DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1 regarding claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 9/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that independent claims 1 and 15 of groups I and II respectively recite the single general inventive feature of operating compressor at second cooling power, which is determined based on operating ratio of cold air transmission fan that depends upon fan ON and OFF times (see claims 1 and 15). This argument is found persuasive because both claims 1 and 15 include this above-mentioned limitation and ON and OFF operations of the refrigerator fan. The restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claimed limitation, "the cold air generator" in claim 15, lacks antecedent basis in the claims. The above mentioned claims should recite the limitation as ‘-- a cold air generator compressor --’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "cold air transmission unit" in claims 1-20.
The “cold air transmission unit” is sufficiently described in the specification as a fan or damper (see page 3 and claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (KR 20180061753 A) and in view of Rajan (US 2018/0187916 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 3, Chung teaches a method for controlling a refrigerator (refrigerator, fig. 1 and paragraphs 12, 63-65) based on a first reference temperature and a second reference temperature (see abstract and paragraph 13) that is less than the first reference temperature (see second reference temperature lower than first reference temperature, abstract and paragraph 13), the method comprising:
determining when a temperature of a storage compartment (freezer or refrigerator compartment) becomes equal to or less than the second reference temperature (see paragraphs 13);
turning off a cold air transmission unit repeatedly (turning off cold air supply fan 26 and motor 25, see paragraphs 13 and 169) and operating a cold air generator with a first cooling power (compressor operated at reduced power consumption or low output, see paragraphs 53-54), which is previously determined, when determined temperature of a storage compartment has repeatedly become equal to or less than the second reference temperature (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Chung teaches turning cold air supply fan 26 off, when the temperature of the storage room is equal to or less than the second reference temperature, see paragraphs 169, 133 and 13);
determining when the temperature of the storage compartment becomes equal to or greater than the first reference temperature (see paragraphs 13);
turning on the cold air transmission unit and operating the cold air generator with the first cooling power (compressor operated at reduced power consumption, see paragraphs 53-54), when determined that the temperature of storage compartment has become equal to or greater than the first reference temperature (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Chung teaches operating cold air supply fan 26, when the temperature of the storage room is greater than the first reference temperature, see paragraphs 13, 96);
calculating, by a controller (control unit 50), an operating ratio/period of time of the cold air transmission fan unit (see operating time of the fan, paragraph 131; Also see damper opening degree paragraph 51) while operating the cold air generator with the first cooling power (compressor operated at reduced power consumption, see paragraphs 53-54), upon determining that the temperature of the storage compartment is equal to or less than the second reference temperature (see paragraphs 13, 177), and
determining a second cooling power of the cold air generator (see paragraphs 90, 206) based on the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit (based on the opening degree of the damper, see paragraph 51); and operating the cold air generator compressor with the determined second cooling power (compressor operated at least at or near maximum output power based on damper opening degree, see paragraphs 89-91 and 206; Also see maximum output, paragraph 145).
However, Chung does not explicitly teach operating the compressor based on operating ratio of fan ON time and OFF time.
Rajan discloses a controller for controlling a refrigeration cycle (see figs. 1 and 6); the controller calculating an operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit based on an ON time and an OFF time of the cold air transmission fan unit (calculating fan ON and OFF cycle, see figs. 2 and step 610, fig. 6), while operating the cold air generator compressor with the first cooling power (while compressor is operated continuously, see paragraphs 34 and 61), upon determining that the temperature of the storage compartment is equal to or less than the second reference temperature (steps 610, 612, 614 of fan cycle calculation and compressor operation follow the temperature measurement step of 606, fig. 6 and paragraph 58), and determining a second cooling power of the cold air generator based on the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit (compressor operation at demand/minimum speeds for set period of time based on fan cycle time being greater/or less than first/second threshold times, see steps 612-620, fig. 6 and paragraphs 61-64); and operating the cold air generator with the determined second cooling power (compressor operated at demand/minimum/medium speeds for set periods of time based on fan cycle time being greater/or less than first/second threshold times, see steps 612-620, fig. 6 and paragraphs 61-64; wherein the variable compressor speeds indicate compressor operating at different cooling powers, figs. 3-6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Chung to calculate an operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit based on an ON time and an OFF time of the cold air transmission fan unit while operating the cold air generator with the first cooling power, upon determining that the temperature of the storage compartment is equal to or less than the second reference temperature, and determine and operate the cold air generator compressor with the second cooling power, wherein the determination of the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor is based on the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit based on the teachings of Rajan in order to maintain accurate temperatures with a refrigerator compartment without reducing the service life of the fan and compressor by cycling ON and OFF the fan and compressor (see paragraphs 3-4, Rajan).
