DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claim Rejections
The rejections of record under 35 USC 103 are modified in view of Applicant’s amendments in the response filed 08/19/25.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
First rejection
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Soane et al (WO2018152165A1; cited in Applicant’s 04/01/2022 IDS; hereinafter Soane; prior art of record) in view of Bian et al (US 20160122385A1; hereinafter Bian; prior art of record) and Kempf et al. (Pathogen inactivation and removal procedures used in the production of intravenous immunoglobulins. Biologicals. 2007 Mar;35(1):35-42. doi: 10.1016/j.biologicals.2006.01.002. Epub 2006 Apr 3; hereinafter “Kempf”).
Soane teaches a purification process for producing therapeutic and non-therapeutic proteins such as monoclonal antibodies from cell culture medium (see paragraph 16-18; FIG.2) using 1) an affinity chromatography step, 2) virus inactivation, 3) polishing chromatography, 4) virus filtration, and 5) final purification (see Fig. 2). Soane teaches various examples of purification of monoclonal antibodies by loading the sample onto Protein A chromatography columns, elution using various elution buffers at pH of 2.6, using excipients such as sucrose (i.e., disaccharides), trehalose and PEG, and collecting the elution fractions (see Example 28; see also Tables 21-23, and Example 30). Soane also teaches the viral inactivation process is conducted at a pH level of about 2.5 to about 5.0 (see paragraph 17).
Soane does not explicitly teach combining fractions obtained to form an elution pool.
However, Bian teaches a method of reducing the level of protein aggregates in an elution pool of Fc-protein and reduce the number of downstream steps in order to remove protein aggregates using Protein A chromatography (see claim 1, paragraph 0008). Specifically, Bian teaches that step elution can be used to elute the Protein A bound Fc-containing protein, where small changes in pH are used for elution of the protein in multiple steps over time (paragraph 0071). Furthermore, Bian teaches that protein elution fractions can be combined to form an elution pool to help recover the target protein (paragraph 0052, 0071).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the method of purifying proteins as taught by Soane and include creation of an elution pool as taught by Bian to arrive at the claimed invention. As Bian teaches that elution fractions can be combined to create an elution pool and help recover target protein, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to create elution pools during protein purification with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Bian explicitly teaches that protein elution fractions can be combined to form an elution pool to help recover the target protein.
Neither reference explicitly teaches that the elution product pool comprising the excipient wherein the excipient increases stability of the target protein during low pH viral inactivation.
However, Kempf teaches pathogen inactivation and removal procedures used in production of IV immunoglobulins (i.e., antibodies) (see title, abstract). Kempf teaches various known procedures to remove viruses during immunoglobulin purification, including virus filtration, heat treatment, low pH incubation, and use of sugar stabilizers (see pg. 37, Fig. 1). Specifically, Kempf teaches treatment of IV immunoglobulins in the presence of sugar stabilizers such as 33% (w/w) sorbitol at pH 5.5 (i.e., during low pH), where all enveloped and nonenveloped viruses studied were completely inactivated within detection limits of the assays used (see pg. 38, col 1, paragraph 2). Kempf also teaches that sucrose and potassium acetate are also also good stabilizers during viral inactivation of nonenveloped viruses (see pg. 38, col 1, paragraph 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the method of purifying proteins as taught by Soane and Bian and include stabilizing sugar excipients as taught by Kempf to arrive at the claimed invention. As Kempf teaches that sugars (such as sorbitol and sucrose) can be used as stabilizing agents during viral inactivation at low pHs, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use the sugars with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Kempf explicitly teaches treatment of IV immunoglobulins in the presence of sugar stabilizers (such as 33% (w/w) sorbitol at pH 5.5) advantageously inactivates all enveloped and nonenveloped viruses and that sucrose and potassium acetate are also good stabilizers during viral inactivation.
Regarding claim 2, Soane and Bian teach using Protein A chromatography (see above).
Regarding claim 3, Soane teaches purification of monoclonal antibodies (see Example 28).
Regarding claim 5, Soane teaches using sucrose and trehalose as excipients (see Table 21 and 24) and Kempf teaches sorbitol and sucrose excipients (see above).
Regarding claim 6-7, Soane teaches using sucrose (i.e., disaccharide) at concentration of 101 mM, which lies inside of the claimed range of 1mM to 1.5 M (claim 6) and 5 mM to 500 mM (claim 7). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 8, Soane teaches using citrate buffer (see Example 28 and 30).
