DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ arguments filed on 28 March 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 30 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 30 recites “the second terminal” at line 9, which appears to lack antecedent basis. Claim 34 is similarly rejected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 33, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al (US Pub. 2020/0260413) in view of Shilov et al. (US 2020/0374861) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10,785,618).
Regarding claim 30, Hong discloses:
“a first terminal comprising:
Memory storing instructions; and
a processor operatively connected with the memory,”Hong discloses a method performed by a terminal (user equipment) configured for sidelink communication, including transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) and data to another terminal. (para. 72)
“wherein the processor is configured to:
… transmit, to a second terminal, sidelink control information (SCI) comprising information related to the N resources…”Hong discloses transmitting SCI from a first terminal to a second terminal, where the SCI includes information related to sidelink resource usage. (fig. 12, step S1240; para. 10, 72, 94, 98, 102)
Hong does not specifically disclose:
“determining N resources that have time-domain offsets, with respect to a reference resource, below a threshold offset T in a time slot, wherein a value of the threshold offset T is preconfigured;”
However, Shilov from an analogous art discloses:
“determining N resources that have time-domain offsets, with respect to a reference resource…”Shilov discloses selecting multiple sidelink resources within a time-domain resource selection window and applying temporal constraints relative to another resource. For example:
“resources of the set may be excluded within a time interval (THARQ) from a previously selected resource” (¶16)
This teaches determining resources based on temporal distance relative to another resource, thereby establishing a reference-based temporal relationship between resources.
“…below a threshold offset T in a time slot…”Shilov further discloses that the temporal span of selected resources is bounded. Specifically:
“the duration of a scheduling window may be determined by the maximum possible time gap between the first and last … resource indicated by a given SCI transmission” (¶24)
This teaches that the temporal separation between selected resources is limited by a maximum allowable time gap, i.e., a bounded temporal range.
“…wherein a value of the threshold offset T is preconfigured;”Shilov further teaches that such temporal bounds are configurable or predefined:
“Scheduling window duration (TSW) can be either predefined by a specification or configurable” (¶24)
and
“the scheduling window … comprising a predetermined number of slots” (¶13)
This teaches that the temporal constraint governing resource selection is based on preconfigured values.
Additionally, Lee from an analogous art discloses:
“time-domain offsets, with respect to a reference resource…”Lee discloses that SCI includes fields indicating relative temporal relationships between resources, including:
“time gap (TGAP_INIRETX) between transmission start and retransmission” (col. 77:44–47)
and
“frequency resource position (FRA_INRETX) of the transmission start and retransmission” (col. 77:47–50)
This teaches that SCI encodes relative temporal and frequency relationships between resources, including defining a second resource relative to a first resource.
“SCI comprising information related to the N resources.”Lee discloses that SCI includes multiple fields identifying resource-related parameters, including temporal (time gap) and frequency resource positions, thereby teaching that SCI conveys information related to multiple resources and their relationships.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Hong to determine sidelink resources using the time-domain selection techniques of Shilov and to signal the selected resources and their temporal relationships as taught by Lee, in order to efficiently schedule multiple sidelink transmissions and avoid resource conflicts.
Further, it would have been obvious to express the temporal constraints taught by Shilov—namely, (i) exclusion based on temporal distance relative to another resource (¶16), and (ii) a bounded maximum time gap between resources (¶24)—in terms of time-domain offsets relative to a reference resource compared to a threshold offset T, since representing temporal constraints using a threshold is a predictable implementation technique that simplifies comparison operations and enables configurable control. Because Shilov teaches that such temporal bounds are predefined or configurable, the threshold offset T would likewise be preconfigured.
Regarding claims 33 and 37, further discloses wherein
a value of the N is preconfigured (para. 98, When there is a small number of transmission UEs which intend to transmit sidelink data/packets in one cell, the transmission UEs can use contiguous frequency resources (e.g., contiguous RBs). In this case, contiguous allocation that can reduce inband emission can be used.; fig. 16 depicting contiguous subchannels being transmitted before a first time x+T; para. 115, 117).
Claim 34 recites a method corresponding to a first terminal of claim 30, and is thus similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468