DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Arakawa (WO 2018/220909, as provided by applicant) in view of Yamaguichi (WO 02056352 machine translation provided). Arakawa discloses a manufacturing device for bonding a body comprising a jig main body (9) having a storage part, and a pressing transparent member (7) that is to be placed in the storage part, wherein the storage part having a bottom in which plural urging members (12) are arranged. The storage part is configured to store a laminate so as to be sandwiched and pressed between the transparent member and the urging members ([0027]-[0032],[0048]-[0053], figures 4-6). Arakawa further teaches a positioning member placed in the storage part (i.e. 8a/8b in figures 3, 5b, 6a), the positioning member defining a position that the laminate is placed (figures 3-6, [0024]-[0025]). As can be seen in figures 5-6, the pressing transparent member (7) is place on a second surface of a laminate, opposite of a first surface that faces the urging members, and the pressing transparent member is configured to press the second surface to cause the first surface to be pressed by urging forces of the plural urging members ([0032]). The bonded body including a plurality of packages partitioned by the bonding part is considered a material to be worked upon and does not contribute to the structural limitations of the claimed apparatus. Since the pressing transparent member and the urging members are configured to press a laminate therebetween, it can produce the bonded body. Also seen in figure 3, the positioning member is a platelike structure with openings and in figure 6b, the urging members are arranged directly below the positioning member 8b.
Arakawa teaches forming a plurality of bonded bodies and using a plurality of urging members to accommodate variations in the laminates to ensure proper sealing for each of the laminates ([0022]). Thus, Arakawa doesn’t specify a single urging plate placed between the plural urging members and the laminate. Like Arakawa, Yamaguichi also teaches a manufacturing device for bonding a body, the device comprising a jig main body (24) having a storage part (S), the storage part configured to store a laminate and having a bottom in which plural urging members (58/59) are arranged, and a single urging plate (44) being placed between the plural urging members and a laminate, wherein the laminate is pressed by urging forces of the plural urging members via the single urging plate (1st passage on page 5, last passage on page 5, 6th passage on page 6, figures 1-2). Yamaguichi teaches making one bonded body and employs plural urging members to ensure proper sealing of the laminate while preventing air entrapment in the bonded body. More specifically, Yamaguichi teaches coordinating the plural urging members such that the urging plate a pressing force in an arching manner to allow air to escape while sealing the laminate (bottom half of page 6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have alternatively provided for the arrangement of a plurality of urging members and a single urging plate for providing a pressing force in forming a bonded body, especially when used for making a larger single bonded body, as it allow for proper sealing while preventing air entrapment in the bonded body, as taught by Yamaguichi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2025 have been fully considered. The use of 9c and 9d as positioning members have been withdrawn in light of the amendment. However, Arakawa teaches other positioning members 8a/8b, as discussed above. Applicant argues the urging members are not arranged directly below the positioning members 8a and 8b. The Examiner disagrees. Positioning members 8a and 8b are platelike structures having opening in which laminates are to be place and held in place for pressing (see plan view provided in figure 3). This platelike structure with holes is placed in the storage part of the jig main body, as seen in figure 6b. Also seen in figure 6b are urging members (plungers 12) that are place directly below the positioning plate 8b.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741