Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clapper (U.S. 9,102,774) in view of Silver (U.S. 3,691,140), Baker (U.S. 4,166,152) and Delgado (U.S. 5,045,569).
Clapper teaches pressure sensitive adhesives made with a structural isomer of secondary alkyl (meth)acrylates matching the formula of instant Claim 1. Octyl (meth)acrylate is exemplified along with (dodecyl – C11) acrylate. (See Examples) These read over the mixture of isomers of Formula 1 of Claim 1 as octyl (C8) and dodecyl (C11) read over the R1 + R2 = 7-18 limitation and the Schemes of Column 9, for instance, make clear these are linear, aliphatic saturated alkyl groups as claimed.
Clapper is silent on the stabilizer as claimed in the pre-adhesive polymerizable mixture as claimed. The UV stabilizers of Clapper are taught to be used in the resulting adhesive compositions and not the polymerizable mixture.
However, Clapper teaches in Column 16 lines 65 through to Column 17 lines 5 the polymers can be made via solution polymerization according to Silver (U.S. 3,691,140), Baker (U.S. 4,166,152) and Delgado (U.S. 5,045,569).
All of these references exemplify making microspheres using solution polymerization techniques in which stabilizers (or emulsifiers) are used. For instance, Silver uses 1 g of ammonium lauryl sulfate (and discusses anionic emulsifiers in Column 4 lines 1-35. Baker exemplifies 1 wt% of emulsifier/stabilizer in Table 1 and discloses similar critical micelle concentrations along with similar emulsifiers/stabilizers/surfactants to Silver and Delgado in Column 2 lines 5-20. Delgado has a substantially similar discussion of emulsifiers / stabilizers to Silver in Column 6 lines 1 – 40 and teaches the same critical micelle concentration of Silver and Baker.
Delgado teaches ammonium lauryl sulfate is Standapol A in Column 10 lines 35-45.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Clapper such that the polymerization techniques of Silver, Baker and/or Delgado were used to produce microsphere adhesives because Clapper suggest these polymerization techniques be used. This would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to add an emulsifier/stabilizer/surfactant to the polymerizable mixture because Silver, Baker and Delgado all teach this is added to the polymerizable mixture to arrive at the microspheres as discussed above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose ammonium lauryl sulfate in the above modification for this purpose because Silver and Delgado both exemplify it and, further, would choose to use 1 wt% of the ammonium lauryl sulfate in the polymerizable mixture because Silver exemplifies it specifically (although the wt% can also be calculated in Delgado).
This reads over the stabilizer of Claim 1, the stabilizer as surfactant in Claim 2, and 1 wt% stabilizer motivated above reads over the amount of stabilizer of Claim 6.
Water is used in the polymerizable mixture of Silver, Baker and Delgado, for instance. See Example 1 of Delgado. In Example 1 450 g of water is used in a total system weight of 602.04 which is ~ 74 wt% water which reads over the range of water in Claim 6.
High Tg monomers of at least 25 oC in 10 to 20 parts per 100 parts of the structural isomer monomer (or substantially similar to 10 to 20 wt% ) are taught by Clapper in Column 14 lines 5-55. Clapper also teaches the amount of the High Tg monomer can be up to 50 parts per 100 of the additional C1-C32 (meth)acrylate monomer which itself is preferably up to 5 to 45 parts of the monomer mixture.
Clapper does not teach a ratio of the isomer mixture monomers to the high Tg monomer as recited by Claim 1.
To establish how Clapper’s teach present an overlapping range of amounts of isomer mixture monomer to High Tg monomer, one of ordinary skill in the art is reasonably suggested to consider a monomer mixture in which the limits above are present. In other words a monomer mixture in which 55 parts of isomer monomers are present and 45 parts of C1-C32 (meth)acrylate monomers are present which in turn up to 50 parts of these C1-C32 (meth)acrylate monomers are the High Tg monomer. In other words, a monomer mixture of 55 (isomer), 22.5 parts of C1-C32 and 22.5 parts of High Tg monomers for a total of 100 parts of monomer mixture.
This results in ratio according to the claimed ratio of 55/22.5 = 2.4 :1 and wt% of High Tg monomer of 22.5 wt% (as all the monomers total to 100).
Considering the least amount of preferred High Tg monomer of 10 parts, the ratio is then 45:10 = 4.5:1 and 10 wt% of the monomer mixture is the high Tg monomer.
Finally, considering low amounts of High Tg monomer, still in the range taught by Clapper, of 1 part of High Tg monomer the ratio would be 45:1 and the amount of High Tg monomer in the monomer mixture is 1 wt%.
Considering the other end of the preferred spectrum with 5 parts of C1-C32 and 95 parts of isomer mixture monomer, the monomer mixture is 95 parts isomer mixture, 2.5 parts C1-C32-, and 2.5 parts of High Tg monomer.
