DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 17-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kreidler (US 2004/0220610).
Regarding claim 1, Kreidler discloses an introducer sheath (Fig. 24, 300) for insertion into the body of a patient through an access site of the body (¶[0168], where it is a deployment system with for implanting and delivery), the introducer sheath comprising:
a longitudinal sheath member (Fig. 24, 500) for insertion into the access site to carry out intravascular work (¶[0168], where the delivery system 500 is designed for atrial work, Note: this a functional limitation); and
a radiopaque marker element (Fig. 28, 586) arranged over the outer surface of the longitudinal sheath member (Fig. 28, where 586 is on an external surface at end of the device), in which introducer sheath the radiopaque marker element is moveable along at least part of the longitudinal length of the longitudinal sheath member from a first position (at which the radiopaque marker element is not in contact with the access site (¶[0198], where the movable core 312 can be in a retracted or advanced state using the slider assembly 400), to a second position, at which the radiopaque marker element abuts the access site such that insertion of the radiopaque marker element into the access site is prevented (¶[0198], where the movable core 312 can be in a retracted or advanced state using the slider assembly 400).
Regarding claim 2, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, wherein the longitudinal sheath member (500) further comprises a second radiopaque marker (Fig. 29A, 590) element fixedly disposed at a distal section thereof (¶[0196], where the marker is fixedly attached at a tip).
Regarding claim 3, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 2, wherein the second radiopaque marker (590) element is disposed at a distal end of the longitudinal sheath member (Fig. 29A, where the marker 590 is at a distal tip of 504).
Regarding claim 4, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, further comprising a biasing element (Fig. 28, 568) configured to bias the radiopaque marker element to the second position (¶[0178], [0198]).
Regarding claim 5, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 4, wherein the biasing element is configured such that, in the relaxed state of the biasing element, the radiopaque marker element is aligned with a distal end of the longitudinal sheath member (¶[0198], where the retracted state of the device would keep the distal end of the marker element at least at the distal end of 500).
Regarding claim 6, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 4, wherein the biasing element is a spring (¶[0178], where 568 has a spring coil section).
Regarding claim 7, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 6, further comprising a sheath hub (Fig. 24, 538) disposed at a proximal end of the longitudinal sheath member (Fig. 24, where 538 is at a proximal end and the distal end is located at 312), and wherein the spring is disposed between the sheath hub and the radiopaque marker element (Fig. 28, 568, Fig. 24, 538, where the biasing element 568 is located distal to 538 and proximal to marker 586).
Regarding claim 9, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, wherein the radiopaque marker (586) element comprises a first radiopaque part (¶[0181], where 568 is radiopaque) and a second non-radiopaque part (¶[0181], where 584 is joined with 586 and is not radiopaque).
Regarding claim 10, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 9, wherein the first radiopaque part is disposed at a distal section of the radiopaque marker element (Fig. 29, where 586 is located at the distal end).
Regarding claim 11, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, wherein the radiopaque marker (586) element consists of a radiopaque material (¶[0181], [0198], where the marker 586 is radiopaque and is necessarily made form a radiopaque material in order to be seen under fluouroscopy).
Regarding claim 14, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, wherein the radiopaque marker element is configured to encompass the access site (¶[0198], where the radiopaque marker is designed to be inserted to the access site and is for use with the access site).
Regarding claim 15, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, wherein the radiopaque marker element touches the outer surface of the longitudinal sheath member (Fig. 24, 28, where 586 touches at least a portion of the external surface and is not located interior to body of the device).
Regarding claim 16, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, wherein the radiopaque marker element is moveable along the longitudinal length of the longitudinal sheath member by sliding the radiopaque marker element relative to the longitudinal sheath member (¶[0198], where the marker is movable along the longitudinal axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreidler (US 2004/0220610) in view of Sela et al. (US 2011/0152721).
Regarding claim 8, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 6, however, Kreidler does not specifically teach wherein the spring is made from Nitinol.
Sela teaches a medical device with a core wire, sensor and a coupler. The device of Sela includes a Nitinol spring (Fig. 1A, 118). The use of Nitinol to make a spring for a device such as this is known in the art.
Kreidler does teach that parts of the device can be made from nitinol and does not restrict the specifics of the spring coils in the device to a specific material. There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the spring material would result in a difference in function of the Kreidler device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the spring coil of Kreidler, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed material. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed material solves any stated problem, indicating that the material “may” be Nitinol, therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the material as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spring coil material be Nitinol as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreidler (US 2004/0220610).
Regarding claim 12, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, however, Kreidler does not specifically teach wherein the radiopaque marker element is tapered along a longitudinal length thereof parallel to the longitudinal axis of the longitudinal sheath member.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the radiopaque marker would result in a difference in function of the Kreidler device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the marker of Kreidler, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape solves any stated problem, indicating that the shape “may” be tapered, therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on shape as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the to have the shape of the marker be tapered as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 13, Kreidler discloses the introducer sheath of claim 1, however, Kreidler does not specifically teach wherein a distal section of the radiopaque marker element is wider than a proximal section thereof.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the radiopaque marker would result in a difference in function of the Kreidler device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the marker of Kreidler, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape solves any stated problem, indicating that the shape “may” be tapered, therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on shape as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the to have the shape of the marker be tapered as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
/HADEN MATTHEW RITCHIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783