Regarding claim 9, Soane teaches the pH of each elution buffer was adjusted to about 2.6, which lies inside of the claimed range of 2.5-5.5 (Example 28, paragraph 0147). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 10, Bian teaches using step elution using pH gradients (see paragraphs 0067-69 and 0077), where the high point of the pH gradient ranges from pH 5.1 to 6.0 and the low point of the pH gradient ranges from pH 3.0 to 3.7 (paragraph 0077). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 11, Soane teaches that the viral inactivation step occurs at pH of 2.5-5 (see above) which typically involve holding the protein solution at a low pH, e.g., pH lower than 4, for an extended period of time (see paragraph 0097). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to adjust the pH of the elution pool to a pH of 2-5 in order to advantageously create a low pH environment to remove viral impurities from the protein product with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Soane teaches that the viral inactivation step (i.e., incubation step) occurs at pH of 2.5-5, which the claimed range of 2.5-4.5 lies inside. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Second rejection
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soane, Bian, and Kempf as applied to claims 1-3, and 5-12 above, and further in view of Jungbauer et al (US20160272675 A1; hereinafter “Jungbauer”; prior art of record).
As discussed above, claims 1-3, and 5-12 were rendered prima facie obvious by the combined teachings of Soane, Bian, and Kempf.
The difference between the references and the instant claim is that none of the references explicitly teaches the poly(ethylene glycol) polymer has an average molecular weight from 1000 g/mol to 10,000 g/mol.
However, Jungbauer teaches a method for isolating a protein of interest from nucleic acids and other host cell proteins present in cell culture supernatant comprising said protein using polyethylene glycol (see claim 1). Jungbauer teaches that use of PEG (such as PEG 2000, PEG4000, and PEG6000; see claim 2) is known in the art for precipitation and purification of proteins (see claim 1, paragraph 0008, 0045-0048; Example 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the method of purifying protein using Protein A chromatograph as taught by Soane, Bian, and Kempf by using PEG polymers as taught by Jungbauer to arrive at the claimed invention. As Jungbauer teaches that PEG2000, PEG4000, and PEG6000 can be used to for isolating a protein of interest from nucleic acids and other host cell proteins present in cell culture supernatant, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Jungbauer explicitly teaches PEG moieties that can be successfully used to purify proteins during chromatography.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Third rejection
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soane, Bian, and Kempf as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-12 above, and further in view of Jin et al (Protein aggregation and mitigation strategy in low pH viral inactivation for monoclonal antibody purification. MAbs. 2 September 2019; 11(8):1479-1491; hereinafter “Jin”; prior art of record).
As discussed above, claims 1-3, and 5-12 were rendered prima facie obvious by the combined teachings of Soane, Bian, and Kempf.
The difference between the references and the instant claim is that none of the references explicitly teaches that the incubation step is performed at room temperature.
However, Jin teaches low pH viral inactivation for purification of monoclonal antibodies (title, abstract). Jin teaches that typical viral inactivation includes an acidification step where Protein A eluate is adjusted to low pH and held for several hours to achieve sufficient inactivation (pg. 1479, col 1). Jin also teaches that environmental conditions, such as pH, ionic strength, temperature, protein concentration, and excipients species/concentration play important roles in mAb aggregation (see pg. 1479, col 2). Jin further teaches viral inactivation of IgG4-N1 where the pH of the sample was lowered to 3.6 during the inactivation step before the pool was held for various durations (from 10 min to 24h) at room temperature before viral neutralization to pH 5.5 (see pg. 1481, col 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify the method of purifying protein using Protein A chromatograph as taught by Soane, Bian, and Kempf by performing the viral inactivation step at room temperature as taught by Jin to arrive at the claimed invention. As Jin teaches the inactivation and neutralization of viruses during purification of monoclonal antibodies, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make the modification because Jin explicitly teaches that successful viral inactivation can be performed at room temperature during monoclonal antibody purification.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 5-7, Applicant argues that Soane and the other prior art references fail to teach adding disaccharides, polyols, or PEG polymers as viscosity-reducing excipients in the virus inactivation step. Specifically, Applicant argues Soane illustrates different embodiments, 42 examples, and sucrose and trehalose only appear in example 28 to evaluate effect of different excipients on Protein A elution of antibodies, not on a cell culture sample, such that the teaching of the example limited one of ordinary skill to purification of an antibody. Applicant also argues that in examples 29 and 30 of Soane, sucrose and trehalose are not tested, PEG is found in examples 12-13 and 22 but limited only to simulate a therapeutic PEGylated protein and not for reducing viscosity or inactivating viruses. Applicant argues that while Soane teaches adding sucrose and trehalose to Protein A chromatography, Soane fails to provide any reason to add sucrose or trehalose during virus inactivation and only teaches using one of numerous viscosity reducing excipients to improve downstream processing. From this, Applicant further urges that Soane’s teachings regarding viscosity-reducing excipients (e.g., caffeine, imidazole, niacinamide, and taurine) would render the embodiment unsatisfactory or change its principle of operation.
