DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on December 16, 2025. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 13 is canceled. Claims 1-12, 14 and 15 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on January 13, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. 2019/124796, hereinafter Ju in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0278389, hereinafter Chi, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0337374, hereinafter Matecki, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0093763, hereinafter Kusunoki and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0241103, hereinafter Pfeiff.
Regarding claim 1, Ju teaches a battery module (10) for an electric vehicle (paragraph [0035] and figures 1-3). The battery module (10) comprises a first battery cell assembly (100, “first cell block”) and a second battery cell assembly (200, “second cell block”) arranged along a first direction (paragraph [0042] and figure 2). Each battery cell assembly (100 and 200) includes a battery cell stack (paragraph [0037]).
A bottom plate (300, “module frame”) houses the first battery cell assembly (100, “first cell block”) and the second battery cell assembly (200, “second cell block”) (paragraph [0048] and figure 2). It is noted that absent a reference point, the terms “front” and “rear” have no absolute meaning. In the present case, the bottom plate (300, “module frame”) is shown to be open on four sides (figure 2) and is thus open in a “front” and “rear” direction.
A top plate (400) is coupled to the bottom plate (300) such that it covers both cell assemblies (100 and 200) (paragraph [0049]). The top plate (400) includes a first section covering the first cell assembly (100, “first cell block”), a second section covering the second cell assembly (200, “second cell block”) and an intermediate portion between the first section and the second section (figures 1-3). The intermediate portion is below the first section and the second section (figures 1-3).
The top plate (400) has a front wall and a back wall spaced from each other in the first direction and open sides (figure 2).
The top plate (400) is coupled to the bottom plate (300) via connection bridge (500) and edge bridges (600) placed between them and intended to absorb impact applied to the battery module (10) (paragraphs [0051, 0057] and figures 1 and 2).
Ju fails to teach that: 1) the top plate (400) is directly coupled to the bottom plate (300) and an insulating film connected to an extending downwardly from a side edge of the intermediate portion and covering a sidewall of the bottom plate (300, “module frame”); and 2) a cooling plate arranged below a bottom portion of the bottom plate (300, “module frame”).
Regarding 1), features such as Ju’s connection bridges are known to be formed integrally with a corresponding bottom plate. See, e.g. Chi who describes a conventional battery assembly including a pack tray (1) supporting battery modules (2) separated by a cross beam (3) intended to increase the rigidity of the pack case and intended to prevent deformation in the event of external impact. Chi teaches that it is conventional practice to form the cross beam (3) integrally with the pack tray (1) (paragraph [0007]). See, also Matecki who teaches a battery tray (10) supporting battery modules (14) separated by a cross member (28). Cross member (28) is integrally formed with the battery tray (10), is coupled to a cover (30) and serves to absorb external impact (paragraphs [0026, 0028] and figures 3 and 3A). Matecki further teaches forming the bottom tray (10) and cross members (28) from metal for the purpose of supporting the battery modules (14) (paragraph [0030]). Coating the interior of battery module metal housings with an insulation film is widely practiced for the purpose of providing electrical insulation to the metal housings – see, e.g. Kusunoki (paragraph [0072]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Ju’s connection bridges integrally with the bottom plate (300, “module frame”) for the purpose of simplifying the assembly and reducing the number of constituent components and to form the bottom plate (300, “module frame”) and connection bridges from metal for the purpose of providing sufficient support. In the combination of Ju and Chi/Matecki, the top plate (400) would be directly coupled to the bottom plate (300, “module frame”). In the combination of Ju, Chi/Matecki and Kusunoki, Ju’s connection bridges would be sidewalls covered by an insulating film. The connection bridge (500) is connected to a side edge of the intermediate portion – thus, the insulating film on the connection bridge (500) would be connected to and extending downwardly from a side edge of the intermediate portion and covering the connection bridge (500, “sidewall”).
Regarding 2), it is well-known in the art that electric vehicle battery modules require cooling. Pfeiff teaches a battery assembly (2) for an electric vehicle. Pfeiff’s battery assembly (2) includes a plate (3, “module frame”) supporting a first storage element (4, “first cell block”) and a second storage element (4, “second cell block”) spaced apart along a first direction (paragraph [0033]). A channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) is arranged below a bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”). A channel (9, “flow path”) is formed in the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”). Coolant flows through the channel (9, “flow path”) (paragraphs [0033, 0038] and figures 3-5 and 9). The channel (9, “flow path”) is formed in the first direction (figures 6-10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cooling plate arranged below a bottom portion of the bottom plate (300) in Ju’s assembly for the purpose of being able to cool the first battery cell assembly (100, “first cell block”) and the second battery cell assembly (200, “second cell block”).
