DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendments to the Specification filed on 11/25/2025 have been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the cutting edge” in line 10, for consistency purposes, should be –the at least one cutting edge--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the cutting edge” in line 6 and “the opposite cutting edge” in line 7, for consistency purposes, should be –the at least one cutting edge—and –the opposite at least one cutting edge--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 as amended, further limits claim 1 so as to have the material feed be provided on or in the holder of the machining head and additionally, to have the material feed be “provided on the machining head or is assigned to the machining head”. However, the specification as filed is silent as to have the combination of the material feed be provided on both on/in the holder of the machining head and on the machining head. Initially, claim 2 set forth the alternative of having the material feed be 1) provided on the machine head or assigned to the machining head or 2) provided on or in the holder of the machining head. As such, the subject matter aforementioned, was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Further clarification is needed.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 15-16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in:
Lines 5-6, the phrase “the workpiece is rotating during machining in a machining direction from upstream to downstream with respect to the at least one cutting edge of the machining tool”, renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear in relation to what is this “machining direction from upstream to downstream with respect to the at least one cutting edge” is taken from. From where to where is machining direction from upstream to downstream with respect to the at least one cutting edge, defined at? Further clarification is needed. Additionally, since the “cutting edge” is of the machining head, it is unclear if the “machining tool” also has a cutting edge. How could the cutting edge, be both of the machining head and the machining tool. Further clarification is needed
Line 5 “a machining direction”, renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear in relation to what is this “machining direction” taken from. From where to where is this direction defined at? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 11 recites in:
lines 2-3 “a working chamber” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what are the differences between the “working space” as set forth in claim 1, and the “working chamber” as set forth in claim 11. Further clarification is needed.
Lines 4-5 “a working space”. However, since claim 1, line 4 already sets forth that there is “a working space” it is unclear if this working space is in addition to the one set forth in claim 1 or not. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 12 recites in:
Lines 2-3 “a working space”. However, since claim 1, line 4 already sets forth that there is “a working space” it is unclear if this working space is in addition to the one set forth in claim 1 or not. Further clarification is needed.
Line 4 “a width of the working space” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear from where to where is this “width” taken from, and in relation to what is this “width” being defined at.
Line 5 “in a height” of the cutting edge, renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear from where to where is this “in the height” taken from, and in relation to what is this “height” being defined at.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scribner US 2,895,211.
In regards to claim 1, Scribner discloses a machining tool (Figure 2) for machining a rotating workpiece (e.g. turning operation as set forth in col 1, line 20), the machining tool comprising a tool main body (1), with at least one machining head (3) which is provided on the tool main body (1) and which, by way of a holder (2), receives at least one cutting edge (4 or 5) which is oriented towards a working space for the workpiece to be machined, wherein the workpiece is rotating during machining (e.g. turning operation) in a machining direction from upstream to downstream with respect to the at least one cutting edge of the machine tool, wherein a material feed (10) for a conditioning material (12) to be applied to the surface of the workpiece machined by the cutting edge is provided downstream of the cutting edge as viewed in the machining direction, wherein a feed opening (refer to outlet opening between 4 and 5 as in Figure 3) of the material feed is provided adjacently to a flank face of the –at least one-- cutting edge (one of 4 or 5), wherein the material feed (10) is provided on or in the holder (2) of the machining head (3) and wherein the conditioning material (12) is formed as a solid body (col 1, lines 46-48), and is applied by friction by the material feed to the surface to be machined.
In regards to claim 2, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the material feed (10) is provided on the machining head (3) or is assigned to the machining head (3).
In regards to claim 4, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the material feed (10) has a feed opening which is capable of being oriented pointing towards the working space and is capable of being oriented at an acute angle to the working space.
In regards to claim 7, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses a dispensing device (24) is provided, by means of which the conditioning material (12) is guidable out through the material feed (10) in the direction of the working space, said dispensing device (24) being positionable separately from the machining head (3) in the working space.
In regards to claim 8, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 7, Scribner also discloses that the dispensing device (24) is detachably fastened to the holder (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the alternative, claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribner US 2,895,211 in view of Sweet US 3,187,611.
