DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed June 22, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trisnadi et al. (US 2022/0171190 A1), hereafter Trisnadi, or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Trisnadi in view of Edwin et al. (Us 2017/0124928 A1), hereafter Edwin.
Regarding claims 18-21; Trisnadi discloses a display system (see Figures 9A-9B, 11, 29, and 30A-30C and paragraphs 95, 118, 120-123, 162-165, 196-197174 and 286) comprising:
a first display die (1044a; see Figure 29) configured to emit light (1032a) of a first color (red; see paragraphs 221, 238, 297, and 300);
a second display die (1044b; see Figure 29) configured to emit light (1032b) of a second color (green; see paragraphs 221, 238, 297, and 300);
a third display die (1044c; see Figure 29) configured to emit light (1032c) of a third color (glue; see paragraphs 221, 238, 297, and 300);
a lens system (collimator array 1300 and/or projection optics 1070; see Figure 29; see paragraphs 288 and 289); and
an optical waveguide system (eyepiece 1020 including stacked waveguides 1020a, 1020b, 1020c; the stacked waveguides, 670, 680, 690 are illustrated in Figures 9A-9B) comprising
a first grating portion (in-coupling optical elements 1022a, 1022b, 1022c in Figure 29; in-coupling optical elements 700, 710, 720 are illustrated in Figures 9A-9B; see paragraphs 216 and 249) configured to couple in an incident light (1032a, 1032b, 1032c in Figure 29; 770, 780, 790 in Figures 9A-9B) to the optical waveguide system (1020a/1020b/1020c; 670/680/690; see Figures 9A-9B and 29) and
a second grating portion (out-coupling optical element 730, 740, 750 in Figures 9A-9B, not illustrated in Figure 29; see paragraphs 153, 157 125) configured to couple out a transmitting light (1032a, 1032b, 1032c coupled to eye 210; see Figure 29) from the optical waveguide system (1020a/1020b/1020c; 670/680/690); and
wherein the first display die (1044a), the second display die (1044b) and the third display die (1044c) are arranged in one package (1030; see Figure 29); and
wherein the lens system (1300, 1070) is arranged in between the package (1044) and the optical waveguide system (1020), configured to collimate the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue) onto the first grating portion of the optical waveguide system (1020; see Figure 15);
wherein the first grating portion (1022a/1022b/1022c) is configured to couple in the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue) to the optical waveguide system (1020) and the second grating portion is configured to couple out the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue) from the optical waveguide system (1020);
wherein the optical waveguide system comprises at least three separate waveguides (1020a, 1020b, 1020c in Figure 29; 640, 680, 690 in Figures 9A-9B) corresponding to the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue), whereby each separate waveguide comprises a first grating portion (1022 in Figure 29; 710/720/730 in Figures 9A-9B) and a second grating portion (not illustrated in Figure 29; 730, 740, 750 in Figures 9A-9B) in order to couple in and couple out the respective light;
wherein the first display die (1044a), the second display die (1044b) and the third display die (1044c) are light emitting dies, comprising arrays of microscopic light emitting diodes forming the individual pixel elements (see paragraphs 118, 206, and 283);
wherein the first display die (1044a), the second display die (1044b) and the third display die (1044c) each comprises individual pixel elements (pixels; see paragraphs 108, 118, 126, 206, 283 and 337); and
wherein the package comprises memory (Trisnadi teaches that control electronics may include instructions stored locally processed and stored in a non-transitory medium, local processing and data module, to regulate generation of images, wherein modules may store any type of data and including physical computer stores, hard drives, solid state memory, random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), optical disc, volatile or non-volatile stores, and combinations thereof, etc., wherein the local processing and data module is part of the display system package, wherein Trisnadi state that it should be understood that the program components, methods, and systems may be generally integrated together in a single computer product; see paragraphs 314, 338, and 339) see paragraph 314 configured to store optical and or electrical data (the memory disclosed by Trisnadi is configured to store optical and/or electrical data; the examiner notes that “calibration data for the individual pixel elements” is a functional recitation that does not require any structural difference in the claimed device).
Should Applicant disagree that Trisnadi is sufficient to disclose the invention as claimed, Edwin teaches that automated display calibration may be performed for a dynamic display (see paragraphs 204-209) wherein data modules of a wearable display system may store calibration data in the form of a distortion map to provide distortion information of a calibration pattern to correct for spatial and chromatic errors in the display so that images perceived by the wearer of the display system are compensated, wherein each waveguide in a waveguide assembly of multiple waveguides may be calibrated, thus providing calibration of individual pixel elements in a multiple waveguide assembly. Edwin further teaches that the data modules may be part of the wearable display system (see paragraph 208). Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the memory of the display device of Trisnadi to store optical and/or electrical calibration data for the individual pixel elements for the purpose of providing clear images to the viewer with minimized distortion.
