DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, & 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the scanning device is powered by an internal power supply, preferably a battery.” which renders the claim unclear. It is unclear whether the battery is a required component for this limitation. For the purposes of this examination the claim is interpreted as the scanning device being powered by any internal power supply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elbaz (US 20190269485 A1; hereinafter referred to as Elbaz) in view of Cline et al (US20020093563A1; hereinafter referred to as Cline)
Regarding Claim 1, Elbaz discloses a scanning system for determining a health-condition or a probability thereof based on scanning of an intraoral object (“Described herein are methods and apparatuses (e.g., devices and systems) that apply scans of both external and/or internal structures of teeth. These methods and apparatuses may generate and/or manipulate a model of a subject's oral cavity (e.g. teeth, jaw, palate, gingiva, etc.) that may include both surface topography and internal features (e.g., dentin, dental filling materials (including bases and linings), cracks and/or caries).” [0008]), the scanning system comprising:
a scanning device to scan the intraoral object (“Described herein are intraoral scanners for generating a three-dimensional (3D) model of a subject's intraoral region (e.g., tooth or teeth, gums, jaw, etc.)” [0230]. see Fig 1A for the scanning device wand 103), comprising:
an illumination-unit configured to illuminate the intraoral object with light (“The wand may include … one or more light sources 109, 110, 111…Although separate illumination sources are shown in FIG. 1B, in some variations a selectable light source may be used.” [0230]);
an image-sensor configured to record images of light from the illuminated intraoral object (“The wand may include one or more sensors 105 (e.g., cameras such as CMOS, CCDs, detectors, etc.) is emitted from a light source 203 and passed from one side of the tooth 201, and a sensor 205 (e.g., camera)” [0234], the purpose of camera 105 is to detect light from light sources 109,110,111; cameras 105 configuration can be changed to a specific angle as seen with camera 205 in [0234]);
an illumination-controller configured to operate the illumination-unit in a first illumination-mode to emit light in a first range of wavelengths, and configured to operate the illumination unit in a second illumination-mode to emit light in a second range of wavelengths, wherein the scanning device is configured to change between the first illumination-mode and the second illumination-mode (“Apparatuses for performing both surface and penetrative scanning of the teeth may include intraoral scanners for scanning into or around a subject's oral cavity and that are equipped with a light source or light sources that can illuminate in two or more spectral ranges: a surface-feature illuminating spectral range (e.g., visible light) and a penetrative spectral range (e.g. IR range, and particularly “near-IR,” including but not limited to 850 nm).” [0008], “and one or more processors operably connected to the hand-held intraoral wand, the one or more processors configured to cause the wand to cycle between a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode the wand emits light at the first spectral range for a first duration and the one or more processors receives three dimensional (3D) surface data in response, and wherein in the second mode the wand emits light at the second spectral range for a second duration and the one or more processors receives image data in response.” [0036];
an acquisition-controller configured to operate the image-sensor in a first acquisition-mode (“The intraoral scanner 101 may also include one or more processors, including linked processors or remote processors, for both controlling the wand 103 operation, including coordinating the scanning and in reviewing and processing the scanning and generation of the 3D model including surface and internal features.” [0232], “the system may alternate (switch) between scanning a portion of the tooth using a first modality 705 (e.g., surface scanning, using emitting light in an appropriate wavelength of range of wavelengths)” [0262]),
and configured to operate the image- sensor in a second acquisition-mode (“After an appropriate duration in the first modality, the method and apparatus may briefly switch to a second modality (e.g., a penetrative wavelength or range of wavelengths)” [0262]),
wherein the scanning device is configured to operate in the first acquisition-mode when the illumination unit is operating in the first illumination mode, and to operate in the second acquisition-mode when the illumination unit is operating in the second illumination mode (“ are intraoral scanning systems comprising: a hand-held intraoral wand having at least one sensor and a plurality of light sources, wherein the light sources are configured to emit light at a first spectral range and at a second spectral range, further wherein the second spectral range is penetrative; and one or more processors operably connected to the hand-held intraoral wand, the one or more processors configured to cause the wand to cycle between a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode the wand emits light at the first spectral range for a first duration and the one or more processors receives three dimensional (3D) surface data in response, and wherein in the second mode the wand emits light at the second spectral range for a second duration and the one or more processors receives image data in response.” [0036]),