The ratio in this case is 95:2.5 = 47.5:1 and the weight percent of the monomer mixture is 2.5 wt%
Therefore, the above analysis demonstrate how the teachings already present in Clapper reasonably suggest an overlapping range of ratios recited by Claim 1, one such range is 2.4-45:1 and wt% recited by Claim 7, one such range is 1-22.5 wt%.
Oil soluble initiators are taught in Column 17 lines 1-30 including using up to 1 parts by weight in the mixture (equivalent to wt%) which reads over Claim 4, Claim 5 and Claim 8.
As §103 rejections are made in this action, If Applicant intends to argue there is criticality which gives an unexpected result to the compositions in light of the teachings of the prior art, Applicant is reminded such arguments to unexpected results can only be properly considered when all the factors in MPEP §716.02 are properly taken into account. Overcoming a §103 rejection based on unexpected results requires the combination of three different elements: the results must fairly compare with the prior art, the claims must be commensurate in scope and the results must truly be unexpected. (See MPEP §716.02) Applicant’s showing of allegedly unexpected results must satisfy ALL of these requirements. Additionally, MPEP §716.01(b) states a “nexus” between the claimed invention and the evidence of secondary considerations, such as unexpected results, must be present. The burden rests with Applicant to establish results are unexpected and significant. (MPEP §716.02(b)).
In the instant case, Applicant’s as filed specification contains examples in which adhesives made with and without the structural isomer mixture of Claim 1 are compared. There are no inventive or comparative examples comparing the effect of using a stabilizer or not. As Clapper already uses a structural isomer mixture of Formula 1 in making adhesives, Applicant has not provided any evidence that fairly compares to the prior art as required above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in moving the case to allowance. The §112 of Claim 7 is withdrawn as the dependency has changed to address the §112. No other claim amendments are presented with RCE of July 15, 2026.
Applicant’s remarks filed July 15, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the ranges put forth by the rejection of record do not render obvious the range of at least 19:1 recited even though the ranges put forth in the rejection overlaps the claimed range. This argument is not persuasive. The ranges put for the in the rejection of record overlap the claimed range of at least 19:1. Note also the claimed range is open-ended. Additionally, the ranges of the rejection of record are closed. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments to an open-ended range of 19:1 being narrower and not obvious to pick out of the larger closed ranges of the rejection are not persuasive. The presence of overlapping ranges passes burden to Applicant to demonstrate there is something unexpected associated with the claimed range. Applicant has not proffered any data or other evidence to suggest there is anything non-obvious with the claimed range of at least 19:1. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that stabilizer of Clapper is not used in the pre-polymerization mixture even though Clapper directs one of ordinary skill in the art to details about solution polymerization in Silver, Baker and Delgado. This argument is not persuasive. From the rejection of record:
However, Clapper teaches in Column 16 lines 65 through to Column 17 lines 5 the polymers can be made via solution polymerization according to Silver (U.S. 3,691,140), Baker (U.S. 4,166,152) and Delgado (U.S. 5,045,569).
All of these references exemplify making microspheres using solution polymerization techniques in which stabilizers (or emulsifiers) are used. For instance, Silver uses 1 g of ammonium lauryl sulfate (and discusses anionic emulsifiers in Column 4 lines 1-35. Baker exemplifies 1 wt% of emulsifier/stabilizer in Table 1 and discloses similar critical micelle concentrations along with similar emulsifiers/stabilizers/surfactants to Silver and Delgado in Column 2 lines 5-20. Delgado has a substantially similar discussion of emulsifiers / stabilizers to Silver in Column 6 lines 1 – 40 and teaches the same critical micelle concentration of Silver and Baker.
Silver, Baker and Delgado all teach the use of stabilizer in the solution polymerization (i.e. the claimed pre-adhesive mixture which is polymerized into an adhesive). Therefore, it is obvious to use a stabilizer in these mixtures of Clapper as Clapper is directing one of ordinary skill in the art to solution polymerizations to create the adhesives of Clapper as one is following the directions of Clapper in making the mixtures of monomers to make the adhesive. Applicant’s only remarks to Clapper are that Clapper uses stabilizers in the final adhesive not the monomer mixture (i.e. pre-adhesive reaction mixture). However, there is no teaching or suggestion that stabilizers cannot be used in both the pre-adhesive mixture (or pre-polymerization mixture) and the final adhesive. Applicant also has not addressed why one of ordinary skill in the art would not follow Clapper’s teaching to consult Silver, Baker and Delgado, who all three teach stabilizers in the reaction mixture. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant is reminded of their right to appeal the decision of the Examiner in maintaining the rejection of record.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766