Claims 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trisnadi et al. (US 2022/0171190 A1), hereafter Trisnadi, in view of Ota et al. (US 10,367,035 B2), hereafter Ota, or alternatively over Trisnadi and Edwin et al. (US 2017/0124928 A1), hereafter Edwin, in view of Ota.
Regarding claims 22; Trisnadi or alternatively Trisnadi in view of Edwin discloses or renders obvious the system according to claim 18 as applied above, but does not specifically disclose that the first display die, the second display die and the third display die comprise a driver circuit array including a plurality of pixel driver circuits, each being coupled to the individual pixel elements.
The examiner takes Official notice that micro-displays / displays with pixels inherently require driver circuitry coupled to pixel element to operate the display. Ota teaches that a color display element (100; see Figures 1 and 2) having pixels (P) includes a display panel (101), a flexible printed circuit board (102; i.e. a flexible connector), and a driver IC (103) and may be employed as a micro-display (100L, 100R) in a head mounted device (1000; see Figures 26).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a driver circuit array for the first, second, and third display dies of Trisnadi, including a plurality of pixel driver circuits, each being coupled to individual pixel elements for the purpose of operating the display to display images, since they are the elements conventionally provided for operating display devices.
Regarding claims 23-26; Trisnadi or alternatively Trisnadi in view of Edwin discloses or renders obvious a display system (see Figures 9A-9B, 11, 29, and 30A-30C and paragraphs 95, 118, 120-123, 162-165, 196-197174 and 286) comprising:
a first display die (1044a; see Figure 29) configured to emit light (1032a) of a first color (red; see paragraphs 221, 238, 297, and 300);
a second display die (1044b; see Figure 29) configured to emit light (1032b) of a second color (green; see paragraphs 221, 238, 297, and 300);
a third display die (1044c; see Figure 29) configured to emit light (1032c) of a third color (glue; see paragraphs 221, 238, 297, and 300);
a first lens (first lens 1302 of lens array 1300/1300a; see Figures 24B, 26A-B, and 29),
a second lens (second lens 1302 of lens array 1300/1300b; see Figures 24B, 26A-B, and 29) and
a third lens (third lens 1302 of lens array 1300/1300c; see Figures 24B, 26A-B, 29, and 30A-30C); and
an optical waveguide system (eyepiece 1020 including stacked waveguides 1020a, 1020b, 1020c; the stacked waveguides, 670, 680, 690 are illustrated in Figures 9A-9B) comprising
a first grating portion (in-coupling optical elements 1022a, 1022b, 1022c in Figure 29; in-coupling optical elements 700, 710, 720 are illustrated in Figures 9A-9B; see paragraphs 216 and 249) configured to couple in an incident light (1032a, 1032b, 1032c in Figure 29; 770, 780, 790 in Figures 9A-9B) to the optical waveguide system (1020a/1020b/1020c; 670/680/690; see Figures 9A-9B and 29) and
a second grating portion (out-coupling optical element 730, 740, 750 in Figures 9A-9B, not illustrated in Figure 29; see paragraphs 153, 157 125) configured to couple out a transmitting light (1032a, 1032b, 1032c coupled to eye 210; see Figure 29) from the optical waveguide system (1020a/1020b/1020c; 670/680/690); and
wherein the first display die is arranged on a first package (103a; see Figures 30B and 30C), the second display die is arranged on a second package (1030b) and the third display die is arranged on a third package (1030c), and
wherein the first lens, the second lens and the third lens (1300a, 1300b, 1300c) are arranged between the packages (1030a, 1030b, 1030c) and the optical waveguide system (1020), whereby the first lens is configured to collimate the light of first color (1032a, red), the second lens is configured to collimate the light of second color (1032b, green) and the third lens is configured to collimate the light of third color (1032c, blue), onto the first grating portion (1022, 1022a/1022b/1022c) of the optical waveguide system (1020);
wherein the first grating portion (1022a/1022b/1022c) is configured to couple in the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue) to the optical waveguide system (1020) and the second grating portion is configured to couple out the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue) from the optical waveguide system (1020);
wherein the optical waveguide system comprises at least three separate waveguides (1020a, 1020b, 1020c in Figure 29; 640, 680, 690 in Figures 9A-9B) corresponding to the light (1032a) of first color (red), the light (1032b) of second color (green) and the light (1032c) of third color (blue), whereby each separate waveguide comprises a first grating portion (1022 in Figure 29; 710/720/730 in Figures 9A-9B) and a second grating portion (not illustrated in Figure 29; 730, 740, 750 in Figures 9A-9B) in order to couple in and couple out the respective light;
wherein the first display die (1044a), the second display die (1044b) and the third display die (1044c) are light emitting dies, comprising arrays of microscopic light emitting diodes forming the individual pixel elements (see paragraphs 118, 206, and 283).
wherein the first display die (1044a), the second display die (1044b) and the third display die (1044c) each comprises individual pixel elements (pixels; see paragraphs 108, 118, 126, 206, 283 and 337); and
wherein the package comprises memory (Trisnadi teaches that control electronics may include instructions stored locally processed and stored in a non-transitory medium, local processing and data module, to regulate generation of images, wherein modules may store any type of data and including physical computer stores, hard drives, solid state memory, random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), optical disc, volatile or non-volatile stores, and combinations thereof, etc., wherein the local processing and data module is part of the display system package, wherein Trisnadi state that it should be understood that the program components, methods, and systems may be generally integrated together in a single computer product; see paragraphs 314, 338, and 339) see paragraph 314 configured to store optical and or electrical data (the memory disclosed by Trisnadi is configured to store optical and/or electrical data; the examiner notes that “calibration data for the individual pixel elements” is a functional recitation that does not require any structural difference in the claimed device).
