DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the claims filed on March 30, 2022. Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claims 1-14 and 17-20 are objected to.
Elements of claim 20 are being interpreted as means-plus-function elements under 35 USC 112(f).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claims 1-10, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by Perrin.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Perrin in view of Moatamedi.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Perrin in view of Arthur.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Perrin in view of Boston Scientific.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR 1911706, filed on October 18, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 14, 2022, was filed prior to this first action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract exceeds 150 words.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to for reciting: (1) “Method,” (2) “the deformation,” (3) “the cavity,” (4) “the wall model,” (5) “the step,” (6) “the cavity” again, (7) “the relaxation,” (8) “the stresses,” (9) “the step” again, (10) “the mechanical equilibrium,” and (11) “the simulated deformation” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 2 is objected to for reciting “Method” and “the wall model” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 3 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the wall model,” and “the calculation” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 is objected to for reciting “Method” and “the wall model” twice without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 5 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the wall model,” and “the confined numerical IMD” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 6 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the wall model,” and “the course” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 7 is objected to for reciting “Method” and “the ends” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 8 is objected to for reciting “Method” and “the behavior” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 is objected to for reciting “Method” and “the segment” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 10 is objected to for reciting “Method” and “the behaviour” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 11 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the calculation of a field of displacements” “the calculation of a field of displacements…,” “the wall model,” “the two fields,” “the fundamental dynamic principle,” and “the node” without proper antecedent basis. Further, it is unclear what the fundamental dynamic principle is. The Applicant must clarify whether the claimed fundamental dynamic principle is intended to be the fundamental principle of dynamics, which is Newton’s second law (i.e., F=MA).
Claim 12 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the calculation of a normal force,” “the wall model,” “the node,” “the penetration resistance,” and “the friction” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 13 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the segments,” “the nodes,” “the general shape,” “the level,” and “the end pole” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 14 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the end pole” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 17 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the three-dimensional apexes,” and “the wall model” twice without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 18 is objected to for reciting “Method,” “the set of references,” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 19 is objected to for reciting “computer programme product,” “the implementation,” “the simulation method” without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 20 is objected to for reciting “Processing unit” and ”the wall model” twice without proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, Claim 20 recites, “means for obtaining a three-dimensional wall model…,” “means for obtaining a numerical IMD…,” and “calculation means configured to determine an intermediate deformation state…” These are explicit “means for” placeholders that are modified by functional language and are not modified by structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Accordingly, these features are being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “the numerical IMD at the intermediate deformation state being deformed as a function of the shape of the wall model while remaining included in said shape.” It is unclear what “while remaining included in said shape” means. Does this mean that the shape of the wall is unchanged? Does it mean that the numerical IMD deforms to accommodate a fixed shape of the wall?
Claim 1 recites, “the step of calculating comprising calculating mechanical stresses undergone by the numerical IMD in the intermediate deformation state which are a function of a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD and a mechanical behaviour of the three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavitv, and also comprising the relaxation of said stresses.” In what way are the mechanical forces in a deformed state also relaxing? What is relaxing? It is not even clear what element of the claim “and also comprising the relaxation of said stresses” qualifies.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD, and/or a rest state of the numerical IMD, during the step determining the intermediate deformation state is not identical respectively to the mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD, and/or to a rest state of the numerical IMD, during step of calculating the mechanical equilibrium, wherein the calculated mechanical equilibrium state corresponds to the simulated deformation of the IMD after implantation.” It is unclear what is meant by the mechanical behaviour or rest state is different at each of the steps. For purposes of examination, and difference in state could be something as simple as a difference in time, where the steps are performed sequentially. It is unclear what the relationship is between the recited “rest state” and “the relaxation of said stresses.”
Claim 8 recites, “preferably of cylindrical shape.” This is not expressed as a limitation.
