DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment under 37 CFR 1.116 (“Response”), filed 4 May 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s deletion of some claim features in the Response has made claims rejectable under the same reasons applied in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 18 August 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The p88urchase” should be --The purchase--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 8 recite the limitation "the control signal". Claim 12 recites “each mobile terminal” however only one mobile terminal is listed. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Claims 2-5, 7 and 11-13 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0379297 A1 to Aspholm (“Aspholm”) in view of Japanese Publication No. 2019-144797A to Yamashita (“Yamashita”), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0018897 A1 to Bellis, JR. et al. (“Bellis”) and United States Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0232796 A1 to Glaser et al. (“Glaser”).
As per claims 1 and 8, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm includes:
A purchase management system comprising (Aspholm: Fig. 1):
a server apparatus including a first memory storing first instructions, and one or more first processors (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0080 and 0086 and Fig. 1, 112 and Fig. 3); and
a checkout machine … configured to execute the second instructions (Aspholm: Fig. 1, 120),
wherein the one or more first processors are configured to execute the first instructions to:
receive, from a mobile terminal, a store ID acquired by the mobile terminal, and customer identification information identifying a customer who uses the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0082-0086);
receive item identification information, which is scanned from a code attached to each item, from the mobile terminal, and associate the customer identification information with the item identification information (Aspholm: ¶ 0116 and Fig. 4);
create a list of items to be purchased based on the item identification information received from the mobile terminal, send the list of items to be purchased to the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0087 and 0117 and Fig. 1, 104A); and
generate checkout information based on the list of items to be purchased and transmit the checkout information to the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0118-0121), and
wherein the one or more second processors are configured to execute the second instructions to:
acquire the checkout information from the mobile terminal, and acquire the list of items to be purchased based on the checkout information (Aspholm: ¶ 0121).
Aspholm fails to specifically teach 1.) a second memory storing second instructions, and one or more second processors, 2.) update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal, 3.) display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk, in a case where an item requiring an age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased; acquire age confirmation information; complete the age confirmation in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired; and after the age confirmation is complete, display a checkout end screen; and 4.) while the age confirmation screen is displayed, turn on the light to call a clerk in response to receiving the control signal; and change a lighting state of the light in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired. The Examiner provides Yamashita to teach and disclose claimed features 1 and 3.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Yamashita includes:
a checkout machine including a second memory storing second instructions, and one or more second processors configured to execute the second instructions (Yamashita: ¶¶ 0008 and 0009),
wherein the one or more second processors are configured to execute the second instructions to:
display an age confirmation screen in a case where an item requiring an age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased (Yamashita: ¶¶ 0053-0058);
acquire age confirmation information (Yamashita: ¶¶ 0053-0058);
complete the age confirmation in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired (Yamashita: ¶¶ 0053-0058); and
after the age confirmation is complete, display a checkout end screen (Yamashita: ¶¶ 0034-0036 and 0053-0055).
Aspholm teaches a checkout system and method. Yamashita teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Yamashita offers the embodiment of a checkout machine including a second memory storing second instructions, and one or more second processors configured to execute the second instructions and wherein the one or more second processors are configured to execute the second instructions to: display an age confirmation screen in a case where an item requiring an age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased; acquire age confirmation information; and complete the age confirmation in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the age confirmation screen and checkout as disclosed by Yamashita to the display of the payment machine as taught by Aspholm for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Aspholm and Yamashita fail to specifically teach 2.) update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal, 3.) display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk…; and 4.) while the age confirmation screen is displayed, turn on the light to call a clerk in response to receiving the control signal; and change a lighting state of the light in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired. The Examiner provides Bellis to teach and disclose claimed features 3 and 4.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Bellis includes:
display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk (Bellis: ¶¶ 0055-0056);
while the age confirmation screen is displayed, turn on the light to call a clerk in response to receiving the control signal; and change a lighting state of the light in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired (Bellis: ¶¶ 0055-0056).
Aspholm and Yamashita teach checkout systems and methods. Bellis teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Bellis offers the embodiment of display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk; and while the age confirmation screen is displayed, turn on the light to call a clerk in response to receiving the control signal; and change a lighting state of the light in a case where the age confirmation information is acquired. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the age notification light as disclosed by Bellis to the checkout processes as taught by Aspholm, Yamashita and Kaneko for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Aspholm, Yamashita and Bellis fail to specifically teach 2.) update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal. The Examiner provides Glaser to teach and disclose claimed feature 2.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Glaser includes:
update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal (Glaser: ¶ 0134 and Fig. 14)
Aspholm, Yamashita and Bellis teach checkout systems and methods. Glaser teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Glaser offers the embodiment of update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation updating the quantity of the item as disclosed by Glaser to the checkout processes as taught by Aspholm, Yamashita and Bellis for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 11, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser includes:
wherein the one or more first processors transmits store information including a price list of a store identified by the store ID in response to receiving the store ID (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0016, 0018, 0042, 0087-0088 and 0091-0092).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser are discussed in the rejection of claim 9, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 12, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser includes:
wherein the one or more first processors are configured to execute the first instructions to:
transmit, to each mobile terminal, store information concerning items sold in the store corresponding to the store ID received from the mobile terminal, and
wherein, in a case where the customer has interrupted shopping at the store for some reason, an items-to-be-purchased list screen corresponding to a transaction status up to that point is displayed on the mobile terminal based on the store information (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0082-0088 and 0094 and Glaser: ¶¶ 0194-0195).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 13, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser includes:
wherein the store information includes information indicating the transaction status of the customer in the store, and the transaction status becomes new in a case where a new shopping is started at the store (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0082-0088, 0094 and 0129 and Glaser: ¶¶ 0194-0195).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspholm in view Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser as applied in claim 1, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0090049 A1 to Kaneko (“Kaneko”).
