Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4,6,10-13,17-18,20 and 24-30 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6,10-13,17-18,20 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (US 2020/0367310 A1; hereinafter "JUNG"), in view of TSAI (US 2020/0267789 A1), and further in view of LEE et al. (US 2020/0113012 A1; hereinafter “LEE”).
Regarding claim 1, JUNG teaches a method in a first base station (FIG. 1H MN 1h-02) communicating data with a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 1H UE 1h-01) ([0007] method in a mobile communication system, [0015] a method by a first base station with a user equipment (UE)), the method comprising
providing to the UE, configuration data related to a second base station (FIG. 1H SN 1h-03) and at least one condition for connecting to the second base station in order to operate in dual connectivity with the first base station and the second base station (FIG. 1H; [0063] the services use different parameters to satisfy different requirements for the services, [0197] the MN 1h-02 transmits a RAR message to the UE 1h-01 (1h-25), [0220] The UE 1h-01 transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC (multi-radio access technology-dual connectivity in FIG. 1E) for the UE 1h-01).
However, JUNG does not teach the configuration data including one or more configurations for a candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of the second base station, and the at least one condition being a condition for connecting to the candidate PSCeII; receiving from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receiving, from the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell.
In an analogous art, TSAI teaches the configuration data including one or more configurations for a candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of the second base station, and the at least one condition being a condition for connecting to the candidate PSCeII ([0054] discloses an RRC reconfiguration message carrying a conditional PSCell addition command indicating radio resource configuration of candidate PSCells of the second BS and respective predefined conditions for the candidate PSCells, [0056] discloses adding a specific candidate PSCell when its corresponding predefined condition is satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the candidate PSCells as taught by TSAI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the time delay for user experience (TSAI [0049]).
However, the combination of JUNG and TSAI does not teach receiving from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receiving, from the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches receiving from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data (FIG. 8 S808) ([0118] discloses that the UE applies a new configuration and transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message); and
subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receiving, from the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell (FIG. 10 S1008-S1012; [0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN and performs a random access procedure toward the SCG, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, [0156] discloses that the UE subsequently transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the SN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically LEE teaches subsequently to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 10 S1012), sending a sequence number (SN) status transfer message to the second base station ([0157] discloses that the SN, which has received the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, may inform the MN that the UE has successfully completed a reconfiguration procedure, and [0158] discloses delivery of sequence number state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically LEE teaches operating in dual connectivity (DC) with the UE and a third base station prior to providing the configuration ([0166] discloses that while dual connectivity is set up, MN determines to request SN to release radio resources, [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE); and
subsequently to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 10 S1012), sending, to the third base station, an indication that the third base station is to be released from the DC ([0166] discloses that MN determines to request SN to release radio resources with respect to a specific E-RAB, and [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message that includes a radio resource configuration of the SCG).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches prior to providing the configuration, operating in DC with the UE and a first cell of the second base station ([0198] the MN 1h-02 transmits the RRCResume message to the UE 1h-01 after negotiation of the MR-DC configuration information between the MN 1h-02 and the SN 1h-03 is finished), wherein the at least one condition is for connecting to a second cell of the second base station ([0251] when SSB RSRP is equal to or less than the certain reference value, information thereon may be included in a MeasurementReport message and be reported to the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03. To report the SN 1i-03, SRB3 needs to be established).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches further comprising sending, to the second base station, one of: a request to add the second base station as a secondary node ([0220] In FIG. 1H, The MN 1h-02 having received the RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC for the UE 1h-01 (1h-35)).
Regarding claim 10, JUNG teaches a first base station (FIG. 1H MN 1h-02) comprising processing hardware ([0052] processing apparatus) and configured to;
provide, to a user equipment (UE), configuration data related to a second base station (FIG. 1G SN 1g-03) and at least one condition for connecting to the second base station in order to operate in dual connectivity with the first base station and the second base station (FIG. 1H; [0063] the services use different parameters to satisfy different requirements for the services, [0197] the MN 1h-02 transmits a RAR message to the UE 1h-01 (1h-25), [0220] The UE 1h-01 transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC (multi-radio access technology-dual connectivity in FIG. 1E) for the UE 1h-01).
However, JUNG does not teach the configuration data including one or more configurations for a candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of the second base station, and the at least one condition being a condition for connecting to the candidate PSCeII; receive, from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receiving, from the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell.
In an analogous art, TSAI teaches the configuration data including one or more configurations for a candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of the second base station, and the at least one condition being a condition for connecting to the candidate PSCeII ([0054] discloses an RRC reconfiguration message carrying a conditional PSCell addition command indicating radio resource configuration of candidate PSCells of the second BS and respective predefined conditions for the candidate PSCells, [0056] discloses adding a specific candidate PSCell when its corresponding predefined condition is satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the candidate PSCells as taught by TSAI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the time delay for user experience (TSAI [0049]).
However, the combination of JUNG and TSAI does not teach receive, from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receiving, from the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches receive, from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data (FIG. 8 S808) ([0118] discloses that the UE applies a new configuration and transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message); and
subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receiving, from the UE, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell (FIG. 10 S1008-S1012; [0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN and performs a random access procedure toward the SCG, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, [0156] discloses that the UE subsequently transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the SN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, JUNG teaches a method in a UE (FIG. 1H UE 1h-01) communicating data with a first base station (FIG. 1H MN 1h-02), the method ([0007] method in a mobile communication system, [0015] a method by a first base station with a user equipment (UE)) comprising:
receiving, from the first base station, configuration data related to a second base station (FIG. 1G SN 1g-03) and at least one condition for connecting to the second base station to operate in dual connectivity (DC) with the first base station and the second base station (FIG. 1H; [0063] the services use different parameters to satisfy different requirements for the services, [0197] the MN 1h-02 transmits a RAR message to the UE 1h-01 (1h-25), [0220] The UE 1h-01 transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC (multi-radio access technology-dual connectivity in FIG. 1E) for the UE 1h-01).
