DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations
Means (claim 14)
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder
Means (claim 14 – means)
coupled with functional language
For guiding the body into or out of the oral cavity of a patient (claim 14 – means)
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 14 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Tapers or a hole (¶75)(claim 14 – means)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 12, 14-15, 18-20, 24, 27-30, 32-33, 37-39, 46 and 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
The claim limitation “a body” in lines 5-8 is unclear. The limitation is unclear since it makes the following limitations including “the body” unclear as to which “body” limitation is being referred to (see “the body” in the final line of the claim for example). For the sake of examination, the office has assumed that “the body” limitations in the claim refer to the “body” established in line 3 of the claim.
Claims 12, 29, 30, 37-39, 46 and 62 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 14:
The claim limitation “a body” in lines 5-8 is unclear. The limitation is unclear for the same reason indicated in the claim 1 rejection above. the office has taken the same interpretation.
Claims 15, 19-20, 24, 27-28, 32-33, 63 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 14-15, 17-20, 23-24, 27-29, 32 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20030054044 A1 to Potter et al. (Potter) as evidenced by WO 2007033353 A2 to Daniloff.
Potter discloses:
Regarding claim 1:
A buccal implant device configured to provide sustained drug delivery (figure 1a-8b and 9), the buccal implant device comprising:
a body (10 and 42) having a non-cylindrical geometry (see figures 1a-8b with the implant device having triangular shapes, circular shapes or pyramid shapes for example), the body (10/42) adapted to be disposed within the oral mucosa of a patient (this has been interpreted as intended use however implants such as these can be used in a variety of locations as further evidenced by WO 2007033353 to Daniloff which teaches that such implants can be used at a variety of locations including mucous membranes of the mouth; ¶00040) the body comprising at least two of:
(i) a body having one or more planar faces (see planar surface 14 of embodiment in figure 3a; see the planar surface 14 in figure 4b);
(ii) a body having one, two, or three curved edges;
(iii) a body having one, two, or three tapers (see tapered surface 12 of embodiment in figure 3a; see tapered surface 12 of embodiment in figure 4b); and
(iv) a ribbed body; and
one or more active pharmaceutical ingredients (42, therapeutic compound that can include antibiotics or insulin injections (¶0056)) disposed within the body (10/42).
Regarding claim 12:
The buccal implant device of claim 1, further comprising a hole (18 as shown in figures 2a or 4a) formed in the body (10/42).
Regarding claim 14:
A buccal implant device configured to provide sustained drug delivery (figure 1a-8b), the buccal implant device comprising:
a body (10/42) adapted to be disposed within the oral mucosa of a patient (this has been interpreted as intended use however implants such as these can be used in a variety of locations as further evidenced by WO 2007033353 to Daniloff which teaches that such implants can be used at a variety of locations including mucous membranes of the mouth; ¶00040) the body comprising at least two of:
(i) a body having one or more planar faces (see planar surface 14 of embodiment in figure 3a; see the planar surface 14 in figure 4b);
(ii) a body having one, two, or three curved edges;
(iii) a body having one, two, or three tapers (see tapered surface 12 of embodiment in figure 3a; see tapered surface 12 of embodiment in figure 4b); and
(iv) a ribbed body;
means (see tapered edge 12 or hole 18 as shown in figure 2a in accordance with the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation above) for guiding the body (10) into or out of the oral cavity of a patient (edge 12 aids in insertion of the implant; ¶0173); and
one or more active pharmaceutical ingredients (42, therapeutic compound that can include antibiotics or insulin injections (¶0056)) disposed within the body (10).
Regarding claim 15:
The buccal implant device of claim 14, wherein the means for guiding the body (10) into or out of the oral cavity comprises a hole (see the hole 18 as shown in figure 2a) formed in the body (10/42) ,(ii) one, two, or three tapers of the body, and/or (iii) one, two, or three curved edges of the body.
Regarding claim 18:
The buccal implant device of claim14,wherein the body (10/42) has a non-cylindrical geometry (see figures 1a-8b).
Regarding claim 19:
The buccal implant device of claim 14, wherein the buccal implant device is of a reservoir type (see the ¶’s 0173 and 000 where the implant 10/42/44 is a head 10 and the therapeutic compound 44/42 in a reservoir behind the head as shown in figure 9; ¶0202 further indicates 44 can be made of membranes with a contained liquid or solid indicating that 44 is a reservoir).
Regarding claim 20:
The buccal implant device of claim14,wherein the body (10/42) has a saw shape (see figure 3b which has a saw shape) or a saber shape.
Regarding claim 24:
The buccal implant device of claim 14, wherein the body (10/42) includes one, two or three tapers (see the two tapers as shown in figure 1c).
Regarding claim 27:
The buccal implant device of claim14,wherein the body (10/42) has one, two or three curved edges (see the curved edge 22/14 as shown in figure 2c) configured to direct the buccal implant device into a specific orientation within the oral cavity (directed to implant into the body as shown in figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 28:
The buccal implant device of claim 27, wherein the one, two or three curved edges (see the curved edge 12 as shown in figure 5a) form a point at an end of the body (10/42).
Regarding claim 29:
The buccal implant device of claim 1, wherein the buccal implant device has a shape or geometry which minimizes impediment of physical jaw function and/or discomfort to the patient (the shape 12 of the body allows for easier insertion into the body and therefore reduces damage to the surrounding tissue; ¶0173).
