Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
02/27/2026 has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2026 has been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7,10-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7,10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (US 2020/0367310 A1; hereinafter "JUNG"), in view of LEE et al. (US 2020/0113012 A1; hereinafter “LEE”).
Regarding claim 1, JUNG teaches a method in a first base station (FIG. 1H MN 1h-02) communicating data with a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 1H UE 1h-01) ([0007] method in a mobile communication system, [0015] a method by a first base station with a user equipment (UE)), the method comprising
providing to the UE, configuration data related to a second base station (FIG. 1H SN 1h-03) and at least one condition for connecting to the second base station in order to operate in dual connectivity with the first base station and the second base station (FIG. 1H; [0063] the services use different parameters to satisfy different requirements for the services, [0197] the MN 1h-02 transmits a RAR message to the UE 1h-01 (1h-25), [0220] The UE 1h-01 transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC (multi-radio access technology-dual connectivity in FIG. 1E) for the UE 1h-01).
However, JUNG dose not teach receiving from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete, receiving a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches receiving from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data (FIG. 8 S808) ([0118] discloses that the UE applies a new configuration and transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message); and
subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete, receiving a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station (FIG. 10 S1012) ([0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, and [0156] discloses that the UE transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically LEE teaches subsequently to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 10 S1012), sending a sequence number (SN) status transfer message to the second base station ([0157] discloses that the SN, which has received the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, may inform the MN that the UE has successfully completed a reconfiguration procedure, and [0158] discloses delivery of sequence number state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically LEE teaches operating in dual connectivity (DC) with the UE and a third base station prior to providing the configuration ([0166] discloses that while dual connectivity is set up, MN determines to request SN to release radio resources, [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE); and
subsequently to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 10 S1012), sending, to the third base station, an indication that the third base station is to be released from the DC ([0166] discloses that MN determines to request SN to release radio resources with respect to a specific E-RAB, and [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message that includes a radio resource configuration of the SCG).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches prior to providing the configuration, operating in DC with the UE and a first cell of the second base station ([0198] the MN 1h-02 transmits the RRCResume message to the UE 1h-01 after negotiation of the MR-DC configuration information between the MN 1h-02 and the SN 1h-03 is finished), wherein the at least one condition is for connecting to a second cell of the second base station ([0251] when SSB RSRP is equal to or less than the certain reference value, information thereon may be included in a MeasurementReport message and be reported to the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03. To report the SN 1i-03, SRB3 needs to be established).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches wherein the second cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCell) ([0220] In FIG. 1H, the UE 1h-01 initiates a random access procedure on a SpCell of the SCG (i.e., a PSCell) (1h-50)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches further comprising sending, to the second base station, one of: a request to add the second base station as a secondary node ([0220] In FIG. 1H, The MN 1h-02 having received the RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC for the UE 1h-01 (1h-35)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically LEE teaches wherein receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 8 S808) includes receiving a radio access network (RAN) node interface message from the second base station (FIG. 8 S804 and S806).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, JUNG teaches a base station (FIG. 1H MN 1h-02) comprising processing hardware ([0052] processing apparatus) and configured to;
provide, to a user equipment (UE), configuration data related to a second base station (FIG. 1G SN 1g-03) and at least one condition for connecting to the second base station in order to operate in dual connectivity with the first base station and the second base station (FIG. 1H; [0063] the services use different parameters to satisfy different requirements for the services, [0197] the MN 1h-02 transmits a RAR message to the UE 1h-01 (1h-25), [0220] The UE 1h-01 transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC (multi-radio access technology-dual connectivity in FIG. 1E) for the UE 1h-01).
However, JUNG dose not teach receive, from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receive a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches receive, from the UE, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data (FIG. 8 S808) ([0118] discloses that the UE applies a new configuration and transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message); and
subsequently to receiving the first RRC reconfiguration complete message, receive a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station (FIG. 10 S1012) ([0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, and [0156] discloses that the UE transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, JUNG teaches a method in a UE (FIG. 1H UE 1h-01) communicating data with a first base station (FIG. 1H MN 1h-02), the method ([0007] method in a mobile communication system, [0015] a method by a first base station with a user equipment (UE)) comprising:
receiving from the first base station, configuration data related to a second base station (FIG. 1G SN 1g-03) and at least one condition for connecting to the second base station to operate in DC with the first base station and the second base station (FIG. 1H; [0063] the services use different parameters to satisfy different requirements for the services, [0197] the MN 1h-02 transmits a RAR message to the UE 1h-01 (1h-25), [0220] The UE 1h-01 transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC (multi-radio access technology-dual connectivity in FIG. 1E) for the UE 1h-01).