In regards to claim 2, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the cold air generator includes a compressor (compressor 21), and wherein the cold air transmission unit includes at least one of a cooling fan which operates to provide cold air to the storage compartment (fan 26, see paragraphs 65-67, 70-74) or a damper (damper 12) which opens or closes a passage for providing the cold air to the storage compartment (damper opening degree controlled, see paragraphs 66-68 and 73-74).
In regards to claim 4, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Rajan further discloses that the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit is determined based on a ratio of an ON time to a sum of the ON time and the OFF time of the cold air transmission fan unit (fan cycle times of 1000 seconds, 150 seconds, and 100 seconds include the combined ON and OFF times of the fan, see figs. 2 and paragraphs 34-36; and fan ON and OFF time is compared with threshold ON and OFF time of the fan, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 61-62).
In regards to claim 5, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Rajan further discloses that the calculated operating ratio is a current operating ratio (fan cycle times calculated for current conditions, see figs. 2-5), and wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator based on a difference between a previous operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit (controller 150 configured to adjust compressor operation speed for set time based on fan cycle times changing based on previous ambient temperature condition and current ambient temperature condition, see paragraphs 61-63, wherein the fan cycle threshold time is set based on previous ambient condition and the current fan cycle time is compared to the fan cycle threshold time of previous ambient condition, see fig. 6; Also compressor speed determination for set runtime is based on set fan cycle times, new fan cycle times and comparison of fan cycle times with threshold values, see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 6, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 and Rajan further discloses that the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be different from the first cooling power (various compressor operating speeds at various runtimes, see fig. 6) when an absolute value of the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than a first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at demand/medium speed different than minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64), and wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be maintained at the first cooling power when the absolute value of the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is less than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum speed or maintain the compressor speed when the current fan cycle time compared to the new cycle time is less than second threshold time, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 62-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Chung to determine the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor to be different from or same as the first cooling power based on the difference/absolute difference between previous operating ratio and current operating ratio being equal/greater/less than a first reference value based on the teachings of Rajan in order to improve and maintain efficiency of the compressor in handling variable load by adjusting compressor speed over time as per fan cycling between ON and OFF states, which relies on the available ambient condition (see paragraphs 2-6, Rajan).
In regards to claim 7, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and Rajan further discloses that the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold generator compressor to be increased relative to the first cooling power (medium/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6) when the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is less than zero, and when the absolute value of the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times of 120 seconds and 300 seconds is below zero and which allows the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and
wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be decreased relative to the first cooling power (see reduced/minimum compressor operating speed from 64 Hz to 56 Hz, 38 Hz, 34Hz or 22 Hz, figs. 3-6 at various runtimes) when the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is greater than zero (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum/reduced speed when fan cycle time difference between line 403 and 402, which a difference between 1000 seconds and 160 seconds, is greater than zero, see fig. 4A and paragraph 50), and when the absolute value of the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum/reduced speed when fan cycle time difference between line 403 and 402, which a difference between 1000 seconds and 160 {1000-160 = 840 seconds} is greater than the second threshold value of 120 seconds, see figs. 4-6 and paragraph 47).