In regards to claim 1, Scribner discloses at least one machining head (1) for machining a rotating workpiece (e.g. turning operation as set forth in col 1, line 20) which is capable of being provided on a tool main body and which, by way of a holder (2), receives at least one cutting edge (4 or 5) which is oriented towards a working space for a workpiece to be machined, wherein the workpiece is rotating during machining (e.g. turning operation) in a machining direction from upstream to downstream with respect to the at least one cutting edge of the machine tool, wherein a material feed (10) for a conditioning material (12) to be applied to the surface of the workpiece machined by the cutting edge is provided downstream of the cutting edge as viewed in the machining direction, wherein a feed opening (refer to outlet opening between 4 and 5 as in Figure 3) of the material feed is provided adjacently to a flank face of the –at least one-- cutting edge (one of 4 or 5), wherein the material feed (10) is provided on or in the holder (2) of the machining head (1) and wherein the conditioning material (12) is formed as a solid body (col 1, lines 46-48), and is applied by friction by the material feed to the surface to be machined.
Although there is a suggestion in Scribner, that the at least one machining head is provided on a tool main body of a machining tool (so as to machine a workpiece), this is not explicitly disclosed.
Nevertheless, Sweet teaches that it is well known in the art to have at least one machining head (2) provided on a tool main body of a machining tool (see Figures 1, 3 and 4). As in Figures 1, 3 and 4, there are a plurality of machining heads spaced apart by a gap to form a working space.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have Scribner’s machining head be provided on the tool main body of Sweet’s machining tool, in order to perform a turning operation, since Scribner has explicitly stated that the machining head is to be used in various metal cutting operations, such as turning operations. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to duplicate machining heads of Scribner’s and thus provide them on the tool main body of Sweet’s machining tool, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
In regards to claim 2, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner as modified also discloses that the material feed (10 of Scribner) is provided on the machining head (1 of Scribner) or is assigned to the machining head (1 of Scribner).
In regards to claim 4, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner as modified also discloses that the material feed (10 of Scribner) has a feed opening which is capable of being oriented pointing towards the working space and is capable of being oriented at an acute angle to the working space.
In regards to claim 7, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner as modified also discloses a dispensing device (24 of Scribner) is provided, by means of which the conditioning material (12 of Scribner) is guidable out through the material feed (10 of Scribner) in the direction of the working space, said dispensing device (24 of Scribner) being positionable separately from the machining head (1 of Scribner) in the working space.
In regards to claim 8, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 7, Scribner as modified also discloses that the dispensing device (24 of Scribner) is detachably fastened to the holder (2 of Scribner).
In regards to claim 11, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 2, Scribner as modified also discloses that the feed opening of the material feed for the conditioning material is capable of being oriented pointing towards a working chamber at an angle of less than 90° or at an angle of 90° and wherein two mutually opposed machining heads (as taught by Sweet) are provided on the tool main body (Figure 3 and 4 of Sweet) and are spaced apart by a gap to form a working space (see Figures 3 and 4 of Sweet).
In regards to claim 12, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 2, Scribner as modified also discloses two mutually opposed machining heads (of Scribner now in Sweet) are provided on the tool main body (of Sweet) and are spaced apart by a gap to form a working space and at least one of the two machining heads is provided displaceably (via adjustment screws 6 and 7 of Sweet) on the tool main body (of Sweet) in order to adjust a width of the working space between the two machining heads and/or wherein at least one of the two machining heads (of Scribner now in Sweet) is adjustable (via adjustment screws 6 and 7) in a height of the –at least one--cutting edge of one machining head relative to the opposite –at least one--cutting edge of the other machining head.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribner US 2,895,211 in view of Sweet US 3,187,611 as applied to claim 4 and claim 1, respectively, and in further view of Dudley US 3,971,114.
In regards to claim 5, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 4, Scribner also discloses that the feed opening of the material feed (10 of Scribner) lies in an end face of the holder facing the working space (see Figures 1-3 of Scribner), and the end face of the holder is provided at a relief angle, and wherein the material feed (10 of Scribner) is formed as a bore in the holder (see Figure 3 of Scribner), said bore having an opening (at about 25 of Scribner) opposite the feed opening for loading the conditioning material (12 of Scribner).
Although there is a suggestion in Figures 1-3 of Scribner that the relief angle of the end face is equal to that of the cutting edge, since the cutting edge forms a single surface with the end surface, this is not explicitly disclosed.
Nevertheless, Dudley teaches that it is well known in the art to have a brazed cutting edge (21) in a holder of a machining head. As shown in Figures 1 and 3a, 3c and 4, a relief angle of an end face 53 of the holder is equal to a relief angle of the cutting edge. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by providing a brazed cutting edge in the holder will allow for regrinding of the cutting edge when worn out instead of disposing of the entire holder. Additionally, it allows for permanently fixing an insert to a holder where the insert is made of a harder (likely more expensive) material than the holder. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that relief angles will depend on the type of material being machined and to provide necessary clearance to prevent any rubbing between the holder/cutting edge and workpiece and thus damage the surface finish.
