DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of Group I, claims 1, 2, 4-7, still applies and claims 8-12 remain withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. 2017/0298251) in view of Leir et al. (EP 0250248).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-7, Park discloses a silicone coating composition comprising a vinyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane (as in claim 2), a silicone crosslinking agent, a metal catalyst and a solvent (as in claim 5 and forming a liquid composition as in claim 4), at respective amounts that overlap claim 6, for forming a release coating (see abstract, [0033]-[0045]).
Park does not disclose the particular solvent or the claimed urea silicone compound however Leir is also directed to release coatings and teaches that a urea silicone compound overlapping the elected species, formed via reaction of aminopropyl terminated polydimethylsiloxane and tetramethylene diisocyanate, (within the scope of claim 1) may be used as a release agent in release coatings to control the degree of release force and also to provide strength, mechanical and elastomeric properties, and also Leir suggests tetrahydrofuran as a suitable solvent to keep the compound in solution (see abstract, page 3, lines 1-55, formula 1 overlaps if R is methyl, m is zero, n is 500, Y is C3 alkylene, and Z is C4 alkylene, and D is H, also note the chain extender is optional as reflected in example 6, also see page 4, lines 45-60, page 6, lines 1-25). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the urea silicone compound from Leir as a release agent in Park in order to control the degree of release force and also to provide strength, mechanical and elastomeric properties (and with such an effect resulting in the amount of the urea compound being obvious to adjust, including to values within the range of claim 6, as part of the optimization of the degree of release force, and the strength, mechanical and elastomeric properties). It would have further been obvious to have included tetrahydrofuran (as in claim 7) as the solvent in Park because Leir teaches that it is suitable for dissolving the urea silicone compound.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Leir in the above rejection fails to teach the claimed urea siloxane compound because it prefers diisocyanate compounds with Z of greater than 5 carbon atoms. However, Applicant is only referring to preferred (which do not limit the reference) and Leir clearly teaches that Z may be tetramethylene (i.e., C4) which is within the claimed range (see page 3).
Applicant then argues unexpected results based on the present examples. However, the present amendment appears to exclude the present examples relied upon (preparation example 1, which is disclosed as being prepared from “hexamethylene diisocyanate,” see [0131] of the present PGPub, which has a 6 carbon alkylene group). Even if the claims included preparation example 1, the claims would not otherwise be commensurate in scope with the examples, in terms of the other variables in the claimed formula, and the type and amount of the claimed ingredients, which are much broader in the claims than in the cited examples.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787