DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 11, 16-23, 25 and 28-29 are pending in this application.Claims 1, 11, 16-23 and 25 are presented as currently amended claims.
Claims 9, 18, 20, 22, 24 and 26-27 are cancelled.
Claims 28-29 are newly presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11, 16-23, 25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruneel et al. (US 20190378355 A1) in view of Hutcheson et al. (US 20180208195 A1) in view of Meyhofer et al. (US 20180272963 A1) in view of Mueck et al. (US 20190130754 A1) (the combination of which is referenced as combination Bruneel below). As regards the individual claims:
With respect to claim 1, Bruneel teaches an information processing device comprising:
a sensor to detect surrounding environment of a mobile body (Bruneel: ¶ 003; one or more onboard vehicle sensors) circuitry configured to control reception of parameter information from a server, (Bruneel: ¶ 008; and circuitry configured to control reception of parameter information from a server) the parameter information including parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, (Bruneel: ¶ 003; method including: receiving a vehicle sensor data request from a vehicle sensor data requestor, wherein the vehicle sensor data request includes a request to obtain vehicle sensor data from a set of vehicles according to one or more vehicle sensor request options) . . . under a condition that a type of the mobile body matches a type of the other mobile body among a plurality of types of mobile body, (Bruneel: ¶ 003; generating a non-vehicle-specific sensor configuration request based on the one or more vehicle sensor request options [and] generating one or more vehicle-specific sensor configuration requests based on the non-vehicle-specific sensor configuration request, wherein each of the one or more vehicle-specific sensor configuration requests is associated with a particular vehicle electronics configuration type)
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
. . . determine risk degree of the mobile body based on first information and second information, the first information being detection result by the sensor based on the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, the second information being transmitted from a roadside device that is located at a predetermined distance from the mobile body; . . .control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server, however, Hutcheson does teach:
determine risk degree of the mobile body based on first information and second information,(Hutcheson: ¶ 057; RA [risk adjustment] score may be adjusted by information collected by a vehicle about its surroundings using its on-board perception sensors) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service)the first information being detection result by the sensor based on the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, (Hutcheson: ¶ 057; RA [risk adjustment] score may be adjusted by information collected by a vehicle about its surroundings using its on-board perception sensors) the second information being transmitted from a roadside device that is located at a predetermined distance from the mobile body, (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service) control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server, (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.) (Hutcheson: ¶ 058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service)
Furthermore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hutcheson with the teachings of Bruneel with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.) In the instant case, both Bruneel and Hutcheson’s base systems are similar systems for optimizing vehicle performance by adjusting the use of sensors automatically; however, the combined device would have increased performance because considering exterior conditions on sensor performance allows the invention to incorporate additional data streams when calculating the risk score which “may help reduce the stochastic nature of the system” (Hutcheson: ¶ 040) and therefore improve system performance and driver safety by reducing halting performance.
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
update the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree based on the risk degree of the mobile body, control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server, generate, based on the determination result, control information for controlling the mobile body and control operation of the mobile body based on the control information; however Meyhofer does teach:
update the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree based on the risk degree of the mobile body, control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server, (Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") generate, based on the determination result, control information for controlling the mobile body and control operation of the mobile body based on the control information, (Meyhofer: ¶ 074; "The processing resources 410 may then transmit the control commands 415 to one or more control interfaces 422 of the control mechanisms 420 to autonomously operate the SDV through road traffic on roads and highways, as described throughout the present disclosure.")
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bruneel with the teachings of Meyhofer with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.) In the instant case, both Meyhofer and Bruneel’s base systems are similar risk management systems that seek to minimize risk through the use of selective sensor tuning or selection; however the combination invention reduces the likelihood of overly “cautious and deliberate [by] recogniz[ing] objects or conditions faster and more reliably regardless of current conditions” (Meyhofer: ¶ 012) by prioritizing optimized sensors which provide more pertinent information.
