0DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becke et al. (US 20190075724 A1; hereinafter Becke).
Regarding claim 1, Becke teaches a lawn mower (see at least, [0028] FIG. 2 shows a…lawn mower), comprising: a frame (see at least, Fig 1; [0067] The lawn mower 10 generally includes a frame 12); a deck coupled to the frame (see at least, Fig 1; [0126] the mower deck 64 is configured to pivot about portions of the frame 12); and an electric power take off outlet coupled to the frame (see at least, Fig 22, electrical accessory interface, 148) and structured to electrically couple with a battery (see at least, [0185] the electrical accessory interface 148 on the lawn and garden tractor 10 comprises a port
336 to allow charging the tractor battery 48); the electric power take off outlet including: a power port configured to receive electrical power from the battery (see at least, Fig 23 as shown below, e.g. charging port 336; [0185] a port 336 to allow charging the tractor battery 48) and structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device (see at least, Fig 23A shown below, e.g. implement 142; [0186] the accessory interface 148 provides an electrical connection to the lawn tractor battery for powering to drive motors/actuators /lights of the implement 142), and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (see at least, Fig 23A shown below, e.g. communication bus 340; [0186] the accessory interface 148 provides…a connection to an electrical communication bus 340 to provide control inputs to the implement 142).
[AltContent: textbox (Power Port (336))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Electric Power Take Off Outlet (148))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral Device (142))][AltContent: textbox (Data Port (340))][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches wherein the power port and the data port are collocated on a common connector (see at least, Fig 23A connector 338, [0185] a connector 338 is configured to allow the battery power connections and control signals to be accessible to a charger).
Regarding claim 5, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches comprising the peripheral device including a chore motor and a chore controller, wherein the chore controller is structured to communicate with the data port and control when power is supplied from the power port to the chore motor (see at least, the accessory interface 148 provides an electrical connection to the lawn tractor battery for powering to drive motors/actuators/lights of the implement 142 and a connection to an electrical communication bus 340 to provide control inputs to the implement 142).
Regarding claim 6, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches wherein the electric power take off outlet is positioned adjacent the deck (see at least, Fig 22, electrical accessory interface, 148; Fig 1, mowing deck, 64)
Regarding claim 7, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches further comprising a mower electrical system including: a traction motor controller an electric traction motor structured to receive power from a battery (see at least, [0077] the lawn mower 10 includes…the one or more
batteries 48 for providing power to the one or more electric motors 18a, 18b…includes a separate motor or set of motors that are used to drive the traction wheels 24.sub.R, 24.sub.L.) via the traction motor controller to propel the lawn mower (see at least, [0113] the traction motor controller 58, which is configured to control the speed of the mower's wheels 24.sub.R, 24.sub.L.), and wherein the electric power take off outlet is structured to receive power from the battery (see at least, [0185] the electrical accessory interface 148 on the lawn and garden tractor 10 comprises a port 336 to allow charging the tractor battery 48).
Regarding claim 10, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches wherein the data port is physically separated from the power port (see at least, [0187] the electrical communication
bus 340 is integrated to any control bus on the lawn tractor/mower 10 or it is independent…by utilizing a control bus that is connected to the lawn tractor's control systems).
Regarding claim 11, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches wherein the data port is shielded from the power port (see at least, [0187] the electrical communication bus 340 is
integrated to any control bus on the lawn tractor/mower 10 or it is independent…by utilizing a control bus that is connected to the lawn tractor's control systems).
Regarding claim 12, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches comprising a user interface, wherein the electric power take off outlet is positioned adjacent the user interface (Fig 22; [0081] the lawn mower 10 includes the user interface 40 and one or more controls or control levers that are associated the lawn mower 10; Fig 22, electrical accessory interface, 148).
Regarding claim 13, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke further teaches the peripheral device includes an external power source structured to charge a lawn mower battery (see at least, Fig 29; [0235] the battery module 48 includes a battery charge port 214 that is configured to transfer charge current from an external power source to the lawn mower 10…the charge port 214 is a conductive charge port…the battery module 48 is charged by plugging a charge connector of the external power source into the charge port 214 of the lawn mower).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becke et al. (US 20190075724 A1; hereinafter Becke) in view of Brault et al. (US 20200252774 A1; hereinafter Brault).