In regards to claim 8, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and Rajan further discloses that the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold generator compressor to be increased or decreased relative to the first cooling power by a first level (medium/maximum/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6), when the absolute value of the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and less than a second reference value (compressor operated at step 620 based on fan cycle time being less than first threshold value at step 612, fig. 6) which is greater than the first reference value (see first threshold value of 300 seconds being greater than the second threshold value of 120 seconds, paragraphs 61-62), and
wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be increased or decreased relative to the first cooling power by a second level (see reduced/medium/minimum compressor operating speed from 64 Hz to 56 Hz, 38 Hz, 34 Hz, 26Hz or 22 Hz, figs. 3-6 at various runtimes), which is greater than the first level (increase/decrease of 18 Hz or 8 Hz compared to 8 Hz or 4 Hz between second and first levels), when the absolute value of the difference between the previous operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the second reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum/reduced/demand/maximum speed when the fan cycle time difference between line 403 and 402, which a difference between 1000 seconds and 160 {1000-160 = 840 seconds} is greater than the first threshold value of 300 seconds, see figs. 4-6 and paragraph 47).
In regards to claim 9, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Rajan further discloses that the calculated operating ratio is a current operating ratio (fan cycle times calculated for current conditions, see figs. 2-5), and wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator based on a difference between a reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit (controller 150 configured to adjust compressor operation speed for set time based on fan cycle times changing based on set ambient temperature condition and current ambient temperature condition, see paragraphs 61-63, wherein the fan cycle threshold time is set based on previous ambient condition and the current fan cycle time is compared to the fan cycle threshold time of previous ambient condition, see fig. 6; Also compressor speed determination for set runtime is based on set fan cycle times, new fan cycle times and comparison of fan cycle times with threshold values, see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 10, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 9 and Rajan further discloses that the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold generator compressor to be increased or decreased relative to the first cooling power (medium/maximum/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6), when an absolute value of the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and
wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be maintained at the first cooling power when the absolute value of the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is less than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum speed or maintain the compressor speed when the current fan cycle time compared to the new cycle time is less than second threshold time, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 62-63).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Chung to determine the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor to be different from or same as the first cooling power based on the difference/absolute difference between reference operating ratio and current operating ratio being equal/greater/less than a first reference value based on the teachings of Rajan in order to improve and maintain efficiency of the compressor in handling variable load by adjusting compressor speed over time as per fan cycling between ON and OFF states, which relies on the available ambient condition (see paragraphs 2-6, Rajan).
In regards to claim 11, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and Rajan further discloses that the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold generator compressor to be increased relative to the first cooling power (medium/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6) when the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is less than zero, and the absolute value of the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times of 120 seconds and 300 seconds is below zero and which allows the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and
wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be decreased relative to the first cooling power (see reduced/minimum compressor operating speed from 64 Hz to 56 Hz, 38 Hz, 34Hz or 22 Hz, figs. 3-6 at various runtimes) when the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is greater than zero (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum/reduced speed when fan cycle time difference between line 403 and 402, which a difference between 1000 seconds and 160 seconds, is greater than zero, see fig. 4A and paragraph 50), and when the absolute value of the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum/reduced speed when fan cycle time difference between line 403 and 402, which a difference between 1000 seconds and 160 {1000-160 = 840 seconds} is greater than the second threshold value of 120 seconds, see figs. 4-6 and paragraph 47).
In regards to claim 12, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and Rajan further discloses that the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold generator compressor to be increased or decreased relative to the first cooling power by a first level (medium/maximum/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6), when the absolute value of the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the first reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and less than a second reference value (compressor operated at step 620 based on fan cycle time being less than first threshold value at step 612, fig. 6) which is greater than the first reference value (see first threshold value of 300 seconds being greater than the second threshold value of 120 seconds, paragraphs 61-62), and
wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator to be increased or decreased relative to the first cooling power by a second level (see reduced/medium/minimum compressor operating speed from 64 Hz to 56 Hz, 38 Hz, 34 Hz, 26Hz or 22 Hz, figs. 3-6 at various runtimes), which is greater than the first level (increase/decrease of 18 Hz or 8 Hz compared to 8 Hz or 4 Hz between second and first levels), when the absolute value of the difference between the reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio is equal to or greater than the second reference value (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Rajan teaches operating compressor at minimum/reduced/demand/maximum speed when the fan cycle time difference between line 403 and 402, which a difference between 1000 seconds and 160 {1000-160 = 840 seconds} is greater than the first threshold value of 300 seconds, see figs. 4-6 and paragraph 47).
