DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, applicant has not pointed out support in the specification for “transmitting, by the ML AP, to the first station, a second set of data using the second AP over the second shared channel using the first BSSID based on the first shared channel being unavailable”. In a review of the application, it is assumed para. [07, 12] provides support (particularly “transmitting, by the AP, to a first station, a first set of data, a first subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a first set of frames, the first set of frames being transmitted using the first RCM over the first shared channel, and a second subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a second set of frames, the second set of frames being transmitted using the second RCM over the second shared channel”, and “each frame of the first and second sets of frames comprising a first MAC address of the first station in a receiver address (RA) field and the first BSSID in a transmitter address (TA) field”), where “using the first BSSID” is interpreted as being similar to “used to be included in a field”, “used for transmission”, etc.
Applicant’s arguments include:
A) on page 12 that Patil378 (US 2018/0098378 A1) does not teach the newly added limitation of claim 1.
Regarding A), applicant’s argument is moot as Patil378 is not cited to teach the newly added limitation.
B) on page 12 that B1) Patil385 (US 2019/0158385 A1) does not teach the newly added limitation.
Regarding B1), applicant’s argument is moot as Patil385 is not cited to teach the newly added limitation.
B2) on pages 12-14 that Patil385’s ML AP “does not necessarily mean that there are two APs in it”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding B2), Patil385 describes an AP as a multi-MAC device that uses multiple MACs on para. [49, 65, 75] and APs in the same BSS (para. 59, 86) and software-enabled APs (e.g. virtual) similar to applicant’s disclosure (e.g. para. [63, 84, 141] and Figs. 3-4) and thus, Patil385 reasonably discloses or at least suggests that an ML AP includes multiple APs in light of the specification.
B3) on page 14 that “nowhere does Patil385 describe the groupings of the AP and STA devices as BSSs and BSSIDs”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding B3), Patil385 describes “APs or STAs in the same BSS” (emphasis added) on para. 59, along with the description pointed to by applicant ("The profile information for a particular BSS may include, for example, the BSSID" on para. 150) and thus, Patil385 reasonably discloses groupings of AP(s) and STA(s) as BSSs and BSSIDs.
C) on pages 14-15 “Patil259 does not disclose that, for transmissions to the same STA, the available second wireless link is transmitted by a second AP different from the first AP that was transmitting on the first wireless link later becoming nonoperational, or that, even if the second AP is used, both the first and second APs use the same BSSID for transmissions to the same STA”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding C), in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As shown on page 14 of the previous OA of 8/8/2025 Patil259 was used to address limitations regarding sending data from the AP to the first station over a second channel when the first channel is busy and Wang (US 2022/0287122 A1) was used to address limitations regarding BSSID; and in the current rejection below, Wang is used to address limitations regarding BSSID and unavailable channels, while Patil259 is used to address the sending of data from the (ML) AP to the first station.
D) on pages 15-16 that Wang (US 2022/0287122 A1) is not prior art since WangProvisional1 (US Provisional Application No. 62/873,587) does not disclose that “BSSID is specifically placed in a transmitter address (TA) field or even in the Address 2 field described in Wang” of newly added limitation. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding D), while applicant’s arguments include “transmitter address (TA)”, and “Address 2 field”, broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification also includes a source address. Further, cited para. 187-188 of Wang includes “The Address 2 field may be set to the Virtual AP ID or to the BSSID of the transmitting AP operating on that link. Additionally, the Address 3 field may be set to the Virtual AP ID… The source address in the downlink packet may be set to the virtual AP ID if the frame is initiated by the master AP”. In looking to details regarding Virtual AP ID, Wang in para. 99 (and supported in WangProvisional1 in para. 99) specifically describes Virtual AP ID as “The virtual AP ID parameter indicates the ID of the virtual AP for which the multi-AP set is represented. This may be a BSSID or a MAC address, which may be the ID of the AP that is operating on the anchor or association channel” [BSSID/ID of the AP on the first shared channel]. Examiner’s stance is further supported in Wang where para. 190 also describes Address 2 and Address 3 with “Address 2 may be set to the Virtual STA ID or the MAC address of the transmitting STA on that link or channel, Address 3 may be set to the Virtual AP ID”, and where para. 184 describes “The source address in the downlink packet may be set to the virtual AP ID if the frame is initiated by the master AP”.
E) on page 16 that remaining claims are allowable in light of the above arguments. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding E), the above responses address the same arguments with dependent claims.
Additionally, amendments to claims 15 and 27 include limitations not commensurate with newly added limitations of claims 1 and 19 (“using the BSSID based on the first shared channel being unavailable, each frame of the first set of frames and the second set of frames comprising a media access control (MAC) address of the ML station in a receiver address (RA) field and the first BSSID in a transmitter address (TA) field, and each frame of the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames comprising the first BSSID in the RA field and the MAC address of the ML station in the TA field”) and thus, corresponding arguments are moot.
