DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on March 11, 2026.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, and 15 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 16 – 20 have been added.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed March 11, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama in view of Suruga as set forth in the office action filed November 13, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama (US20230096132A1) in view of Cha (US20180123042A1).
As per claims 1 – 9 and 20, Hatakeyama teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode provided to face the anode, and an organic material layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic material layer comprises a light emitting layer and a first organic material layer provided between the anode and the light emitting layer (In [0676 – 0678], Hatakeyama teaches the formation of a device, including an ITO electrode as a positive electrode, LiF/aluminum electrode as a negative electrode and the layers defined in Table 1A, between the two.)
The light emitting layer comprises a compound of the following Chemical Formula 1
Hatakeyama teaches compounds of general formula (2)
([0029]). A specific compound taught by Hatakeyama is compound 1-590
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Cy1 and Cy4 are a ring in which an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon ring and a substituted aliphatic hydrocarbon ring are fused, namely a group represented by Chemical Formula 1-A in claim 1 and Chemical Formula 1-A-3 in claim 3, wherein R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl group and r1 is 4; n1 is 2 and Cy2, Cy3, and Cy5 are substituted aromatic hydrocarbon rings. This compound is represented by Chemical Formula 101 in claim 2, wherein R2 and R3 are an unsubstituted alkyl group; r101 is an integer of 4. This compound is represented by Chemical Formula 117 in claim 4. This compound is the same the compound
on page 22 of claim 8 and page 163 of claim 20. In Example 1-2, as shown in Table 1A, compound 1-590 is used as a dopant in the light emitting layer.)
Hatakeyama teaches a triarylamine based hole transport compound HT-1
in the Example devices ([0675]), but Hatakeyama teaches that any suitable known material for transporting holes can be used to form the hole transport layer ([0191]). Hatakeyama does not teach:
The first organic material layer comprises a compound of the following Chemical Formula 2
Cha teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0009]). Cha teaches that these compounds are useful as hole transporting layers ([0138]). Cha teaches that the phenanthrene in the structure contains more abundant electrons than benzene and that this provides improved hole transporting characteristics ([0037]). A particular compound taught by Cha is
on Page 12, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein L1 is a direct bond and L2 and L3 are each an unsubstituted arylene group, namely L2 and L3 are
in claim 7, Ar1 and Ar2 are each an unsubstituted aryl group, namely a fluorenyl group that is substituted at carbon number 9 with an alkyl group, namely
in claim 6, wherein S12 is a methyl group and
in claim 6 and R11 is hydrogen. This compound reads on Chemical Formula 201 of Claim 5. This compound is the same compound as
on page 38 of claim 9 and page 98 in claim 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a compound, such as the claimed compound in the hole transport layer of Hatakeyama because Hatakeyama teaches any known hole transport material may be used and Cha teaches that triarylamine compounds, similar to the triarylamine compounds in the Examples of Hatakeyama, that include a phenanthrene substituent contain more abundant electrons than benzene and that this provides improved hole transporting characteristics ([0037]).
As per claim 10, Hatakeyama teaches:
Wherein the first organic material layer is provided to be brought into direct contact with the light emitting layer (In Fig. 1, as described in [0178], the hole transport layer is shown to be directly beneath the light emitting layer, which is interpreted as being in direct contact.)
As per claim 11, Hatakeyama teaches:
Wherein the light emitting layer has a maximum light emission peak of 400 nm to 500 nm (In Table 1B, Example 1-2 is shown to have an emission of 463 nm.)
As per claims 12 – 14, and 17 – 19, Hatakeyama teaches:
Wherein the light emitting layer comprises a host and a dopant, and the dopant comprises the compound of Chemical Formula 1 ([0197]: “The light emitting layer may be formed of a single layer or a plurality of layers, and each layer is formed of a material for a light emitting layer (a host material and a dopant material).” In Example 1-2, as shown in Table 1A, compound 1-590 is used as a dopant in the light emitting layer.)
Wherein the host comprises a compound of Chemical Formula H
(Hatakeyama teaches that the host is preferably an anthracene-based compound ([0202]). A specific compound taught as an anthracene-based host compound is compound 3-24
([0253]). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein L21 is a direct bond; L22 is an unsubstituted arylene group; Ar21 is an unsubstituted aryl group; Ar22 is an unsubstituted arylene group; R201 and R202 are each hydrogen. This compound is the same as compound
on page 78 of claim 14 and page 140 of claim 19.)
As per claim 15, Hatakeyama teaches:
Wherein a weight ratio of the host and dopant is 99:1 to 90:10 ([0199]: “The amount of use of the dopant material depends on the kind of dopant material, and may be determined according to a characteristic of the dopant material. The reference amount of use of the dopant is… still more preferably from 0.1 to 10% by weight with respect to the total amount of material for a light emitting layer.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789