DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Arguments presented in pages 7-8 of Remarks state that Lu discloses only a single latch member and concludes that Lu does not teach “two resiliently deformable latch members” or the two trailing surfaces having the proposed obtuse angle.
Limbert, however, discloses two resiliently deformable latch members (116) as clearly shown in Figures 3 and 4c. Modification of the trailing surface taught by Lu to each of the two latch members would result in the claimed arrangement having two trailing surfaces having the proposed angle.
Arguments presented in pages 8-9 of Remarks state that Lu discloses two separate and discreet embodiments in which the latch is 1) manually activated; and 2) pulled out by force. Arguments state that the two options are taught in discreet embodiments.
Even if the two activation methods were taught in discreet embodiments, the examiner maintains that it would be obvious to include both features in the modification of Limbert, especially since Limbert already discloses a latch that can be manually depressed. Further, with Figure 14 of Lu having both activation mechanisms present, one of ordinary skill would recognize the option to include both.
Paragraph [0044] really only appears to disclose an embodiment not depicted in Figure 14 where the angle is a right angle instead of obtuse. Figure 14 shows an obtuse angle. Here, Paragraph [0044] explains the only option for depressing the latch is manually. The examiner maintains that the structure allowing for both manual depression of the latch and pulling by force is fairly depicted in Figure 14 and that the description correspondingly describes this use. Figure 14 further shows the notch allowing for manual depression of the latch.
Arguments presented spanning pages 9-11 of Remarks note that Limbert pertains to a duplex adaptor and Lu discloses an adaptor system for connecting two fibres. Arguments here further note that Lu teaches an additional coupling nut retaining the first connector in the first port even if a pull-out force of at least 100 pounds is applied to the first connector. Arguments conclude that Lu teaches away from the claimed invention.
While Lu additionally teaches a retaining nut, it is maintained that Lu still teaches the claimed trailing surface angle of the engagement element and an engagement member that can benefit from being detachable by a force parallel to the longitudinal axis of the connector. Lu establishes that variation from a 90 degree angle toward an obtuse angle is a known customization of a latch engagement element within the field of fibre optic connectors.
On Page 10 of Remarks, arguments note that rationale provided in the Office action for the combination of references are “not aims of the present invention.” Per MPEP 2144 IV, however, it is not necessary that the combination of references achieve the same advantage or result discovered by Applicant.
While arguments address the references identifying many differences between each other and individually compared to aspects of the invention, it is again noted that structurally, Limbert discloses all aspects of the claimed invention of claim 1 with exception of the angle of the trailing surface. The examiner maintains that modification of the trailing surface to be obtuse to allow for disengagement by a parallel force with the connector is an obvious modification of the Limbert device having recognizable advantages as discussed by Lu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, 15-24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limbert et al. US 2014/0056562 A1 (hereinafter “Limbert”) in view of Lu et al. US 2008/0175542 A1 (hereinafter “Lu”).
Regarding claim 1, Limbert teaches a fibre optic connector (“connector” 110; [0039]; FIG. 3) for insertion into a fibre optic adaptor (11; FIGs. 1-3 – the examiner notes that Limbert uses reference character “11” to refer both to the adaptor of FIGs. 1-3 and to the individual connection units shown in FIG. 5; in this rejection, “11” refers exclusively to the adaptor, and the individual connection units are referred to with reference character “211,” which is used in the alternative embodiment shown in FIG. 9a, to avoid confusion), said fibre optic connector comprising:
a body portion (“body” 112, including “single units,” also called “simplex connectors,” 211; [0038]; [0049]; FIGs. 3-4b, 9a – although single units 211 are only labeled on FIG. 9a, a similar structure is clearly present in FIGs. 4a-4b and so this structure will also be referred to as 211 for convenience); and
a latch mechanism (114; [0038]) provided on the body ([0038]: “mounted on an upper surface of the body 112”; FIG. 4b);
said latch mechanism comprising two resiliently deformable latch members (“pair of latch members, arms” 116; [0038]; [0040] discloses that “the latch arms 116 are capable of flexing” which the examiner takes to mean that they are “resiliently deformable”);
each said resiliently deformable latch member comprising at least one engagement element (“retention lugs” 118; [0040]; FIGs. 3, 4c – each latch member 116 comprises one engagement element 118) wherein said resiliently deformable latch members are configured to deform towards each other in use (arms 116 are deformed toward each other to fit into and engage with the receptacle when the arm leading surface is pushed past 26, see Figure 3);
each said at least one engagement element comprising a leading surface and a trailing surface (see annotated FIG. 4c below); wherein the latch mechanism is adapted for actuation by a user depressing the deformable latch member to allow the fibre optic connector to be withdrawn from the fibre optic adaptor ([0040]).
