DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-17 are pending.
Claims 3 and 6 are cancelled.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention, the election having been made on 3/25/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 15-17 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IL2020/051084 10/07/2020
PCT/IL2020/051084 has PRO 62/911,581 10/07/2019
PCT/IL2020/051084 has PRO 62/911,591 10/07/2019
PCT/IL2020/051084 has PRO 62/911,504 10/07/2019
PCT/IL2020/051084 has PRO 62/911,612 10/07/2019
Withdrawn Objection and Rejection
The objection to claim 2 is withdrawn because the amendment to claim 2 overcomes the objection.
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn because claim 3 has been cancelled.
New Ground of Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 contains the acronym “CD59”, and an acronym in the first instance of claims should be expanded upon/spelled out as “complement regulatory protein 59” with the acronym indicated in parentheses as (CD59). The abbreviations can be used.
Appropriate correction is required.
New Ground of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (WO 2015/187951 A1) in view of Dong et al. (Gene. 2017; 608:13–19, previously cited 5/23/2025), Roth et al. (J Cell Sci. 2012 Nov 15;125(Pt 22):5269-79), Kelly et al. (WO 2006/099309 A2, previously cited 5/23/2025), Tai et al. (BioMed Research International. Volume 2016, Article ID 7123587, 12 pages, previously cited 2/25/2025), Chattertonet al. (The International Journal of Biochemistry & Cell Biology 45 (2013) 1730– 1747, previously cited 5/23/2025), D’Apolito et al. (Turk Pediatri Ars 2017; 52: 208-12), Pecquet et al. (Immunology. 1999 Feb;96(2):278-85), Sarkhosh et al. (Wound Rep Reg. 2003; 11:337–345), and Wong et al. (Veterinary Immunology and lmmunopathology. 1997; 56: 85-96.).
Claim 1 is drawn to an oral formulation comprising:
Keratin 1 protein (KRT1)
beta-lactoglobulin (LG), and
at least a protein selected from alpha-lactalbumin, CD59, and/or lactotransferrin;
wherein-1, said KRT1 is present in a concentration of between 0.02 wt.% and 15.4 wt.% and said LGB is present in a concentration between 0.02 wt.% and 23.4 wt.%, and
wherein-2 the formulation is able to (a) stimulate monocyte proliferation and (b) inhibit IFN-γ secretion to a greater extent than each isolated component individually.
Meyer et al. teach compositions and methods for improving skin quality (Title). Meyer et al. teach the methods and composition for improving skin quality including resistance or management of infection and wound healing [09]. Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Meyer et al. teach the keratin proteins as KRT1 and/or others such as KRT-10 [28]. Meyer et al. further teach a route of administration of the composition include oral administration [40, p22, line 2].
Dong et al. teach “Critical role of Keratin 1 in maintaining epithelial barrier and correlation of its down-regulation with the progression of inflammatory bowel disease” (Title). Dong et al. teach inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) is the result of a chronic intestinal inflammatory response usually occurred in the colon and small intestine (p13, Introduction, col 1, para 1). Dong et al. teach the levels of KRT1 protein significantly decreased in serum samples of inflammatory bowel disease patients (IBD) and KRT1 decreased in various intestinal diseases, especially in Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis (Abstract). Dong et al. suggest KRT1 is a potential therapeutic target for IBD (p19, col 1, conclusion). Similarly, Roth et al. is further cited to show “Keratin 1 maintains skin integrity and participates in an inflammatory network in skin through interleukin-18” (Title) and Keratin 1 (KRT1) and its heterodimer partner keratin 10 (KRT10) are major constituents of the intermediate filament cytoskeleton in suprabasal epidermis as well as KRT1 mutations cause epidermolytic ichthyosis in humans, characterized by loss of barrier integrity and recurrent erythema (Summary). Kelly et al. is further cited to show keratin can be formulated for a nutraceutical to reduce inflammation (Title) via oral administration in the form of tablet, capsule, powder, fizzy table, drink, gel (for drinking), chewing gum, dissolvable strip, lozenge, sublingual table, soluble powder or liquid (p10, para 3). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been taught and/or motivated to beneficially include KRT-1 and KRT-10 in Meyer’s therapeutic composition for oral administration.
