DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination of Albinger and Brown does not disclose, teach, or suggest the combination of features recited in claim 1. For example, the combination of Albinger and Brown does not disclose, teach, or suggest a lawn mower including an "electric power take off outlet including a power port structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device, and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device," as recited in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1; hereinafter Brown) is relied upon to cure the deficiencies of Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1; hereinafter Albinger) for the feature of an electric power take off outlet coupled to the frame and structured to electrically couple with a battery.
Brown discloses an electric power take off outlet coupled to the frame and structured to electrically couple with a battery (for example, Fig 6; Col 14 lines 11-14, The generator 604 further provides electricity to a battery 610…can include a power take-off (PTO)). The electric power takeoff conducts signals to the power take off control switch (for example, Col 11 lines 56-58, The other conductor 436 conducts communication signals between power take off control switch 434 and neutral sensor 440) and can be driven by and electric motor (for example, Col 14 lines 34-35, The PTO can be directly driven by…an electric motor).
Although Albinger discloses a power take off outlet including a power port structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device, and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (for example, ([0057] a power take-off (“PTO”)…The controller 44 is connected to the PTO 60 by a line 62 and is configured to control functions of the PTO 60); Fig 3, [0053] connections for the transmission of data…between the controller 44 and the functional units); Brown also discloses the power take off outlet including a power port structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device, and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device as shown in Fig.4 (for example, Col 10 lines 3-4, a port that enables a conductor to be connected to the component, such as conductor 408; Col 11 lines 52-58, A pair of conductors 436, 438 emerges from the power take off control switch 434 with one conductor 438 connecting the power take off control switch 434 to the second motor sensor 442. The other conductor 436 conducts communication signals between power take off control switch 434 and neutral sensor 440).
Supporting reference Salter et al. (US 20200317057 A1) although not relied upon for the features in the aforementioned applicant’s argument, also discloses an electric power takeoff outlet as shown in Fig 2, for example, [0034] Each circuit breaker 203 at the plurality of power outlets 214 may be configured to disconnect one or more power take-off loads drawing power through the plurality of power outlets 214 electrically coupled to a peripheral device, for example, Fig 2, [0030] The power interface
212 has a plurality of power outlets 214 configured to receive electrical plugs of electrical devices, such as an auxiliary device 216.
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Albinger teaches a lawn mower (e.g. [0050] FIG. 2 illustrates a riding lawn mower 22), comprising: a frame; a deck coupled to the frame (e.g. [0051] Fig 2, [0051] A cutting deck 38 is suspended under the chassis 24); the electric power take off outlet including a power port structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device ([0057] a power take-off (“PTO”)…The controller 44 is connected to the PTO 60 by a line 62 and is configured to control functions of the PTO 60), and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (Fig 3, [0053] connections for the transmission of data…between the controller 44 and the functional units).
Albinger does not explicitly teach an electric power take off outlet coupled to the frame and structured to electrically couple with a battery. However, Brown teaches this limitation.
Brown teaches an electric power take off outlet coupled to the frame and structured to electrically couple with a battery (e.g. Fig 6; Col 14 lines 11-14, The generator 604 further provides electricity to a battery 610…can include a power take-off (PTO) such as mowing deck 622).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include an electric power take off outlet coupled to the frame and structured to electrically couple with a battery as taught by Brown so that the analog PTO
engagement sensor can detect if the PTO is engaged or disengaged (Brown, Col 14 lines 47-48).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Albinger further teaches comprising the peripheral device including a chore motor and a chore controller ([0053] one or more functional units, described in more detail below, which are operably connected to a controller 44, which is described in more detail below. In FIG. 3, connections for the transmission of