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to modify Scribner’s machine head with a brazed cutting edge where the relief angle of the end face is equal to that of the cutting edge based on the teachings of Dudley, depending on the type of material being machined and to provide necessary clearance to prevent any rubbing between the holder/cutting edge and workpiece and thus damage the surface finish.
In regards to claim 17, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the holder (of Scribner) of the machining head (of Scribner) comprises a brazed cutting edge (as modified by Dudley).
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribner US 2,895,211 as applied to claim 4 and claim 1, respectively, and in further view of Dudley US 3,971,114.
In regards to claim 5, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 4, Scribner also discloses that the feed opening of the material feed (10) lies in an end face of the holder facing the working space (see Figures 1-3), and the end face of the holder is provided at a relief angle, and wherein the material feed (10) is formed as a bore in the holder (see Figure 3), said bore having an opening (at about 25) opposite the feed opening for loading the conditioning material (12).
Although there is a suggestion in Figures 1-3 of Scribner that the relief angle of the end face is equal to that of the cutting edge, since the cutting edge forms a single surface with the end surface, this is not explicitly disclosed.
Nevertheless, Dudley teaches that it is well known in the art to have a brazed cutting edge (21) in a holder of a machining head. As shown in Figures 1 and 3a, 3c and 4, a relief angle of an end face 53 of the holder is equal to a relief angle of the cutting edge. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by providing a brazed cutting edge in the holder will allow for regrinding of the cutting edge when worn out instead of disposing of the entire holder. Additionally, it allows for permanently fixing an insert to a holder where the insert is made of a harder (likely more expensive) material than the holder. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that relief angles will depend on the type of material being machined and to provide necessary clearance to prevent any rubbing between the holder/cutting edge and workpiece and thus damage the surface finish.
As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to modify Scribner’s machine head with a brazed cutting edge where the relief angle of the end face is equal to that of the cutting edge based on the teachings of Dudley, depending on the type of material being machined and to provide necessary clearance to prevent any rubbing between the holder/cutting edge and workpiece and thus damage the surface finish.
In regards to claim 17, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the holder (of Scribner) of the machining head (of Scribner) comprises a brazed cutting edge (as modified by Dudley).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribner US 2,895,211 as applied to claim 2, in view of Sweet US 3,187,611.
In regards to claim 11, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 2, Scribner also discloses that the feed opening of the material feed for the conditioning material is capable of being oriented pointing towards a working chamber at an angle of less than 90° or at an angle of 90°.
However, Scribner fails to disclose that there are two mutually opposed machining heads are provided on the tool main body and are spaced apart by a gap to form a working space.
Nevertheless, Sweet teaches that it is well known in the art to have two opposed machining heads (2) provided on a tool main body (see Figures 1, 3 and 4) and are spaced apart by a gap to form a working space.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have two opposed spaced apart machining heads on the tool main body as taught by Sweet, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routing skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)
In regards to claim 12, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 2, Scribner also discloses that the feed opening of the material feed for the conditioning material is capable of being oriented pointing towards a working chamber at an angle of less than 90° or at an angle of 90°.
However, Scribner fails to disclose that there are two mutually opposed machining heads are provided on the tool main body and are spaced apart by a gap to form a working space.
Nevertheless, Sweet teaches that it is well known in the art to have two opposed machining heads (2) provided on a tool main body (see Figures 1, 3 and 4) and are spaced apart by a gap to form a working space.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have two opposed spaced apart machining heads on the tool main body as taught by Sweet, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routing skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribner US 2,895,211 in view of Sweet US 3,187,611 as applied to claim 1, in view of Nelson US 4,065,223.
In regards to claim 15, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the at least one cutting edge (4 or 5 of Scribner) on the machining head (of Scribner) are tilted with respect to the working space.
However, Scribner fails to disclose that are negatively tilted with respect to the working space.
Nevertheless, Nelson teaches that it is well known in the art to have a machining tool where cutting edges on a machining head are negatively tilted with respect to a working space, to improve surface finish (column 1 lines, 61-67 and column 2, lines 1-19). Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that negative cutting angles will depend on the type of material being machined and prevent the cutting edge from breakage (when machining difficult to cut materials).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the cutting edges on the machine head of Scribner to be negatively tilted with respect to the working space, based on the teachings of Nelson, depending on the type of material being machined, to improve surface finish and prevent the cutting edge from breakage when machining difficult to cut materials.
