Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/29/2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments and Examiner’s response are provided below.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103:
Applicant argues: Choi does not teach or suggest that the reference symbol index for the PDSCH is different from the reference symbol index for the PUSCH. Moreover, Bai and Ying do not remedy the deficiencies of Choi.
Examiner’s response: While Choi does not explicitly state that the reference symbol index for PUSCH is numerically different from the reference symbol index for PDSCH, it expressly defines the reference symbol index for PUSCH as the first symbol of a slot (R=0 for mapping type A), and separately defines the reference symbol index for PDSCH based on the first symbol of a CORESET in which the scheduling PDCCH is received. Because these reference symbol indices are determined based on different reference points, Choi discloses distinct reference symbol indices for PUSCH and PDSCH.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-18 and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
CHOI et al. (US 20220116968 A1) in view of Bai et al. (US 20200053767 A1) and further in
view of Ying et al. (US 20190254053 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
CHOI discloses “A terminal, comprising: reception circuitry, which, in operation, receives
control information in downlink” (See ¶ [0028] a terminal for transmitting or receiving a
shared channel in a wireless communication system includes: a transceiver; a processor. ¶ [0080] the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) through the PDCCH.
The DCI may include control information such as resource allocation information for the
UE); “and control circuitry, which, in operation, in control of processing data based on the
control information, controls a reference for a position, at which the data is mapped in a
time resource” (See ¶ [0029] receiving first resource information for transmission of a
shared channel from a base station, wherein the first resource information includes a
symbol length and a relative start symbol index in a time domain resource for transmission
of the shared channel, wherein a start symbol index of the first resource is determined
based on the relative start symbol index and a pre-defined reference symbol index), “based
on a condition, wherein in a case where a first condition is satisfied, the control circuitry
determines, as the reference, a symbol position corresponding to a symbol in a first case,
and wherein the first condition is satisfied in a case where the control information
indicates a reception of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (See ¶ [0497] The
terminal may determine a reference symbol index of PDSCH, based on CORESET.
Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received
may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. Note: The first condition is downlink (PDSCH),
where the reference symbol is the symbol where the PDCCH is received, and the first case is
dynamic scheduling. See [0369] the base station performs scheduling (e.g., dynamic
scheduling of layer 1 (L1)) so that symbols for downlink transmission and symbols for uplink
transmission do not overlap each other), “wherein in a case where a second condition is
satisfied, the control circuitry determines, as the reference, a symbol position
corresponding to the first symbol of the slot, and the second condition is satisfied in a case
where the control information indicates a transmission of a physical uplink shared channel
(PUSCH)” (See ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the
reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot). Note: For the second condition for
uplink transmission (PUSCH), the reference symbol is the first symbol in a slot), “wherein the reference in the case where the first condition is satisfied is different from the reference in the case where the second condition is satisfied” (See ¶ [0497] The
terminal may determine a reference symbol index of PDSCH, based on CORESET.
Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received
may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot. Note: The reference symbol is the start of the slot in case of PUSCH/ second condition, and the reference symbol is the symbol where the PDCCH is received in case of PDSCH/first condition); “and wherein the control circuitry, in operation, determines resources of the PUSCH or the PDSCH based on the control information, the control information including start(ing) symbol information that indicates a number of symbols relative to the reference” (See ¶ [0080] the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) through the PDCCH. The DCI may include control information such as resource allocation information for the UE. ¶ [0497] Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. For example, if a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH is received is an R-th symbol of a slot, and an SLIV of a TDRA field of the PDCCH indicates S and L, PDSCH may start at an R+S-th symbol of the slot and may have a length of L. ¶ [0492] PUSCH symbols indicated by the TDRA field indicating SLIV and PUSCH mapping type A always include a symbol in which a DM-RS according to PUSCH
mapping type A is located. ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by
a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to
the reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot). Note: In case of PDSCH, the
reference symbol (R) is the symbol where PDCCH is received, and the control information
includes a SLIV indicating S and L, which makes the PDSCH mapping start at R + Sth symbol,
and in case of PUSCH, the reference symbol is the start of the slot, and the control
information also includes the SLIV indicating S and L, which makes the PUSCH mapping start
at the Sth symbol).