Claim 11 recites, “the fundamental dynamic principle,” but this is not a term of art. Accordingly, a further definition of the term provided in the specification will need to be included in the claim to set the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 12 recites, “wherein the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium state of the numerical IMD comprises, for at least one node of the numerical IMD, the calculation of a normal force and/or a friction force applied by the wall model on said node, modelling respectively the penetration resistance of the wall and the friction between the IMD and the wall.” The “for at least one node of the numerical IMD, the calculation of a normal force and/or a friction force applied by the wall model on said node” is recited broadly enough to encompass only the alternative. The “modelling respectively the penetration resistance of the wall and the friction between the IMD and the wall” appears to require both but refers back to the alternative statement with the word, “respectively.” For purposes of examination, the “modelling respectively the penetration resistance of the wall and the friction between the IMD and the wall” will be interpreted to recite the penetration resistance and friction as being required only in the alternative. Clarification in the claim is still required.
Claim 13 recites, “wherein the segments and the nodes of the numerical IMD have at least one end pole, the general shape of the IMD being flattened at the level of the end pole.” It is unclear what this means. How can a 3D shape be flattened at a pole? This is especially the case when claim 14, which refers to the poles of claim 13, indicates that there are concavities.
Claim 17 recites, “a later step iii.,” but it does not specify what the step is later than. This is reinforced by the features of claim 17 not referring to features of other steps of the method of claim 1.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the numerical IMD corresponds to an IMD reference derived from a set of IMD references recorded in a database.” It is unclear what is mean by derived from the set of IMD references. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted to mean anything related to the set of IMD reference, including, for example, the next number in an ordered series.
Claim 20 recites, “preferably.” For purposes of examination, any element qualified by the preferably statement (e.g., “preferably configured to generate the numerical IMD in accordance with an IMD reference derived from a database”) has no patentable weight.
Claim 20 recites, “the processing unit being configured to implement a simulation method according to claim 1.” This creates confusion of whether the recitation of the calculation means is redundant with any element of the processing unit configured to implement the method of claim 1. For example, this could require that the processing unit have these calculation means but not use the calculation means for the implementation of the method according to claim 1. For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted to mean that the calculation means do execute the seemingly corresponding steps of the method of claim 1.
Dependent claims dependent from rejected independent claims are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Not One of The Four Statutory Categories
Claim 19 is directed to a computer programme product, which, in its broadest reasonable sense, can include signals or software per se. The Applicant is advised to overcome this by specifying that the computer programme product is “non-transitory.”
Subject Matter Eligibility
Independent Claim
Step 1
Claim 1 is a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1 recites mental processes and mathematical concepts.
Specifically, claim 1 recites (claim language in bold italics, references are to the Applicant’s published application US 2022/0367047 A1):
Method for simulating the deformation, after implantation, of an implantable medical device, called IMD, in a natural cavity (Evaluation – Mental process practically performable in the mind or with aid of pen, paper, or calculator; Mathematical Calculation – Mathematical Concept [0024] “The determination of the intermediate deformation state, before calculating a mechanical equilibrium state, makes it possible to simplify the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium because it provides an efficient initialisation of said calculation.”)
i. determining an intermediate deformation state of a numerical IMD representing the IMD, the numerical IMD at the intermediate deformation state being deformed as a function of a shape of the wall model while remaining included in said shape (Evaluation – Mental process practically performable in the mind or with aid of pen, paper, or calculator; Mathematical Calculation – Mathematical Concept [0103] “For the later calculation of the intermediate deformation state and for the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium, it is not necessary that the processing unit 20 has at its disposal a physical model of the mechanical behaviour of the elements of the wall model 1. A geometric representation of the surface of the wall model 1 may suffice.” - The determination of the intermediate deformation state is a calculation according to the specification. A calculation is an evaluation, which is a mental process. A calculation is also a mathematical concept.”)
ii. calculating a mechanical equilibrium state of the numerical IMD from the intermediate deformation state, the step of calculating comprising calculating mechanical stresses undergone by the numerical IMD in the intermediate deformation state which are a function of a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD and a mechanical behaviour of the three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavitv, and also comprising the relaxation of said stresses, wherein a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD, and/or a rest state of the numerical IMD, during the step determining the intermediate deformation state is not identical respectively to the mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD, and/or to a rest state of the numerical IMD, during step of calculating the mechanical equilibrium, wherein the calculated mechanical equilibrium state corresponds to the simulated deformation of the IMD after implantation. (Evaluation – Mental process practically performable in the mind or with aid of pen, paper, or calculator; Mathematical Calculation – Mathematical Concept [0103] “For the later calculation of the intermediate deformation state and for the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium, it is not necessary that the processing unit 20 has at its disposal a physical model of the mechanical behaviour of the elements of the wall model 1. A geometric representation of the surface of the wall model 1 may suffice.” - The determination of the intermediate deformation state is a calculation according to the specification. A calculation is an evaluation, which is a mental process. A calculation is also a mathematical concept.”)