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit change information, in which the parameter information is updated based on the risk degree of the mobile body, to outside of the mobile body, wherein the circuitry is configured to, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflect the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree, . . . or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body; however, Mueck does teach:
wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit change information, in which the parameter information is updated (Mueck: ¶ 053; vehicle 302 may request additional sensor data from vehicle 304 to accommodate vehicle 302's relative lack of information. Similarly, in the event that vehicle 304 perceives a notable obstacle or hazard in its path of travel) wherein the circuitry is configured to, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflect the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree, (Mueck: ¶ 081; additional sensor information may be desirable when a vehicle attempts a maneuver that is associated with an increased risk of collision or injury, or which is associated with a higher degree of criticality.) . . . or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body. (Mueck: ¶ 048; Vehicles may be configured to engage in platooning 202, in which vehicles dynamically form a platoon while traveling together. Vehicles in the platoon may obtain information from a leading vehicle to manage the platoon. This may become necessary based on a distance kept between the platoon and vehicles, since the vehicles may be configured to travel very closely to one another, thereby limiting both vision and reaction time for vehicles other than the front vehicle. Platooning vehicles may be able to travel in a row at significantly reduced space between vehicles. This may require high data rates)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mueck with the teachings of Bruneel because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “enabling modification of vehicle electronics of a plurality of vehicles in an automated fashion using a remote facility.” (Bruneel: ¶ 032).
Regarding claim 2, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Meyhofer further teaches:
wherein the parameter information includes a plurality of parameters corresponding to dynamic factor (Meyhofer: ¶ 011; "Conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors of the SDV or that may influence the importance of sensor data can include operating parameters of the SDV itself and the state of the surrounding environment, such as the weather and current road conditions.") and static factors, (Meyhofer: ¶ 032; "sensor selection component 120 can utilize a current sensor state of the SDV 10, as provided by sensor data 115, and can access a database of stored localization maps of the given region in which the SDV 10 operates. The localization maps can comprise highly detailed ground truth data of each road segment of the given region. For example, the localization maps can comprise prerecorded data (e.g., sensor data including image data, LIDAR data, and the like) by specialized mapping vehicles or other SDVs with recording sensors")
And Meyhofer teaches: (1) adjusting sensor settings (Meyhofer: ¶ 010) based upon among other things risk of collision (Meyhofer: ¶ 041-042) and Hutcheson teaches adjusting a collision risk value based on detection of the surround dynamic environment(Hutcheson: ¶ 058 - ¶ 069); therefore before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be taught or suggested:
and the circuitry is configured to specify the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body from the plurality of parameters based on dynamic information because the combined device would allow better risk calculation and sensor selection based on additional input from the additional data sources.
Regarding claim 3, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 2. Meyhofer further teaches:
wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire a dynamic map, and based on the dynamic information included in the acquired dynamic map, the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body. (Meyhofer: ¶ 031; "sensor selection component 120 can utilize a current sensor state of the SDV 10, as provided by sensor data 115, and can access a database of stored localization maps of the given region in which the SDV 10 operates. The localization maps can comprise highly detailed ground truth data of each road segment of the given region. For example, the localization maps can comprise prerecorded data (e.g., sensor data including image data, LIDAR data, and the like) by specialized mapping vehicles or other SDVs with recording sensors and equipment, and can be processed to pinpoint various objects of interest (e.g., traffic signals, road signs, and other static objects). As the SDV 10 travels along a given route, components of the control system 100 can access a current localization map of a current road segment to compare the details of the current localization map with the sensor data 115 in order to detect and classify any objects of interest, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, bicyclists, and the like.") (Meyhofer: ¶ 032; "sensor selection component 120 can utilize a current sensor state of the SDV 10, as provided by sensor data 115, and can access a database of stored localization maps of the given region in which the SDV 10 operates. The localization maps can comprise highly detailed ground truth data of each road segment of the given region. For example, the localization maps can comprise prerecorded data (e.g., sensor data including image data, LIDAR data, and the like) by specialized mapping vehicles or other SDVs with recording sensors")
Regarding claim 4, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 3. Meyhofer further teaches:
wherein the circuitry is configured to set based on static information included in the acquired dynamic map, the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body. (Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") (Meyhofer: ¶ 032; "sensor selection component 120 can utilize a current sensor state of the SDV 10, as provided by sensor data 115, and can access a database of stored localization maps of the given region in which the SDV 10 operates. The localization maps can comprise highly detailed ground truth data of each road segment of the given region. For example, the localization maps can comprise prerecorded data (e.g., sensor data including image data, LIDAR data, and the like) by specialized mapping vehicles or other SDVs with recording sensors") (Meyhofer: ¶ 011; "Conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors of the SDV or that may influence the importance of sensor data can include operating parameters of the SDV itself and the state of the surrounding environment, such as the weather and current road conditions.")