CHOI discloses that in case of downlink, the symbol position depends on the position at
which the control information is received, but does not explicitly disclose that the reference
corresponds to a symbol identified from a plurality of symbols.
However, Bai discloses “the reference is a symbol position corresponding to a symbol
identified from a plurality of symbols in a first case” (See ¶ [0122] In some cases, base
station 105-a may transmit DCI in multiple different symbols or slots to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). To determine the offset, base station 105-
a may specify which PDCCH symbol is used as a reference. See Fig. 6, ¶ [0155] For example,
DCI 605- a in slot 610-a and DCI 605-b in slot 610-c may both carry scheduling information
for slot 610-e. To determine the offset 615 between the DCI 605 and the scheduled slot, the
base station 105 may specify which PDCCH is used as a reference. Note: Similarly, the
reference symbol position can be determined/specified from the plurality of symbols where
DCI was received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI with
the teachings of Bai, and the motivation to do so would have been to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (Bai [0122]).
CHOI in view of Bai does not explicitly disclose that in a second case of PDSCH, the reference
position corresponds to a first symbol in a slot.
However, Ying discloses “and to a symbol position corresponding to a first symbol of the slot in a second case” (See ¶ [0108] FIG. 2 is an example illustrating downlink (DL) semi-
persistent scheduling (SPS) procedures. ¶ [0109] DL assignment to DL data timing (PDCCH
activation to first SPS DL data) may be referred to as K0. After RRC configuration, the
gNB 160 may send the UE 102 a PDCCH scrambled by SPS RNTI at slot n−K0 to activate the
DL SPS transmission. Then the gNB 160 may start SPS PDSCH transmission at slot n). Note:
The reference for PDSCH is the beginning/first symbol of the slot n, in a second case of
PDSCH scheduling being semi-persistent (SPS). According to applicant’s spec. [0212] the first
case is dynamic scheduling and the second case is semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI and Bai
with the teachings of Ying, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling
overhead.
Regarding claim 13,
CHOI in view of Bai and Ying discloses “The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the first
condition is that the data is downlink data” (See CHOI ¶ [0497] The terminal may
determine a reference symbol index of PDSCH, based on CORESET. Specifically,
a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be
a reference symbol index of PDSCH. Note: The first condition is downlink (PDSCH), where
the reference symbol is the symbol where the PDCCH is received), “and the second
condition is that the data is uplink data” (See CHOI ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with
PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is,
a symbol corresponding to the reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot). Note: For the second condition for uplink transmission (PUSCH), the reference symbol is the first
symbol in a slot).
Regarding claim 14,
CHOI in view of Bai and Ying discloses “The terminal according to claim 11, wherein in a
case where the control information indicates a transmission of a physical uplink shared
channel (PUSCH), the reference is the symbol position corresponding to the first symbol of
the slot” (See CHOI ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base
station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the
reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot). Note: For the second condition for
uplink transmission (PUSCH), the reference symbol is the first symbol in a slot).
Regarding claim 15,
CHOI in view of Bai and Ying discloses “The terminal according to claim 11, wherein
in a case where the control information indicates a transmission of a physical uplink
shared channel (PUSCH), the reference is the symbol position corresponding to the first
symbol of the slot” (See CHOI ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A
by a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding
to the reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot). Note: For the second condition
for uplink transmission (PUSCH), the reference symbol is the first symbol in a slot), “in a
case where the control information indicates a reception of a physical downlink shared
channel (PDSCH))” (See CHOI ¶ [0497] The terminal may determine a reference symbol
index of PDSCH, based on CORESET. Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in
which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. Note: The first condition is downlink (PDSCH), where the reference symbol is the
symbol where the PDCCH is received), “the reference is a symbol position corresponding
to a symbol identified from a plurality of symbols” (See Bai [0122] In some cases, base
station 105-a may transmit DCI in multiple different symbols or slots to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). To determine the offset, base station 105-
a may specify which PDCCH symbol is used as a reference. See Fig. 6, [0155] For example,
DCI 605-a in slot 610-a and DCI 605-b in slot 610-c may both carry scheduling information
for slot 610-e. To determine the offset 615 between the DCI 605 and the scheduled slot, the
base station 105 may specify which PDCCH is used as a reference. Note: Similarly, the
reference symbol position can be determined/specified from the plurality of symbols where
DCI was received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI with
the teachings of Bai, and the motivation to do so would have been to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (Bai [0122]).