Limbert does not teach wherein an angle between each said trailing surface and the corresponding resiliently deformable latch member is obtuse, thereby allowing the fibre optic connector to be withdrawn from the fibre optic adaptor also by application of a force in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the connector without user actuation of the latch mechanism. The connector of Limbert is removable only via actuation by a user depressing the latch members perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (i.e., with a “lateral force”; [0012], [0040]). One of the goals of Limbert is to produce a fibre optic connector which is easy to install and remove even in high-density optical networks where many connectors may be stacked on top of each other ([0006]).
Lu teaches a fibre optic connector (“first connector” 32; [0039]; FIGs. 14-15) for insertion to a fibre optic adaptor (“adapter” 34), said fibre optic connector comprising a latch mechanism (“latch” 50), said latch mechanism comprising a resiliently deformable latch member (“cantilever arm” 90), said resiliently deformable latch member comprising an engagement element (“retention tab” 51), said engagement element comprising a leading surface (“inclined region” 92) and a trailing surface (“declined region” 94), wherein an angle (180° − A3) between said trailing surface and a longitudinal axis of the fibre optic connector is obtuse ([0042]; see annotated FIG. 15 below), thereby allowing the fibre optic connector to be withdrawn from the fibre optic adaptor by application of a force in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the connector without user actuation of the latch mechanism ([0041]). Lu also teaches that the slope of the angle may be adjusted to require more or less force in order to remove the connector from the adaptor ([0041]). The connector of Lu may also be removed by user actuation of the latch mechanism ([0044]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Lu, to form an obtuse angle between each said trailing surface and a longitudinal axis of the fibre optic connector of Limbert, thereby allowing the fibre optic connector to be withdrawn from the fibre optic adaptor also by application of a force in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the connector without user actuation of the latch mechanism, thereby rendering obvious instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow more flexibility and customizability in the design of the connector. Both Limbert and Lu are directed to fibre optic connectors intended to be used in high-density optical networks (Limbert [0006]; Lu [0005]), and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the longitudinal movement which may be used to disengage the connector of Lu would be suitable to incorporate into the connector of Limbert for the purpose of increasing the number of ways the connector may be disengaged from the adaptor, which would be useful in a high-density optical network.
Regarding claim 2, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said resiliently deformable latch member (116) is configured to resiliently deform in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of said fiber optic connector (110) (see annotated FIG. 4b below).
Regarding claim 4, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said resiliently deformable latch members (116) are mirror images of one another (see, e.g., FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said resiliently deformable latch members (116) are mounted substantially opposite one another (see, e.g., FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said resiliently deformable latch members (116) are resiliently biased away from one another ([0040] discloses that a user may deform the resilient deformable latch members towards each other, which implies that in a resting state they are resiliently biased away from one another).
Regarding claim 8, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said resiliently deformable latch members (116) are resiliently biased in a direction away from said body portion (112) ([0046] discloses that a user may deform the latch mechanism 114 towards the body portion 112 to disconnect it, which implies that in a resting state the latch mechanism 114 and the latch members 116 thereon, are resiliently biased away from the body portion 112).
Regarding claim 9, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that, in use, a removal force is required to overcome a resilient bias of said resiliently deformable latch members (116) to remove said fibre optic connector (110) from said fibre optic adaptor (11) ([0040]: “a user can apply pressure laterally across the body for disengagement” – “pressure” applied by a user is understood to be synonymous with a “removal force” which “overcomes a resilient bias”).
Limbert/Lu does not explicitly teach that the removal force is around 20N. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the exact amount of removal force required is a result effective variable which would affect the strength of the connection between the fibre optic connector and the adaptor. One of ordinary skill in the art would also recognize that, in order to be able to be manually disconnected, the removal force required to disconnect the fibre optic connector and the adaptor would need to be a force able to be exerted by a human hand.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to require a removal force of 20N to overcome a resilient bias of said resiliently deformable latch members to remove said fibre optic connector from said fibre optic adaptor for the purpose of achieving a removal force which both allows for reliable connection of the connector and the adaptor and still is able to be exerted by a human hand, thereby rendering obvious instant claim 9. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (e.g., the removal force required to disconnect a fibre optic connector and adaptor) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 10, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said trailing surface (Limbert see annotated FIG. 4c above; Lu 94) comprises a curve (see Limbert FIG. 4c and Lu FIG. 15 – under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “curve,” both of these surfaces are considered to meet the claim language).