data, power, and/or control between the controller 44 and the functional units), wherein the chore controller is structured to communicate with the data port and control when power is supplied from the power port to the chore motor ([0075] enabling communication with other devices…functional units such as motors…for providing control functions).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Brown further teaches wherein the electric power take off outlet is positioned adjacent the deck (Col 14 lines 14-15, a power take-off (PTO) such as mowing deck 622 which includes a plurality of grass cutting blades).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include the electric power take off outlet is positioned adjacent the deck as taught by Brown so that the analog PTO engagement sensor can detect if the PTO is engaged or disengaged (Brown, Col 14 lines 47-48).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Brown further teaches further comprising a mower electrical system including: a traction motor controller (Fig 1, traction controllers 120a, 120b ), an electric traction motor structured to receive power from a battery via the traction motor controller to propel the lawn mower (Fig 19; Col 22 lines 63-66, The internal combustion engine 1102 can drive a generator 1104 which can be structured to provide electricity to one or more traction motors 1106, 1108 which drive one or more traction wheels 1161,
1151. The generator 1104 further provides electricity to a battery 1128 …can directly power the traction motors 1106, 1108), and wherein the electric power take off outlet is structured to receive power from the battery (e.g. Fig 6; Col 14 lines 11-14, The generator 604 further provides electricity to a battery 610…can include a power take-off (PTO) such as mowing deck 622).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include an electric traction motor structured to receive power from a battery via the traction motor controller to propel the lawn mower as taught by Brown in order to provide traction and stability control of the vehicle (Brown, Col 18 lines 60-61).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Brown further teaches wherein electrical power provided from the battery to the electric power take off outlet is interrupted when a state of charge of the battery is equal to or less than a threshold state of charge (Col 17 lines 6-17, The system state controller 640 can detect a low charge condition…can issue a “stop driving command” to the system state controller 640 via network 650. The system state controller 640
will then issue a “stop driving command” to the other motor controller 628 via network 650 and the vehicle will stop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include electrical power provided from the battery to the electric power take off outlet is interrupted when a state of charge of the battery is equal to or less than a threshold state of charge as taught by Brown so that the analog PTO engagement sensor can detect if the PTO is engaged or disengaged (Brown, Col 14 lines 47-48).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Albinger further teaches wherein the data port is physically separated from the power port (see at least, In FIG. 3, connections for the transmission of data, power, and/or control between the controller 44 and the functional…these connections can…indirect).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Albinger further teaches wherein the data port is shielded from the power port (see at least, In FIG. 3, connections for the transmission of data, power, and/or control between the controller 44 and the functional…these connections can…indirect).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Albinger further teaches comprising a user interface, wherein the electric power take off outlet is positioned adjacent the user interface (Fig 3, [0064] The outdoor power machine 42 may include an operator display 110 which is mounted to the outdoor power machine 42 in a position visible to the operator…The controller 44 is connected to the operator display 110 by a line 116).
Regarding claim 20, Albinger teaches an electric vehicle (e.g. [0050] FIG. 2 illustrates a riding lawn
mower 22) comprising: a frame; a deck coupled to the frame (e.g. [0051] Fig 2, [0051] A cutting
deck 38 is suspended under the chassis 24); an electric chore motor coupled to the deck ([0050] Mounted to the chassis…an electric motor); a chore motor controller communicably coupled to the chore motor ([0053] one or more functional units, described in more detail below, which are operably connected to a controller 44, which is described in more detail below. In FIG. 3, connections for the transmission of data, power, and/or control between the controller 44 and the functional units); and electrically coupled with the electric chore motor and the chore motor controller to provide power and communication there between ([0075] enabling communication with other devices…functional units such as motors…for providing control functions); and an electric power take off outlet including; a power port structured to electrically couple a peripheral device ([0057] a power take-off (“PTO”)
…The controller 44 is connected to the PTO 60 by a line 62 and is configured to control functions of the PTO 60), and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (Fig 3, [0053] connections for the transmission of data…between the controller 44 and the functional units).
Albinger does not explicitly teach a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck. However, Brown teaches this limitation.
Brown teaches a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck (Col 12 lines 6-7, The junction box 472
includes a plurality of ports for coupling the semi-master controller containing junction box; Col 6 lines 57-59, Deck 118 can include mowing blades and is intended to be representative of other ground engaging equipment such as brush cutters, aerators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck as taught by Brown so that other equipment can be connected to the distribution box.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1) in further view of Brault et al. (US 20200252774 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the power port and the data port are collocated on a common connector. However, Brault teaches this limitation.
