DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, Claim 1 of the priority document (CN201911310399.2) appears to define a range for y of 0.04 ≤ y ≤ 0.06, whereas claim 1 of the current application defines a range for y of 0.025 ≤ y ≤ 0.06. Thus, the priority claimed does not appear to be valid for compositions with 0.025 ≤ y ≤ 0.06 - unless there is a basis for extended range for y in the description of the priority document. Therefore, appropriate response is requested.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/2/2022, 10/24/2023 and 11/6/2024 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 4/2/2022. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2019093653 A1).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 11-18, Kim discloses a positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery comprising a compound represented by chemical formula Lia(NixCoyMnzAlbMgcMd)O2, wherein 0.96<a<1.04, 0.8≤x<1, 0<y≤0.075, 0<z≤0.025, 0.001<b≤0.02, 0<c<0.02, 0≤d<0.005, b>c, x+y+z+b+c+d = 1, and M is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Cr, Fe, La, Ce, Sr, V, Ti, Mo, Zr, B, Rb, and Y. Kim further teaches that the lithium ion battery containing the positive electrode active material is used for an automobile [Abstract; paragraph 0004, 0086].
Although the contents of nickel, cobalt, manganese lithium and aluminum are different from the claimed content, it is noted that choosing an appropriate doping element and a suitable element content are customary means in the art, and therefore would have been obvious for a skilled artisan.
9. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (WO 2019093653 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Han et al (CN 103855387 A) and Chen et al (CN 110459739 A).
Regarding claims 9-10, Kim teaches mixing LiOH, Ni(OH)2, Co(OH)2, Mn(OH)2, Al2(OH)3 and MgO and then carrying out a heat treatment at 750°C for 15 h to obtain a positive electrode active material [paragraph 0090-0091].
Han discloses a method for preparing a positive electrode material of LiNiaCo1-a-b MnbBxO2/TiO2, the method comprising mixing NiaCO1-a-bMnb(OH)2 with a boron compound and then pre-sintering same for 4-12 h to obtain a powder, mixing the powder with a lithium salt, and then sintering same to obtain LiNiaCO1-a-bMnbBxO2 [Fig. 1-4; paragraphs 0004-0061].
Chen discloses a method for preparing a positive electrode material, the method comprising mixing nickel, cobalt and aluminum hydroxides and a Z compound, then pre-sintering same to obtain a product, mixing the product with a lithium salt, then carrying out primary sintering, washing same with water, and drying same, then mixing the resulting product with an aluminum compound and boron compound, and then carrying out a heat treatment. Chen further teaches that the aluminum compound for coating is Al2O3 or Al(OH)3, the boron compound is B2O3 or H3BO3, and the heat treatment can be carried out at 400°C [Fig. 1-2; paragraph 4-61].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to avail the teachings of pre-sintering and mixing in order to have an efficient process.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723