Tai et al. teach “𝛽-Lactoglobulin (LG) Influences Human Immunity and Promotes Cell Proliferation” (Title) and LG plays a key role in enhancing immune responses by promoting cell proliferation through IgM receptor (Abstract; p9, Fig 5). Tai et al. teach LG also contributes to the defense against severe diseases. Sepsis and septic shock, which are often caused by bacterial infection, are systematic inflammatory responses that induce multiorgan failure and results in a high mortality rate in critically ill patients (p1, col 2, para 2). Tai et al. show whole milk obtained from a Chiayl local dairy farm comprising LG (p2, col 2, Sec 2.1 Materials). Tai et al. teach LG comprises approximately 10–15% and 50% of total milk and whey protein respectively (p6, col 2, last 2 line to p8, col 1, line 1). Tai et al. teach these components of whey protein in milk are important for radical scavenging, anti-inflammatory activities, antitumor effects, and immunostimulatory effects. These factors have been shown to regulate gut homeostasis (p6, col 1), reading on strengthening gut flora by enhancing gut-associated immunity and increasing resistance to pathogens in claim 4. Tai et al. further show whole milk comprising LG and other anti-inflammatory proteins significantly promotes cell proliferation shown as follows (p5, Fig 1).
Furthermore, Chatterton et al. is cited to show cow milk delivered via oral administration inherently comprising various anti-inflammatory or beneficial proteins including Alpha-lactalbumin/α-LA (p1337, col 1, 4.2.1), β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG (p1337, col 2, 4.2.2), Lactoferrin (same as lactotransferrin)/LF (p1337, col 2, 4.2.3), Immunoglobulins/Ig comprising IgA, IgM, and IgE (p1738, col 2, 4.2.5), Enzymes of Lactoperoxidase/LP (p1738, col 2, 4.2.6), and growth factor of TGF- β (p1739, col 1, 4.2.7) summarized in Table 2 (p1735) known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been taught and/or motivated to beneficially include one or more Alpha-lactalbumin/α-LA, β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG, Lactoferrin/LF, Immunoglobulins/Ig comprising IgA, IgM, and IgE in Meyer’s therapeutic composition for oral administration. D’Apolito et al. teach milk proteins stimulating cytokines secretion from peripheral blood mononuclear cells, PBMC, (p209, col 2, para 3). D’Apolito et al. show β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG able to stimulate IL-10 secretion from active PBMC as well as other milk proteins comprising α-lactalbumin and casein as shown follows (p210, Fig 1b).
Pecquet et al. is cited to show β-Lactoglobulin capable of increasing IL-10 secretion and inhibiting INF-γ secretion as shown follows (p283, table 2B), demonstrating β-Lactoglobulin alone is capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art.
Sarkhosh et al. teach “Proliferation of peripheral blood mononuclear cells is suppressed in interferon-γ–treated skin cells” with data shown in figure 5 (Title, p343, col 1, Figure 5), demonstrating interferon-γ inhibiting monocyte proliferation. Since Pecquet’s β-Lactoglobulin capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect Pecquet’s β-Lactoglobulin capable of reversing INF-γ mediated inhibition of monocyte proliferation.
Wong et al. teach the immunomodulatory properties of bovine milk and whey have long been documented. Wong et al. show Chatterton’s lactoferrin (LF) is also capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art as shown follows (p92, Table 1); thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect Chatterton’s lactoferrin capable of reversing INF-γ mediated inhibition of monocyte proliferation.
With respect to the limitation (i), Meyer et al. teach the methods and composition/formulation for improving skin quality including resistance or management of infection and wound healing [09]. Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition/formulation comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Meyer et al. teach the keratin proteins as KRT1 and/or others such as KRT-10 [28]. Meyer et al. further teach a route of administration of the composition include oral administration [40, p22, line 2]. Similarly, Dong et al. teach “Critical role of Keratin 1 in maintaining epithelial barrier and correlation of its down-regulation with the progression of inflammatory bowel disease” (Title). Dong et al. teach inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) is the result of a chronic intestinal inflammatory response usually occurred in the colon and small intestine (p13, Introduction, col 1, para 1). Dong et al. teach the levels of KRT1 protein significantly decreased in serum samples of inflammatory bowel disease patients (IBD) and KRT1 decreased in various intestinal diseases, especially in Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis (Abstract). Dong et al. suggest KRT1 is a potential therapeutic target for IBD (p19, col 1, conclusion). Similarly, Roth et al. is further cited to show “Keratin 1 maintains skin integrity and participates in an inflammatory network in skin through interleukin-18” (Title) and Keratin 1 (KRT1) and its heterodimer partner keratin 10 (KRT10) are major constituents of the intermediate filament cytoskeleton in suprabasal epidermis as well as KRT1 mutations cause epidermolytic ichthyosis in humans, characterized by loss of barrier integrity and recurrent erythema (Summary). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would select KRT1 and its heterodimer partner keratin KRT10 to formulate Meyer’s composition for intended use, reading on the limitation (i). Kelly et al. is further cited to show keratin can be formulated for a nutraceutical to reduce inflammation (Title) via oral administration in the form of tablet, capsule, powder, fizzy table, drink, gel (for drinking), chewing gum, dissolvable strip, lozenge, sublingual table, soluble powder or liquid (p10, para 3).