In regards to claim 13, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller (50) determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor (cooling output P2-P8 of the compressor controlled by controller 50, see paragraphs 109-110, 145 and 67-70) based on a first factor (P2 based on first temperature factor, see paragraphs 95 and 100; Also see outputs P3, P5 and P7 based on output P2, paragraphs 109-111), which is based on the previous operating output (P1, see paragraph 100-101), and a second factor (see outputs P3, P5 and P7 based on outputs P2, P4, P6, paragraphs 109-111; Also see based on the opening degree of the damper, see paragraph 51), which is a difference between a reference/previous cooling output and the current output of the fan/damper (new cooling output based on the average of previous outputs, which include a difference between current and previous cooling outputs of the cold supply means, which include the fan and the damper, see paragraphs 23, 112 and 129).
However, Chung does not explicitly teach that the second cooling power is based on comparison of fan operating ratio of multiple cycles.
Rajan further discloses that the calculated operating ratio is a current operating ratio (fan cycle times calculated for current conditions, see figs. 2-5), and that the controller (150) determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor based on a first factor (medium/maximum/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6), see figs. 1 and 6, based on first/second cycle time threshold, see figs. 3-6) which is a difference between a previous operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit (operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than first threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 614 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and
a second factor (second/first cycle time threshold, see figs. 3-6) which is a difference between a reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit (operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Chung to determine the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor based on first and second factors, where first and factors are a difference between a previous operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit and a difference between a reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit, respectively, based on the teachings of Rajan in order to improve and maintain efficiency of the compressor in handling variable load by adjusting compressor speed over time as per fan cycling between ON and OFF states, which relies on the available ambient condition (see paragraphs 2-6, Rajan).
In regards to claim 14, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 and further discloses determining, by the controller (50), whether to increase, maintain or decrease the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor (determine the new output of the compressor as the average of the previous outputs, which would be maintaining/decreasing the precious outputs, by controller 50, see paragraphs 128-129). In addition, Rajan teaches determining, by the controller, whether to increase, maintain, or decrease the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor (compressor operated at the modified medium speed for desired runtime at step 620, fig. 6) by combining a result from the first factor with a result from the second factor (compressor speed selected at steps 618 or 620 based on both first and second threshold comparisons at steps 612 and 616, see fig. 6), after determining the second cooling power of the cold air generator based on the first factor and the second factor determining the cooling power of the cold air generator (see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 15, Chung teaches a method for controlling a refrigerator (refrigerator, fig. 1 and paragraphs 12, 63-65) including a first storage compartment (freezer 111), a second storage compartment (refrigerator compartment 112) to receive cold air from the first storage compartment (cold air guided from freezer to refrigerator compartment, see paragraph 48), a temperature sensor to sense a temperature of the second storage compartment (freezer temperature sensor 41, see paragraph 69), a cooling fan (fan 26) to supply the cold air to the second storage compartment from the first storage compartment (fan see paragraph 48), and a compressor (compressor, see paragraph 49) to cool the first storage compartment (see paragraphs 232, 45-50 and 64-67), the method comprising:
turning off a cold air transmission fan (turning off cold air supply fan 26 and motor 25, see paragraphs 13 and 169) and operating the compressor with a first cooling power (compressor operated at reduced power consumption or low output, see paragraphs 53-54), which is previously determined, when a temperature of the second storage compartment is equal to or less than a second reference temperature (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Chung teaches turning cold air supply fan 26 off, when the temperature of the storage room is equal to or less than the second reference temperature, see paragraphs 169, 133 and 13) that is less than a first reference temperature (second reference temperature lower than first reference temperature, abstract and paragraph 13);