In response, the examiner disagrees for a number of reasons. First, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second, it should be noted that the claimed invention is drawn to purification of a target protein from cell culture sample using 1) and affinity chromatography step (generally), 2) a virus inactivation step (generally), and optionally other downstream purification steps. The claimed affinity chromatography requires, inter alia, loading sample, eluting target protein with elution buffer and an excipient, collecting fractions, and combining the fractions, where the inactivation step comprises incubation of the product pool at a specific pH range. Put simply, the method requires these general steps, which is taught by Soane. The claims as amended now require addition of the claimed excipient to the viral inactivation step for the purpose of stabilizing the target protein. While Soane provides various examples of excipients, the reference does not provide any teachings regarding protein stabilizing excipients. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have necessarily looked beyond the disclosure of Soane for teachings regarding protein stabilizing excipients for use during the viral inactivation step. This is the essence of a rejection under 35 USC 103.
As discussed above, the newly cited Kempf reference explicitly teaches treatment of IV immunoglobulins in the presence of sugar stabilizers (such as 33% (w/w) sorbitol at pH 5.5) advantageously inactivates all enveloped and nonenveloped viruses and that sucrose and potassium acetate are also good stabilizers during viral inactivation (see modified 103 rejection above). Thus, Kempf explicitly provides one of ordinary skill the teaching, suggestion, and motivation to include sugar excipients as stabilizers during viral inactivation at low pH.
Third, Applicant’s argument regarding Example 28 runs contrary to the disclosure of the prior art. Example 28 does not just teach adding trehalose and sucrose to Protein A chromatography generally. In fact, the example explicitly teaches using the excipients in Table 20 (i.e., trehalose and sucrose) as excipients to improve Protein-A chromatography elution (see Example 28 and paragraph 146-148). When claimed so generally, there is no need for disclosure of using disaccharides, polyols, or PEG polymers “as viscosity-reducing excipients in the virus inactivation step” as argued because Soane provides one of ordinary skill the teaching, suggestion, and motivation to add those to the purification steps throughout the reference as pointed out by Applicant. Furthermore, Kempf provides the explicit teachings that sugar stabilizers (such as 33% (w/w) sorbitol at pH 5.5) advantageously inactivates all enveloped and nonenveloped viruses and that sucrose and potassium acetate are also good stabilizers during viral inactivation. Thus, the rejections are maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
NO CLAIMS ALLOWED.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20160326253A1: discusses antibody purification methods that can efficiently remove impurities from, in particular, a composition containing a low-pI antibody (see abstract, claims).
Remington, KM. (Fundamental Strategies for Viral Clearance Part 2: Technical Approaches; 05/12/2015; accessed on 10/08/2025 from https://www.bioprocessintl.com/viral-clearance/fundamental-strategies-for-viral-clearance-part-2-technical-approaches): discusses strategies and commonly used technologies for inactivating and removing viruses from biologics manufactured to treat human diseases (see pg. 1; throughout document).
Kaushik et al. Why is trehalose an exceptional protein stabilizer? An analysis of the thermal stability of proteins in the presence of the compatible osmolyte trehalose. J Biol Chem. 2003 Jul 18;278(29):26458-65. doi: 10.1074/jbc.M300815200. Epub 2003 Apr 17: discusses Trehalose, a naturally occurring osmolyte, is known to be an exceptional stabilizer of proteins and helps retain the activity of enzymes in solution as well as in the freeze-dried state (see abstract, throughout).
/G.C.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672