In regards to claim 16, Scribner as modified discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner as modified also discloses that the at least one cutting edge (4 and 5 of Scribner) comprises a main cutting edge (one of 4 or 5 of Scribner) wherein the main cutting edge (of Scribner) is oriented at an angle to the working space.
However, Scribner fails to disclose that the angle is of 1° to 10°.
Nevertheless, Nelson teaches that it is well known in the art to have a machining tool where cutting edges on a machining head are negatively tilted with respect to a working space at an angle of 1½° ±½°, to improve surface finish (column 1 lines, 61-67 and column 2, lines 1-34). Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that negative cutting angles will depend on the type of material being machined and prevent the cutting edge from breakage (when machining difficult to cut materials).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the cutting edges on the machine head of Scribner to be negatively tilted with respect to the working space at an angle of 1° to 10°, such as 1½° ±½°, based on the teachings of Nelson, depending on the type of material being machined, to improve surface finish and prevent the cutting edge from breakage when machining difficult to cut materials.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the cutting edges on the machine head of Scribner to be negatively tilted with respect to the working space at an angle of 1° to 10°, such as 1½° ±½°, based on the teachings of Nelson, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (e.g. type of material being machined, surface finish, and cutting edge strength). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scribner US 2,895,211 as applied to claim 1, in view of Nelson US 4,065,223.
In regards to claim 15, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the cutting edges on the machining head are tilted with respect to the working space.
However, Scribner fails to disclose that are negatively tilted with respect to the working space.
Nevertheless, Nelson teaches that it is well known in the art to have a machining tool where cutting edges on a machining head are negatively tilted with respect to a working space, to improve surface finish (column 1 lines, 61-67 and column 2, lines 1-19). Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that negative cutting angles will depend on the type of material being machined and prevent the cutting edge from breakage (when machining difficult to cut materials).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the cutting edges on the machine head of Scribner to be negatively tilted with respect to the working space, based on the teachings of Nelson, depending on the type of material being machined, to improve surface finish and prevent the cutting edge from breakage when machining difficult to cut materials.
In regards to claim 16, Scribner discloses the machining tool according to claim 1, Scribner also discloses that the main cutting edge of the cutting edge is oriented at an angle to the working space.
However, Scribner fails to disclose that the angle is of 1° to 10°.
Nevertheless, Nelson teaches that it is well known in the art to have a machining tool where cutting edges on a machining head are negatively tilted with respect to a working space at an angle of 1½° ±½°, to improve surface finish (column 1 lines, 61-67 and column 2, lines 1-34). Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that negative cutting angles will depend on the type of material being machined and prevent the cutting edge from breakage (when machining difficult to cut materials).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the cutting edges on the machine head of Scribner to be negatively tilted with respect to the working space at an angle of 1° to 10°, such as 1½° ±½°, based on the teachings of Nelson, depending on the type of material being machined, to improve surface finish and prevent the cutting edge from breakage when machining difficult to cut materials.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the cutting edges on the machine head of Scribner to be negatively tilted with respect to the working space at an angle of 1° to 10°, such as 1½° ±½°, based on the teachings of Nelson, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (e.g. type of material being machined, surface finish, and cutting edge strength). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/25/2025 with respect to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 15-16 and 17 have been carefully and fully considered, and in light of Applicant’s amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection under:
35 USC § 102(a)(1) over Scribner US 2,895,211 for claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7 and 8;
In the alternative 35 USC § 103 over Scribner US 2,895,211 in view of Sweet US 3,187,611 for claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 11-12;
35 U.S.C. 103 over Scribner US 2,895,211, Sweet US 3,187,611 and in further view of Dudley US 3,971,114 for claim(s) 5 and 17;
35 U.S.C. 103 over Scribner US 2,895,211 in view of Dudley US 3,971,114 for claim(s) 5 and 17;
35 U.S.C. 103 over Scribner US 2,895,211 in view of Sweet US 3,187,611 for claim(s) 11 and 12;
35 U.S.C. 103 over Scribner US 2,895,211, Sweet US 3,187,611 and in further view of Nelson US 4,065,223 for claim(s) 15 and 16;
35 U.S.C. 103 over Scribner US 2,895,211 in further view of Nelson US 4,065,223 for claim(s) 15 and 16;
have been incorporated as aforementioned.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722