determining when the temperature of the second storage compartment (freezer compartment) becomes equal to or greater than the first reference temperature (see paragraphs 13);
turning on the cold air transmission fan and operating the compressor with the first cooling power (compressor operated at reduced power consumption, see paragraphs 53-54), when the temperature of second storage compartment is equal to or greater than the first reference temperature (this is a contingent limitation in a method claim, see MPEP 2111.04; however, Chung teaches operating cold air supply fan 26, when the temperature of the storage room is greater than the first reference temperature, see paragraphs 13, 96);
determining when the temperature of the second storage compartment (freezer compartment) is equal to or less than the second reference temperature (see paragraphs 13);
calculating, by a controller (control unit 50), an operating ratio/period of time of the cold air transmission fan (see operating time of the fan, paragraph 131; Also see damper opening degree paragraph 51) while operating the cold air generator compressor with the first cooling power (compressor operated at reduced power consumption, see paragraphs 53-54), upon determining that the temperature of the storage compartment is equal to or less than the second reference temperature (see paragraphs 13, 177), and
determining a second cooling power of the cold air generator (see paragraphs 90, 206) based on the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit (based on the opening degree of the damper, see paragraph 51); and operating the cold air generator compressor with the determined second cooling power (compressor operated at least at or near maximum output power based on damper opening degree, see paragraphs 89-91 and 206; Also see maximum output, paragraph 145).
However, Chung does not explicitly teach operating the compressor based on operating ratio of fan ON time and OFF time.
Rajan discloses a controller for controlling a refrigeration cycle (see figs. 1 and 6); the controller calculating an operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit based on an ON time and an OFF time of the cold air transmission fan unit (calculating fan ON and OFF cycle, see figs. 2 and step 610, fig. 6), while operating the cold air generator compressor with the first cooling power (while compressor is operated continuously, see paragraphs 34 and 61), upon determining that the temperature of the storage compartment is equal to or less than the second reference temperature (steps 610, 612, 614 of fan cycle calculation and compressor operation follow the temperature measurement step of 606, fig. 6 and paragraph 58), and determining a second cooling power of the cold air generator based on the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit (compressor operation at demand/minimum speeds for set period of time based on fan cycle time being greater/or less than first/second threshold times, see steps 612-620, fig. 6 and paragraphs 61-64); and operating the cold air generator with the determined second cooling power (compressor operated at demand/minimum/medium speeds for set periods of time based on fan cycle time being greater/or less than first/second threshold times, see steps 612-620, fig. 6 and paragraphs 61-64; wherein the variable compressor speeds indicate compressor operating at different cooling powers, figs. 3-6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Chung to calculate an operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit based on an ON time and an OFF time of the cold air transmission fan unit while operating the cold air generator with the first cooling power, upon determining that the temperature of the storage compartment is equal to or less than the second reference temperature, and determine and operate the cold air generator compressor with the second cooling power, wherein the determination of the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor is based on the operating ratio of the cold air transmission unit based on the teachings of Rajan in order to maintain accurate temperatures with a refrigerator compartment without reducing the service life of the fan and compressor by cycling ON and OFF the fan and compressor (see paragraphs 3-4, Rajan).
In regards to claim 16, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the first storage compartment is a freezing compartment (freezer 111), and the second storage compartment is a refrigerating compartment (refrigerator compartment 112, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 12, 63-65).