In light of the above, the examiner finds applicant’s arguments non-persuasive. Further, rejections and citations have been updated in response to newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The subject matter of the claim merely includes “each frame of the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames comprising the first BSSID in the RA field and the MAC address of the ML station in the TA field” which is identical to “each frame of the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames comprising the first BSSID in the RA field and the MAC address of the ML station in the TA field” in lines 27-29 of independent claim 27 upon which claim 30 ultimately depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 19, 21-23, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. (US 2018/0098378 A1, made of record as pertinent art in the OA of 1/27/2025) hereinafter Patil378 in view of Patil et al. (US 2019/0158385 A1) hereinafter Patil385, further in view of Patil et al. (US 2020/0359259 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/846,466, filed 5/10/2019) hereinafter Patil259, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0287122 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/873,587, filed 7/12/2019) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Patil378 teaches a method implemented by a multi-link (ML) access point (AP) (access point (AP) / basic service set (BSS) including multiple (virtual) APs/BSSs; para. [03-04, 49, 52, 57, 73, 78, 87] and Figs. 2-4), the method comprising: configuring, by the ML AP, a first AP (BSS2; Figs. 2-4) of the ML AP to serve data within a first basic service set (BSS) (BSS2TX; Fig. 2, use / identification of transmitted BSS (TXBSS) / non-transmitted BSS (NTXBSS) BSS; para. 128-130 and Figs. 2-4,) using a first BSS identifier (BSSID) (AP connection with multiple HE STAs; Fig. 1, features implemented in combinations; para. 146, first BSS identifier identifying BSS2+BSS3+STA220 of Figs. [2, 3B]); para. [03-04, 08, 12, 42-45, 49-50, 52-54, 57-58] and Figs. 1-4, exchanging data between devices; para. 45,
)
and to serve data within a second BSS (BSS2NTX; Fig. 3B) using a second BSSID (second BSSID identifying BSS2+BSS3+STA230); para. [03-04, 42-45, 49-50, 52-54, 57-58] and Figs. 1-4, exchanging data between devices; para. 45, connection with multiple HE STAs; Fig. 1
),
the second BSSID (BSS2+BSS3+STA230; Figs. [2, 3B]
)
being different from the first BSSID (BSS2+BSS3+STA220; Figs. [2, 3B]
), and the first AP operating in a first shared channel (shared wireless medium / IEEE 802.11 specifications; para. [03, 09, 18, 41-42, 56, 111, 123]), wherein the first shared channel between the first AP (shared wireless medium / IEEE 802.11 specifications; para. [03, 09, 18, 41-42, 56, 111, 123]), BSS2 [first AP]; Fig. 2) and a first station (STA 220/320; Figs. 1-4) in the first BSS (BSS2TX; Fig. 2) using the first BSSID (BSS2+BSS3+STA220; para. [03-04, 42-45, 49-50, 52-54, 57-58] and Figs. [2, 3B]
);
and the first shared channel (shared wireless medium / IEEE 802.11 specifications; para. [03, 09, 18, 41-42, 56, 111, 123]) between the first AP and a second station (BSS2 and STA 230/330/430; Figs. 1-4) in the second BSS (BSS2NTX; Fig. 2); configuring, by the ML AP, a second AP (BSS3; Figs. 1-4) of the ML AP to serve data within a third BSS (BSS3NTX; Fig. 3) using the second BSSID (second BSS identifier identifying BSS2+BSS3+STA230); para. [03-04, 08, 12, 42-45, 49-50, 52-54, 57-58] and Figs. 1-4, exchanging data between devices; para. 45, connection with multiple HE STAs; Fig. 1
)
and to serve data within a fourth BSS (BSS3TX; Fig. 2) using the first BSSID (BSSID identifying BSS2+BSS3+STA220; Figs. [2, 3B],
,
BSS exchanging data between devices; para. 45), the second AP operating in a second shared channel (shared wireless medium / IEEE 802.11 specifications; para. [03, 09, 18, 41-42, 56, 111, 123]), the second station being in the third BSS (STA 230 included in BSS2TX+BSS3NTX+STA230; Figs. [2, 3B]), the first station being in the fourth BSS (STA 220 included in BSS2NTX+BSS3TX+STA220; Figs. [2, 3B]); transmitting, by the ML AP, to the first station, a first set of data (BSS1-BSS3 of ML AP services HE STAs with data; para. 56), a first subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a first set of frames (data being transmitted as frames; para. 45), the first set of frames being transmitted using the first AP over the first shared channel (transmitted data as frames; para. 45, BSS2 of ML AP services HE STAs with data; para. 56, shared wireless medium / IEEE 802.11 specifications; para. [03, 09, 18, 41-42, 56, 111, 123]).
