DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the newly cited Umebayashi, who discloses a UV curable inkjet composition comprising both monofunctional (meth)acrylates and N-vinyl amides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hall et al. (WO 2016/179213 A1).
The absence of a claim rejection under this heading should not be viewed as an admission of allowability over the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 1:
Budden et al. disclose a UV curable inkjet composition comprising:
at least 20 wt%, by weight of the composition, of one or more monofunctional acrylate monomers (paragraphs 35-38);
between 2.5 and 7 wt%, by weight of the composition, of one or more photoinitiators selected from the group consisting of acylphosphine oxide photoinitiators, thioxanthone photoinitiators, and combinations thereof (paragraphs 45-50 & TABLES 1-3);
one or more acrylated amine(s) (paragraphs 29-34); and
one or more N-vinyl amides selected from the group consisting of N-vinylcaprolactam, N-vinylpyrollidone, diacetone acerylamide, N-vinyl carbazole, N-acryloxyoxyethylcyclohexanediicarboximide, N-vinyl imidazole, N-vinyl-N-methylacetamide, and acryloyl morpholine (paragraph 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13, 21-23, 27, 32-36, 38-39, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chopra et al. (US 10577515 B1) in view of Umebayashi (US 2018/0282559 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Chopra et al. disclose a UV curable inkjet composition comprising:
at least 20 wt%, by weight of the composition, of one or more monofunctional acrylate monomers (col. 3, lines 18-33 & col. 5, lines 13-38);
between 2.5 and 7 wt%, by weight of the composition, of one or more photoinitiators selected from the group consisting of acylphosphine oxide photoinitiators, thioxanthone photoinitiators, and combinations thereof (col. 9, line 18 – col. 10, line 61); and
one or more acrylated amine(s) (col. 8, line 12 – col. 9, line 16).
Chopra et al. do not expressly disclose the incorporation of one or more N-vinyl amides.
However, Umebayashi discloses a UV curable inkjet composition in which N-vinyl amides and N-(meth)acryloylamines may be used in the same manner as monofunctional (meth)acrylates (paragraph 254), the N-vinyl amides being selected from the group consisting of N-vinylcaprolactam, N-vinylpyrollidone, diacetone acerylamide, N-vinyl carbazole, N-acryloxyoxyethylcyclohexanediicarboximide, N-vinyl imidazole, N-vinyl-N-methylacetamide, and acryloyl morpholine (paragraph 254).
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate N-vinyl amides into Chopra et al.’s UV-curable inkjet composition, as suggested by Umebayashi.
Regarding claim 10:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the photoinitiator blend comprises one or more type II photoinitiators (at least the thioxanthones: col. 9, lines 18-67).
Regarding claim 13:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the composition comprises greater than or equal to 4 wt% of any blend of alkanolamine derived acrylated amines (col. 9, lines 8-16).
Regarding claim 21:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the blend of monofunctional monomers is included in at least 30 wt% by weight of the composition (col. 3, lines 18-33 & col. 5, lines 13-38).
Regarding claim 22:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that a blend of multifunctional monomers is included in at most 40% by weight of the composition (e.g. col. 4, lines 9-17).
Regarding claim 23:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 22, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the multifunctional monomer comprises a polyester acrylate and/or an epoxy acrylate wherein the epoxy acrylate (col. 6, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 27:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the composition comprises one or more colorants (col. 11, lines 14-19).
Regarding claim 32:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the composition can be cured by exposure to two or more separate UV irradiations (“passes of UV LED light source”: col. 12, lines 45-54), where the sum total of all the separate UV exposures is greater than or equal to 100 mJ/cm2 (col. 17, lines 66-67).
Regarding claim 33:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the composition is suitable for application by UV-curable inkjet printing (col. 12, lines 20-44).
Regarding claim 34:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose a process of printing and curing the composition onto a substrate and curing (col. 12, lines 20-44).
Regarding claim 35:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 34, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the application method is inkjet printing (col. 12, lines 32-40).
Regarding claim 36:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 34, and Chopra et al. also disclose that curing is performed by exposure to two or more separate UV irradiations (“passes of a UV LED light source”: col. 12, lines 45-54).
Regarding claim 38:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose a method of providing a printed article, comprising inkjet printing the inkjet composition onto a substrate and curing the composition by exposure to two or more separate UV irradiations (col. 12, lines 20-44), wherein the sum total of all the separate UV exposures is greater than 100 mJ/cm2 (col. 17, lines 66-67).
Regarding claim 39:
Chopra et al.’s modified method comprises all the limitations of claim 38, and also that the total dose from all the UV expsoures is less than 1000 mJ/cm2 (e.g. 576 mJ/cm2: col. 17, lines 66-67).
Regarding claim 47:
Chopra et al.’s inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose a printed article comprising the composition according to claim 1 (col. 12, lines 20-44).
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chopra et al. as modified by Umebayashi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Poelmans et al. (US 2023/0151222 A1).
Regarding claims 12-15:
Chopra et al.’s modified inkjet composition comprises all the limitations of claim 1, and Chopra et al. also disclose that the composition comprises greater than or equal to 4 wt% of any blend of acrylated amines (col. 9, lines 8-16).
Chopra et al.’s modified inkjet composition does not expressly comprise acrylated amines are derived in a particular manner.
In these inkjet composition claims, the determination of patentability is based on the inkjet composition itself. The patentability of the inkjet composition does not depend on its method of production.
Regardless, Poelmans et al. disclose a method of deriving acrylated amines suitable for UV curable coatings and inks (paragraph 1), the acrylated amines being derived using a Michael reaction (paragraph 97) of ethanolamine or diethanolamine (as the B2 amino compound: paragraphs 72-74, 78) with a multifunctional acrylate selected from the group of hexanediol diacrylate, 3-methylpentanediol diacrylate, ethoxylated trimethylolpropane triacrylate, glycerol propoxylate triacrylate, or combinations thereof (as the (meth)acrylated compound A: paragraphs 40-41, 44).
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been at least obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to derive Chopra et al.’s acrylated amines using the teachings of Poelmans et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hall et al. (US 2019/0085188 A1) disclose a UV curable inkjet composition comprising more than 20 wt% of monofunctional acrylate monomers (paragraphs 37-40), between 2.5-7 wt% of photoinitiators selected from the group of acylphosphine oxide and thioxanthone (paragraph 47-52), one or more acrylated amines (paragraphs 31-36), and one or more N-vinyl amides (paragraph 45).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853