Claim 1 recites a mental process and a mathematical concept, which are abstract ideas under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
Claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 1 fails to recite any additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a particular application.
Claim 1 recites the following additional limitations:
the method comprising the following steps implemented by a processing unit:
The claimed implementation by a processing unit is a generic computer implementation, a recitation of a general-purpose computer with no specific configurations to execute the claimed method. As such, the computer implementation implements the recited abstract idea on a generic computer, and, under MPEP 2106.05(f), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A, Prong Two.
numerical IMD
a three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavity […] wall model
Should it be found that the models used are other than abstract ideas, the numerical model and three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavity (i.e., the wall model) are generic computing elements that merely state at a general level that which is being modeled, an “apply it” construct of generic computer modeling. Because these are generic computer elements under MPEP 2106.05(f), they also fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, the types of models merely limit the abstract idea to a particular field of medical technology and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Accordingly, claim 1 fails to recite any additional limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at step 2A, Prong 2.
Claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2b
Claim 1 fails to provide any additional limitations that combine with the other elements of the claims to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept.
Claim 1 recites the following additional limitations:
the method comprising the following steps implemented by a processing unit:
The claimed implementation by a processing unit is a generic computer implementation, a recitation of a general-purpose computer with no specific configurations to execute the claimed method. As such, the computer implementation implements the recited abstract idea on a generic computer, and, under MPEP 2106.05(f), does not combine with the other elements of the claims to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept at Step 2B.
numerical IMD
a three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavity […] wall model
Should it be found that the models used are other than abstract ideas, the numerical model and three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavity (i.e., the wall model) are generic computing elements that merely state at a general level that which is being modeled, an “apply it” construct of generic computer modeling. Because these are generic computer elements under MPEP 2106.05(f), they also fail to combine with the other elements of the claims to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept. Further, the types of models merely limit the abstract idea to a particular field of medical technology and fail to combine with the other elements of the claims to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Accordingly, claim 1 fails to recite any additional limitations that combine with the other elements of the claims to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept at step 2B.
Claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent Claims
Claim 2
wherein the intermediate deformation state is determined as a function of contact interactions calculated between three- dimensional apexes of the IMD and three-dimensional apexes of the wall model.
This merely qualifies the abstract idea of the determining an intermediate deformation step, so it is an element of the abstract idea. This does not provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or at Step 2B.
Should it be found that the calculation of interaction between three-dimensional apexes of the IMD and the wall model is somehow other than an abstract idea, for example by virtue of them being interactions of elements of three dimensional models, the models, their apexes, and the interactions therebetween are generic computing elements recited at a high level as to recite “apply it” with generic computational models, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(f). Should it be found otherwise, the models, their apexes, and the interactions therebetween merely limit the abstract idea to a particular medical technological environment or to a three-dimensional interaction modeling technological environment, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 2 is ineligible.
Claim 3
wherein the mechanical behaviour of the wall model for the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium state is a non-deformable rigid behaviour.
This merely describes a parameter of the elements of the abstract idea and is therefore an element of the abstract idea. Therefore, it fails to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility.
Should it be found that the property of the wall model is other than an abstract idea, the property of the wall model merely limits the abstract idea to a particular field of medical modeling of cavities that are rigid and do not move when flexible elements are implanted, which fails to confer eligibility under MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 3 is ineligible.
Claim 4
wherein, during the determination of the intermediate deformation state, the wall model is deformed geometrically from an initial state so as to contain wholly the numerical IMD in a rest state of the numerical IMD, the wall model next being brought back to the initial state to obtain the intermediate deformation state of the numerical IMD.
This merely qualifies the evaluation of the determining an intermediate deformation state of claim 1, which is an element of the abstract idea. Therefore, this claim is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 4 fails to recite any additional limitations that could confer eligibility.
Claim 4 is ineligible.