However, JUNG dose not teach transmitting to the base station, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data; and subsequently to determining that the at least one condition is satisfied, sending, to the first base station, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station.
In an analogous art, LEE teaches transmitting to the base station, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE has conditionally applied the configuration data (FIG. 8 S808) ([0118] discloses that the UE applies a new configuration and transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message); and
subsequently to determining that the at least one condition is satisfied, sending, to the first base station, a second RRC reconfiguration complete message indicating that the UE is connected to the second base station (FIG. 10 S1012) ([0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN, [0155] discloses that the UE receives a random access response, and [0156] discloses that the UE transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically LEE teaches subsequently to determining that the at least one condition is satisfied but prior to sending the second RRC reconfiguration complete message: performing a random access procedure with the second base station ([0154] discloses that the UE performs synchronization toward PSCell of SN, and [0156] discloses that the UE transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches further comprising: prior to receiving the configuration data, operating in DC with the first base station and a first cell of the second base station ([0220] The MN 1h-02 having received the RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC for the UE 1h-01 (1h-35), [0225] In FIG. 1I, the UE 1i-01 transmits or receives data to or from one base station (e.g., the MN 1i-02) or two base stations (e.g., the MN 1i-02 and the SN 1i-03) in an RRC_CONNECTED mode (1i-04));
wherein performing the random access procedure with the second base station includes performing the random access procedure with a second cell of the second base station ([0220] In FIG. 1H, when reconfigurationWithSync for spCellConfig of a SCG or a value of timer T304 is included in an RRCReconfiguration message (or the RRCResume message), the UE 1h-01 initiates a random access procedure on a SpCell of the SCG (i.e., a PSCell) (1h-50)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches wherein the second cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) ([0220] In FIG. 1H, the UE 1h-01 initiates a random access procedure on a SpCell of the SCG (i.e., a PSCell) (1h-50)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches subsequently to receiving the second indication ([0220] The UE 1h-01 transited to the RRC_CONNECTED mode transmits an RRCResumeComplete message to the MN 1h-02 through SRB1 (1h-55)), send a sequence number (SN) status transfer message to the second base station ([0125] The reordering function of the NR PDCP layer on a PDCP sequence number (SN) basis includes a function of reporting state information of the missing PDCP PDUs to a transmitter, [0198] because the MN 1h-02 transmits the RRCResume message to the UE 1h-01 after negotiation of the MR-DC configuration information between the MN 1h-02 and the SN 1h-03 is finished).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically LEE teaches operate in dual connectivity (DC) with the UE and a third base station prior to providing the configuration ([0166] discloses that while dual connectivity is set up, MN determines to request SN to release radio resources, [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the UE); and
subsequently to receiving the second RRC reconfiguration complete message (FIG. 10 S1012), send, to the third base station, an indication that the third base station is to be released from the DC ([0166] discloses that MN determines to request SN to release radio resources with respect to a specific E-RAB, and [0168] discloses that MN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message that includes a radio resource configuration of the SCG).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message as taught by LEE within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive a better service in view of throughput for UE experience (LEE [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches prior to providing the configuration, operate in DC with the UE and a first cell of the second base station ([0198] the MN 1h-02 transmits the RRCResume message to the UE 1h-01 after negotiation of the MR-DC configuration information between the MN 1h-02 and the SN 1h-03 is finished), wherein the at least one condition is for connecting to a second cell of the second base station ([0251] when SSB RSRP is equal to or less than the certain reference value, information thereon may be included in a MeasurementReport message and be reported to the MN 1i-02 or the SN 1i-03. To report the SN 1i-03, SRB3 needs to be established).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches wherein the second cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCeII) ([0220] In FIG. 1H, the UE 1h-01 initiates a random access procedure on a SpCell of the SCG (i.e., a PSCell) (1h-50)).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of JUNG and LEE, specifically JUNG teaches further configured to send, to the second base station, one of: a request to add the second base station as a secondary node ([0220] In FIG. 1H, The MN 1h-02 having received the RRCResumeRequest or RRCResumeRequest1 message transmits a SCG-ConfigInfo message to the SN 1h-03 to configure MR-DC for the UE 1h-01 (1h-35)).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0098250 A1 (VRZIC et al.) discloses ultra-reliable and low latency connections in Radio Access Networks.
US 2020/0045596 A1 (LIU et al.) discloses communication systems that may have a low mobility interruption time.
US 2022/0159763 A1 (HAN et al.) discloses a master node (MN) that determines a manner of a protocol data unit (PDU) session to be served.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413