whereby the scanning device forms a first dataset of the intraoral object when in the first acquisition-mode (“in the first mode the wand emits light at the first spectral range for a first duration and the one or more processors receives three dimensional (3D) surface data in response, and wherein in the second mode the wand emits light at the second spectral range for a second duration and the one or more processors receives image data in response.” [0036]))
and whereby the scanning device forms a second dataset of the intraoral object when in the second acquisition-mode (“in the first mode the wand emits light at the first spectral range for a first duration and the one or more processors receives three dimensional (3D) surface data in response, and wherein in the second mode the wand emits light at the second spectral range for a second duration and the one or more processors receives image data in response.” [0036]));
a data processor (“The intraoral scanner 101 may also include one or more processors, including linked processors or remote processors, for both controlling the wand 103 operation, including coordinating the scanning and in reviewing and processing the scanning and generation of the 3D model including surface and internal features.” [0232]) configured to:
form, from the first dataset, a 3D-model of the intraoral object (“the one or more processors configured to: generate a three-dimensional (3D) surface model of at least a portion of a subject's tooth using light from a first spectral range” [0025]);
form, from the second dataset, a 2D-image of the intraoral object and/or further details of the 3D-model (“a plurality of images taken at the second spectral range showing internal structures.” [0025], “any of the apparatuses (e.g., systems, devices, software, etc.) and methods described herein may use the two-dimensional penetrative images along with position and/or orientation information about the scanner relative to the object being imaged (e.g., the teeth) to segment the 2D penetrative images to form a three-dimensional model of the teeth including an internal structure from within the teeth.” [0064];
apply, on the 2D-image and/or the 3D-model, a diagnostic algorithm to identify a diagnostic feature of the intraoral object (“In any of the methods and apparatuses configured to perform these methods described herein, the data may be analyzed automatically or manually by the system. In particular, the method and apparatuses described herein may include examining internal features and/or identifying features of interest, including crack and caries. Features may be recognized based on feature-recognition criterion (e.g., dark or light regions in the penetration images), pattern-recognition, machine learning, or the like…Feature may be marked directly in the 3D model, on the penetration image, or in a data structure that references (e.g., shares a coordinate system with) the 3D model of the tooth formed by the methods and apparatuses described herein.” [0024],
determine, based on the diagnostic feature of the intraoral object, the health-condition or probability thereof (“In particular, the method and apparatuses described herein may include examining internal features and/or identifying features of interest, including crack and caries.” [0024],
redefine, during the scan where the diagnostic feature is determined and based on the diagnostic feature or the related determined health-condition or the probability thereof, the first acquisition-mode and the second acquisition-mode (“Features may be marked, including coloring, labeling or the like. Feature may be marked directly in the 3D model, on the penetration image, or in a data structure that references (e.g., shares a coordinate system with) the 3D model of the tooth formed” [0024], “cycling between the first modality and the second modality using a scanning scheme wherein cycling rapidly switches between the first modality and the second modality so that the internal data uses the same coordinate system as the 3D surface model data captured in the first modality; and adjusting the scanning scheme based on the captured 3D surface model data, the internal data, or both the 3D surface model data and the internal data.” [0029]):
and a display, whereon the 3D-model and the health-condition or the probability thereof are displayed (“One or more additional outputs 119 may also be included for outputting or presenting information, including display screens, printers, etc.” [0232], “Features may be marked, including coloring, labeling or the like. Feature may be marked directly in the 3D model, on the penetration image, or in a data structure that references (e.g., shares a coordinate system with) the 3D model of the tooth formed by the methods and apparatuses described herein.” [0024]).
Elbaz does not specifically disclose that said first acquisition-mode is defined by a first gain-value set for the first range of wavelengths and said second acquisition-mode is defined by a second gain- value set for the first range of wavelengths.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cline teaches an imaging system for white light and fluorescence endoscopy that includes an automatic gain control circuit that adjusts the brightness of an image produced based on distribution of pixel intensities in one or more video frames [0001].