With respect to the limitation (ii), Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition/ formulation comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Meyer et al. teach the composition/formulation for improving skin quality includes resistance or management of infection of skin [09, 44] and wound healing [09]. Similarly, Tai et al. teach “𝛽-Lactoglobulin (LG) Influences Human Immunity and Promotes Cell Proliferation” (Title) and LG plays a key role in enhancing immune responses by promoting cell proliferation through IgM receptor (Abstract; p9, Fig 5). Tai et al. teach LG also contributes to the defense against severe diseases. Sepsis and septic shock, which are often caused by bacterial infection, are systematic inflammatory responses that induce multiorgan failure and results in a high mortality rate in critically ill patients (p1, col 2, para 2). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious top select 𝛽-Lactoglobulin (LG) for improving skin quality and enhancing immune responses to treat or prevent bacterial infection, reading on the limitation (ii).
With respect to the limitation (iii), Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition/formulation comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Chatterton et al. is cited to show cow milk delivered via oral administration inherently comprising various anti-inflammatory or beneficial proteins including Alpha-lactalbumin/α-LA (p1337, col 1, 4.2.1), β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG (p1337, col 2, 4.2.2), Lactoferrin/LF (p1337, col 2, 4.2.3), Immunoglobulins/Ig comprising IgA, IgM, and IgE (p1738, col 2, 4.2.5), summarized in Table 2 (p1735) known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been taught and/or motivated to beneficially include one or more Alpha-lactalbumin/α-LA, β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG, Lactoferrin/LF, Immunoglobulins/Ig comprising IgA, IgM, and IgE in Meyer’s therapeutic composition.
With respect to wherein-1, Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition/formulation comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Tai et al. show whole milk obtained from a Chiayl local dairy farm comprising LG (p2, col 2, Sec 2.1 Materials). Tai et al. teach LG comprises approximately 10–15% of total milk and 50% of whey protein (p6, col 2, last 2 line to p8, col 1, line 1). Meyer et al. teach the specific dose level and frequency of dosage for any particular subject can be varied (reading optimized) and will depend upon a variety of factors, including the activity of the specific compound employed, the metabolic stability and length of action of that compound, the species, age, body weight, general health, sex and diet of the subject, the mode and time of administration, rate of excretion, drug combination, and severity of the particular condition [42], demonstrating that the therapeutically effective dosage of KRT1 and LGB are result-effective variable subject to routine optimization. Meyer et al. teach a weight ratio of keratin (e.g., KRT-1) is 0.47% in a composition based on 50 mg of SV A PEG and added to 1 ml D-PBS + 5 mg keratin [51]. Kelly et al. suggest an effective amount of anti-inflammatory keratin can be 5% (p16, Example 8) or 6% (p16-17, Example 10) via oral administration. Tai et al. teach LG comprising approximately 10–15% of total milk and 50% of whey protein (p6, col 2, last 2 line to p8, col 1, line 1). "It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions." See MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
With respect to wherein-2(a), Pecquet et al. is cited to show β-Lactoglobulin capable of increasing IL-10 secretion and inhibiting INF-γ secretion (p283, table 2B), demonstrating β-Lactoglobulin alone is capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art. Similarly, Wong et al. teach the immunomodulatory properties of bovine milk and whey have long been documented. Wong et al. show Chatterton’s lactoferrin (LF) also capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion (p92, Table 1), demonstrating lactoferrin alone is capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art.