While Patil378 teaches (802.11ax [2.4 GHz / 5 GHz]), (aggregated management information / control beacons) and contention, Patil378 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first shared channel between the first AP and a first station in the first BSS using the first BSSID is a first master channel, and wherein the first shared channel between the first AP and a second station in the second BSS using the second BSSID is a first slave channel; the second shared channel and the first shared channel operating on different radio frequency carriers, wherein the second shared channel between the second AP and the second station in the third BSS using the second BSSID is a second master channel, and wherein the second shared channel between the second AP and the first station in the fourth BSS using the first BSSID is a second slave channel; and a second subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a second set of frames, the second set of frames being transmitted using the second AP over the second shared channel, determining, by the ML AP, that the first shared channel is unavailable.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil385 teaches wherein the first shared channel between the first AP and a first station in the first BSS (AP1(beacon on primary); para. [67, 145, 161, 179, 192]) using the first BSSID (AP1+AP2+STA2; Fig. 1) is a first master channel (ML AP / software (VAP) on shared wireless medium with STAs; para. [03-05, 43, 46] and Fig. 6, primary link 2 (PL2) between ML AP and STA2; para. 112-114 and Fig. 6, APs and STA2 on same BSS [first BSSID]; para. [55, 59, 86], STA2 receives beacon only on one (primary) link [first BSS with transmitted management beacon (AP1(beacon)+AP2+STA2)]; para. [67, 145, 161, 179, 192]), and wherein the first shared channel between the first AP and a second station in the second BSS (AP1(secondary); para. [145, 161, 179, 192]) using the second BSSID (AP1+AP2+STA3) is a first slave channel (frequency band of PL2 same as frequency band of secondary link 3 (SL3); para. [113-114, 121], ML AP [AP1 and AP2] on shared wireless medium with STAs; para. [03-05, 43, 162] and Figs. [6, 11], SL3 between ML AP and STA3; para. [43, 112-114] and Fig. 6, APs and STAs on same BSS [second BSS]; para. [55, 59, 86], STA3 receives beacon [second BSS without transmitted management beacon (AP1)]; para. [145, 161, 179, 192]
);
the second shared channel and the first shared channel operating on different radio frequency carriers (frequency band of one link (PL2) different from frequency band of another link (PL3); para. [113-114, 121]), wherein the second shared channel between the second AP and the second station in the third BSS (AP2(beacon on primary); para. [145, 161, 179, 192]) using the second BSSID (AP1+AP2+STA3) is a second master channel (PL3 between ML AP and STA3; para. [43, 112-114] and Fig. 6, APs and STAs on same BSS [second BSS]; para. [55, 59, 86], STA3 receives beacon only on one (primary) link [third BSSID identifying BSS with transmitted management beacon]; para. [145, 161, 179, 192]), and wherein the second shared channel between the second AP and the first station in the fourth BSS (AP2(secondary); para. [145, 161, 179, 192]) using the first BSSID (AP1+AP2+STA2) is a second slave channel (SL1 between ML AP and STA2; para. [43, 112-114] and Fig. 6, APs and STAs on same BSS [first BSSID]; para. [55, 59, 86]
);
and a second subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a second set of frames (selective use of secondary link to transmit downlink data to STA as data units / packets; para. [10, 39, 41, 44]), the second set of frames being transmitted using the second AP over the second shared channel (SL1 between ML AP and STA1; para. 112-114 and Fig. 6, selective use of secondary link to transmit downlink data to STA; para. 10), determining, by the ML AP, that the first shared channel is unavailable (AP determines load / activity / interference is above a threshold; para. 141).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil385 to the system of Patil378, where Patil378’s reduction of overhead (para. [05, 44, 56, 60, 70, 80, 107]) along with Patil385’s efficient utilization of channel (para. [62, 74, 89]) improves system efficiency by reducing overhead while improving utilization of channel.
While the combination of Patil378 and Patil385 discloses contention, MAC address and transmitter address and receiver address, the combination of Patil378 and Patil385 does not explicitly disclose each frame of the first set of frames and the second set of frames comprising a first MAC address of the first station in a receiver address (RA) field and the first BSSID in a transmitter address (TA) field over the second shared channel using the first BSSID based on the first shared channel being unavailable.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches each frame of the first set of frames and the second set of frames comprising a first MAC address of the first station in a receiver address (RA) field (frame for data includes [first] MAC header including receiver address (RA) of link; para. 187-188 and Fig. 3B) and the first BSSID in a transmitter address (TA) field (AP downlink data to STA with destination address (DA/TA) as BSSID; para. 187-188) over the second shared channel using the first BSSID based on the first shared channel being unavailable (transmitting data over another channel when first channel unavailable; para. 242, virtual AP [second channel] uses BSSID of AP operating on anchor channel [first BSSID on first channel]; para. 99).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil378 and Patil385, where Patil378 and Patil385’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
The combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the ML AP, to the first station, a second set of data using the second AP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 teaches transmitting, by the ML AP, to the first station, a second set of data using the second AP (AP transmits (second set of) data in queue to STA via available (second) channel when (first) channel unavailable; para. [33, 114-115] and Figs. 5/8A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil385 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang, where Patil378, Patil385, and Wang’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While Patil378 discloses contention, Patil378 does not explicitly disclose determining, by the ML AP, that the first shared channel is available.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil385 further teaches determining, by the ML AP, that the first shared channel is available (AP determines load / activity / interference is above a threshold [implying not above a threshold]; para. 141).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil385 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Patil385’s efficient utilization of channel (para. [62, 74, 89]) improves system efficiency by improving utilization of channel.
The combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the ML AP, to the first station, a first subset of a third set of data using the first AP over the first shared channel, and a second subset of the third set of data using the second AP over the second shared channel based on the first shared channel being available.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches transmitting, by the ML AP, to the first station, a first subset of a third set of data using the first AP over the first shared channel (AP transmits (third set of) data in queue via available (first) channel (first AP) when (first) channel available; para. [33, 114-115] and Figs. 5/8A), and a second subset of the third set of data using the second AP over the second shared channel based on the first shared channel being available (AP transmits (second set of) data in queue via available (second) channel (second AP) when (first) channel available; para. [33, 114-115] and Figs. 5/8A, using channel aggregation (second); para. [33-34, 96, 111, 113] and Figs. 5/8A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
The combination of Patil378 and Patil385 does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the ML AP, the first set of data from a first higher layer entity through a first MAC service access point (M-SAP) of the first AP, the first higher layer entity being above a first MAC entity of the first AP and associated with the ML AP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches obtaining, by the ML AP, the first set of data from a first higher layer entity through a first MAC service access point (M-SAP) of the first AP (data flow through lower media access control (MAC) service access point (MAC SAP) from upper MAC SAP, MAC SAP below logical layer control (LLC) of ML APs; para. 197-200 and Fig. 3C), the first higher layer entity being above a first MAC entity of the first AP and associated with the ML AP (upper MAC SAP / LLC above MAC for ML APs; para. 197-200 and Fig. 3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
While the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang discloses layers and data passing through layers [encapsulation], the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose generating, by the ML AP using the first MAC entity, the first set of frames to encapsulate the first subset of the first set of data and the second set of frames to encapsulate the second subset of the first set of data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches generating, by the ML AP using the first MAC entity, the first set of frames to encapsulate the first subset of the first set of data (first data units (set of frames) from MAC layer to first lower MAC (encapsulated in frames); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, using channel aggregation (first / second AP); para. [33-34, 96, 111, 113]) and the second set of frames to encapsulate the second subset of the first set of data (second data units (set of frames) from MAC layer to second lower MAC (encapsulated in frames); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, using channel aggregation (first / second AP); para. [33-34, 96, 111, 113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 4.
While the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang discloses layers and data passing through layers [encapsulation], the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the ML AP, from the first station, a fourth set of data, a first subset of the fourth set of data being encapsulated in a third set of frames, the third set of frames being received using the first AP over the first shared channel, and a second subset of the fourth set of data being encapsulated in a fourth set of frames, the fourth set of frames being received using the second AP over the second shared channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches receiving, by the ML AP, from the first station, a fourth set of data (uplink data (data received by AP); para. 85 and Figs. 1/5, aggregated data units (including fourth set) transmitted to receiver over link 1; para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A), a first subset of the fourth set of data being encapsulated in a third set of frames (packets of data units (fourth data) from upper layer to lower layer (encapsulated in frames) of link 1; para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, aggregated data units (including fourth set) transmitted to receiver (AP) over link 1 (first subset); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A), the third set of frames being received using the first AP over the first shared channel (data transmitted from lower layer over link 1 (first AP); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, wireless device supports shared channels (2.4 GHz, 5 GHZ); para. 33), and a second subset of the fourth set of data being encapsulated in a fourth set of frames (packets of data units (fourth data) from upper layer to lower layer (encapsulated in frames) of link 2; para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, aggregated data units (including fourth set) transmitted to receiver (AP) over link 2 (second subset); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A), the fourth set of frames being received using the second AP over the second shared channel (data transmitted from lower layer over link 2 (second AP); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, wireless device supports shared channels (2.4 GHz, 5 GHZ); para. 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 7.
While the combination of Patil378 and Patil385 discloses uplink packets, the combination of Patil378 and Patil385 does not explicitly disclose each frame of the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames comprising the first BSSID in a RA field.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches each frame of the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames comprising the first BSSID in a RA field (STA uplink data to AP with destination address (DA/TA) as BSSID; para. 189).