Cline also teaches that said first acquisition-mode is defined by a first gain-value set for the first range of wavelengths and said second acquisition-mode is defined by a second gain- value set for the first range of wavelengths (“The AGC circuit adjusts the gain of the imaging system by adjusting the gain of two high sensitivity imaging devices such as image intensified CCD (ICCDs) transducers in a fluorescence camera head and by adjusting the light intensity of the excitation light source. The video signals from a pair channels (the “green” and “red” channel) of a fluorescence camera are supplied to a set of counters. The counters, consisting of counters connected to a clocking oscillator, measure the length of time each video signal has a magnitude that exceeds a reference threshold that is individually set for each counter. Thus, by appropriately arranging the threshold levels, the outputs of the counters can be made to indicate the distribution of video signal amplitudes in one or more video fields. Based upon the outputs of the counters, a decision tree algorithm determines if the gain of the imaging system or the light source intensity should be increased or decreased. A gain control equation determines the appropriate value of light source intensity change and maps the resulting imaging system gain increase or decrease to an individual gain change for each ICCD transducer such that the relative gain between the two channels remains the same.” [0014], “if the camera gain is to be increased or decreased, the gain control equation 120 produces a pair of binary numbers whose magnitude will result in a proportional gain change in the two ICCDs. An increase/decrease gain control circuit 122 receives the binary numbers from the gain control equation 120 and converts the binary numbers received into a pair of voltage levels that are supplied to a pair of transducer gain controls 124 and 126. The transducer gain controls 124 and 126 adjust the absolute gain of the intensified CCD transducers 44 a and 44 b respectively.” [0042])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elbaz as outlined above with said first acquisition-mode is defined by a first gain-value set for the first range of wavelengths and said second acquisition-mode is defined by a second gain- value set for the first range of wavelengths as taught by Cline, because an automatic gain control circuit that will optimally adjust the brightness of autofluorescence images and that will maintain a defined relationship between the two channels of the imaging system [0011].
Regarding Claim 2, Elbaz discloses that the determination of the health- condition or the probability thereof is independent of one or more dataset(s) of the intraoral object that is/are formed 24 hours or more before the first dataset and second dataset being formed (“Thus, a method of generating a model of a subject's teeth may include: using a hand-held intraoral scanner to scan a portion of a subject's tooth using a first modality to capture three-dimensional (3D) surface model data of the tooth; using the hand-held intraoral scanner to scan the portion of the subject's tooth using a second modality to image into the tooth using a penetrative wavelength to capture internal data of the tooth; cycling between the first modality and the second modality using a scanning scheme wherein cycling rapidly switches between the first modality and the second modality so that the internal data uses the same coordinate system as the 3D surface model data captured in the first modality; and adjusting the scanning scheme based on the captured 3D surface model data, the internal data, or both the 3D surface model data and the internal data.” [0029], Elbaz does not disclose combining previously acquired datasets thus there is an inherent independence between scans conducted at different times)
Regarding Claim 3, Elbaz discloses that the data processor is further configured to correlate at least a part of the 2D-image to at least a corresponding 3D-point on or inside the 3D-model, whereby the at least part of the 2D-image and the health-condition or the probability thereof is related to a 3D-location of the 3D-point on or inside the 3D-model (“Features may be marked, including coloring, labeling or the like. Feature may be marked directly in the 3D model, on the penetration image, or in a data structure that references (e.g., shares a coordinate system with) the 3D model of the tooth formed by the methods and apparatuses described herein.” [0024])
Regarding Claim 4, Elbaz discloses that the data processor is further configured to correlate at least a part of the 2D-image to at least a corresponding 3D-point on or inside the 3D-model, whereby the at least part of the 2D-image and the health-condition and/or the probability thereof is related to a 3D-location of the 3D-point on or inside the 3D-model (“using a first coordinate system; generate a three-dimensional (3D) surface model of at least a portion of a subject's tooth using the surface information; take a plurality of images in the second spectral range, wherein the images reference the first coordinate system; and generate a 3D model of the subject's tooth including internal structures based on the 3D surface model and the a plurality of images.” [0026])
Regarding Claim 5, Elbaz discloses that the health-condition or the probability thereof is displayed with a 3D-diagnosis indicator between the health-condition or the probability thereof and the 3D-model to show how the health-condition or the probability thereof correlates to the 3D-location of the 3D- point on or inside the 3D-model (“using a first coordinate system; generate a three-dimensional (3D) surface model of at least a portion of a subject's tooth using the surface information; take a plurality of images in the second spectral range, wherein the images reference the first coordinate system; and generate a 3D model of the subject's tooth including internal structures based on the 3D surface model and the a plurality of images.” [0026], “Features may be marked, including coloring, labeling or the like. Feature may be marked directly in the 3D model, on the penetration image, or in a data structure that references (e.g., shares a coordinate system with) the 3D model of the tooth formed by the methods and apparatuses described herein.” [0024]).