Sarkhosh et al. teach “Proliferation of peripheral blood mononuclear cells is suppressed in interferon-γ–treated skin cells” with data shown in figure 5 (Title, p343, col 1, Figure 5), demonstrating interferon-γ inhibiting monocyte proliferation. Since Pecquet’s β-Lactoglobulin and capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect Pecquet’s β-Lactoglobulin together with lactoferrin taught by Wong et al. in view of Chatterton capable of reversing INF-γ mediated inhibition of monocyte proliferation, leading to stimulate monocyte proliferation via inhibition of INF-γ secretion by β-Lactoglobulin and lactoferrin.
With respect to wherein-2(b), Pecquet et al. is cited to show β-Lactoglobulin capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art (p283, table 2B). Wong et al. teach the immunomodulatory properties of bovine milk and whey have long been documented. Wong et al. show Chatterton’s lactoferrin (LF) also capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art (p92, Table 1).
Since either β-Lactoglobulin or lactoferrin in milk is capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion and interferon-γ suppresses proliferation of peripheral blood mononuclear cells known in the art as taught by the cited references described above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect (i) inhibition INF-γ secretion by a combination of β-Lactoglobulin and lactoferrin with greater extent than each β-Lactoglobulin or lactoferrin alone and (ii) inhibition of INF-γ secretion would stimulate monocyte proliferation by reversing suppression of monocyte proliferation by INF-γ.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to beneficially combine (i) Meyer’s composition with (ii) various anti-inflammatory proteins including Alpha-lactalbumin/α-LA, β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG, Lactoferrin/LF taught by Tai et al.in view of Chattertonet al. and (iii) Keratin 1 protein taught by Dong et al. in view of Roth et al. and Kelly et al. because (A) Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Meyer et al. further teach the keratin proteins as KRT1 and/or others such as KRT-10 [28], (B) Tai et al.in view of Chattertonet al. teach (1) Tai et al. teach 𝛽-Lactoglobulin contributes to the defense against severe diseases. Sepsis and septic shock, which are often caused by bacterial infection, are systematic inflammatory responses that induce multiorgan failure and results in a high mortality rate in critically ill patients (p1, col 2, para 2). Tai et al. further teach whey protein in milk is important for radical scavenging, anti-inflammatory activities, antitumor effects, and immunostimulatory effects. These factors have been shown to regulate gut homeostasis (Tai et al. p6, col 1), reading on strengthening gut flora by enhancing gut-associated immunity and increasing resistance to pathogens and (2) Chatterton et al. show cow milk delivered via oral administration inherently comprising various anti-inflammatory or beneficial proteins including Alpha-lactalbumin/α-LA (p1337, col 1, 4.2.1), β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG (p1337, col 2, 4.2.2), Lactoferrin/LF (p1337, col 2, 4.2.3), Immunoglobulins/Ig comprising IgA, IgM, and IgE (p1738, col 2, 4.2.5), and growth factor of TGF- β (p1739, col 1, 4.2.7) summarized in Table 2 (p1735) known in the art, and (C) Dong et al. teach “Critical role of Keratin 1 in maintaining epithelial barrier and correlation of its down-regulation with the progression of inflammatory bowel disease” (Title). Roth et al. is cited to show “Keratin 1 maintains skin integrity and participates in an inflammatory network in skin through interleukin-18” known in the art (Title). Kelly et al. is further cited to show keratin can be formulated for a nutraceutical to reduce inflammation (Title) via oral administration in the form of tablet, capsule, powder, fizzy table, drink, gel (for drinking), chewing gum, dissolvable strip, lozenge, sublingual table, soluble powder or liquid (p10, para 3). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because Meyer et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising polypeptides of keratin (e.g., KRT-1 and KRT-10 [28]) and milk-derived proteins [27]. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. are cited to show common knowledge of milk proteins including (i) both β-Lactoglobulin and Lactoferrin able to inhibit INF-γ secretion, (ii) β-Lactoglobulin able to increase IL-10 secretion (Pecquet et al. p283, table 2B), and (iii) INF-γ inhibiting proliferation of peripheral blood mononuclear cells (Sarkhosh et al. Title, p343, col 1, Figure 5).
With respect to claim 2, Meyer et al. teach the keratin proteins as KRT1 and/or others such as KRT-10 [28]. Roth et al. is further cited to show “Keratin 1 maintains skin integrity and participates in an inflammatory network in skin through interleukin-18” (Title) and Keratin 1 (KRT1) and its heterodimer partner keratin 10 (KRT10) are major constituents of the intermediate filament cytoskeleton in suprabasal epidermis (Summary).