Claim 5
wherein the determination of the intermediate deformation state comprises:
- obtaining a numerical IMD confined in a tool surface associated with a model of implantation tool,
- integrating, in the wall model, the confined numerical IMD in order to obtain the intermediate deformation state.
This merely describes the sequence being simulated, which is an element of the evaluation, the mental process, the abstract idea. Accordingly, these steps are elements of the abstract idea. Because claim 5 merely provides elements of the abstract idea, claim 5 fails to provide any additional limitations that could confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or at Step 2B.
Claim 5 is ineligible.
Claim 6
further comprising a step of determining a central line of the natural cavity, from the wall model, and wherein the numerical IMD is deformed in the course of its integration so as to follow the central line.
The added determining step is merely an evaluation, a mental process, an abstract idea, that combines with the other elements of the abstract idea. Similarly, the wherein clause merely qualifies the other steps from claim 1, which are also abstract ideas. Claim 6 merely adds elements of the abstract idea and fails to provide any additional limitations that could confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or Step 2B.
Claim 6 is ineligible.
Claim 7
wherein the numerical IMD comprises a plurality of segments and further comprises a plurality of nodes, each node connecting the ends of two consecutive segments.
This merely qualifies the simulated mathematical structure of the numerical IMD, which is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the features of claim 7 are elements of the abstract idea and fail to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the model and its structure are generic computer modeling elements recited at a high level and do not confer eligibility as additional elements under MPEP 2106.05(f) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the models and structures merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of modeling real world elements and/or doing so in a medical context, which fails to confer eligibility as an additional limitation under MPEP 2106.05(h) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 7 is ineligible.
Claim 8
wherein the mechanical behaviour of at least one segment corresponds to the behaviour of a beam, preferably of cylindrical shape.
This merely qualifies the simulated mathematical structure of the numerical IMD, which is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the features of claim 8 are elements of the abstract idea and fail to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the model and its structure are generic computer modeling elements recited at a high level and do not confer eligibility as additional elements under MPEP 2106.05(f) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the models and structures merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of modeling real world elements and/or doing so in a medical context, which fails to confer eligibility as an additional limitation under MPEP 2106.05(h) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 8 is ineligible.
Claim 9
wherein at least one segment of the numerical IMD having a beam mechanical behaviour is modelled during the determination of the intermediate deformation state with a first diameter, and/or with a first thickness, and/or with a first elasticity modulus, and/or with a first slenderness coefficient, and/or with a first gyration radius, and/or with a first set of critical instability loads, and
wherein said segment is modelled during the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium state respectively with a different second diameter, and/or a different second thickness, and/or a different second elasticity modulus, and/or a different second slenderness coefficient, and/or a different second gyration radius, and/or a different second set of critical instability loads.
These wherein clauses merely qualify the simulated mathematical structure and evaluation method of the numerical IMD, which is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the features of claim 9 are elements of the abstract idea and fail to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the model and its structure are generic computer modeling elements recited at a high level and do not confer eligibility as additional elements under MPEP 2106.05(f) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the models and structures merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of modeling real world elements and/or doing so in a medical context, which fails to confer eligibility as an additional limitation under MPEP 2106.05(h) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 9 is ineligible.
Claim 10
wherein the mechanical behaviour of at least one node corresponds to the behaviour of a swivel.
This merely qualifies the simulated mathematical structure of the numerical IMD, which is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the features of claim 10 are elements of the abstract idea and fail to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the model and its structure are generic computer modeling elements recited at a high level and do not confer eligibility as additional elements under MPEP 2106.05(f) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the models and structures merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of modeling real world elements and/or doing so in a medical context, which fails to confer eligibility as an additional limitation under MPEP 2106.05(h) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 10 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or Step 2B.
Claim 10 is ineligible.
Claim 11
wherein the calculation (100) of the mechanical equilibrium state of the numerical IMD comprises the calculation of a field of displacements Dxi, Dyi, Dzi and a field of rotations Rxi, Ryi, Rzi of each node i of the numerical IMD in a three-dimensional frame of reference linked to the wall model, said two fields being calculated by applying the fundamental dynamic principle on said node.