Regarding Claim 6, Elbaz discloses that the health-condition or the probability thereof is displayed with a 2D-diagnosis indicator between the health-condition or the probability thereof and the 2D-image or the at least part of the 2D-image to show how the health-condition or the probability thereof correlates to the diagnostic feature (“using a first coordinate system; generate a three-dimensional (3D) surface model of at least a portion of a subject's tooth using the surface information; take a plurality of images in the second spectral range, wherein the images reference the first coordinate system; and generate a 3D model of the subject's tooth including internal structures based on the 3D surface model and the a plurality of images.” [0026], “Features may be marked, including coloring, labeling or the like. Feature may be marked directly in the 3D model, on the penetration image, or in a data structure that references (e.g., shares a coordinate system with) the 3D model of the tooth formed by the methods and apparatuses described herein.” [0024])
Regarding Claim 7, Elbaz discloses that the diagnostic algorithm is based on artificial intelligence or is based on pattern recognition (“In any of the methods and apparatuses configured to perform these methods described herein, the data may be analyzed automatically or manually by the system. In particular, the method and apparatuses described herein may include examining internal features and/or identifying features of interest, including crack and caries. Features may be recognized based on feature-recognition criterion (e.g., dark or light regions in the penetration images), pattern-recognition, machine learning, or the like.” [0024]).
Regarding Claim 9, Elbaz discloses that the first illumination-mode is defined by a first period of illumination-time and said second illumination-mode is defined by a second period of illumination-time (“Any of the methods described herein may include automatically adjusting the duration of time spent scanning in first modality, the duration of time spent in the second modality, or the duration of time spent in the first and the second modality when cycling between the first modality and the second modality.” [0029], “In FIG. 1B, three light sources are shown: a first light source 109 configured to emit light in a first spectral range for detection of surface features (e.g., visible light, monochromatic visible light, etc.; this light does not have to be visible light), a second color light source (e.g., white light between 400-700 nm, e.g., approximately 400-600 nm), and a third light source 111 configured to emit light in a second spectral range for detection of internal features within the tooth (e.g., by trans-illumination, small-angle penetration imaging, laser florescence, etc., which may generically be referred to as penetration imaging, e.g., in the near-IR). Although separate illumination sources are shown in FIG. 1B, in some variations a selectable light source may be used.” [0230])
Regarding Claim 10, Elbaz discloses that said first acquisition-mode is defined by a first period of acquisition-time and said second acquisition-mode is defined by a second period of acquisition-time. (“Any of the methods described herein may include automatically adjusting the duration of time spent scanning in first modality, the duration of time spent in the second modality, or the duration of time spent in the first and the second modality when cycling between the first modality and the second modality.” [0029], “In FIG. 1B, three light sources are shown: a first light source 109 configured to emit light in a first spectral range for detection of surface features (e.g., visible light, monochromatic visible light, etc.; this light does not have to be visible light), a second color light source (e.g., white light between 400-700 nm, e.g., approximately 400-600 nm), and a third light source 111 configured to emit light in a second spectral range for detection of internal features within the tooth (e.g., by trans-illumination, small-angle penetration imaging, laser florescence, etc., which may generically be referred to as penetration imaging, e.g., in the near-IR). Although separate illumination sources are shown in FIG. 1B, in some variations a selectable light source may be used.” [0230])
Regarding Claim 16, Elbaz does not specifically disclose that the scanning device is powered by an internal power supply, preferably a battery.
However, Elbaz discloses that the scanning device is powered by a power supply (“the sleeve 3105 slips over the end of the wand so that the light sources and cameras (sensors) already on the wand are able to visualize through the sleeve, and so that the electrical contacts 3123, which may provide control, power and/or data transmission to the LEDs and/or sensors 3125 integrated into or on the sleeve. The sleeve includes a pair of wing regions 3103 on opposite sides, facing each other and extending from the distal end of the wand when the sleeve is placed over the wand.” [0347]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elbaz as outlined above with the scanning device being powered by an internal power supply, preferably a battery, because one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions of powering a scanner with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elbaz in view of Cline as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Blanquart et al (US20140160260A1)
Regarding Claim 17, Elbaz in view of Cline discloses all limitations noted above except that the first gain-value and the second gain-value are controlled via a pin to the image sensor, whereby the first gain-value is synchronized with the first dataset or parts thereof, and the second gain-value is synchronized with the second dataset or parts thereof or the 2D-image or parts thereof.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blanquart teaches methods, systems, and computer based products for digital imaging that may be primarily suited to medical applications [0033].