With respect to claim 4, Tai et al. further teach whey protein in milk are important for radical scavenging, anti-inflammatory activities, antitumor effects, and immunostimulatory effects. These factors have been shown to regulate gut homeostasis (Tai et al. p6, col 1), reading on strengthening gut flora by enhancing gut-associated immunity and increasing resistance to pathogens.
With respect to claims 7-8, Chatterton et al. show cow’s mink inherently comprising Immunoglobulins/Ig comprising IgA, IgM, and IgE (p1738, col 2, 4.2.5), Lactoperoxidase/LP (p1738, col 2, 4.2.6).
With respect to claim 9, the modified milk protein composition/formulation taught by the combined references comprises various anti-inflammatory protein and anti-microbial protein which is expected to shortening of disease or outbreak periods, diminishment of likelihood of becoming ill or a reduced number or severity of symptoms associated with diseases when inflammation and/or bacterial infection is involved.
With respect to claim 10, Chatterton et al. show cow’s mink inherently comprising colostrum (p1735, Table 2).
With respect to claim 15, the modified milk composition/formulation taught by the combined references reads on milk product, beverage, and animal food (when used for animal feed).
With respect to claims 16-17, the functional limitation does not change any of the compound structure or function of (i) Keratin 1 protein (KRT1), (ii) beta-lactoglobulin (LG), or (iii) at least a protein selected from alpha-lactalbumin, CD59, and/or lactotransferrin in the composition taught by the cited references; thus, the same prior art composition would be necessary to possess the properties as claimed. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Furthermore, D’Apolito
et al. show β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG as well as other milk proteins comprising α-lactalbumin and casein able to stimulate IL-10 secretion from active PBMC as shown follows (p210, Fig 1b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, p6, last para to p15, para 1-4) filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the arguments are not applied to the new ground rejection based on Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chatterton et al., D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al.
In particular, the new references (a) D’Apolito et al. teach milk pro-teins stimulating cytokines secretion from peripheral blood mononuclear cells, PBMC, (p209, col 2, para 3), and further show β-Lactoglobulin/β-LG able to stimulate IL-10 secretion from active PBMC as well as other milk proteins (p210, Fig 1b), (b) Pecquet et al. is cited to show β-Lactoglobulin capable of increasing IL-10 secretion and inhibiting INF-γ secretion (p283, table 2B), (c) Sarkhosh et al. teach “Proliferation of peripheral blood mononuclear cells is suppressed in interferon-γ–treated skin cells” (Title, p343, col 1, Figure 5), and (d) Wong et al. show Chatterton’s lactoferrin (LF) is also capable of inhibiting INF-γ secretion known in the art (p92, Table 1). The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See MPEP 2144(I). Furthermore, applicant argues the references individually, whereas the current new ground rejection is based on a combination of references including new references. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See MPEP 2145(IV).
Furthermore, applicant’s arguments of unexpected result based on working examples of Examples 2-5, Tables 18-20, Figs 12-15 and Exhibit A. (Remarks, p15, last two para to p16, para 1-2) are not persuasive because (i) the data is not commensurate in scope of the rejected claims and (ii) the result is NOT unexpected. In particular, (a) Example 4 data were based on Keratin compounds tested together with LGB, CSNlSl, CSN2 and ALB not commensurate with the
scope of the claims, (b) Example 5 as shown follows (SPEC, p76) is not commensurate in scope of the claims, (c) It is unclear with respect to the dosage of each ingredients in composition 1 shown in Fig 12, and (d) the data Exhibit A as shown follows (10/23/2025) is not commensurate in scope of the claims.
The argument of claim 2 (Remarks, p16, last two para to p18, para 1-2) is not persuasive because the new reference, Meyer et al., teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Meyer et al. teach the keratin proteins as KRT1 and/or others such as KRT-10 [28]. Meyer et al. further teach a route of administration of the composition include oral administration [40, p22, line 2].
The argument of claim 3 (Remarks, p18, para 1-23-4) is not persuasive because claim 3 has been canceled and claim 1 is under the new ground of rejection described above.