Regarding claim 16,
CHOI in view of Bai and Ying discloses “The terminal according to claim 15, wherein the
identified symbol is different according to each reception of the control information” (See
Bai Fig. 6, [0155] To determine the offset 615 between the DCI 605 and the scheduled slot,
the base station 105 may specify which PDCCH is used as a reference. For example, DCI 605-
a may specify K0=4, as slot 610-e is 4 slots later than slot 610-a. Similarly, DCI 605-b may specify K0=2 as slot 610-e is 2 slots later than slot 610-c. Note: The reference is different
with each DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI with
the teachings of Bai, and the motivation to do so would have been to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (Bai [0122]).
Regarding claim 17,
CHOI in view of Bai and Ying discloses “The terminal according to claim 11, wherein:
the control information includes time resource assignment information, and
the position at which the data is mapped is identified by using the time resource
assignment information and the reference” (See CHOI ¶ [0497] Specifically,
a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be
a reference symbol index of PDSCH. For example, if a first symbol of CORESET in which
PDCCH is received is an R-th symbol of a slot, and an SLIV of a TDRA field of the PDCCH
indicates S and L, PDSCH may start at an R+S-th symbol of the slot and may have a length of
L. ¶ [0492] PUSCH symbols indicated by the TDRA field indicating SLIV and PUSCH mapping
type A always include a symbol in which a DM-RS according to PUSCH mapping type A is
located. ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the
terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the reference
symbol index is a first symbol of the slot).
Regarding claim 18,
CHOI discloses “A communication method, comprising: receiving control information in
downlink” (See ¶ [0080] the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) through the
PDCCH. The DCI may include control information such as resource allocation information for
the UE); “and in control of processing data based on the control information, controlling a
reference for a position, at which the data is mapped in a time resource” (See ¶ [0029]
receiving first resource information for transmission of a shared channel from a base
station, wherein the first resource information includes a symbol length and a relative start
symbol index in a time domain resource for transmission of the shared channel, wherein a
start symbol index of the first resource is determined based on the relative start symbol
index and a pre-defined reference symbol index), “based on a condition, wherein in a case
where a first condition is satisfied, the control circuitry determines, as the reference, a
symbol position corresponding to a symbol in a first case, and wherein the first condition is
satisfied in a case where the control information indicates a reception of a physical
downlink shared channel (PDSCH)” (See ¶ [0497] The terminal may determine a reference
symbol index of PDSCH, based on CORESET. Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in
which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be a reference symbol index
of PDSCH. Note: The first condition is downlink (PDSCH), where the reference symbol is the
symbol where the PDCCH is received, and the first case is dynamic scheduling. See [0369]
the base station perform scheduling (e.g., dynamic scheduling of layer 1 (L1)) so that
symbols for downlink transmission and symbols for uplink transmission do not overlap each
other), “wherein in a case where a second condition is satisfied, the control circuitry
determines, as the reference, a symbol position corresponding to the first symbol of the
slot, and the second condition is satisfied in a case where the control information indicates a transmission of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)” (See ¶ [0495] If a terminal is
indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the terminal may always assume
that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the reference symbol index is a first symbol of
the slot). Note: For the second condition for uplink transmission (PUSCH), the reference
symbol is the first symbol in a slot), “wherein the reference in the case where the first condition is satisfied is different from the reference in the case where the second condition is satisfied” (See ¶ [0497] The terminal may determine a reference symbol index of PDSCH, based on CORESET. Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot. Note: The reference symbol is the start of the slot in case of PUSCH/ second condition, and the reference symbol is the symbol where the PDCCH is received in case of PDSCH/first condition); “and determining resources of the PUSCH or the PDSCH based on the control information, the control information including start(ing) symbol information that indicates a number of symbols relative to the reference” (See ¶ [0080] the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) through the PDCCH. The DCI may include control information such as resource allocation information for the UE. ¶ [0497] Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. For example, if a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH is received is an R-th symbol of a slot, and an SLIV of a TDRA field of the PDCCH indicates S and L, PDSCH may start at an R+S-th symbol of the slot and may have a length of L. ¶ [0492] PUSCH symbols indicated by the TDRA field indicating SLIV and PUSCH mapping type A always include a symbol in which a DM-RS according to PUSCH mapping type A is located. ¶ [0495] If a terminal is indicated with PUSCH mapping type A by a base station, the terminal may always assume that R=0 (that is, a symbol corresponding to the reference symbol index is a first symbol of the slot). Note: In case of PDSCH, the reference symbol (R) is the symbol where PDCCH is received, and the control information includes a SLIV indicating S and L, which makes the PDSCH mapping start at R + Sth symbol, and in case of PUSCH, the reference symbol is the start of the slot, and the control information also includes the SLIV indicating S and L, which makes the PUSCH mapping start at the Sth symbol).