Should Applicant disagree that Trisnadi is sufficient to disclose the invention as claimed, Edwin teaches that automated display calibration may be performed for a dynamic display (see paragraphs 204-209) wherein data modules of a wearable display system may store calibration data in the form of a distortion map to provide distortion information of a calibration pattern to correct for spatial and chromatic errors in the display so that images perceived by the wearer of the display system are compensated, wherein each waveguide in a waveguide assembly of multiple waveguides may be calibrated, thus providing calibration of individual pixel elements in a multiple waveguide assembly. Edwin further teaches that the data modules may be part of the wearable display system (see paragraph 208). Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the memory of the display device of Trisnadi to store optical and/or electrical calibration data for the individual pixel elements for the purpose of providing clear images to the viewer with minimized distortion.
Trisnadi or Trisnadi in view of Edwin does not disclose that the first package, the second package and the third package are interconnected via a flex-connector. The examiner takes Official notice that flex-connectors (i.e. flexible circuits) are conventionally provided to connect display element pixels to driver circuitry, as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Ota teaches that a color display element (100; see Figures 1 and 2) having pixels (P) includes a display panel (101), a flexible printed circuit board (102; i.e. a flexible connector), and a driver IC (103) and may be employed as a micro-display (100L, 100R) in a head mounted device (1000; see Figures 26).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to interconnect the first package, the second package, and the third package of the display element of Trisnadi with a flex-connector for the purpose of coordinating and controlling the packages to provide a desired image light to the waveguide system of Trisnadi, since flex-connectors are routinely employed in the art for interconnecting display elements.
Regarding claim 27; Trisnadi and Ota, or alternatively Trisnadi, Edwin and Ota, teach the system according to claim 23 as applied above, but does not specifically disclose that the first display die, the second display die and the third display die comprise a driver circuit array including a plurality of pixel driver circuits, each being coupled to the individual pixel elements.
The examiner takes Official notice that micro-displays / displays with pixels inherently require driver circuitry coupled to pixel element to operate the display. Ota teaches that a color display element (100; see Figures 1 and 2) having pixels (P) includes a display panel (101), a flexible printed circuit board (102; i.e. a flexible connector), and a driver IC (103) and may be employed as a micro-display (100L, 100R) in a head mounted device (1000; see Figures 26).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a driver circuit array for the first, second, and third display dies of Trisnadi, including a plurality of pixel driver circuits, each being coupled to individual pixel elements for the purpose of operating the display to display images, since they are the elements conventionally provided for operating display devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Trisnadi does not disclose "wherein the first display die, the second display die and the third display die each comprises individual pixel elements; and wherein the package comprises a memory configured to store optical and/or electrical calibration data for the individual pixel elements."
The examiner disagrees.
The rejections set forth above, which are necessitated by the addition of new limitations to independent claims 1 and 23, address these newly added claim limitations.
The display system of prior art includes a memory that is configured to store optical and/or electrical data, wherein Trisnadi teaches that:
control electronics may include instructions stored locally processed and stored in a non-transitory medium, local processing and data module, to regulate generation of images, wherein modules may store any type of data and including physical computer stores, hard drives, solid state memory, random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), optical disc, volatile or non-volatile stores, and combinations thereof, etc. (see paragraph 314);
the local processing and data module is part of the display system package (see paragraphs 338 and 339); and
that it should be understood that the program components, methods, and systems may be generally integrated together in a single computer product, i.e. in the same package (see paragraph 339).
The examiner notes that Applicant is seeking a patent for the display system, as indicated by the preambles of claims 1 and 23. There are no claimed structural differences between the device of claim 1 and that of Trisnadi.
The recitation that the optical and/or electrical data is “calibration data for individual pixel elements” does not structurally distinguish the device of claim 1 from the prior art, since any storage medium configured to store optical and/or electrical data is necessarily configured to store optical and/or electrical data for calibration, since it’s simply optical and/or electrical data and the memory is configured to store optical and/or electrical data.
Applicant has not claimed a specific program or a configuration that uses calibration data or included claim limitations that specific calibration data and present or used, but only required that a memory be configured to store data.
In response to applicant's argument that the data stores is calibration data for the individual pixel elements, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As explained above, the memory disclosed by the prior art is capable of storing optical and/or electrical data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874