DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application. Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from consideration due to Applicant’s election.
Amendments to claim 1, filed on 9/11/2025, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-13 should begin with “Method.” It seems that this should be “A method.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “simultaneously deep-drawing and thermoforming of the stack.” It seems that this should be “simultaneous deep-drawing and thermoforming of the stack.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “lamination for planar connection of the two-dimensional sheet structure contained in the stack is obtained….” It is unclear if “the two-dimensional sheet structure” is intended to be “the two-dimensional sheet structures.” Claims 2-13 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallon et al. (US 2015/0047227 A1) in view of Ohnishi et al. (US 2008/0289616 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7 and 10, Fallon teaches footwear including an upper connected to a sole structure (Abstract). The upper includes two portions formed via compression molding in which textile layers are compressed to form a fabric laminate (Abstract). In the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, the upper 105 is formed of two portions, a first or planum portion 205 coupled (e.g., connected) to a second or dorsum portion 210 via a seamless coupling member 215 ([0027]). The heel cup 340 of the planum portion 205 is seamless ([0029]). In a further embodiment, the entire planum portion 205 is seamless, with the heel cup 315A and the planum support 315B forming a unitary and/or one-piece structure ([0029]). In an embodiment, the dorsum portion 210 possesses a unitary (one piece) construction ([0037]). The toe cage 150, furthermore, may be a stitchless, contoured (three-dimensional) structure ([0037]). In a further embodiment, the toe cage 150 is seamless ([0037]). Therefore, Fallon teaches a segment being free of connection points in its surface, as claimed.
An exemplary compression molding apparatus is illustrated in FIG. 6 ([0057]). As shown, the compression molding apparatus 605 includes a first or female molding portion 610 configured to receive a second or male molding portion 615 possessing a shape complementary to the shape of the first molding portion ([0057]). The apparatus 605 may be utilized to shape a single layer, or may be utilized to shape a multilayered structure ([0057]). In the embodiment shown in FIG. 6, the formed upper 105 includes three layers—an outer or exterior layer 620, a middle or intermediate layer 625, and an inner or interior layer 630 ([0057]). By way of example, the exterior layer 620 may be a breathable, synthetic fabric (e.g., a polyester fabric), the intermediate layer 625 may be open-celled foam (e.g., ethylene vinylacetate), and the interior layer 630 may be a breathable, synthetic fabric (e.g., a polyester fabric) ([0057] and [0064]). In embodiments, the outer 620 and/or inner 630 layers may be formed of leather, GORETEX, etc. ([0060]). Upon compression (and the application of heat), the layers 620, 625, 630 adhere, forming a fabric laminate ([0061]). Additionally, the fabric laminate conforms to the shape of the molding portions 610, 615, permanently holding its shape ([0061]). In this manner, the planum portion 205 and dorsum portion 210 of the upper 105 may be formed, possessing the shape of the mold ([0061] and FIG. 2). This formation process enables the creation of the macrostructure of the upper 105 (the general shape of the planum 205 and dorsum 210 portions of the upper), but also the microstructure of the upper (the toe guide structure) ([0062] and FIG. 2). The examiner notes that the claimed deep-drawing limitation is met by the fabric laminate being conformed to the shape of the molding portions 610, 615 to permanently hold its shape and to form the planum portion 205 and dorsum portion 210 (FIG. 2).
In an embodiment, one or more portions 205, 210 of the upper 105 may include perforations to permit the flow of fluid (e.g., air and/or water) therethrough ([0034]). The examiner notes that a portion 205, 210 that permits the flow of air but not water would meet the claimed water-tight, water-vapour-permeable segment limitation. In addition, Fallon teaches that specifically, the upper 105 or portions thereof may be formed of, for example, knit, woven or non-woven material made using fibers such as, but not limited to, nylon, polyester, polyurethane and or spandex, with elastomeric properties ([0080]). The fabric may be breathable (permitting the passage of fluid such as air or water therethrough), or may be non-breathable (preventing passage of fluid therethrough) ([0080]). As noted above, in embodiments, the outer 620 and/or inner 630 layers may be formed of leather, GORETEX, etc. ([0057]). The examiner notes that GORETEX is a waterproof, breathable fabric membrane and would meet the claimed limitation “whereby the first sheet structure forms a watertight, water vapour-permeable functional layer.” The combination of GORETEX in outer 620 and/or inner 630 layers with an intermediate layer 625 of open-celled foam would also (or alternatively) meet the claimed water-tight, water-vapour permeable segment limitation.