Regarding claim 5, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 4. Meyhofer further teaches:
wherein, when the dynamic map is updated, the circuitry is configured to set the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body (Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") (Meyhofer: ¶ 011; "Conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors of the SDV or that may influence the importance of sensor data can include operating parameters of the SDV itself and the state of the surrounding environment, such as the weather and current road conditions.") (Meyhofer: ¶ 048; "At programmed intervals or time or when changes in the current conditions are detected, the condition detection logic 230 can send corresponding condition data 221 to the sensor prioritization logic 240.")
Regarding claim 6, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 4. Meyhofer further teaches:
wherein the parameter information includes the parameters and an importance degree of a detection result of a sensor for detecting the surrounding environment, and (Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") the circuity is configured to update the importance degree based on at least one of the dynamic information (Meyhofer: ¶ 011; "Conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors of the SDV or that may influence the importance of sensor data can include operating parameters of the SDV itself and the state of the surrounding environment, such as the weather and current road conditions.")
and the static information. (Meyhofer: ¶ 032; "sensor selection component 120 can utilize a current sensor state of the SDV 10, as provided by sensor data 115, and can access a database of stored localization maps of the given region in which the SDV 10 operates. The localization maps can comprise highly detailed ground truth data of each road segment of the given region. For example, the localization maps can comprise prerecorded data (e.g., sensor data including image data, LIDAR data, and the like) by specialized mapping vehicles or other SDVs with recording sensors")
Regarding claim 11, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Mueck teaches:
wherein the circuitry is configured to reflect the change information transmitted by the other mobile body on the parameter information stored in the mobile body (Mueck: ¶ 053; where vehicle 302 perceives a lack of data for its path of travel, this may correspond to a decreased level of sensor data reliability, and therefore vehicle 302 may request additional sensor data from vehicle 304 to accommodate vehicle 302's relative lack of information. ).
With respect to claim 16, Bruneel teaches an information processing method, by a computer, comprising:
controlling reception of parameter information from a server, (Bruneel: ¶ 008; and circuitry configured to control reception of parameter information from a server)the parameter information including parameters for detection of surrounding environment of a mobile body (Bruneel: ¶ 003; one or more onboard vehicle sensors)
. . . under a condition that a type of the mobile body matches a type of the other mobile body among a plurality of types of mobile body . . . (Bruneel: ¶ 003; generating a non-vehicle-specific sensor configuration request based on the one or more vehicle sensor request options [and] generating one or more vehicle-specific sensor configuration requests based on the non-vehicle-specific sensor configuration request, wherein each of the one or more vehicle-specific sensor configuration requests is associated with a particular vehicle electronics configuration type)
Bruneel does not teach:
determining risk degree of the mobile body based on first information and second information, the first information being detection result by the sensor based on the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, the second information being transmitted from a roadside device that is located at a predetermined distance from the mobile body; . . . control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server however, Hutcheson does teach:
determining risk degree of the mobile body based on first information and second information,(Hutcheson: ¶ 057; RA [risk adjustment] score may be adjusted by information collected by a vehicle about its surroundings using its on-board perception sensors) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service)the first information being detection result by the sensor based on the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, (Hutcheson: ¶ 057; RA [risk adjustment] score may be adjusted by information collected by a vehicle about its surroundings using its on-board perception sensors) the second information being transmitted from a roadside device that is located at a predetermined distance from the mobile body (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service) . . . control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server, (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service)
Furthermore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hutcheson with the teachings of Bruneel with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.) In the instant case, both Bruneel and Hutcheson’s base systems are similar systems for optimizing vehicle performance by adjusting the use of sensors automatically; however, the combined device would have increased performance because considering exterior conditions on sensor performance allows the invention to incorporate additional data streams when calculating the risk score which “may help reduce the stochastic nature of the system” (Hutcheson: ¶ 040) and therefore improve system performance and driver safety.
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
update the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree based on the risk degree of the mobile body, control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server, and generate, based on the determination result, control information for controlling the mobile body; however Meyhofer does teach:
update the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body (Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") and importance degree based on the risk degree of the mobile body, (Meyhofer: ¶ 042; implements event logic 174 to detect avoidance events (e.g., a collision event) and to trigger a response to a detected event.)control transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server,Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") and generate, based on the determination result, control information for controlling the mobile body; (Meyhofer: ¶ 074; "The processing resources 410 may then transmit the control commands 415 to one or more control interfaces 422 of the control mechanisms 420 to autonomously operate the SDV through road traffic on roads and highways, as described throughout the present disclosure.")