CHOI discloses that in case of downlink, the symbol position depends on the position at
which the control information is received, but does not explicitly disclose that the reference
corresponds to a symbol identified from a plurality of symbols.
However, Bai discloses “the reference is a symbol position corresponding to a symbol
identified from a plurality of symbols in a first case” (See ¶ [0122] In some cases, base
station 105-a may transmit DCI in multiple different symbols or slots to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). To determine the offset, base station 105-
a may specify which PDCCH symbol is used as a reference. See Fig. 6, ¶ [0155] For example,
DCI 605- a in slot 610-a and DCI 605-b in slot 610-c may both carry scheduling information
for slot 610-e. To determine the offset 615 between the DCI 605 and the scheduled slot, the
base station 105 may specify which PDCCH is used as a reference. Note: Similarly, the
reference symbol position can be determined/specified from the plurality of symbols where
DCI was received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI with
the teachings of Bai, and the motivation to do so would have been to increase robustness
for a physical downlink control channel (Bai [0122]).
CHOI in view of Bai does not explicitly disclose that in a second case of PDSCH, the reference
position corresponds to a first symbol in a slot.
However, Ying discloses “and to a symbol position corresponding to a first symbol of the slot in a second case” (See ¶ [0108] FIG. 2 is an example illustrating downlink (DL) semi-
persistent scheduling (SPS) procedures. ¶ [0109] DL assignment to DL data timing (PDCCH
activation to first SPS DL data) may be referred to as K0. After RRC configuration, the
gNB 160 may send the UE 102 a PDCCH scrambled by SPS RNTI at slot n−K0 to activate the
DL SPS transmission. Then the gNB 160 may start SPS PDSCH transmission at slot n). Note:
The reference for PDSCH is the beginning/first symbol of the slot n, in a second case of
PDSCH scheduling being semi-persistent (SPS). According to applicant’s spec. [0212] the first
case is dynamic scheduling and the second case is semi-persistent scheduling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI and Bai
with the teachings of Ying, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling
overhead.
Regarding claim 20, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 13.
Regarding claim 21, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 14.
Regarding claim 22, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 15.
Regarding claim 23, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 16.
Regarding claim 24, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 17.
Regarding claim 25,
CHOI in view of Bai and Ying discloses “The terminal according to claim 11, wherein a
scheduling type is different between the first case and the second case” (See CHOI ¶ [0497]
The terminal may determine a reference symbol index of PDSCH, based on CORESET. Specifically, a first symbol of CORESET in which PDCCH for scheduling of PDSCH is received
may be a reference symbol index of PDSCH. Note: The first condition is downlink (PDSCH),
where the reference symbol is the symbol where the PDCCH is received, and the first case is
dynamic scheduling. See [0369] the base station perform scheduling (e.g., dynamic
scheduling of layer 1 (L1)) so that symbols for downlink transmission and symbols for uplink
transmission do not overlap each other), See Ying ¶ [0109] DL assignment to DL data timing
(PDCCH activation to first SPS DL data) may be referred to as K0. After RRC configuration,
the gNB 160 may send the UE 102 a PDCCH scrambled by SPS RNTI at slot n−K0 to activate
the DL SPS transmission. Then the gNB may start SPS PDSCH transmission at slot n. Note:
The reference for PDSCH is the beginning/first symbol of the slot n, in a second case of
PDSCH scheduling being semi-persistent (SPS). According to applicant’s spec. [0212] the first
case is dynamic scheduling and the second case is semi- persistent scheduling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of CHOI and Bai
with the teachings of Ying, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce signaling
overhead.
Regarding claim 26, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 25.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462