Fallon does not explicitly disclose an adhesion of at least 1.0 N, measured according to DIN 53530:1981-02 with a test piece width of 25 mm.
However, Ohnishi teaches a disposable warmer that has a bag including a bag member (A) and a bag member (B) (Abstract). With reference to FIG. 1, in a heat-sealed portion 6, a porous film 1b and a nonwoven fabric layer 1a are preferably firmly bonded ([0076]). The adhesive strength (peel force) between the porous film 1b and the nonwoven fabric layer 1a in the heat-sealed portion 6 is preferably 3.0 N/25-mm or more, and more preferably 5.0 to 20.0 N/25-mm ([0076]). A disposable warmer having the adhesive strength in the heat-sealed portion 6 of less than 3.0 N/25-mm may suffer from delamination between the porous film 1b and the nonwoven fabric layer 1a in the heat-sealed portion 6 when used as a disposable warmer ([0076]). In an embodiment, a disposable warmer preferably has a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, and this is preferably used as a disposable warmer to be attached to the body, cloth, or footwear ([0113]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the footwear segment of Fallon with an adhesive strength (peel force) of preferably 3.0 N/25-mm or more, and more preferably 5.0 to 20.0 N/25-mm, in at least one portion thereof in order to avoid delamination between the layers in the segment when the segment is used in or as a footwear product (see [0076] and [0113] of Ohnishi).
Regarding claims 2, 6 and 9, as applied above, Fallon teaches that by way of example, the exterior layer 620 may be a breathable, synthetic fabric (e.g., a polyester fabric), the intermediate layer 625 may be open-celled foam (e.g., ethylene vinylacetate), and the interior layer 630 may be a breathable, synthetic fabric (e.g., a polyester fabric) ([0057]). In embodiments, the outer 620 and/or inner 630 layers may be formed of leather, GORETEX, etc. ([0060]). The examiner notes that GORETEX is composed of ePTFE. (Also see [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, the examiner notes that GORETEX has a microporous structure.
Regarding claim 8, Fallon teaches that, additionally, the exterior layer 620 and/or the interior layer 630 may further include an elastic fiber (e.g., spandex or elastane) to provide the layers with elastic properties ([0058]).
Claim(s) 3 and 11-13 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallon et al. (US 2015/0047227 A1) in view of Ohnishi et al. (US 2008/0289616 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bacino et al. (US 2017/0049170 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fallon in view of Ohnishi remains as applied above.
Fallon in view of Ohnishi does not explicitly disclose whereby thermoforming is assisted by applying a vacuum between the mould body and the stack or the deformed stack.
However, Bacino teaches wherein a conforming step adheres textile layer(s) to a ePTFE membrane, and in certain embodiments pressure and/or vacuum may be utilized ([0073]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have applied vacuum in combination with pressure in a thermoforming/laminating step in order to easily and successfully conform and adhere textile layers to the shape of a mold for the production of garments such as waders, as suggested by Bacino (Abstract, [0073] and [0076]).
Regarding claims 11-12, modified Fallon does not explicitly disclose whereby the first sheet structure is a pre-laminate comprising a functional layer and at least one further ply, which are connected by means of a hot-melt adhesive or a reactive adhesive, the adhesive being applied continuously or discontinuously to the functional layer and/or the at least one further ply.
However, Bacino teaches that garments may comprise ePTFE membranes or film materials, whether single or multi-layer in configuration ([0066]). In an embodiment, an adhesive may be a layer of a thermally activating adhesive where activation of the adhesive can be affected by a heating device ([0067]). The examiner notes that Bacino also teaches using adhesives to form additional layers ([0025], [0066]-[0067] and [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the layers within the multi-layer ePTFE membranes or films with thermally activating adhesives in order to securely form multilayer ePTFE films that can be further combined with additional layers for the formation of garments, as suggested by Bacino ([0025], [0066]-[0067] and [0072]).
Regarding claim 13, Bacino teaches that, in certain embodiments, the extensible ePTFE tape and/or film has a minimum elongation at break of 200% or more in at least one direction, e.g., 300% or more, or 500% or more, according to ASTM D 638 (2003) ([0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Fallon fails to explicitly teach that the sheet structures are not connected prior to the molding process. Applicant also contends that Ohnishi does not overcome this shortfall of Fallon.