Regarding claim 3, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 2. Becke does not explicitly teach wherein the common connector is asymmetrical in shape. However, Brault teaches this limitation.
Brault teaches wherein the common connector is asymmetrical in shape ([0064] the terminals…of the terminal block…male terminals…may include female terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Becke to include the common connector is asymmetrical in shape as taught by Brault so that power can be universally implemented across many different terminal block ports.
Regarding claim 4, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 2. Becke does not explicitly teach wherein the power port includes a positive power port and a negative power port, and the data port is positioned between the positive power port and the negative power port. However, Brault teaches this limitation.
Becke does not explicitly teach wherein the power port includes a positive power port and a negative power port ([0055] a positive power terminal and a negative power terminal), and the data port is positioned between the positive power port and the negative power port (see at least, [0096] at least two shared tool terminals of a terminal block…the insertable wireless communication device…allows
power to be received by both the power tool…and the insertable wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Becke to include the power port includes a positive power port and a negative power port, and the data port is positioned between the positive power port and the negative power port as taught by Brault so that power can be universally implemented across many different terminal block ports.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becke et al. (US 20190075724 A1; hereinafter Becke) in view of Brown et al. (US 10058031 B1; hereinafter Brown).
Regarding claim 8, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke does not explicitly teaches wherein electrical power provided from the battery to the electric power take off outlet is interrupted when a state of charge of the battery is equal to or less than a threshold state of charge. However, Brown teaches this limitation.
Brown teaches wherein electrical power provided from the battery to the electric power take off outlet is interrupted when a state of charge of the battery is equal to or less than a threshold state of charge (Col 17 lines 6-17, The system state controller 640 can detect a low charge condition…can issue a “stop driving command” to the system state controller 640 via network 650. The system state controller 640 will then issue a “stop driving command” to the other motor controller 628 via network 650 and the vehicle will stop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Becke to include electrical power provided from the battery to the electric power take off outlet is interrupted when a state of charge of the battery is equal to or less than a threshold state of charge as taught by Brown so that the analog PTO engagement sensor can detect if the PTO is engaged or disengaged (Brown, Col 14 lines 47-48).
Claims 9 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becke et al. (US 20190075724 A1; hereinafter Becke) in further view of Salter et al. (US 20200317057 A1; hereinafter Salter).
Regarding claim 9, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke does not explicitly teach further comprising a distribution box including a plurality of electric power take off outlets. However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Salter teaches a distribution box including a plurality of electric power take off outlets (see at least, [0025]) The power interface may have a plurality of power outlets 32, each outlet electrically coupled to the electric machine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Becke to include a distribution box including a plurality of electric power take off outlets as taught by Salter so that plugging the auxiliary devices into the plurality of outlets allows power to be supplied to the auxiliary devices (Salter, [0025]).
