DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 09/16/2025, has been entered. Claim 1 is amended; claims 3-5, and 7-9 stand as originally or previously presented; claims 2, 6, 10-11, 13-15, 18-19, 21-22, 25, 27-30, 33-34, 37-39, 41, and 43 are cancelled; and claims 12, 16-17, 20, 23-24, 26, 31, 32, 35-36, 40, and 42 are withdrawn. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 05/16/2025 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to newly found art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Specification
The specification filed on 03/30/2022 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eom et al. (KR20190079428, hereinafter Eom).
Regarding Claim 1, Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material at an anode, [0001]) comprising layers of an amorphous transition metal sulfide (Eom, metal sulfur complex forms a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers, [0001]) and further comprising cations between layers of the amorphous transition metal sulfide wherein only the cations or only the cations and a solvent for solvation of the cations occupy an interlayer space (Eom, the amorphous thin film layer 100 can form a crystalline nanolayer 110 during charging/discharging is repeated, thereby increasing the surface area that can react with secondary battery ions, thereby increasing the capacity of the secondary battery, [0022], Figure 5; the Examiner notes that the amorphous thin film layer and crystalline nanolayer are both present in the electrode, and cations must be intercalated between the layers in order to increase the capacity of the secondary battery, as disclosed).
Regarding Claim 3, Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material at an anode, [0001]), wherein the transition metal sulfide comprises one or more transition metal selected from the group consisting of, titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), and copper (Cu) (Eom, the metal sulfide may be at least one selected from FeS, CuS, CoS, NiS, MnS, TiS, and VS, [0016]).
Regarding Claim 4, Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material at an anode, [0001]), wherein the transition metal sulfide is an iron sulfide (Eom, the metal sulfide may be at least one selected from FeS, [0016]).
Regarding Claim 5, Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material, [0001]), wherein the ratio of iron (Fe) to sulfur (S) in the iron sulfide is about 0.75 to 1 (Eom, the metal sulfide may be at least one selected from FeS, [0016]; the Examiner notes that the ratio of Fe to S in FeS is 1, falling within the claimed range of 0.75 to 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material at an anode, [0001]), wherein the cations are alkali metal cations, alkaline earth metal cations, or organic cations (Eom, lithium-sulfur battery and lithium ions, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 8, Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material at an anode, [0001]), wherein the cations comprise one or more cations selected from Li+ (Eom, lithium-sulfur battery and lithium ions, [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (KR20190079428, hereinafter Eom), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20190267625 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 9, Eom discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Eom discloses the limitations regarding a lamellar transition metal sulfide composition (Eom, a plurality of micro-sized amorphous thin film layers are formed by mixing metal sulfide and a carbon material at an anode, [0001]). While Eom is silent regarding the cations are solvated by a polar aprotic solvent, Eom does disclose that the lithium-sulfur battery has a separator 590 and an electrolyte 700 (Eom, [0035], Figure 1).
Lee discloses a lithium-sulfur battery that comprises an electrolyte impregnated into the separator and is composed of a lithium salt and an electrolyte solution (Lee, [0065]). Lee discloses a polar aprotic solvent (Lee, the non-aqueous organic solvent should dissolve the lithium salt, such as LiPF6 well, and may be an aprotic organic solvent such as ethylene carbonate, [0073-0075]).
Lee teaches that the electrolyte allows for the transport of lithium ions between the positive and negative electrode (Lee, [0069]).
Eom and Lee are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the electrolyte of Lee in the lithium-sulfur battery of Eom, in order to allow for the transport of lithium ions between the positive and negative electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 6-8, filed 09/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Eom et al. (KR20190079428, hereinafter Eom), as noted above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20160020493 A1 discloses an iron-sulphide based battery comprising amorphous FeS and (meta)stable Fe-S clusters [0046].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752