Regarding claim 2, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) comprises a plurality of bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) protruding upward from a bottom surface of the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) (Pfeiff’s paragraph [0038] and figure 5).
The plurality of bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) extend in the first direction, such that a channel (9, “flow path”) is formed between each two adjacent bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) (paragraph [0038] and figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that absent a reference point, the terms “front end portion” and “rear end portion” have no absolute meaning. For example, the “front end portion” and “rear end portion” may be defined as shown in annotated Figure 2 above.
In the combination of Ju and Pfeiff, the plurality of bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) are separated from the “front end portion” and “rear end portion” as shown in Figure 1 below.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Defining the "front end portion" and the "rear end portion" of the channel plate (13, "cooling plate").)]
Regarding claim 4, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”) is located at an upper side portion of the channel (9, “flow path”) (Pfeiff’s figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) is formed in a size corresponding to the bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”) (Pfeiff’s figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) is coupled by welding to the bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”) (Pfeiff’s paragraphs [0015, 0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches a battery pack (1) comprising the battery module (10) of claim 1. The battery pack (1) comprises an additional battery module (10) (Ju’s paragraph [0067]).
The additional battery module (10) comprises a third cell assembly (100, “third cell block”) and a fourth cell assembly (200, “fourth cell block”) arranged along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (figure 5).
The additional battery module (10) includes a second bottom plate (300, “module frame”) supporting the third cell assembly (100, “third cell block”) and the fourth cell assembly (200, “fourth cell block”).
Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the additional battery module (10) comprises a second cooling plate arranged below a bottom portion of the second bottom plate (300). The second cooling plate includes a flow path in the first direction through which refrigerant flows.
Regarding claim 8, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that front end portions of all of the channels (9, “flow paths”) are connected to a cooling channel (25, “refrigerant supply portion”) to receive a supply of coolant. All rear end portions of all of the channels (9, “flow paths”) are connected to a cooling channel (25, “refrigerant discharge portion”) to discharge the coolant (Pfeiff’s paragraph [0042] and figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 9, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the cooling channel (25, “refrigerant supply portion”) and the cooling channel (25, “refrigerant discharge portion”) are connected to a coolant circuit (Pfeiff’s paragraph [0033]). Therefore, the cooling channel (25, “refrigerant supply portion”) necessarily includes an inlet to receive supply of the coolant and the cooling channel (25, “refrigerant discharge portion”) necessarily includes an outlet to discharge the coolant.
Regarding claim 10, Ju teaches that the battery pack (1) is mounted in a vehicle (paragraphs [0090-0092]). Ju teaches that the additional battery module (10) is arranged along a second direction relative to the battery module (10).
Ju fails to specify the orientation of the second direction relative to the longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
Pfeiff teaches a vehicle (1) powered by the energy storage device (2) (paragraph [0033]). In Pfeiff’s energy storage device (2) multiple rows of storage elements (4) are arranged along a second direction. The second direction is the same as the longitudinal direction of the vehicle (figures 1 and 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient Ju’s battery pack (1) in the manner taught by Pfeiff so that the second direction is the same as the longitudinal direction of the vehicle without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Ju as modified by Pfeiff teaches that the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) comprises a plurality of bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) (Pfeiff’s paragraph [0038] and figure 5).
A linear channel (9, “flow path”) is formed between each two adjacent bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) (Pfeiff’s paragraph [0038] and figures 5 and 6). Therefore, the bridge pieces (14, “partition walls”) are linear.
Regarding claim 12, Ju teaches that the upper plate comprises a front end flange and a rear end flange connected to and extending upwardly from the bottom plate (300, “module frame”) (Ju’s figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 14, Ju teaches that the bottom plate (300, “module frame”) comprises a bottom wall and a pair of sidewalls. Each of the pair of sidewalls has a notch in a top edge at a location corresponding to the intermediate portion (figures 1-3).
Claims 1, 4-6, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2018/0241103, hereinafter Pfeiff in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. 2013/139908, hereinafter Haussmann, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0308559, hereinafter Hwang and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2014/0093763, hereinafter Kusunoki.
Regarding claim 1, Pfeiff teaches an energy storage device (2, “battery module”) (paragraph [0033] and figures 1 and 3-10). The energy storage device (2, “battery module”) comprises a first storage element (4, “first cell block”) and a second storage element (4, “second cell block”) arranged along a first direction (Figure 2 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Pfeiff's assembly. Indicating the first direction.)]
A plate (3, “module frame”) houses the first storage element (4, “first cell block”) and the second storage element (4, “second cell block”) (paragraph [0033]). It is noted that absent a reference point, the terms “front” and “rear” have no absolute meaning. In the present case, the plate (3, “module frame”) is shown to be open on two sides in the first direction (figures 1 and 5) – it is thus considered open in a “front” and “rear” direction.
A channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) is arranged below a bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”). A channel (9, “flow path”) is formed in the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”). Coolant flows through the channel (9, “flow path”) (paragraphs [0033, 0038-0041] and figures 3-5 and 7-9).
The channel (9, “flow path”) is formed in the first direction (paragraphs [0040, 0041] and figures 7 and 8).
Pfeiff teaches side skirts (27) located on opposite sides of the plate (3, “module frame”) in a direction orthogonal to the first direction. The side skirts (27) provide connections (20 and 21) for the coolant (paragraph [0041] and figure 9).
Pfeiff teaches that each storage element (4, “cell block”) may be a battery module (paragraph [0010]), but does not provide structural details of the battery module.
Pfeiff does not: 1) explicitly teach that each storage element (4, “cell block”) is a battery cell stack; 2) teach an upper plate; and 3) teach an insulating film.
Regarding 1), the arrangement of battery cells in a stack to form a battery module is ubiquitous in the art – see, e.g. the Haussmann reference cited by Pfeiff (paragraph [0006]). Haussmann teaches a battery module (10) made up of a stack of battery cells (12) (p. 8, lines 18-20 and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the storage element (4, “cell block”) as a stack of battery cells without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding 2), the use of cover plates designed to give structural and environmental protection to battery modules is ubiquitous in the art. For example, Hwang teaches a battery module (10) comprising cell assemblies (14) spaced apart from each other and supported on a common bottom plate (10a) (paragraphs [0024-0026] and figures 1 and 2). A battery cover (10b) is directly coupled to the bottom plate (10a) such that it covers the cell assemblies (14) (paragraph [0026] and figures 1 and 2). The battery cover (10b) includes a first section covering one cell assembly (14), a second section covering a second cell assembly (14) and an intermediate portion between the first section and the second section (figure 2). The intermediate portion is below the first section and the second section (figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in Pfeiff’s assembly an upper plate, which is directly coupled to the plate (3, “module frame”), has a first section covering the first storage element (4, “first cell block”), a second section covering the second storage element (4, “second cell block”) and an intermediate portion between the first section and the second section and below the first and second sections for the purpose of providing structural support and environmental protection to Pfeiff’s storage elements (4, “cell blocks”).
Given that the plate (3, “module frame”) is open on two sides in the first direction, it would be obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist to form the upper plate with a front wall and a back wall spaced from each other in the first direction for the purpose of providing structural support and environmental protection. Similarly, given the presence of the side skirts (27), it would be obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist to fashion the upper plate with “open sides” in order to fit with the side skirts (27) when the upper plate is secured to the plate (3, “module frame”).
Regarding 3), the use of metal enclosures for battery modules is well-known in the art – see, e.g. Kusunoki (paragraph [0072]). When such enclosures are formed of metal, it is customary to coat the interior with an insulation film for the purpose of providing electrical insulation to the metal housings (Kusunoki’s paragraph [0072]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cover plate of Pfeiff as modified by Hwang from metal for the purpose of providing sufficient structural protection to the battery modules and to coat the interior of the cover plate with an insulation film for the purpose of providing electrical insulation.
In the combination of Pfeiff, Hwang and Kusunoki, the insulation film would be connected to an edge of the intermediate portion and to extend downwardly along the front wall/back wall of the upper plate to cover the end (“sidewall”) of the plate (3, “module frame”).
Regarding claim 4, Pfeiff teaches that the bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”) is located at an upper side portion of the channel (9, “flow path”) (figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Pfeiff teaches that the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) is formed in a size corresponding to the bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”) (figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Pfeiff teaches that the channel plate (13, “cooling plate”) is coupled by welding to the bottom portion of the plate (3, “module frame”) (paragraphs [0015, 0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Pfeiff as modified by Hwang teaches that the battery cover (“upper plate”) comprises a front end bottom portion and a rear end bottom portion connected to and extending upwardly from the plate (3, “module frame”) (Hwang’s figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15, Pfeiff as modified by Hwang teaches that the battery cover (“upper plate”) has a width in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction. The width of the battery cover (“upper plate”) matches the width of the plate (3, “module frame”) (Hwang’s figure 1).
Pfeiff’s plate (3, “module frame”) has a constant width in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (see Figure 1 above). Therefore, in the combination of Pfeiff and Hwang, the battery cover (“upper plate”) would have a constant width in the second direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the combination of the Ju, Chi, Matecki, Kusunoki and Pfeiff references and the combination of the Pfeiff, Haussmann, Hwang and Kusunoki references have been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724