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bruneel with the teachings of Meyhofer with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.) In the instant case, both Meyhofer and Bruneel’s base systems are similar risk management systems that seek to minimize risk through the use of selective sensor tuning or selection; however the combination invention reduces the likelihood of overly “cautious and deliberate [by] recogniz[ing] objects or conditions faster and more reliably regardless of current conditions” (Meyhofer: ¶ 012) by prioritizing optimized sensors which provide more pertinent information.
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
wherein further comprising, transmitting change information, in which the parameter information is updated based on the risk degree of the mobile body, to outside of the mobile body, wherein further comprising, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflecting the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree,. . . or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body; however, Mueck does teach:
wherein further comprising, transmitting change information, in which the parameter information is updated based on the risk degree of the mobile body, to outside of the mobile body, (Mueck: ¶ 053; vehicle 302 may request additional sensor data from vehicle 304 to accommodate vehicle 302's relative lack of information. Similarly, in the event that vehicle 304 perceives a notable obstacle or hazard in its path of travel)wherein further comprising, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflecting the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree, (Mueck: ¶ 081; additional sensor information may be desirable when a vehicle attempts a maneuver that is associated with an increased risk of collision or injury, or which is associated with a higher degree of criticality.) . . . or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body; (Mueck: ¶ 048; Vehicles may be configured to engage in platooning 202, in which vehicles dynamically form a platoon while traveling together. Vehicles in the platoon may obtain information from a leading vehicle to manage the platoon. This may become necessary based on a distance kept between the platoon and vehicles, since the vehicles may be configured to travel very closely to one another, thereby limiting both vision and reaction time for vehicles other than the front vehicle. Platooning vehicles may be able to travel in a row at significantly reduced space between vehicles. This may require high data rates)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mueck with the teachings of Bruneel because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “enabling modification of vehicle electronics of a plurality of vehicles in an automated fashion using a remote facility.” (Bruneel: ¶ 032).
With respect to claim 17, Bruneel teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including computer executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by an information processing apparatus, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a method, the method comprising:
controlling reception of parameter information from a server, (Bruneel: ¶ 008; and circuitry configured to control reception of parameter information from a server) the parameter information including parameters for detection of surrounding environment of a mobile body;(Bruneel: ¶ 003; method including: receiving a vehicle sensor data request from a vehicle sensor data requestor, wherein the vehicle sensor data request includes a request to obtain vehicle sensor data from a set of vehicles according to one or more vehicle sensor request options) . . . under a condition that a type of the mobile body matches a type of the other mobile body among a plurality of types of mobile body, (Bruneel: ¶ 003; generating a non-vehicle-specific sensor configuration request based on the one or more vehicle sensor request options [and] generating one or more vehicle-specific sensor configuration requests based on the non-vehicle-specific sensor configuration request, wherein each of the one or more vehicle-specific sensor configuration requests is associated with a particular vehicle electronics configuration type)
Bruneel does not teach:
determining risk degree of the mobile body based on first information and second information, the first information being detection result by the sensor based on the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, the second information being transmitted from a roadside device that is located at a predetermined distance from the mobile body; . . . controlling transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server; however, Hutcheson does teach:
determining risk degree of the mobile body based on first information and second information, (Hutcheson: ¶ 057; RA [risk adjustment] score may be adjusted by information collected by a vehicle about its surroundings using its on-board perception sensors) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service)the first information being detection result by the sensor based on the parameters for detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body, (Hutcheson: ¶ 057; RA [risk adjustment] score may be adjusted by information collected by a vehicle about its surroundings using its on-board perception sensors)the second information being transmitted from a roadside device that is located at a predetermined distance from the mobile body;(Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service) controlling transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server; (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.) (Hutcheson: ¶058; the RA score adjustment may be triggered by information received from a cloud service)
Furthermore, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Hutcheson with the teachings of Bruneel with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.) In the instant case, both Bruneel and Hutcheson’s base systems are similar systems for optimizing vehicle performance by adjusting the use of sensors automatically; however, the combined device would have increased performance because considering exterior conditions on sensor performance allows the invention to incorporate additional data streams when calculating the risk score which “may help reduce the stochastic nature of the system” (Hutcheson: ¶ 040) and therefore improve system performance and driver safety.