While the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang discloses MAC address of STA in a transmitted field, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose and a first MAC address of the first station in a TA field.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches a first MAC address of the first station in a TA field (transmission from transmitter (AP) to receiver (STA) uses (first) MAC address transmitter address (TA of first STA) for data regardless of link transmitted on; para. 118-119 and Figs. 8A/11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
While the combination of Patil378 and Patil385 discloses multi-link AP, virtual AP, and different BSSs for APs, the combination of Patil378 and Patil385 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first AP and the second AP are co-located, wherein a first MAC address of the first AP is different from a second MAC address of the second AP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches wherein the first AP and the second AP are co-located (logical STAs are co-located; para. 67 and Figs. 3B-3C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
While Wang discloses multiple MACs and multiple APs, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein a first MAC address of the first AP is different from a second MAC address of the second AP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches wherein a first MAC address of the first AP is different from a second MAC address of the second AP (each AP having MAC endpoint; para. 104 and Fig. 4C, each MAC endpoint having separate address; para. 118 and Fig. 4C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions (memory 940; para. 108-109 and Fig. 9: Patil378); and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, the one or more processors executing the instructions (processor performing instructions in memory; para. 119-117 and Fig. 9: Patil378).
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil378 in view of Patil385, further in view of Wang, further in view of Patil259, and further in view of Ho et al. (US 2021/0100050 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/906,689, filed 9/26/2019) hereinafter Ho.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 7.
The combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 does not explicitly disclose processing, by the ML AP using the first MAC entity, the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames to recover the fourth set of data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ho teaches processing, by the ML AP using the first MAC entity, the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames to recover the fourth set of data (data received at lower-MAC (L-MAC) of link 2 using upper-MAC (U-MAC) of link 1 (first MAC entity) of AP; para. 62-63 and Fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ho to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Ho’s multi-link association (para. 04) improves customer experience by enabling interoperability by standardizing devices manufactured by different entities.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259, and Ho teaches the limitation of previous claim 8.
While the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang discloses M-SAP, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose delivering, by the ML AP, the fourth set of data to the first higher layer entity through the first M-SAP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches delivering, by the ML AP, the fourth set of data to the first higher layer entity through the first M-SAP (received data (fourth data) at STA (AP) passes through M-SAP to higher layer at first link; para. 105-106 and Figs. 5/8A/11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259, and Ho, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259, and Ho’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Claim(s) 11-12, 14, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil378 in view of Patil385, further in view of Wang, further in view of Patil259, and further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2019/0268956 A1) hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
The combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259 does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the ML AP, to the second station, a fifth set of data, a first subset of the fifth set of data being encapsulated in a fifth set of frames, the fifth set of frames being transmitted using the first AP over the first shared channel, and a second subset of the fifth set of data being encapsulated in a sixth set of frames, the sixth set of frames being transmitted using the second AP over the second shared channel; and receiving, by the ML AP, from the second station, a sixth set of data, a first subset of the sixth set of data being encapsulated in a seventh set of frames, the seventh set of frames being received using the first AP over the first shared channel, and a second subset of the sixth set of data being encapsulated in an eighth set of frames, the eighth set of frames being received using the second AP over the second shared channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xiao teaches transmitting, by the ML AP, to the second station (AP 1150 using second communication link (second station); para. 115 and Fig. 11), a fifth set of data, a first subset of the fifth set of data being encapsulated in a fifth set of frames (multi-link aggregation with second STA having data packets (first subset of fifth set data) associated with application using MAC (encapsulation); para. [116, 121-122]), the fifth set of frames being transmitted using the first AP over the first shared channel (VAP2 optional (thus using VAP1) and using two channels for transmission by AP; para. [122, 139] and Figs. 11/15, VAPs using shared frequency bands; para. 48), and a second subset of the fifth set of data being encapsulated in a sixth set of frames (multi-link aggregation with second STA having data packets (second subset of fifth set data) associated with application using MAC (encapsulation); para. [116, 121-122]), the sixth set of frames being transmitted using the second AP over the second shared channel (VAP2 optional (thus using VAP1 / second RCM) and using two channels; para. 122 and para. 139 and Figs. 11/15, VAPs using shared frequency bands; para. 48); and receiving, by the ML AP, from the second station, a sixth set of data, a first subset of the sixth set of data being encapsulated in a seventh set of frames (multi-link aggregation with second STA having data packets (first subset of sixth set data) associated with application using MAC (encapsulation); para. 116 and para. 121-122), the seventh set of frames being received using the first AP over the first shared channel (VAP2 optional (thus using VAP1) and using two channels for transmission by STA (reception by AP); para. 122 and para. 139 and Figs. 11/15, VAPs using shared frequency bands; para. 48), and a second subset of the sixth set of data being encapsulated in an eighth set of frames, the eighth set of frames being received using the second AP over the second shared channel (VAP2 optional (thus using VAP1) and using two channels; para. 122 and para. 139 and Figs. 11/15, VAPs using shared frequency bands; para. 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Xiao to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Xiao’s multiple virtual APs (para. 04) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation along with multiple virtual APs.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao teaches the limitation of previous claim 11.