In regards to claim 17, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and Rajan further discloses that the calculated operating ratio of the cooling fan is a current operating ratio (fan cycle times calculated for current conditions, see figs. 2-5), and wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the compressor based on a difference between a previous operating ratio of the cooling fan and the current operating ratio of the cooling fan (controller 150 configured to adjust compressor operation speed for set time based on fan cycle times changing based on previous ambient temperature condition and current ambient temperature condition, see paragraphs 61-63, wherein the fan cycle threshold time is set based on previous ambient condition and the current fan cycle time is compared to the fan cycle threshold time of previous ambient condition, see fig. 6; Also compressor speed determination for set runtime is based on set fan cycle times, new fan cycle times and comparison of fan cycle times with threshold values, see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 18, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and Rajan further discloses that the calculated operating ratio of the cooling fan is a current operating ratio (fan cycle times calculated for current conditions, see figs. 2-5), and wherein the controller determines the second cooling power of the compressor based on a difference between a reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio of the cooling fan (controller 150 configured to adjust compressor operation speed for set time based on fan cycle times changing based on set ambient temperature condition and current ambient temperature condition, see paragraphs 61-63, wherein the fan cycle threshold time is set based on set ambient condition and the current fan cycle time is compared to the fan cycle threshold time of previous ambient condition, see fig. 6; Also compressor speed determination for set runtime is based on set fan cycle times, new fan cycle times and comparison of fan cycle times with threshold values, see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 19, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the controller (50) determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor (cooling output P2-P8 of the compressor controlled by controller 50, see paragraphs 109-110, 145 and 67-70) based on a first factor (P2 based on first temperature factor, see paragraphs 95 and 100; Also see outputs P3, P5 and P7 based on output P2, paragraphs 109-111), which is based on the previous operating output (P1, see paragraph 100-101), and a second factor (see outputs P3, P5 and P7 based on outputs P2, P4, P6, paragraphs 109-111; Also see based on the opening degree of the damper, see paragraph 51), which is a difference between a reference/previous cooling output and the current output of the fan/damper (new cooling output based on the average of previous outputs, which include a difference between current and previous cooling outputs of the cold supply means, which include the fan and the damper, see paragraphs 23, 112 and 129).
However, Chung does not explicitly teach that the second cooling power is based on comparison of fan operating ratio of multiple cycles.
Rajan further discloses that the calculated operating ratio is a current operating ratio (fan cycle times calculated for current conditions, see figs. 2-5), and that the controller (150) determines the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor based on a first factor (medium/maximum/demand compressor operating speeds at various runtimes above the minimum compressor speed, see fig. 6; Also see 22 Hz to 26 Hz, 34Hz, 38 Hz, 56 Hz or 64 Hz, figs. 3-6), see figs. 1 and 6, based on first/second cycle time threshold, see figs. 3-6) which is a difference between a previous operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan (operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than first threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 614 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64), and
a second factor (second/first cycle time threshold, see figs. 3-6) which is a difference between a reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan (operating compressor at demand/medium speed above the minimum speed when fan cycle time is greater than second threshold time, see 616-620 fig. 6 and paragraphs 63-64; wherein the difference between the fan cycle times allow the compressor to operate at step 620 at a speed above the minimum speed for a desired runtime, see figs. 6 and paragraphs 62-64).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of the method of Chung to determine the second cooling power of the cold air generator compressor based on first and second factors, where first and factors are a difference between a previous operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit and a difference between a reference operating ratio and the current operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan unit, respectively, based on the teachings of Rajan in order to improve and maintain efficiency of the compressor in handling variable load by adjusting compressor speed over time as per fan cycling between ON and OFF states, which relies on the available ambient condition (see paragraphs 2-6, Rajan).
In regards to claim 20, Chung as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and Rajan further discloses that the operating ratio of the cold air transmission fan is determined based on a ratio of an ON time to a sum of the ON time and the OFF time of the cold air transmission fan (fan cycle times of 1000 seconds, 150 seconds, and 100 seconds include the combined ON and OFF times of the fan, see figs. 2 and paragraphs 34-36; and fan ON and OFF time is compared with threshold ON and OFF time of the fan, see fig. 6 and paragraphs 61-62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-6 of Remarks, filed 9/10/2025, with respect to restriction requirement on the basis of lack of unity of invention have been fully considered and are persuasive. The restriction requirement of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763