 1, para. 0011, lines 6-9). In this method, the first antibody is immobilized (p. 9, para. 0089, lines 1-5) on magnetic beads (para. 0089, lines 1-5) and the second antibody is labelled without being immobilized (p. 9, para. 0091, lines 1-6). Kolb teaches that these antibodies are in a first and second solution (para. 0231, lines 1-6). The epitopes recognized by the first (p. 5, para. 0035, lines 2-3, “p217+ tau epitope”) and second antibodies (p. 5, para. 0035, line 5, “116 to 127 of tau protein”) are to amino acids in the intermediate domain. Further, this method comprises subjecting the first antibody in solution to the sample (p. 2, para 0012, lines 3-5, “contacting the sample with a capture antibody”), then the second antibody in solution is subjected to the antigen-antibody reaction (p. 2, para 0012, lines 5-7, “contacting the captured p217+ tau peptides with a detection antibody”).
Regarding claim 2, Kolb discloses that the first antibody recognizes the “p217+ tau epitope” (p. 5, para. 0035, lines 2-3) and the second antibody recognizes “amino acid residues 116 to 127 of tau protein” (p. 2, para 0012, lines 3-5) of tau-441 (p. 8, para 0082, lines 1-4), which are both in the intermediate domain between amino acid residues 103 to 371.
Regarding claim 3, Kolb discloses that the first antibody recognizes the “p217+ tau epitope” (p. 5, para. 0035, lines 2-3) which is within the proline-rich domain between amino acid residues 149-244 of tau-441.
Regarding claim 4, Kolb discloses that the first antibody recognizes the “p217+ tau epitope” (p. 5, para. 0035, lines 2-3) which is within the proline-rich domain between amino acid residues 188-244 of tau-441.
Regarding claim 5, Kolb discloses that the first antibody recognizes a phosphorylated epitope of tau-441 where the phosphorylated amino acid residue is 217 (p. 5, para. 0035, lines 2-3, “p217+ tau epitope”).
Regarding claim 6, Kolb discloses that the first antibody recognizes a phosphorylated epitope of tau-441, where the phosphorylated amino acid residue is 217 (p. 5, para. 0035, lines 2-3, “p217+ tau epitope”).
Regarding claim 7, Kolb discloses an antibody is immobilized on magnetic beads (p. 9, para. 0089, lines 1-5) and is biotinylated (p. 15, para. 0146, line 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kolb discloses that the second antibody (“detection antibody”) is labelled with enzymes or fluorescent materials (p. 9, para. 0091, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 9, Kolb discloses that the sample is obtained from a specimen suspected of having a neurodegenerative disorder (p. 4, para 0024, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 10, Kolb discloses that the sample is obtained from a specimen suspected of having Alzheimer’s disease or frontotemporal dementia (p.4, para. 0024, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 11, Kolb discloses a method to identify a neurodegenerative disorder (p. 5, para. 0028, line 5, “sample from a subject in need of a diagnosis of tauopathy”) using the previously described method to detect tau (p. 5, para. 0028, line 5) in a blood sample (p. 5, para. 0028, lines 1-2, “the sample is a biological sample, such as blood”).
Kolb does not teach a method for tau detection wherein the second antibody, i.e. the detection antibody, is first reacted with the test specimen, and the first antibody, i.e. the immobilized antibody, is subsequently reacted with the test specimen.
However, Luo teaches a method of detecting tau, “Human tau ELISA” (p. 8, para. 7), wherein the samples are contacted with the detection antibody, then the sample-detection antibody mixture is contacted with the immobilized capture antibody (p. 8, para. 7, lines 2-6). Luo teaches that “samples…were diluted in Superblock blocking buffer and loaded onto the plates together with biotinylated-HT7 antibody” (p. 8, para. 7, lines 4-6). This is interpreted to mean that the HT7 detection antibody was mixed with the sample in blocking buffer before contacting the immobilized antibody on the plate. For comparison and to illustrate the difference, in the “Human Aβ ELISA”, Luo teaches that the samples are loaded into the wells containing the immobilized antibody first, then the detection antibody is added (p. 8, para. 8, line 2 – p. 9, para. 1, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kolb by first contacting the sample with the detection antibody, then contacting the mixture with the immobilized antibody as taught by Luo. Making this modification is considered to be a simple substitution of known method steps to obtain predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)). As taught by Luo, mixing a sample containing Tau protein with a detection antibody first, then contacting this mixture with an immobilized capture antibody directed toward a tau phosphorylation site results in predictably being able to detect tau protein.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolb in view of Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blennow et al., “tau Protein in Cerebrospinal Fluid” Mol. And Chem. Neuro. (published December 1995, referred to herein as Blennow) as evidenced by Goedert et al., “Epitope mapping of monoclonal antibodies to the paired helical filaments of Alzheimer's disease: identification of phosphorylation sites in tau protein” Biochem J (published 08/01/1994, referred to herein as Goedert).