While the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang discloses higher/lower layers and data passing through layers [encapsulation], the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the ML AP, the fifth set of data from a second higher layer entity through a second M-SAP of the second AP, the second higher layer entity being above a second MAC entity of the second AP and associated with the ML AP; and generating, by the ML AP using the second MAC entity, the fifth set of frames to encapsulate the first subset of the fifth set of data and the sixth set of frames to encapsulate the second subset of the fifth set of data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches obtaining, by the ML AP, the fifth set of data from a second higher layer entity through a second M-SAP of the second AP ((second) higher layers provide data (from second STA) to (second) M-SAP; para. 35-36 and Fig. 8A), the second higher layer entity being above a second MAC entity of the second AP and associated with the ML AP ((second) higher layers provide data (from second STA) to (second) M-SAP; para. 35-36 and Fig. 8A, one association identification (AID/second BSS/BSSID) mapped to each link (associated with AP); para. 132); and generating, by the ML AP using the second MAC entity, the fifth set of frames to encapsulate the first subset of the fifth set of data (fifth data units (set of frames) from MAC layer to lower MAC (encapsulated in frames); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, using channel aggregation (first/second AP); para. [33-34, 96, 111, 113]) and the sixth set of frames to encapsulate the second subset of the fifth set of data (second data units (set of frames) from MAC layer to second lower MAC (encapsulated in frames); para. 105 and Figs. 5/8A, using channel aggregation (first/second RCM); para. [33-34, 96, 111, 113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao teaches the limitation of previous claim 11.
The combination of Patil378 and Patil385 does not explicitly disclose each frame of the fifth set of frames and the sixth set of frames comprising the second BSSID in the TA field, the second BSSID in an RA field.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches each frame of the fifth set of frames and the sixth set of frames comprising the second BSSID in the TA field (AP downlink data to STA with destination address (DA/TA) as BSSID; para. 188) the second BSSID in an RA field (STA uplink data to AP with destination address (DA/TA) as BSSID; para. 189).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
The combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose a second MAC address of the second station in an RA field, and each frame of the seventh set of frames and the eighth set of frames comprising the second MAC address of the second station in the TA field.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches a second MAC address of the second station in an RA field (MAC address of MAC-SAP used for data transmitted to receiver regardless of link (each frame for station) for receiver address (RA); para. 118 and Fig. 8) and each frame of the seventh set of frames and the eighth set of frames comprising the second MAC address of the second station in the TA field (transmission from transmitter (STA) to receiver (AP) uses (second) MAC address transmitter address (TA of second STA) for data; para. 118-119 and Figs. 8A/11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
Claim(s) 13 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil378 in view of Patil385, in view of Wang, in view of Patil259 in view of Xiao, and further in view of Ho.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao teaches the limitation of previous claim 12.
The combination of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao does not explicitly disclose processing, by the ML AP using the second MAC entity, the seventh set of frames and the eighth set of frames to recover the sixth set of data; and delivering, by the ML AP, the sixth set of data to the second higher layer entity through the second M-SAP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ho teaches processing, by the ML AP using the second MAC entity, the seventh set of frames and the eighth set of frames to recover the sixth set of data (data (from second STA) received (processed) at L-MAC of link 2 using U-MAC of link 1 (second MAC entity) of AP; para. 62-63 and Fig. 3A); and delivering, by the ML AP, the sixth set of data to the second higher layer entity through the second M-SAP (received data (sixth data) at STA (AP) passes through M-SAP to higher layer at first link; para. 105-106 and Figs. [5, 8A,11]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ho to the modified system of Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao, where Patil378, Patil385, Wang, Patil259 and Xiao’s modified system along with Ho’s multi-link association (para. 04) improves customer experience by enabling interoperability by standardizing devices manufactured by different entities.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Claim(s) 15-16, 27-28, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil385 in view of Patil378, further in view of Wang, and further in view of Patil259.