Brault teaches the power port and the data port are collocated on a common connector ([0096] at least two shared tool terminals of a terminal block…the insertable wireless communication device…allows
power to be received by both the power tool…and the insertable wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include the power port and the data port are collocated on a common connector as taught by Brault so that power can be universally implemented across many different terminal block ports.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Albinger, Brown and Brault teaches the lawn mower of claim 2. Brault further teaches wherein the common connector is asymmetrical in shape ([0064] the terminals…
of the terminal block…male terminals…may include female terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include the common connector is asymmetrical in shape as taught by Brault so that power can be universally implemented across many different terminal block ports.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Albinger, Brown and Brault teaches the lawn mower of claim 2. Brault further teaches wherein the power port includes a positive power port and a negative power port ([0055] a positive power terminal and a negative power terminal), and the data port is positioned between the positive power port and the negative power port (see at least, [0096] at least two
shared tool terminals of a terminal block…the insertable wireless communication device…allows
power to be received by both the power tool…and the insertable wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include the power port includes a positive power port and a negative power port, and the data port is positioned between the positive power port and the negative power port as taught by Brault so that power can be universally implemented across many different terminal block ports.
Claims 9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1) in further view of Salter et al. (US 20200317057 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising a distribution box including a plurality of electric power take off outlets. However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Salter teaches a distribution box including a plurality of electric power take off outlets ([0025]) The power interface may have a plurality of power outlets 32, each outlet electrically coupled to the electric machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include a distribution box including a plurality of electric power take off outlets as taught by Salter so that plugging the auxiliary devices into the plurality of outlets allows power to be supplied to the auxiliary devices (Salter, [0025]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the lawn mower includes a plurality of electric power take off outlets and further comprising a user interface structured to display each connection to the plurality of electric power take off outlets. However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Salter teaches a plurality of electric power take off outlets ([0034] the plurality of power outlets
214 may be configured to disconnect one or more power take-off loads drawing power through
the plurality of power outlets) and further comprising a user interface structured to display each connection to the plurality of electric power take off outlets ([0002] The control module may monitor output voltage and display messages, [0030] The power interface 212 includes an optional digital
display 211 to display information about a status of the power interface 212, e.g., to indicate active power draw through the power interface 212, an overall current flow through the power interface
212, etc. The power interface 212 has a plurality of power outlets 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include a user interface structured to display each connection to the plurality of electric power take off outlets as taught by Salter in order to display of a priority ranking of the electrical loads, may be arranged according to current usage, e.g., ranked from highest current draw to lowest current draw (Salter, [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Albinger teaches an electric vehicle (e.g. [0050] FIG. 2 illustrates a riding
lawn mower 22) comprising: a frame; a deck coupled to the frame (e.g. [0051] Fig 2, [0051] A cutting deck 38 is suspended under the chassis 24); and an electrical system including: a power port structured to electrically couple a peripheral device ([0057] a power take-off (“PTO”)…The controller
44 is connected to the PTO 60 by a line 62 and is configured to control functions of the PTO 60), and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (Fig 3, [0053] connections for the transmission of data…between the controller 44 and the functional units); and a chore motor controller [0053] one or more functional units, described in more detail below, which are operably connected to a controller 44, which is described in more detail below. In FIG. 3, connections for the transmission of data, power, and/or control between the controller 44 and the functional units) communicably coupled with the power port and the data port of a first electric power take off outlet ([0075] enabling communication with other devices…functional units such as motors…for providing control functions).
Albinger does not explicitly teach a traction motor controller structured to receive power from a vehicle battery and provide power to an electric traction motor, and a distribution box structured to electrically coupled with the battery. However, Brown teaches these limitations.
Brown teaches a traction motor controller (Fig 1, traction controllers 120a, 120b ) structured to receive power from a vehicle battery and provide power to an electric traction motor (Fig 19; Col 22 lines 63-66, The internal combustion engine 1102 can drive a generator 1104 which can be structured to provide electricity to one or more traction motors 1106, 1108 which drive one or more traction wheels 1161,
1151. The generator 1104 further provides electricity to a battery 1128 …can directly power the traction motors 1106, 1108), and a distribution box structured to electrically coupled with the battery (Col 12 lines 6-7, The junction box 472 includes a plurality of ports for coupling the semi-master controller containing junction box; Col 6 lines 57-59, Deck 118 can include mowing blades and is intended to be representative of other ground engaging equipment such as brush cutters, aerators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include a traction motor controller structured to receive power from a vehicle battery and provide power to an electric traction motor, and a distribution box structured to electrically coupled with the battery as taught by Brown so that other equipment can be connected to the distribution box and the analog PTO engagement sensor can detect if the PTO is engaged or disengaged (Brown, Col 14 lines 47-48).