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
updating the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree based on the risk degree of the mobile body; controlling transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server; and generating, based on the determination result, control information for controlling the mobile body; however Meyhofer does teach:
updating the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree based on the risk degree of the mobile body; controlling transmission of the updated parameters for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body to the server; (Meyhofer: ¶ 010; "sensor selection component detects conditions which have a bearing on the performance characteristics of the sensors and other conditions that may influence the importance of sensor data from one sensor over another. In addition, the sensor selection component prioritizes, through either a weighting or selection process, each of the sensors using a set of sensor priority rules that are based on expected performance characteristics of each of the sensors in the detected conditions.") and generating, based on the determination result, control information for controlling the mobile body (Meyhofer: ¶ 074; "The processing resources 410 may then transmit the control commands 415 to one or more control interfaces 422 of the control mechanisms 420 to autonomously operate the SDV through road traffic on roads and highways, as described throughout the present disclosure.")
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Bruneel with the teachings of Meyhofer with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of a known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.) In the instant case, both Meyhofer and Bruneel’s base systems are similar risk management systems that seek to minimize risk through the use of selective sensor tuning or selection; however the combination invention reduces the likelihood of overly “cautious and deliberate [by] recogniz[ing] objects or conditions faster and more reliably regardless of current conditions” (Meyhofer: ¶ 012) by prioritizing optimized sensors which provide more pertinent information.
Bruneel does not explicitly teach:
wherein further comprising, transmitting change information, in which the parameter information is updated based on the risk degree of the mobile body, to outside of the mobile body, wherein further comprising, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflecting the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree. . . or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body; however, Mueck does teach:
wherein further comprising, transmitting change information, in which the parameter information is updated based on the risk degree of the mobile body, to outside of the mobile body, (Mueck: ¶ 053; vehicle 302 may request additional sensor data from vehicle 304 to accommodate vehicle 302's relative lack of information. Similarly, in the event that vehicle 304 perceives a notable obstacle or hazard in its path of travel) wherein further comprising, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflecting the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree (Mueck: ¶ 081; additional sensor information may be desirable when a vehicle attempts a maneuver that is associated with an increased risk of collision or injury, or which is associated with a higher degree of criticality.). . . or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body. (Mueck: ¶ 048; Vehicles may be configured to engage in platooning 202, in which vehicles dynamically form a platoon while traveling together. Vehicles in the platoon may obtain information from a leading vehicle to manage the platoon. This may become necessary based on a distance kept between the platoon and vehicles, since the vehicles may be configured to travel very closely to one another, thereby limiting both vision and reaction time for vehicles other than the front vehicle. Platooning vehicles may be able to travel in a row at significantly reduced space between vehicles. This may require high data rates)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mueck with the teachings of Bruneel because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of “enabling modification of vehicle electronics of a plurality of vehicles in an automated fashion using a remote facility.” (Bruneel: ¶ 032).
Regarding claim 18, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hutcheson further teaches:
wherein the roadside device is an electronic equipment provided outside the mobile body and implemented in at least one of a road, an intersection, a traffic light, or a parking lot (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.)
Regarding claim 19, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Meyhofer further teaches:
(1) adjusting sensor settings (Meyhofer: ¶ 010) based upon among other things risk of collision (Meyhofer: ¶ 041-042)and Hutcheson teaches adjusting a collision risk value based on detection of the surround dynamic environment (Hutcheson: ¶ 058 - ¶ 069); therefore before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be taught or suggested:
wherein the circuitry is configured to update the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree based on comparison result of the risk degree of the mobile body determined by the information processing device and the risk degree of the mobile body determined by the roadside device
because the combined device would allow better risk calculation and sensor selection based on additional input from the additional data sources.
Regarding claim 20, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 16. Hutcheson further teaches:
wherein the roadside device is an electronic equipment provided outside the mobile body and implemented in at least one of a road, an intersection, a traffic light, or a parking lot (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.)
Regarding claim 21, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 16. Meyhofer further teaches:
(1) adjusting sensor settings (Meyhofer: ¶ 010) based upon among other things risk of collision (Meyhofer: ¶ 041-042)and Hutcheson teaches adjusting a collision risk value based on detection of the surround dynamic environment(Hutcheson: ¶ 058 - ¶ 069); therefore before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be taught or suggested:
wherein the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree are updated based on comparison result of the risk degree of the mobile body of the mobile body determined by the computer and the risk degree of the mobile body determined by the roadside device
because the combined device would allow better risk calculation and sensor selection based on additional input from the additional data sources.
