DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed December 12, 2025, which amends claim 1 and cancels claims 14, 15, 17, and 19-21. Claims 1-13 and 22 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed December 12, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-7, 14, 15, 17, and 19-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pflumm et al. (US 2012/0326141) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2017/138526) as set forth in the Office action mailed August 12, 2025.
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed December 12, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1, 8-15, 17, and 19-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pflumm et al. (US 2012/0326141) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 10,249,832) as set forth in the Office action mailed August 12, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0317289) (hereafter “Lee”) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2017/138526), where Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0058124) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-7 and 22, Lee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0098]). Lee00 teaches that the light emitting layer can be composed of blue fluorescent materials and does not limit the materials used as the dopant (paragraph [0098]). Lee teaches that the hole transporting is composed of a mixture of two materials, such as
and
,
and
, or
and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0098]-[0100], Table 3).
Lee does not specially teach a dopant that meets the applicant’s claimed invention.
Hatakeyama teaches blue dopants for use in electroluminescent devices (paragraphs [0358]-[0375]). Hatakeyama teaches that the dopants can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
(paragraphs [0356] and [0357]). Hatakeyama teaches that when these compounds are used as dopant the device has good quantum efficiency (paragraph [0379]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was efficiency filed to modify the device of Lee so the dopant was one of the blue fluorescent dopant taught by Hatakeyama,
,
,
, or
. The motivation would have been to make a blue emitting device with a good quantum efficiency. The compounds of Hatakeyama as that same as the applicant teaches that has Stokes shift of 20 nm or smaller.
Claim(s) 1, 8-13, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0317289) (hereafter “Lee”) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 10,249,832) (hereafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claims 1, 8-13, and 22, Lee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0098]). Lee00 teaches that the light emitting layer can be composed of blue fluorescent materials and does not limit the materials used as the dopant (paragraph [0098]). Lee teaches that the hole transporting is composed of a mixture of two materials, such as
and
,
and
, or
and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0098]-[0100], Table 3).
Lee does not specially teach a dopant that meets the applicant’s claimed invention.
Takahashi teaches blue dopants for use in electroluminescent devices (columns 269-272). Takahashi teaches that the dopants can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
(columns 19-94). Takahashi teaches that when these compounds are used as dopant the device has good efficiency (column 272-273).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was efficiency filed to modify the device of Lee so the dopant was one of the blue fluorescent dopant taught by Takahashi,
,
,
, or
. The motivation would have been to make a blue emitting device with a good efficiency. The compounds of Takahashi as that same as the applicant teaches that has Stokes shift of 20 nm or smaller.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759