It’s anyone’s guess what the fundamental dynamic principle is (maybe the fundamental principle of dynamics, which is Newton’s second law, which is essentially F=MA, a mathematical calculation), but this explicitly states that the calculating step of claim 1 is further qualified with further calculations, which are evaluations, mental processes practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen, paper, or a calculator, and are mathematical calculations, which are mathematical concepts. Mental processes and mathematical concepts are abstract ideas. Therefore, the elements of claim 11 are abstract ideas that merge with the abstract ideas of the claims on which claim 11 depends.
Claim 11 fails to provide any additional limitations that would confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 11 is ineligible.
Claim 12
wherein the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium state of the numerical IMD comprises, for at least one node of the numerical IMD, the calculation of a normal force and/or a friction force applied by the wall model on said node, modelling respectively the penetration resistance of the wall and the friction between the IMD and the wall.
This explicitly states that the calculating step of claim 1 is further qualified with further calculations, which are evaluations, mental processes practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen, paper, or a calculator, and are mathematical calculations, which are mathematical concepts. Mental processes and mathematical concepts are abstract ideas. Therefore, the elements of claim 12 are abstract ideas that merge with the abstract ideas of the claims on which claim 12 depends.
Claim 12 fails to provide any additional limitations that would confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 12 is ineligible.
Claim 13
wherein the segments and the nodes of the numerical IMD have at least one end pole, the general shape of the IMD being flattened at the level of the end pole.
This merely qualifies the simulated mathematical structure of the numerical IMD, which is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the features of claim 13 are elements of the abstract idea and fail to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the model and its structure are generic computer modeling elements recited at a high level and do not confer eligibility as additional elements under MPEP 2106.05(f) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the models and structures merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of modeling real world elements and/or doing so in a medical context, which fails to confer eligibility as an additional limitation under MPEP 2106.05(h) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 13 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or Step 2B.
Claim 13 is ineligible.
Claim 14
wherein the end pole is modelled with a first concavity during the determination of the intermediate deformation state, and is modelled with a second concavity different from the first concavity during the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium state.
This merely qualifies the simulated mathematical structure of the numerical IMD, which is an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, the features of claim 14 are elements of the abstract idea and fail to provide any additional limitations to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the model and its structure are generic computer modeling elements recited at a high level and do not confer eligibility as additional elements under MPEP 2106.05(f) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, the models and structures merely limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment of modeling real world elements and/or doing so in a medical context, which fails to confer eligibility as an additional limitation under MPEP 2106.05(h) at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 14 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or Step 2B.
Claim 14 is ineligible.
Claim 15
wherein the numerical IMD is a model of an intrasaccular cage.
Claim 15 merely qualifies elements of the abstract idea and is, therefore, an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 15 fails to provide any additional limitations that could confer eligibility at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, this merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological field, which is medical technology. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.05(h), it fails to provide an additional limitation that confers eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 15 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or Step 2B.
Claim 15 is ineligible.
Claim 16
wherein the numerical IMD is a model of a laser-cut stent.
Claim 16 merely qualifies elements of the abstract idea and is, therefore, an element of the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 16 fails to provide any additional limitations that could confer eligibility at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Should it be found otherwise, this merely limits the abstract idea to a particular technological field, which is medical technology. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.05(h), it fails to provide an additional limitation that confers eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 16 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 or Step 2B.
Claim 16 is ineligible.
Claim 17
comprising a later step iii. of calculating a predictive local apposition of at least one part of the three-dimensional apexes of the numerical IMD on the wall model, preferably calculating a local apposition of a plurality of nodes of the numerical IMD on the wall model.
This explicitly recites calculations, which are evaluations, mental processes practically performable in the mind or with the aid of pen, paper, or a calculator, and are mathematical calculations, which are mathematical concepts. Mental processes and mathematical concepts are abstract ideas. Therefore, the elements of claim 17 are abstract ideas that merge with the abstract ideas of the claims on which claim 17 depends.
Claim 17 fails to provide any additional limitations that would confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Claim 17 is ineligible.
Claim 18
wherein the numerical IMD corresponds to an IMD reference derived from a set of IMD references recorded in a database,
This is mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g), so it does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A, Prong 2. This is also well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) activity under MPEP 2106.05(d) as in the following cited examples: “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network,” “iii. Electronic recordkeeping,” “iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory,” and “vi. Arranging a hierarchy of groups, sorting information, eliminating less restrictive pricing information and determining the price.” Because the wherein clause represents WURC activity and insignificant extra-solution activity, under MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.05(g), respectively, the wherein clause fails to combine with other elements of the claim to provide significantly more than the abstract idea that would confer an inventive concept at Step 2B.)
steps i., ii. and iii. being repeated for each reference of the set of references.