Regarding these contentions, Fallon teaches an upper that includes two portions formed via compression molding in which textile layers are compressed to form a fabric laminate (Abstract). Compression molding permits formation of a textile laminate having unique geometries (e.g., predetermined macrostructures and microstructures) ([0038]). Upon compression (and the application of heat), layers 620, 625, 630 adhere, forming a fabric laminate ([0061]). The examiner notes that this is reasonably interpreted as meaning that the layers are not adhered prior to compression, as a laminate is only formed upon compression during the disclosed compression molding process.
Applicant contends that, in general, Fallon does not provide any specific reasoning or rationale to the skilled artisan to combine its disclosure with the teaching of Ohnishi with any reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding this contention, the examiner notes that Fallon and Ohnishi are both directed to the lamination of stacked thermoplastic polymer sheet layers (e.g., see [0061]-[0062] and [0071]-[0072] of Ohnishi). Ohnishi teaches that a porous film 1b and a nonwoven fabric layer 1a are preferably firmly bonded, and that the adhesive strength (peel force) between the porous film 1b and the nonwoven fabric layer 1a in this heat-sealed portion 6 is preferably 3.0 N/25-mm or more ([0076]). Ohnishi does not teach or require any bonding prior to the bonding that results in this adhesive strength. Fallon and Ohnishi also both teach laminated products that are useful in footwear. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that thermoplastic polymers sheet layers could be stacked and bonded to achieve the adhesive strength (peel force) taught by Ohnishi, and would further have been motivated to do so in order to avoid delamination of laminates used in or as a footwear product.
Applicant contends the following: “Fallon mentions thermoforming but is silent on deep-drawing. Deep-drawing is a much more sophisticated and complex process that leads to deeper and more complex structures than thermoforming. The fact that Fallon mentions thermoforming does not provide the necessary reason or rationale for one of ordinary skill in the art to somehow use a combination of both thermoforming and deep-drawing simultaneously. Thus, Fallon does not provide any teaching that the skilled artisan should consider the use of deep-drawing.”
Regarding this contention, the examiner notes that the compression molding process disclosed by Fallon is a method of deep drawing with forming tools and therefore meets the claimed deep drawing limitation. Fallon teaches that compression molding permits formation of a textile laminate having unique geometries (e.g., predetermined macrostructures and microstructures), including the macrostructure of the upper 105 ([0038] and [0062]). Fallon also teaches that, with respect to FIG. 6, the compression molding apparatus 605 includes a first or female molding portion 610 configured to receive a second or male molding portion 615 possessing a shape complementary to the shape of the first molding portion ([0057]). Upon compression (and the application of heat), the layers 620, 625, 630 adhere, forming a fabric laminate ([0061]). Additionally, the fabric laminate conforms to the shape of the molding portions 610, 615, permanently holding its shape ([0061]). In this manner, the planum portion 205 and dorsum portion 210 of the upper 105 may be formed, possessing the shape of the mold ([0061]). The examiner notes that the mold of Fallon therefore has the three-dimensional contour of the planum portion 205 and dorsum portion 210 of the upper 105 of a shoe, and is used to obtain laminates having this three-dimensional contour through the thermoforming of two-dimensional sheet structures, which meets the claimed deep-drawing limitation (see also FIGS. 2-4 and [0027]-[0032] of Fallon).
Applicant contends the following: “As Fallon is silent on the pre-processing of the sheet structures, it cannot provide any explicit teaching or suggestion that molding and connection could and much less should be carried out in the same process. Furthermore, Ohnishi also does not include any such teaching, as Ohnishi only refers to a delamination strength during use.”
Regarding this contention, as noted above, Fallon teaches that, upon compression (and the application of heat), layers 620, 625, 630 adhere, forming a fabric laminate ([0061]). This is reasonably interpreted as meaning that the layers are not adhered prior to compression, as a laminate is only formed upon compression. Fallon teaches that, additionally, the fabric laminate conforms to the shape of the molding portions 610, 615, permanently holding its shape ([0061]). In this manner, the planum portion 205 and dorsum portion 210 of the upper 105 may be formed, possessing the shape of the mold ([0061]). Therefore, as applied above, Fallon teaches simultaneous deep-drawing and thermoforming, as well as simultaneous lamination, as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin Worrell/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789