The argument of claim 4 (Remarks, p18, last para to p19, para 1) is not persuasive because applicant argued a single reference of Tai whereas the current new ground of rejection is based on a combination of various references including new references.
The arguments of claims 5 and 7-8 (Remarks, p19, para 2-4) are not persuasive because the new reference, Meyer et al., teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising polypeptides of keratin and/or milk-derived proteins such as beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin [27]. Meyer et al. teach the keratin proteins as KRT1 and/or others such as KRT-10 [28]. Meyer et al. further teach a route of administration of the composition include oral administration [40, p22, line 2].
The argument of claims 9-10 (Remarks, p19, last para to p20, para 1-3) is not persuasive because the rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See MPEP 2144(I).
The argument of claim 15 (Remarks, p20, last para to p21, para 1) is not persuasive because the argument is not commensurate in scope of the claim. Milk reads on a milk product.
The argument of claim 16-17 (Remarks, p21, para 2-3) is not persuasive because the argument does not apply to the new ground of rejection with new references.
2. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chatterton et al., D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., Wong et al. and further in view of Blaho et al. (J Immunol. 2009 November 1; 183(9): 5644–5653.).
Claim 5 is drawn to the formulation further comprising Cyclooxygenase-1 (Cox-1).
Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chatterton et al. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al teach an oral formulation comprising anti-inflammatory proteins and able to enhance immunity against bacterial infection as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, and 15-17.
Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chatterton et al., D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. did not teach the formulation further comprising Cyclooxygenase-1.
Blaho et al. teach Cyclooxygenase-1 orchestrates germinal center formation and antibody class-switch via regulation of IL-17 (Title). Blaho et al. teach IL-17 plays a role in the generation of antibodies during the normal humoral immune response to infection (p12, last para). Blaho et al. show COX-1 is required for normal germinal center development in the spleen (p21, Fig 5) and COX-1 inhibitor also inhibits antibody production (p22, Fig 6). Because Blaho et al. teach Blaho et al. show COX-1 is required for normal germinal center development in the spleen (p21, Fig 5) and antibody production, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further include COX-1 in a formulation taught by Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chatterton et al. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. to enhance antibody production.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine (i) Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chatterton et al. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. with (ii) Blaho’s Cyclooxygenase-1 because (a) Meyer et al. in view of Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., and Chatterton et al. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. teach an oral formulation comprising anti-inflammatory proteins and able to enhance immunity against bacterial infection and (b) Blaho et al. teach IL-17 plays a role in the generation of antibodies during the normal humoral immune response to infection (p12, last para). Blaho et al. show COX-1 is required for normal germinal center development in the spleen (p21, Fig 5) and COX-1 inhibitor also inhibits antibody production (p22, Fig 6). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because the references teach one or more proteins to enhance immunity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See response to arguments above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, and 18 of copending Application No. 17/714,166 (the ‘166 application. 6/1/2026) in view of Meyer et al., Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chattertonet al., D’Apolito et al. (Turk Pediatri Ars 2017; 52: 208-12), Pecquet et al. (Immunology. 1999 Feb;96(2):278-85), Sarkhosh et al. (Wound Rep Reg. 2003; 11:337–345), and Wong et al. (Veterinary Immunology and lmmunopathology. 1997; 56: 85-96.).
Claim 1 of the ‘166 application disclosed a composition comprising at least one keratin compound and beta-lactoglobulin.
Claim 4 of the ‘166 application disclosed the keratin compound comprising KRT1-3, 4-6, 10, 12-14, 17-18, 24, 28, 33-36, 42, 75, and 77.
Claim 18 of the ‘166 application disclosed a food product comprising the composition of claim 1 selected from milk products, shakes, beverages, infant formulas, animal food and the like.
The relevancy of Meyer et al., Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., and Chattertonet al., D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. teach a composition/formulation as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, and 15-17 not repeated here.
Because Meyer et al., Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chattertonet al. et al. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al. teach a modified milk composition/formulation beneficially comprising an anti-inflammatory protein together with KRT1, beta-lactoglobulin and alpha-lactalbumin to enhance immune system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to beneficially combine the composition taught by claims 1, 4, and 18 of the ‘166 application with the ingredients taught by Meyer et al., Dong et al., Roth et al., Kelly et al., Tai et al., Chattertonet al. D’Apolito et al., Pecquet et al., Sarkhosh et al., and Wong et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See response to arguments above.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
02-September-2026
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658