Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/10/2025.
It is noted that claim 9 should have been with the method claims in the restriction requirement. Therefore, claim 9 is being examined along with the method claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6,8,9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation 40-75%w/w, and the claim also recites 40-70% w/w which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 4-6,8 have similar broad/narrow limitations.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arla Foods(WO2018/011392A1).
Regarding claims 1,3,4,7, Arla Foods aka “Arla” teaches a method for preparing a high-protein, dairy-based product having a protein content of at least 12% w/w(p.42, line 4-8), the method comprising
a) combining acid-gellable whey protein aggregates with other dairy ingredients such as lactose or milk fat and other ingredients such as carbohydrates, fats, vitamins and minerals to obtain a mixture(p. 52, line 6-16; p.45, line 18-20, p.42, line 30-36);
wherein the high-protein dairy-based product is the mixture obtained from step a), and wherein the acid-gellable whey protein aggregates constitute at least 6%(w/w)(claim 17) of the total weight of the dairy-based product.
Arla is silent on the dry matter content of the high-protein, dairy-based product. However, Arla teaches that the food product can be in the form of a yogurt product such as a set-type gelled yogurt, a stirred yogurt, or a drinking yogurt(p.46, line 26-32). It would have been obvious to adjust the dry matter content of the high-protein, dairy-based product depending on the type of product(set-type yogurt versus a drinking yogurt) and the consistency desired.
Arla teaches combining the acid-gellable whey protein aggregates with other dairy ingredients such as lactose or milk fat but does not specifically teach that the dairy product is acidified. However, Arla teaches acidifying the composition produced in step a) and that the food product can be an acidified dairy product such as a yogurt(p.46, line 21-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have the initial dairy ingredient be acidified to minimize the amount of pH adjustment of the final composition.
Regarding claim 2, Arla teaches that the high-protein dairy-based product is a set-type yogurt(i.e. is self-supporting)(p.46, line 34-37).
Regarding claim 5, Arla teaches that the pH of the mixture is at most 5(p.52, line 14-16).
Regarding claim 6, Arla teaches that the mixture is cooled to a temperature before 50C(p.52, line 9-12), which overlaps the temperature of 0-20C and renders it obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Arla teaches that the mixture is a yogurt which is required to be stored at cooler temperatures such as 0-10C for 1-24 hours to prevent spoilage(p.46, line 21-25).
Regarding claim 9, Arla teaches that the mixture is shaped by filling in a container(p.46, line 34-37).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791