However, JUNG dose not teach the configuration data including one or more configurations for a candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of the second base station, and the at least one condition being a condition for connecting to the candidate PSCeII; transmitting to the first base station a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to determining that the at least one condition is satisfied, sending, to the first base station, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell.
In an analogous art, TSAI teaches the configuration data including one or more configurations for a candidate primary secondary cell (PSCeII) of the second base station, and the at least one condition being a condition for connecting to the candidate PSCeII ([0054] discloses an RRC reconfiguration message carrying a conditional PSCell addition command indicating radio resource configuration of candidate PSCells of the second BS and respective predefined conditions for the candidate PSCells, [0056] discloses adding a specific candidate PSCell when its corresponding predefined condition is satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the candidate PSCells as taught by TSAI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the time delay for user experience (TSAI [0049]).
In an analogous art, LEE teaches transmitting to the first base station a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data (FIG. 8 S808) ([0118] discloses that the UE applies a new configuration and transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message); and
subsequently to determining that the at least one condition is satisfied, sending, to the first base station, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station via the candidate PSCell (FIG. 10 S1008-S1012; [0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN and performs a random access procedure toward the SCG, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, [0156] discloses that the UE subsequently transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the SN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically LEE teaches subsequently to determining that the at least one condition is satisfied but prior to sending the second RRC reconfiguration complete message: performing a random access procedure with the second base station ([0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN, and [0156] discloses that the UE transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches further comprising: prior to receiving the configuration data, operating in DC with the first base station and a first cell of the second base station ([0220] The MN 1h-02 having received the RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC for the UE 1h-01 (1h-35), [0225] In FIG. 1I, the UE 1i-01 transmits or receives data to or from one base station (e.g., the MN 1i-02) or two base stations (e.g., the MN 1i-02 and the SN 1i-03) in an RRC_CONNECTED mode (1i-04));
wherein performing the random access procedure with the second base station includes performing the random access procedure with a second cell of the second base station ([0220] In FIG. 1H, when reconfigurationWithSync for spCellConfig of a SCG or a value of timer T304 is included in an RRCReconfiguration message (or the RRCResume message), the UE 1h-01 initiates a random access procedure on a SpCell of the SCG (i.e., a PSCell) (1h-50)).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically LEE teaches operate in dual connectivity (DC) with the UE and a third base station prior to providing the configuration ([0166] discloses that while dual connectivity is set up, MN determines to request SN to release radio resources, [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE); and
subsequently to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 10 S1012), send, to the third base station, an indication that the third base station is to be released from the DC ([0166] discloses that MN determines to request SN to release radio resources with respect to a specific E-RAB, and [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message that includes a radio resource configuration of the SCG).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches prior to providing the configuration, operate in DC with the UE and a first cell of the second base station ([0198] the MN 1h-02 transmits the RRCResume message to the UE 1h-01 after negotiation of the MR-DC configuration information between the MN 1h-02 and the SN 1h-03 is finished), wherein the at least one condition is for connecting to a second cell of the second base station ([0251] when SSB RSRP is equal to or less than the certain reference value, information thereon may be included in a MeasurementReport message and be reported to the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03. To report the SN 1i-03, SRB3 needs to be established).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches further configured to send, to the second base station, one of: a request to add the second base station as a secondary node ([0220] In FIG. 1H, The MN 1h-02 having received the RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC for the UE 1h-01 (1h-35)).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically TSAI teaches wherein the at least one condition is satisfied when a measurement result obtained by the UE on the candidate PSCeII is above a threshold configured by the first base station ([0054] discloses that the first BS transmits an RRC reconfiguration message including a conditional PSCell addition command indicating a respective threshold for each predefined condition, [0056] discloses that the UE performs the conditional PSCell addition procedure when the measured quality of a specific candidate PSCell is above the corresponding predefined threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the candidate PSCells as taught by TSAI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the time delay for user experience (TSAI [0049]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically TSAI teaches sending, to the second base station, a secondary node reconfiguration complete message in response to the second RRC reconfiguration complete message ([0058] discloses that the UE transmits an RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the conditional PSCell addition procedure is completed successfully, [0059] discloses that the first BS subsequently transmits an SN reconfiguration complete message to the second BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the candidate PSCells as taught by TSAI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the time delay for user experience (TSAI [0049]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of JUNG, TSAI and LEE, specifically LEE teaches wherein the configuration data further includes second configuration data related to a further base station (FIG. 8 S808; [0118] the UE applies the new configuration and responds with an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message), the method further comprising:
subsequently to the receiving of the second RRC reconfiguration complete message, sending, to the further base station, a request to release the second configuration data (FIG. 10 S1008-S1012; [0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward the PSCell of the SN and performs a random access procedure toward the SCG, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, [0156] discloses that the UE subsequently transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message to the SN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG and TSAI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 25.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 26.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0377633 A1 (Rugeland et al.) discloses a user equipment receives multiple conditional reconfigurations associated with respective conditions.
US 2022/0295366 A1 (Teyeb et al.) discloses conditional configuration in such a network.
US 2022/0070853 A1 (GUO) discloses a method and apparatus for beam management and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium are provided.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413