This is merely a repetition of the steps indicated to be elements that provide an abstract idea and fail to provide additional limitations that confer eligibility with respect to the abstract idea for the reasons described with respect to claims 1 and 17.
Accordingly, claim 18 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2, and Step 2B.
Claim 18 is ineligible.
Claim 19
Computer programme product comprising code instructions for the implementation of the simulation method according to claim 1, when said code instructions are executed by a processing unit.
The computer programme product is not one of the four statutory categories, as previously demonstrated. However, should the Applicant correct the claim to recite a machine, the computer programme and the execution by a processing unit merely describe a generic computer implementation, which, under MPEP 2106.05(f) fail to provide additional limitations that would confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B.
The elements of claim 1 are ineligible for the reasons stated.
Accordingly, claim 19 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2, and Step 2B.
Claim 19 is ineligible.
Claim 20
Processing unit comprising:
- means for obtaining a three-dimensional wall model of a natural cavity,
- means for obtaining a numerical IMD, preferably configured to generate the numerical IMD in accordance with an IMD reference derived from a database,
- calculation means configured to determine an intermediate deformation state wherein the numerical IMD is deformed as a function of a shape of the wall model, while remaining included in said shape,
the calculation means being further configured to calculate a mechanical equilibrium state of the numerical IMD as a function of a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD and a mechanical behaviour of the wall model, the processing unit being configured to implement a simulation method according to claim 1.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, all means-plus function placeholders here, including means for obtaining a three-dimensional wall model, means for obtaining a numerical IMD, and calculation means, can be accomplished by a general purpose processor. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the processing unit, even if it comprises all of these elements, can be any general processing unit. Therefore, under MPEP 2106.05(f), the processing unit and the means included in the processing unit are generic computing elements that fail to confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2 and at Step 2B.
The implementation of the features of claim 1 is ineligible for reasons described with respect to claim 1.
Accordingly, claim 20 fails to provide any additional limitations that confer eligibility at Step 2A, Prong 2, and Step 2B.
Claim 20 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 17-20: Perrin
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL: “Patient-specific numerical simulation of stent-graft deployment: Validation on three clinical cases” by Perrin et al. (Perrin).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, Perrin teaches:
Method for simulating the deformation, after implantation, of an implantable medical device, called IMD, in a natural cavity, from a three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavity, the method comprising the following steps implemented by a processing unit: (Perrin Abstract “The purpose of this work is therefore to develop a new numerical methodology to predict stent-graft final deployed shapes after surgery. The simulation process was applied on three clinical cases, using pre-operative scans to generate patient-specific vessel models.” – A natural cavity is modeled. Page 1869, 2.2 “Surgery oriented Endosizes software (Therenva, France) was used to extract aortic and iliac vessel centerlines and vascular lumen contours from pre-operative scans (Kaladji et al., 2013). […] The continuous geometry of lumen surface was generated by surface interpolation driven by the B-splines in ANSYS Design Modeler software (ANSYS, Inc., Canonsburg, PA). The arterial lumen surface was then meshed […] 3D pre-operative scans (A) and corresponding triangular meshes (B) are shown in Fig. 1.” – The natural cavity is simulated in 3D. Pages 3-4, 2.4 “The main body, the iliac limbs and extensions were first compressed radially (slight crimping stage) and assembled (Fig. 2A). Then, the assembled SG was inserted inside a virtual tubular shell (Fig. 2B). From this configuration, proper displacements were prescribed onto the nodes of the virtual shell to morph its geometry onto the pre-operative geometry of the patient's aneurysm while prescribing contact to maintain the SG inside the shell.” – The deformation by the stent is modeled in this simulation. Page 1871, Left Column, Second Paragraph “The FE simulations were run on 12 CPUs computers, 2.66 GHz, 24 GB RAM.”)