Albinger does not further explicitly teach a plurality of electric power take off outlets. However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Salter teaches a plurality of electric power take off outlets ([0034] the plurality of power outlets
214 may be configured to disconnect one or more power take-off loads drawing power through
the plurality of power outlets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include a plurality of electric power take off outlets as taught by Salter in order to display of a priority ranking of the electrical loads, may be arranged according to current usage, e.g., ranked from highest current draw to lowest current draw (Salter, [0056]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Albinger, Brown and Salter teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. Brown further teaches wherein the distribution box is positioned adjacent the deck (Col 12 lines 6-7, The junction box 472includes a plurality of ports for coupling the semi-master controller containing junction box; Col 6 lines 57-59, Deck 118 can include mowing blades and is intended to be representative of other ground engaging equipment such as brush cutters, aerators).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albinger to include a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck as taught by Brown so that other equipment can be connected to the distribution box.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Albinger, Brown and Salter teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. Salter further teaches wherein a second electric power take off outlet is structured to provide power to a peripheral device ([0015] auxiliary devices may be automatically matched, or paired, with the power outlets via a communication system or link and allow powering of the auxiliary devices to be monitored by the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include a second electric power take off outlet is structured to provide power to a peripheral device as taught by Salter in order allow the power interface overload mitigation mode by performing mitigating actions (Salter, [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Albinger, Brown and Salter teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. Salter further teaches wherein a second electric power take off outlet is structured to receive power from an external power source to charge the battery ([0021] The energy storage device 16 may be selectively coupled to an external energy source 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include a second electric power take off outlet is structured to receive power from an external power source to charge the battery as taught by Salter in order allow the energy storage device to be recharged (Salter, [0021]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1) in further view of Becke et al. (US 20190075724 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Albinger and Brown lawn mower of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the peripheral device includes an external power source structured to charge a lawn mower battery. However, Becke teaches this limitation.
Becke teaches the peripheral device includes an external power source structured to charge a lawn mower battery ([0235] the battery module 48 includes a battery charge port 214 that is configured to transfer charge current from an external power source to the lawn mower 10. In one embodiment, the charge port 214 is a conductive charge port. In one embodiment, the battery module 48 is charged by plugging a charge connector of the external power source into the charge port 214 of the lawn
mower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include the peripheral device includes an external power source structured to charge a lawn mower battery as taught by Becke in order to allow the operator to easily and safely charge the battery module without any type of conventional electrical plug (Becke, [0235).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1) in view of Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1) in further view of Carpenter et al. (US 20190187643 A1) and Son et al. (US 20110282513 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Albinger and Brown teaches the electric vehicle of claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach comprising an internet of things (IoT) system structured to: determine a state of charge of a battery coupled to the electric power take off outlet. However, Carpenter teaches this limitation.
Carpenter teaches an internet of things (IoT) system ([0025] The IoT-capable devices …automated
lawn mowers) structured to: determine a state of charge of a battery coupled to the electric power take off outlet ([0027] the IoT-capable sensors…battery charge level sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include an internet of things (IoT) system structured to: determine a state of charge of a battery coupled to the electric power take off outlet as taught by Carpenter in order to implement smart vehicle functionality.
The combination further does not explicitly teach predict if the state of charge of the battery will equal or exceed a state of charge threshold within a predetermined time, and transmit a notification to a mobile device when the state of charge of the battery is not predicted to equal or exceed the state of charge threshold within the predetermined time. However, Son teaches these limitations.
Son teaches predict if the state of charge of the battery will equal or exceed a state of charge threshold within a predetermined time ([0198] The measurement step may be configured to monitor whether the amount or rate of electricity used to charge the electric vehicle battery for a specific period
of time exceeds a predetermined maximum value), and transmit a notification to a mobile device when the state of charge of the battery is not predicted to equal or exceed the state of charge threshold within the predetermined time ([0025] a warning message may be transmitted to at least one of the user portable terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the combination of Albinger and Brown to include predict if the state of charge of the battery will equal or exceed a state of charge threshold within a predetermined time, and transmit a notification to a mobile device when the state of charge of the battery is not predicted to equal or exceed the state of charge threshold within the predetermined time as taught by Son in order to estimate the amount or rate of electricity required in the charge or the amount or rate of electricity to be generated in the discharge (Son, [0194]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Birek et al. (US 20190143831 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662