Blanquart also teaches that the first gain-value and the second gain-value are controlled via a pin to the image sensor (“FIGS. 10 and 11 illustrate the timing for two alternative ways in which multiple sets of pixels in an array may integrate different degrees of light. The exposure modulation may be effected by virtue of two global TX pulses, GlobalTX1 and GlobalTX2. They effectively create two global shutters when combined with the light pulse edge(s).” [0051], “To avoid confusion the rolling TX signals may be referred to here as TX1 and TX2, whereas the global TX signals may be called GlobalTX1 and GlobalTX2. Global pulses affect all attached pixels in the array at the same time. The non-global pulses may be applied via the rolling pointer.” [0053], “Note that pixels may be held in reset as long as their transfer (TX) and reset (RST) transistors may be held on (i.e., the high state in the Figures). In that state any current in the photodiode may be drained off to the supply.” [0055]),
whereby the first gain-value is synchronized with the first dataset or parts thereof and the second gain-value is synchronized with the second dataset or parts thereof or the 2D-image or parts thereof (“In this system, the illumination of the scene may be provided by virtue of monochromatic fast light pulses, which may be synchronized to the frame captures by the image sensor. Each frame may receive a single wavelength of light or any combination of wavelengths, e.g., three.” [0037], “For descriptive purposes, the case of two sets of pixels of different exposures in the checkerboard pattern (as described above), will mainly be emphasized. It should be noted however, that the scope of this disclosure is intended to cover cases with higher numbers of pixel types (i.e., exposures) and with alternative physical pixel type arrangements. The spatial pattern depends on the number of pixel sets, the pixel layout, the pixel array arrangement and the pixel array connections to the peripheral circuitry.” [0052], “Instead of instigating 2 separate discrete light pulses, a single light pulse stays on during the period that both TX transistors may be turned off. The integrated light may be proportional to the time between the TX falling edge and the light pulse falling edge, therefore different pixel responses may be achieved by staggering the GlobalTX1 and GlobalTX2 falling edges. For the example shown, the TX1 pixels integrate ˜⅓ of the light generated by the light pulse whereas the TX2 pixels integrate ˜⅔ of the total pulse energy.” [0057], “A gain may be applied to the short exposure sample, which may be equal to the exposure-time ratio, TL/TS. This requires the addition of one extra bit for each factor 2 of ratio.” [0074]
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elbaz in view of Cline as outlined above with the first gain-value and the second gain-value are controlled via a pin to the image sensor, whereby the first gain-value is synchronized with the first dataset or parts thereof, and the second gain-value is synchronized with the second dataset or parts thereof or the 2D-image or parts thereof as taught by Blanquart, because it allows for optimal, effective operation of this type of dynamic range (DR) enhancement (i.e., dual exposure) that may be continuous control over the exposure time ratio [0066].
Regarding Claim 18, Elbaz in view of Cline discloses all limitations noted above except that the first gain-value and the second gain-value are controlled via a pin to the image sensor.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Blanquart teaches that the first gain-value and the second gain-value are controlled via a pin to the image sensor (“FIGS. 10 and 11 illustrate the timing for two alternative ways in which multiple sets of pixels in an array may integrate different degrees of light. The exposure modulation may be effected by virtue of two global TX pulses, GlobalTX1 and GlobalTX2. They effectively create two global shutters when combined with the light pulse edge(s).” [0051], “To avoid confusion the rolling TX signals may be referred to here as TX1 and TX2, whereas the global TX signals may be called GlobalTX1 and GlobalTX2. Global pulses affect all attached pixels in the array at the same time. The non-global pulses may be applied via the rolling pointer.” [0053], “Note that pixels may be held in reset as long as their transfer (TX) and reset (RST) transistors may be held on (i.e., the high state in the Figures). In that state any current in the photodiode may be drained off to the supply.” [0055]),
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Elbaz in view of Cline as outlined above with the first gain-value and the second gain-value are controlled via a pin to the image sensor as taught by Blanquart, because it allows for optimal, effective operation of this type of dynamic range (DR) enhancement (i.e., dual exposure) that may be continuous control over the exposure time ratio [0066].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVEN MALDONADO whose telephone number is 703-756-1421. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 am-4:00 pm PST M-Th Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koharski can be reached on (571) 272-7230. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Steven Maldonado/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797