i. determining an intermediate deformation state of a numerical IMD representing the IMD, the numerical IMD at the intermediate deformation state being deformed as a function of a shape of the wall model while remaining included in said shape, (Perrin Page 1870-1871, 2.4 “Then, the assembled SG was inserted inside a virtual tubular shell (Fig. 2B). From this configuration, proper displacements were prescribed onto the nodes of the virtual shell to morph its geometry onto the pre-operative geometry of the patient's aneurysm while prescribing contact to maintain the SG inside the shell. Note that, during this step, the shell did not present any mechanical behavior and only acted as a geometrical constraint. At the end of this step, the deployment of the SG inside the pre-operative geometry of the AAA was simulated (Fig. 2C).” – The simulation is done through an intermediate deformation state. )
ii. calculating a mechanical equilibrium state of the numerical IMD from the intermediate deformation state, the step of calculating comprising calculating mechanical stresses undergone by the numerical IMD in the intermediate deformation state which are a function of a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD and a mechanical behaviour of the three-dimensional numerical model of a wall of the cavity, and also comprising the relaxation of said stresses, (Perrin Page 1871, Left Column, First-Second Paragraphs “Finally, the shell elements were ascribed the linearized AAA mechanical properties and all the boundary conditions previously assigned onto the AAA were released, for the SG to recoil and deform the vascular lumen until reaching static mechanical equilibrium (Fig. 2D). All simulations were carried out with the explicit FE solver of Abaqus v6.12 software. Time increments (adjusted via mass scaling) and time steps (Table 3) were chosen to obtain fast results while keeping the ratio of kinematic and internal energies under 10% to avoid spurious dynamic effects, as shown in Fig. 3.” See Table 2 on Page 1870 for the types of stresses modeled. – The mechanical properties/stresses are applied to determine when the geometries of the vessel and stent reach equilibrium.)
wherein a mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD, and/or a rest state of the numerical IMD, during the step determining the intermediate deformation state is not identical respectively to the mechanical behaviour of the numerical IMD, and/or to a rest state of the numerical IMD, during step of calculating the mechanical equilibrium, wherein the calculated mechanical equilibrium state corresponds to the simulated deformation of the IMD after implantation. (Perrin Page 1870-1871, 2.4 “Then, the assembled SG was inserted inside a virtual tubular shell (Fig. 2B). From this configuration, proper displacements were prescribed onto the nodes of the virtual shell to morph its geometry onto the pre-operative geometry of the patient's aneurysm while prescribing contact to maintain the SG inside the shell. Note that, during this step, the shell did not present any mechanical behavior and only acted as a geometrical constraint. At the end of this step, the deployment of the SG inside the pre-operative geometry of the AAA was simulated (Fig. 2C). Finally, the shell elements were ascribed the linearized AAA mechanical properties and all the boundary conditions previously assigned onto the AAA were released, for the SG to recoil and deform the vascular lumen until reaching static mechanical equilibrium (Fig. 2D).” – The interactions are initially modeled purely geometrically, e.g., in the intermediate deformation state. Then, to determine the final geometry of the stent, the system is further modeled with the mechanical properties that were ignored to allow the system to reach equilibrium of the deformation of the vessel and/or stent.)
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Perrin teaches the features of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the intermediate deformation state is determined as a function of contact interactions calculated between three-dimensional apexes of the IMD and three-dimensional apexes of the wall model. (Perrin “From this configuration, proper displacements were prescribed onto the nodes of the virtual shell to morph its geometry onto the pre-operative geometry of the patient's aneurysm while prescribing contact to maintain the SG inside the shell. Note that, during this step, the shell did not present any mechanical behavior and only acted as a geometrical constraint.” – Contact interactions are geometric interactions, which would be modeled as apexes (areas that protrude the most to make the interactions between the vessel and the stent). These geometric interactions are modeled in the intermediate deformation state.)
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Perrin teaches the features of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the mechanical behaviour of the wall model for the calculation of the mechanical equilibrium state is a non-deformable rigid behaviour. (Perrin Page 1874, Second Paragraph “During simulations, we imposed as only boundary conditions that aortic and iliac extremities were motionless.” – This shows a non-deformable rigid behaviour.)
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Perrin teaches the features of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein, during the determination of the intermediate deformation state, the wall model is deformed geometrically from an initial state so as to contain wholly the numeri