DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the following claimed subject matter:
“an entire range in a longitudinal direction of a cable,”
“entire ranges in the longitudinal direction of portions at ends of adjacent differential pairs.”
Correction is required. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagawatari et al. (US 8,348,699) in view of Peloza et al. (US 6,722,898) and Murayama et al. (US 6,764,342).
Regarding claim 8, Nagawatari discloses (in Fig. 12) a cable connector assembly comprising: one or more cables (102); and a cable connector for electrically connecting the one or more cables to an electronic device, the cable connector comprising: a housing (2, 4A), and a metal shield member (4, 42) configured to cover a circumference of a part near an end (part of 102 inside the shield member) of a differential pair on the electronic device side, the differential pair (intended use) being formed of the one or more cables, the metal shield member comprising: a first shield member comprising a metal underside shield member (4A); and a second shield member comprising a metal U-shaped shield member (42, Fig. 12); wherein each cable includes a conductive coating film (107) and a conducting wire (102) covered by the braided wires, wherein the end of the differential pair includes a tip of each cable where the conductive coating film is absent and the conducting wire is exposed (Fig. 9), wherein the tip (102A) of each cable includes a connection portion with an external terminal (12, Fig. 2); and wherein the shield member surrounds an upper side, an underside side, a left side and a right side of an entire range (see Figs. 1, 2, 12 and 13) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (102) of a portion where the conducting wire (102A) is exposed at the end of said each of the plurality of differential pairs, and separates ends (102) of adjacent differential pairs from each other (see Figs. 12 and 14).
Nagawatari does not discloses the conductive coating film being formed of braided wires. Peloza teaches that the conductive coating can be formed of braided wires (braided tube, col. 1 lines 20-22 and 51-54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the conductive coating with braided wires, as taught by Peloza, in order to provide a known and effective conductive coating.
Murayama teaches a shield member (90) separates, from each other, entire ranges in the longitudinal direction of portions at ends of the adjacent differential pairs where the conducting wires (201) are exposed (Figs. 4 and 11; 90 extends along entire distance of 201). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the shield extending to a portion in which the conductive wires are exposed, as taught by Murayama, in order to enhance shielding between the pairs.
Regarding claim 2, Nagawatari discloses the shield member having a first shield member (4) configured to cover one side of the circumference of the differential pair and at least one second shield member (42) configured to cover all other sides of the circumference of the differential pair.
Regarding claim 3, Nagawatari discloses a plurality of second shield members (42, 42) arranged in parallel in a predetermined direction (left to right in Fig. 12), and wherein the first shield member is integrally formed in the predetermined direction with respect to the plurality of second shield members.
Regarding claim 6, Nagawatari discloses that the shield member covers the differential pairs each formed of two cables (intended use, Figs. 12 and 14).
Regarding claim 7, Nagawatari discloses that the shield member covers the differential pairs each formed of one cable (intended use).
Regarding claim 13, Nagawatari discloses a second plurality of differential pairs formed of one or more cables stacked in a vertical direction (left to right in Fig. 12) with respect to the plurality of differential pairs to form multiple layers.
Regarding claim 14, Nagawatari discloses the metal shield member being a thin plate member (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 16, Nagawatari discloses an underside of the metal U-shaped shield member being an open face (Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Please note that Nagawatari discloses that the shield member surrounds an upper side, an underside side, a left side and a right side of an entire range (see Figs. 1, 2, 12 and 13) in a longitudinal direction of the cable (102) of a portion where the conducting wire (102A) is exposed at the end of said each of the plurality of differential pairs, and separates ends (102) of adjacent differential pairs from each other (see Figs. 12 and 14).
Additionally, Murayama teaches a shield member (90) separates, from each other, entire ranges (201 as shown in Fig. 11) in the longitudinal direction of portions at ends of the adjacent differential pairs where the conducting wires (201) are exposed (Figs. 4 and 11; 90 extends along entire distance of 201).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to Applicant's arguments that “even if the ground plates 30 and separators 90) of Murayama were applied to the connector of Nagawatari, they would physically contact the main body 2, so it is not possible to form the ground plates 30 and separators 90 so as to extend to the linear conductor 102A”, please note that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Nonetheless, please note that Nagawatari teaches respective spaces in the body (2) to accommodate the shield member (90).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833