Regarding claim 15, Patil385 teaches a method implemented by a multi-link (ML) station (multi-link station (ML STA); para. 43 and Figs. [1, 6]), the method comprising: associating, by the ML station, with a first basic service set (BSS) of an access point (AP) using a first station of the ML station, the first BSS being identified by a first BSS identifier (BSSID) (ML STA associated to AP 110 using primary / secondary links; para. 70 and Figs. [1, 6], connected corresponding to basic service set (BSS); para. 46, BSS identified using BSSID; para. [04, 38, 146, 148, 162, 164]), and the first station operating in a first shared channel (STA and AP operating on shared channel; para. [38, 43, 149]), wherein the first shared channel between the first station and the AP in the first BSS is a master channel (STA and AP operating on primary channel; para. [38, 43, 149], BSS identified using BSSID; para. [04, 38, 146, 148, 162, 164]); communicating, by the ML station, with the AP using the first station in the master channel (communication devices communicate management / control / beacon on primary link; para. 67), to configure a second station of the ML station (beacons for establishing connection; para. 64-65, ML STA associated to AP 110; para. 111-112 and Figs. [1, 6]), the second station operating in a second shared channel (secondary link of STA; para. 112 and Figs. [1, 6], STA and AP operating on shared channel; para. [38, 43, 149]), the second shared channel and the first shared channel operating on different radio frequency carriers (different links on different channels; para. 127), wherein second shared channel between the second station and the AP is a slave channel (secondary link of STA and AP; para. 112 and Figs. [1, 6], STA and AP operating on shared channel; para. [38, 43, 149]); transmitting, by the ML station, to the AP, a first set of data (uplink (UL) data; para. 58), a first subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a first set of frames, the first set of frames being transmitted using the first station over the first shared channel (STA transmits UL data on primary link using link aggregation [UL data being first set, data on primary being first subset on first set of frames]; para. 58, exchange of data using frames / protocol data units (PDUs) [encapsulation]; para. 44), and a second subset of the first set of data being encapsulated in a second set of frames (STA transmits UL data using link aggregation [UL data on non-primary being second set of frames of second subset]; para. 58, exchange of data using frames / PDUs [encapsulation]; para. 44), the second set of frames being transmitted using the second station over the second shared channel (STA transmits UL data using link aggregation [secondary link / channel]; para. 58, exchange of data using frames / PDUs; para. 44); and receiving, by the ML station, from the AP, a second set of data, (downlink (DL) data; para. [09, 39, 41, 44]) a first subset of the second set of data being encapsulated in a third set of frames (multiple concurrent DL communication of data [third set of frames being second set of data having first / second subsets] via primary communication link and at least one other link between AP and STA using frames / PDUs [encapsulation] [third set of frames for DL / second set of data]; para. [09, 39, 41, 44]), the third set of frames being received using the first station over the first shared channel (multiple concurrent [first / second subsets] DL [third set] communication of data via primary communication link and at least one other link between AP and STA using frames / PDUs [encapsulation]; para. [09, 39, 41, 44]), and a second subset of the second set of data being encapsulated in a fourth set of frames (multiple concurrent [second subset] DL [fourth set] communication of data via at least one other link between AP and STA using frames / PDUs [encapsulation]; para. [09, 39, 41, 44]), the fourth set of frames being received using the second station over the second shared channel (STA transmits DL data using link aggregation [fourth set on secondary link / channel]; para. [09, 39, 41, 44], exchange of data using frames / PDUs; para. 44).
Patil385 does not explicitly disclose with a second BSS of the AP, the second BSS being identified by a second BSSID, in the second BSS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil378 teaches with a second BSS of the AP (BSS3NTX; Fig. 2), the second BSS being identified by a second BSSID, in the second BSS (second BSSID identifying BSS2+BSS3+STA220); para. [03-04, 42-45, 49-50, 52-54, 57-58] and Figs. 1-4, exchanging data between devices; para. 45, connection with multiple HE STAs; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil378 to the system of Patil385, where Patil385’s efficient utilization of channel (para. [62, 74, 89]) along with Patil378’s reduction of overhead (para. [05, 44, 56, 60, 70, 80, 107]) improves system efficiency by improving utilization of channel while reducing overhead.
While the combination of Patil385 and Patil378 discloses contention, MAC address and transmitter address and receiver address, the combination of Patil385 and Patil378 does not explicitly disclose using the BSSID based on the first shared channel being unavailable, each frame of the first set of frames and the second set of frames comprising a media access control (MAC) address of the ML station in a receiver address (RA) field and the first BSSID in a transmitter address (TA) field,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches using the BSSID based on the first shared channel being unavailable (transmitting data over another channel when first channel unavailable; para. 242, virtual AP [second channel] uses BSSID of AP operating on anchor channel [BSSID on first channel]; para. 99), each frame of the first set of frames and the second set of frames comprising a media access control (MAC) address of the ML station in a receiver address (RA) field (frame for data includes [first] MAC header including receiver address (RA) of link in uplink/downlink; para. 187-188 and Fig. 3B) and the first BSSID in a transmitter address (TA) field (AP downlink data to STA with destination address (DA/TA) as BSSID in uplink/downlink; para. 187-188), and each frame of the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames comprising the first BSSID in the RA field(STA uplink data to AP with destination address (DA/TA) as BSSID; para. 189).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil385 and Patil378, where Patil385 and Patil378’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
While the combination of Patil385, Patil378, and Wang discloses MAC address of STA in a transmitted field, the combination of Patil378, Patil385, and Wang does not explicitly disclose the MAC address of the ML station in the TA field.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Patil259 further teaches the MAC address of the ML station in the TA field (transmission from transmitter (STA) to receiver (AP) uses (first) MAC address transmitter address (TA of STA) for data regardless of link transmitted on; para. 118-119 and Figs. 8A/11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Patil259 to the modified system of Patil385, Patil378, and Wang, where Patil385, Patil378, and Wang’s modified system along with Patil259’s managing of multi-link aggregation (para. 05) improves interoperability by standardizing operation of multi-link aggregation.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 15.