Regarding claim 22, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 17. Hutcheson further teaches:
wherein the roadside device is an electronic equipment provided outside the mobile body and implemented in at least one of a road, an intersection, a traffic light, or a parking lot (Hutcheson: ¶ 069; Risk score adjustments for location and/or weather may be received from a cloud or road side unit.)
Regarding claim 23, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 17. Meyhofer further teaches:
(1) adjusting sensor settings (Meyhofer: ¶ 010) based upon among other things risk of collision (Meyhofer: ¶ 041-042)and Hutcheson teaches adjusting a collision risk value based on detection of the surround dynamic environment(Hutcheson: ¶ 058 - ¶ 069); therefore before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be taught or suggested:
wherein the parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and importance degree are updated based on comparison result of the risk degree of the mobile body of the mobile body determined by the computer and the risk degree of the mobile body determined by the roadside device.
because the combined device would allow better risk calculation and sensor selection based on additional input from the additional data sources.
Regarding claim 25, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Bruneel further teaches:
wherein the driving preference includes at least one of a traveling distance, a traveling time, an average speed, or a frequency of gaining of automatic control by a driver of the mobile body. (Bruneel: ¶ 083; A vehicle sensor collection frequency can specify a frequency at which the vehicle sensor data should be obtained and can be associated with . . . when the vehicle is travelling faster than ten miles per hour)
Regarding claim 28, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 16. Bruneel further teaches:
wherein the driving performance of the mobile body by the driver includes at least one of a traveling distance, a traveling time, an average speed, or a frequency of gaining of automatic control by a driver of the mobile body (Bruneel: ¶ 083; A vehicle sensor collection frequency can specify a frequency at which the vehicle sensor data should be obtained and can be associated with . . . when the vehicle is travelling faster than ten miles per hour)
Regarding claim 29, as detailed above, combination Bruneel teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 28. Bruneel further teaches:
wherein the driving performance of the mobile body by the driver includes at least one of a traveling distance, a traveling time, an average speed, or a frequency of gaining of automatic control by a driver of the mobile body (Bruneel: ¶ 083; A vehicle sensor collection frequency can specify a frequency at which the vehicle sensor data should be obtained and can be associated with . . . when the vehicle is travelling faster than ten miles per hour)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed June 11, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections of claims 1, 16, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues the prior art does not teach:
control operation of the mobile body based on the control information, wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit change information, in which the parameter information is updated based on the risk degree of the mobile body, to [[the]] outside of the mobile body, wherein the circuitry is configured to, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflect the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree, under a condition that a type of the mobile body matches a type of the other mobile body among a plurality of types of mobile body, or under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body. (Applicant’s Arguments filed June 11, 2025, pg. 18).
Newly applied art Mueck (US 20190130754 A1) teaches a system in which sensor data is selectively shared with nearby vehicles. Mueck teaches a first vehicle can request additional sensor data (Mueck: Fig. 2) when encountering a dangerous situation such as approaching a blind corner (Mueck: Fig. 3; ¶ 053) or when platooning at close range (Mueck: Fig. 2; ¶ 048). Furthermore, Mueck teaching of platooning would teach or suggest a person of ordinary skill in the art adjusting the sensor parameters based upon under a condition that driving performance of the mobile body by a driver matches driving performance of the other mobile body as platoon would require all drivers to coordinate the driving performance at similar speeds.
Further newly applied art Bruneel teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to, in response to the change information transmitted from another mobile body, reflect the change information on the updated parameters used for the detection of the surrounding environment of the mobile body and the importance degree, under a condition that a type of the mobile body matches a type of the other mobile body among a plurality of types of mobile body because Bruneel teaches adjusting the sensor-adjust parameters based on the particular model of vehicle and its known sensor capabilities. Bruneel ¶ 003 and 083.
Consequently, Applicant’s arguments and amendments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Neff et al. (US 20100274487 A1) (hereinafter Neff) which discloses a route planning method that collects, stores, and considers parameters from previous sensor scans of regions in a target area and adjusts setting based on that data when making probability maps.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).