Regarding claim 11, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said leading surface (Limbert see annotated FIG. 4c above; Lu 92) comprises a curve (see Limbert FIG. 4c and Lu FIG. 15 – under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “curve,” both of these surfaces are considered to meet the claim language).
Regarding claim 12, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said leading surface (Limbert see annotated FIG. 4c above; Lu 92) comprises a convex curve (see Limbert FIG. 4c and Lu FIG. 15).
Regarding claim 13, Limbert/Lu, as applied to claim 11 above, does not explicitly teach that said leading surface and said trailing surface (Limbert see annotated FIG. 4c above; Lu 92, 94) are substantially mirror images of one another. However, Lu teaches that the angles A2 and A3 which define the inclination and declination of the trailing and leading surfaces may be equal ([0042]). If angles A2 and A3 are equal, then the leading and trailing surfaces will be mirror images of each other. The exact slope of angles A2 and A3 will affect the force required to install and remove the connector, and if A2 and A3 are equal, then approximately the same amount of force will be required to remove the connector as is required to install it (Lu [0042]). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the additional teachings of Lu to make the leading and trailing surfaces in the connector of Limbert/Lu mirror images of each other for the purpose of requiring the same about of force to install the connector and to remove the connector, thereby rendering obvious instant claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said resiliently deformable latch member (116) transitions smoothly into a corresponding one of said engagement elements (118) (see, e.g., FIG. 4c – the engagement elements 118 are formed as extensions of each of the latch members 116, and so each latch member transitions smoothly from the arm of the latch member to the engagement element at the end of the arm).
Regarding claim 16, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said resiliently deformable latch member (116) transitions smoothly into a corresponding one of said leading surfaces (see, e.g., annotated FIG. 4c above).
Regarding claim 17, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said resiliently deformable latch member (116) transitions smoothly into a corresponding one of said trailing surfaces (see, e.g., annotated FIG. 4c above).
Regarding claim 18, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said resiliently deformable latch members (116) are configured to resiliently deform towards said body portion (112) ([0046] discloses that a user may deform the latch mechanism 114, which includes the latch members 116, towards the body portion 112 to disconnect it).
Regarding claim 19, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that said resiliently deformable latch members (116) are configured to resiliently deform in a direction parallel to a surface of said body portion (112) ([0039]-[0040] disclose that pressure is applied to deform the latch mechanisms “laterally across the body,” i.e., parallel to a surface of the body portion 112; see annotated FIG. 4b above).
Regarding claim 20, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said resiliently deformable latch member (116) comprises a release portion (“protruding release points” 117; [0040]; FIG 3).
Regarding claim 21, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said release portion (117) is located at an end of a corresponding one of said resiliently deformable latch members (116) distal from said body portion (see annotated FIG. 4b below).
Regarding claim 22, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that each said resiliently deformable latch member (116) protrudes beyond an edge of said body portion (112) (see, e.g., FIG. 5 – latch members protrude beyond an edge of section 112 of the body portion).
Regarding claim 23, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches at least two cut out windows (see, e.g., single unit 211 in FIGs. 4b, 9a), said cut out windows provided on opposing faces of said body portion (although only one side is shown, it is implied the opposing face of the body portion is symmetric, especially in light of FIG. 1 which shows the opposing orientation).
Regarding claim 24, Limbert/Lu additionally teaches that the number of said at least one resiliently deformable latch members (116) and the number of said engagement elements (118) is equal (there are two of each – see, e.g., FIGs. 3, 4b).
Regarding claim 27, Limbert discloses the fibre optic connector as configured for connecting a single fibre optic (e.g. one side of Figure 3 element 112, or one side of 211) to a single port of a fibre optic adaptor. It is further noted that the claim language does not prevent additional fibre optic connections.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Limbert in view of Lu and in further view of Castonguay et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0121222 “Castonguay”).
Regarding claim 26, Limbert as modified by Lu fails to disclose the specific force required to remove said fibre optic connector from said fibre optic adaptor. Castonguay, however, teaches a cable pull-out force of at least 20 Newtons (Paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the removal force to be within the proposed range. One would have been motivated to form the removal force as proposed to ensure a desired robust retention of the fiber according to conventional standards as taught by Castonguay (abstract).
Inventorship
Contact Information
/MICHAEL H CALEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871