As per claim 2, Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser fail to specifically teach wherein the first processor generates checkout screen information and transmit the checkout screen information to the mobile terminal, the checkout screen information including the checkout information when the item requiring the age confirmation is not included in the list of items to be purchased and including the checkout information and an age confirmation message when the item requiring the age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased. The Examiner provides Kaneko to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Kaneko includes:
wherein the first processor generates checkout screen information and transmit the checkout screen information to the mobile terminal, the checkout screen information including the checkout information when the item requiring the age confirmation is not included in the list of items to be purchased and including the checkout information and an age confirmation message when the item requiring the age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased (Kaneko: ¶ 0144).
Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser teach checkout systems and methods. Kaneko teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Kaneko offers the embodiment of wherein the first processor generates checkout screen information and transmit the checkout screen information to the mobile terminal, the checkout screen information including the checkout information when the item requiring the age confirmation is not included in the list of items to be purchased and including the checkout information and an age confirmation message when the item requiring the age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of displaying a message indicating an age confirmation requirement as disclosed by Kaneko to the checkout processes as taught by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 3, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis, Glaser and Kaneko includes:
wherein the second processor displays the age confirmation screen when a specific code is included in the item identification information of an item listed in the list of items to be purchased (Yamashita: ¶ 0050 and Kaneko: ¶¶ 0046-0047).
The motivation for combining the teachings of A Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis, Glaser and Kaneko are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 4, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis, Glaser and Kaneko includes:
the checkout machine stores, in the second memory, a list of items requiring the age confirmation which indicates item identification information of the items requiring the age confirmation (Kaneko: ¶¶ 0045 and 0144), and
the second processor displays the age confirmation screen when item identification information of an item listed in the list of items to be purchased is included in the list of items requiring the age confirmation (Yamashita: ¶¶ 0050 and 0053-0058).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis, Glaser and Kaneko are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 5, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis, Glaser and Kaneko includes:
wherein the age confirmation information indicates a clerk code applied on a possession of a clerk (Kaneko: ¶¶ 0246-0250)
The motivation for combining the teachings of Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis, Glaser and Kaneko are discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and are incorporated herein.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspholm in view of Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser as applied in claim 1, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0199702 A1 to Singh (“Singh”).
As per claim 7, Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser fail to specifically teach wherein the age confirmation information indicates biometric information of a customer. The Examiner provides Singh to teach and disclose this claimed feature.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Singh includes:
wherein the age confirmation information indicates biometric information of a customer (Singh: ¶ 0041)
Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser teach checkout systems and methods. Singh teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Singh offers the embodiment of wherein the age confirmation information indicates biometric information of a customer. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the biometric information as disclosed by Singh to the age information as taught by Aspholm, Yamashita, Bellis and Glaser for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aspholm in view of Bellis and Glaser.
As per claim 9, the claimed subject matter that is met by Aspholm includes:
A server apparatus capable of communicating with a mobile terminal and a checkout machine, the server apparatus comprising (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0080 and 0086 and Fig. 1, 112 and Fig. 3):
a memory storing instructions, and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0080 and 0086 and Fig. 1, 112 and Fig. 3);
receive, from a mobile terminal, a store ID acquired by the mobile terminal, and customer identification information identifying a customer who uses the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0082-0086);
receive item identification information, which is scanned from a code attached to each item, from the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶ 0116 and Fig. 4);
create a list of items to be purchased based on the item identification information received from the mobile terminal, send the list of items to be purchased to the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0087 and 0117 and Fig. 1, 104A); and
generate checkout information based on the list of items to be purchased upon receiving a checkout request from the mobile terminal, and transmit the checkout information to the mobile terminal (Aspholm: ¶¶ 0118-0121).
Aspholm fails to specifically teach 1.) update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal, and 4.) wherein the checkout information causes the checkout machine to display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk, in a case where an item requiring an age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased. The Examiner provides Bellis to teach and disclose claimed feature 4.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Bellis includes:
wherein the checkout information causes the checkout machine to display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk, in a case where an item requiring an age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased (Bellis: ¶¶ 0055-0056).
Aspholm teaches a checkout system and method. Bellis teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Bellis offers the embodiment of wherein the checkout information causes the checkout machine to display an age confirmation screen and turn on a light to call a clerk, in a case where an item requiring an age confirmation is included in the list of items to be purchased. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the age notification light as disclosed by Bellis to the checkout process as taught by Aspholm for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Aspholm and Bellis fail to specifically teach 1.) update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal. The Examiner provides Glaser to teach and disclose claimed feature 1.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Glaser includes:
update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal (Glaser: ¶ 0134 and Fig. 14)
Aspholm and Bellis teach checkout systems and methods. Glaser teaches a comparable checkout system and method that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Glaser offers the embodiment of update the list of items to be purchased in response to a change in a quantity of the item, caused by an operation of a button for changing the quantity of the item, the button corresponding to the item on an items-to-be-purchased list screen displayed based on the list of items to be purchased at the mobile terminal. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation updating the quantity of the item as disclosed by Glaser to the checkout processes as taught by Aspholm and Bellis for the predicted result of improved checkout systems and methods. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Conclusion
/A. Hunter Wilder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627