The combination of Patil385 and Patil378 does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by the ML station, the first set of data from a higher layer entity of the ML station through a MAC service access point (M-SAP) of the first station; and generating, by the ML station using a MAC entity of the first station, the first set of frames to encapsulate the first subset of the first set of data and the second set of frames to encapsulate the second subset of the first set of data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches obtaining, by the ML station, the first set of data from a higher layer entity of the ML station through a MAC service access point (M-SAP) of the first station (services / higher layers (data) of STA pass through M-SAP layers for corresponding link (first STA); para. 196-198 and Figs. 3A-3C); and generating, by the ML station using a MAC entity of the first station (M-SAP uses upper MAC (generate); para. 195 and Figs. 3A-3C), the first set of frames to encapsulate the first subset of the first set of data and the second set of frames to encapsulate the second subset of the first set of data (M-SAP provides aggregation of data units (encapsulating) for transmission of frames over multiple links (encapsulation of data for transmission over multiple links); para. 198). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Patil385 and Patil378 teaches the limitation of previous claim 15.
While Patil385 and Patil378 disclose multi-link AP, virtual AP, and different BSSs for APs, the combination of Patil385 and Patil378 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first station and the second station are co-located, and wherein a first MAC address of the first station is different from a second MAC address of the second station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang further teaches wherein the first station and the second station are co-located (logical STAs are co-located; para. 67 and Figs. 3B-3C), and wherein a first MAC address of the first station is different from a second MAC address of the second station (each virtual STA includes separate MAC address; para. [181, 187-190] and Fig. B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Wang to the modified system of Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Wang’s multi-link load balancing (para. 84, 158, 199) improves resource efficiency by improving spectral efficiency.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 15, including a non-transitory memory storage comprising instructions (memory 1140 including ; para. [165-175, 201-204] and Fig. 11: Patil385); and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, the one or more processors executing the instructions (processor 1130 performing instructions in memory; para. [165-175, 201-204] and Fig. 11: Patil385).
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16.
Claim(s) 17 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil385 in view of Patil378, further in view of Wang, further in view of Patil259 and further in view of Ho.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259 teaches the limitation of previous claim 16.
While the combination of Patil385, Patil378, and Wang discloses MAC address of STA in a transmitted field, the combination of Patil385, Patil378, and Wang does not explicitly disclose processing, by the ML station using the MAC entity of the first station, the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames to recover the second set of data; and delivering, by the ML station, the second set of data to the higher layer entity through the M-SAP of the first station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ho teaches processing, by the ML station using the MAC entity of the first station, the third set of frames and the fourth set of frames to recover the second set of data (upper MAC (U-MAC) of first interface (STA) coordinates with lower MAC (L-MAC) of first interface (first STA, third set of frames) and second interface (fourth set of frames) to receive frames from multi-link (processing); para. 63 and Fig. 3A); and delivering, by the ML station, the second set of data to the higher layer entity through the M-SAP of the first station (first interface connects to host (STA, higher layer) through multi-link operation layer (M-SAP) above first interface for data / frames; para. 63-66 and Fig. 3B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Ho to the modified system of Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259, where Patil385, Patil378, Wang, and Patil259’s modified system along with Ho’s multi-link association (para. 04) improves customer experience by enabling interoperability by standardizing devices manufactured by different entities.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 17.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kneckt et al. (US 2021/0076437 A1) discloses a system and method for enhanced high throughput (EHT) stations.
Naribole et al. (US 2021/0076419 A1) discloses method and system for multi-link aggregation in wireless local area network.
Asterjadhi et al. (US 2020/0036618 A1) discloses polling in wireless systems.
Patil et al. (US 2019/0215884 A1) discloses mechanisms to support secondary channel operation.
Chu et al. (US 2020/0037324 A1) discloses media access control for punctured/aggregated communication channels in WLAN.
US Provisional Application Nos. 62/846,466 (Patil259), 62/873,587 (Wang), and 62/906,689 (Ho) have been included in the OA of 8/2/2024 and thus, are not included in the instant OA.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474