Regarding claim 12, as applied above to claim 1, the combination of Kolb and Luo teach the claimed method described in claim 1. Kolb further teaches that the first antibody, i.e. the antibody immobilized on a surface, recognizes a phosphorylated tau protein (Kolb, para. 0011, lines 5-7). Kolb teaches the detection of tau-181 using a second antibody that detects phosphorylation at residue 181 (para. 0243, lines 4-6).
The combined teachings of Kolb and Luo do not teach a method of detecting tau using a first antibody that detects tau phosphorylation at the 181st residue.
However, Blennow teaches a method of detection for tau phosphorylated at the 181st residue using a first, immobilized antibody that recognizes tau-181, “AT270” (p. 235, para. 4, lines 1-6). Blennow incorrectly states that AT270 detects phosphorylation at threonine 231, but it detects phosphorylation at threonine 181, as evidenced by Goedert (Abstract, col. 2, lines 2-5), which is also the cited source in Blennow.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of phosphorylated tau detection as taught by the combination of Kolb and Luo by substituting the first antibody with the AT270 antibody, as taught by Blennow, which recognizes tau phosphorylated at residue 181. Making this modification is considered to be a simple substitution of known parts to obtain predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)). As taught by Blennow, the AT270 can be used to predictably capture phosphorylated tau proteins in sandwich ELISA assays, such as the assay taught by the combination of Kolb and Luo.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding the remarks on pages 7 and 8 on the rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant summarizes the claimed invention, but fails to make an argument against the rejection.
Regarding the remarks on page 9, Applicant argues that Kolb does not teach detecting tau protein in whole blood or plasma.
This argument is not persuasive. As described in the rejection above, Kolb teaches detecting tau in plasma (para. 0011, lines 1-5). Applicant is respectfully reminded that the teachings of Kolb is not limited to only the examples that have been reduced to practice; rather, the entire disclosure of Kolb is considered to be prior art.
Further regarding the remarks on page 9, Applicant argues that Example 1 of Kolb (paras. 0219-0231) does not detect tau in serum.
This argument is not persuasive. The disclosure of Kolb is not limited to only Example 1. The teaching of the detection of tau in plasma, as claimed, is not reliant on Example 1 of Kolb.
Regarding the remarks on page 10, Applicant argues that Luo does not teach a second solution containing the support with immobilized first antibody or that the capture antibody is on magnetic beads.
This argument is not persuasive. Luo is not relied upon for teaching a solution containing an immobilized antibody on magnetic beads. Kolb teaches the first and second solutions, as claimed. Luo is relied upon only for the method step of contacting the sample with the detection antibody before the capture antibody.
Further regarding the remarks on page 10, Applicant argues that an artisan would not combine the teachings of Kolb and Luo because the capture antibodies are bound to different solid supports.
This argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Luo is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the instant invention, Kolb, and Luo are all directed towards methods of detecting tau using a capture antibody on a solid support and a labelled detection antibody in sandwich-style ELISA assays and are considered analogous. An artisan would readily recognize the similarities between Kolb and Lou and would recognize that the method steps of Lou, i.e. contacting the sample with the detection antibody before contacting the capture antibody, would result in the predictable detection of tau when applied to the method of Kolb.
Regarding the remarks on page 11 on the rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that Blennow does not teach the features of claim 1.
This argument is not persuasive. Blennow is not relied upon to teach the features of claim 1.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 July 13, 2026