Regarding claim 15, Becke teaches the lawn mower of claim 1. Becke does not explicitly teach wherein the lawn mower includes a plurality of electric power take off outlets and further comprising a user interface structured to display each connection to the plurality of electric power take off outlets. However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Salter teaches a plurality of electric power take off outlets (see at least, [0034] the plurality of power outlets 214 may be configured to disconnect one or more power take-off loads drawing power
Through the plurality of power outlets) and further comprising a user interface structured to display each connection to the plurality of electric power take off outlets (see at least, [0002] The control module may monitor output voltage and display messages, [0030] The power interface 212 includes an optional digital display 211 to display information about a status of the power interface 212, e.g., to indicate active power draw through the power interface 212, an overall current flow through the power interface212, etc. The power interface 212 has a plurality of power outlets 214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Becke to include a user interface structured to display each connection to the plurality of electric power take off outlets as taught by Salter in order to display of a priority ranking of the electrical loads, may be arranged according to current usage, e.g., ranked from highest current draw to lowest current draw (Salter, [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Becke teaches an electric vehicle (see at least, [0028] FIG. 2 shows a…lawn mower) comprising: a frame (see at least, Fig 1; [0067] The lawn mower 10 generally includes a
frame 12); and an electrical system including: a traction motor controller structured to receive power from a vehicle battery and provide power to an electric traction motor (see at least, [0077] the lawn mower 10 includes…the one or more batteries 48 for providing power to the one or more electric motors 18a, 18b…includes a separate motor or set of motors that are used to drive the traction
wheels 24.sub.R, 24.sub.L.), a power port configured to receive electrical power from the battery (see at least, Fig 23 as shown below, e.g. charging port 336; [0185] a port 336 to allow charging the tractor battery 48) and structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device (see at least, Fig 23A shown below, e.g. implement 142; [0186] the accessory interface 148 provides an electrical connection to the lawn tractor battery for powering to drive motors/actuators /lights of the implement 142), and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (see at least, Fig 23A shown below, e.g. communication bus 340; [0186] the accessory interface 148 provides…a connection to an electrical communication bus 340 to provide control inputs to the implement 142), and a chore motor controller communicably coupled with the power port and the data port of a first electric power take off outlet (see at least, the accessory interface 148 provides an electrical connection to the lawn tractor battery for powering to drive motors/actuators/lights of the implement 142 and a connection to an electrical
communication bus 340 to provide control inputs to the implement 142).
Becke does not explicitly teach a distribution box structured to electrically couple with the battery and including a plurality of electric power take off outlets. However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Becke teaches a distribution box structured to electrically couple with the battery and including a plurality of electric power take off outlets (see at least, [0030] The power interface 212 includes an optional digital display 211 to display information about a status of the power interface 212, e.g., to indicate active power draw through the power interface 212, an overall current flow through the power interface 212, etc…has a plurality of power outlets 214 configured to receive electrical plugs of electrical devices, such as an auxiliary device 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Becke to include a distribution box structured to electrically couple with the battery and including a plurality of electric power take off outlets as taught by Salter so that plugging the auxiliary devices into the plurality of outlets allows power to be supplied to the auxiliary devices (Salter, [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Becke and Salter teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. Salter further teaches wherein the distribution box is positioned adjacent the deck (see at least, [0030] a
power interface 212 which may be disposed in a vehicle bed 218, as shown in FIG. 2…the power
interface 212 may be positioned in some other, accessible region of the vehicle 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Becke to include a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck as taught by Salter so that other equipment can be connected to the distribution box so that plugging the auxiliary devices into the plurality of outlets allows power to be supplied to the auxiliary devices (Salter, [0025]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Becke and Salter teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. Salter further teaches wherein a second electric power take off outlet is structured to provide power to a peripheral device ([0015] auxiliary devices may be automatically matched, or paired, with the power outlets via a communication system or link and allow powering of the auxiliary devices to be monitored by the controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the Becke to include a second electric power take off outlet is structured to provide power to a peripheral device as taught by Salter in order allow the power interface overload mitigation mode by performing mitigating actions (Salter, [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Becke and Salter teaches the teaches the electric vehicle of claim 16. Becke further teaches wherein a second electric power take off outlet is structured to receive power from an external power source to charge the battery (see at least, [0235] the battery module
48 includes a battery charge port 214 that is configured to transfer charge current from an external
power source to the lawn mower 10…is charged by plugging a charge connector of the external
power source into the charge port 214 of the lawn mower 10).
Regarding claim 20, Becke teaches an electric vehicle (see at least, [0028] FIG. 2 shows a…lawn mower) comprising: a frame (see at least, Fig 1; [0067] The lawn mower 10 generally includes a frame 12); a deck coupled to the frame (see at least, Fig 1; [0126] the mower deck 64 is configured to pivot about portions of the frame 12); an electric chore motor coupled to the deck (see at least, [0126] the mower
deck 64 and the deck adjustment/control motor 80); a chore motor controller communicably coupled to the chore motor (see at least, [0126] the sensor 62 feeds information to the one or more processors 32 of the deck motor controller…the mower deck 64 is articulated or pivoted using the control linkages/members 81 associated with the mower deck 64 and the deck adjustment/control
motor 80); and electrically coupled with the electric chore motor and the chore motor controller to provide power and communication there between (see at least, [0126] the mower deck motor 80 is configured to interact with the control linkages/members associated with the mower deck 64 to pull or push the mower deck 64 to contour to the ground surface 26); and an electric power take off outlet (see at least, Fig 22, electrical accessory interface, 148) including; a power port structured to electrically couple a peripheral device (see at least, Fig 23A shown below, e.g. implement 142; [0186] the accessory interface 148 provides an electrical connection to the lawn tractor battery for powering to drive motors/actuators/lights of the implement 142), and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (see at least, Fig 23A, e.g. communication bus 340; [0186] the accessory interface 148 provides…a connection to an electrical communication bus 340 to provide control inputs to the implement 142).