Regarding claim 32:
The buccal implant device of claim 14, wherein the body comprises a sealed tube (see the sealed tube portion 40 of 42 as shown in figure 9).
Regarding claim 39:
The buccal implant device of claim 1, wherein the one or more active pharmaceutical ingredients are selected from antiretrovirals, antimicrobial agents, antibacterial agents (therapeutic compound that can include antibiotics or insulin injections (¶0056)), antivirals, hormones, statins, p-blockers, ACE inhibitors, angiotensin receptor blockers, vitamins, steroids, biologics, anti-cancer drugs, allergy medications, anticoagulants, antiplatelet therapies, non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, vaccines, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 62:
The buccal implant device of claim 1, wherein the body has a saw shape or a saber shape (see the saber shape as shown in figure 3a-3d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46 and 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030054044 A1 to Potter et al. (Potter) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of WO 2007033353 A2 to Daniloff.
Regarding claim 46:
Potter fails to disclose:
A method of treating or preventing a medical condition in a patient in need thereof, comprising implanting the buccal implant device of claim 1 into the oral mucosa of the patient.
Daniloff teaches:
The reference further teaches that the implants (composition or object) can be implanted into the skin, oral mucosa, teeth, nails, eye, and ear-nose-throat passages, or can be placed inside of pulmonary system, or digestive system, or urinary system, or intestinal tract, or reproductive system, or vascular system, or surgically placed subcutaneously, intramuscularly, intraperitoneally, or in any other location in the body (¶0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potter to further insert the implant into the oral mucosa as taught by Daniloff in order to address diagnostic, therapeutic, or aesthetic functions (Daniloff, ¶00040).
Regarding claim 63:
Potter fails to disclose:
A method of treating or preventing a medical condition in a patient in need thereof, comprising implanting the buccal implant device of claim 14 into the oral mucosa of the patient.
Daniloff teaches:
The reference further teaches that the implants (composition or object) can be implanted into the skin, oral mucosa, teeth, nails, eye, and ear-nose-throat passages, or can be placed inside of pulmonary system, or digestive system, or urinary system, or intestinal tract, or reproductive system, or vascular system, or surgically placed subcutaneously, intramuscularly, intraperitoneally, or in any other location in the body (¶0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potter to further insert the implant into the oral mucosa as taught by Daniloff in order to address diagnostic, therapeutic, or aesthetic functions (Daniloff, ¶00040).
Claim(s) 30, 37 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030054044 A1 to Potter et al. (Potter) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 0183017 A1 to Reydel et al. (Reydel).
Regarding claim 30:
Potter fails to disclose:
The buccal implant device of claim 1, wherein the buccal implant device comprises expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) having microscopic pores.
Reydel teaches:
An introducer device (10) for a catheter (figure 1) that includes a sleeve (13) and an attachment mechanism (14). The reference further teaches the sleeve can be made from expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) having microscopic pores in order to increase the linear strength of the sleeve (page 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potter to make portions of the device of ePTFE having microscopic pores as taught by Reydel in order to increase the linear strength of the device (Reydel, page 11).
Regarding claim 37:
All limitations of the claim are taught by the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 30 by Potter and Reydel:
The buccal implant device of claim 1, wherein the buccal implant device comprises a rate-limiting skin (see the ePTFE incorporated into Potter from Reydel).
Regarding claim 38:
All limitations of the claim are taught by the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 30 by Potter and Reydel:
The buccal implant device of claim 37, wherein the rate-limiting skin comprises expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) (see the ePTFE incorporated into Potter from Reydel).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20030054044 A1 to Potter et al. (Potter) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2016503424 A (JP ‘424)(see English language machine translation attached to this or a previous office action).
Regarding claim 33:
Potter fails to disclose:
The buccal implant device of claim 32, wherein the sealed tube has an inner diameter of 1 mm to 3 mm, or 2 mm, or a wall thickness of 0.1 to 0.3 mm, or 0.125 mm.
JP ‘424 teaches:
An implantable device (figure 2) that is tube (100) in shape. The reference further teaches the tube having a wall thickness between 0.05-0.3mm in order control the rate of dissolution rate (see page 1 of the translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Potter to make the wall thickness of the tube in Potter between 0.05-0.3mm as taught by JP ‘424in order to control the dissolution rate of the tube (JP ‘424, page 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 4/14/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 12, 14, 15, 19, 20, 24, 28-29, 30, 32-33, 37-39, 46, 62, 63 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20030054044 A1 to Potter et al. (Potter) as evidenced by WO 2007033353 A2 to Daniloff.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 claim 19 rejection:
The applicant has argued that Potter does not teach that structure 42 is a membrane and for this reason the rejection of claim 15 is improper (see page 9 of the remarks). However, the office is not persuaded by this argument since ¶0202 indicates the 44 can be a membrane that contains liquid or solids indicating that the structure is a reservoir.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 claim 33 rejection:
The applicant has argued that the secondary reference does not disclose the structure of the inner diameter as required by the claim. The secondary reference English language translation has been included to show that the reference does teach the diameter as required by the claim.
Regarding 35 USC 102 claims 1 and 14 rejection:
The applicant has amended the independent claims to overcome the rejection however the office is not persuaded. As indicated above, these amended limitation are taught by the Potter reference and for this reason the above rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783