Becke does not explicitly teach a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck; and power port configured to receive electrical power from the distribution box However, Salter teaches this limitation.
Salter teaches a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck (see at least, [0030] a power interface
212 which may be disposed in a vehicle bed 218, as shown in FIG. 2…the power interface 212 may be positioned in some other, accessible region of the vehicle 204); and a power port configured to receive electrical power from the distribution box (see at least, [0030] The power interface 212 includes an optional digital display 211 to display information about a status of the power interface 212, e.g., to indicate active power draw through the power interface 212, an overall current flow through the power interface 212, etc…has a plurality of power outlets 214 configured to receive electrical plugs of electrical devices, such as an auxiliary device 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Becke to include a distribution box positioned adjacent the deck; a power port configured to receive electrical power from the distribution box as taught by Salter so that plugging the auxiliary devices into the plurality of outlets allows power to be supplied to the auxiliary devices (Salter, [0025]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becke et al. (US 20190075724 A1; hereinafter Becke) in view of Carpenter et al. (US 20190187643 A1; hereinafter Carpenter) and in further view of Son et al. (US 20110282513 A1: hereinafter Son).
Regarding claim 14, Becke teaches the electric vehicle of claim 1. Beck not explicitly teach comprising an internet of things (IoT) system structured to: determine a state of charge of a battery coupled to the electric power take off outlet. However, Carpenter teaches this limitation.
Carpenter teaches an internet of things (IoT) system (see at least, [0025] The IoT-capable devices …automated lawn mowers) structured to: determine a state of charge of a battery coupled to the electric power take off outlet (see at least, [0027] the IoT-capable sensors…battery charge level sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Becke to include an internet of things (IoT) system structured to: determine a state of charge of a battery coupled to the electric power take off outlet as taught by Carpenter in order to implement smart vehicle functionality.
Becke further does not explicitly teach predict if the state of charge of the battery will equal or exceed a state of charge threshold within a predetermined time, and transmit a notification to a mobile device when the state of charge of the battery is not predicted to equal or exceed the state of charge threshold within the predetermined time. However, Son teaches these limitations.
Son teaches predict if the state of charge of the battery will equal or exceed a state of charge threshold within a predetermined time (see at least, [0198] The measurement step may be configured to monitor whether the amount or rate of electricity used to charge the electric vehicle battery for a specific period of time exceeds a predetermined maximum value), and transmit a notification to a mobile device when the state of charge of the battery is not predicted to equal or exceed the state of charge threshold within the predetermined time (see at least, [0025] a warning message may be
transmitted to at least one of the user portable terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Becke to include predict if the state of charge of the battery will equal or exceed a state of charge threshold within a predetermined time, and transmit a notification to a mobile device when the state of charge of the battery is not predicted to equal or exceed the state of charge threshold within the predetermined time as taught by Son in order to estimate the amount or rate of electricity required in the charge or the amount or rate of electricity to be generated in the discharge (Son, [0194]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Albinger et al. (US 20180263182 A1) discloses a lawn mower comprising: the electric power take off outlet including a power port structured to electrically couple to a peripheral device and a data port structured to communicate with the peripheral device (e.g. ([0057] a power take-off (“PTO”)…The controller 44 is connected to the PTO 60 by a line 62 and is configured to control functions of the PTO 60); Fig 3, [0053] connections for the transmission of data…
between the controller 44 and the functional units).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662