DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ amendments to the claims and arguments filed on August 14, 2026, have been received and entered. Claims 1, 8 have been amended, while claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 15-58, 63 and 64 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 59-61 and 62 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on January 21, 2025, is acknowledged. Because applicants did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
This application is 371 of PCT/US2020/054745 filed on 10/08/2020, which claims priority from US provisional application no 62/913,092 filed on 10/09/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/14/206 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 59-61 and 62 under consideration.
Withdrawn- Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-14, 59-63 and 64 were also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Tasic (PNAS, 2011, 108, 7902-7907 or US2012124686) as evidenced by Schillit et al (Curr Protoc Hum Genet. 2017 91: 15.10.1–40), Inniss et al (Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 2017, 114(8), 1837-1846)/ Jusiak (ACS Synth. Biol. 2019, 8, 16−24) and further in view of Xu et al (BMC Biotechnology 2013, 13:87, 1-17). Upon further consideration, previous rejection of claims are hereby withdrawn in view of alternative rejection of record.
Maintained -Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-in modified form
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 14, 59, 61 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Padidam (USPGPUB 20180346934, dated 12/6/2018filed on 6/6/2018, EFD2/2/2005), Inniss et al (Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 2017, 114(8), 1837-1846), Jusiak (ACS Synth. Biol. 2019, 8, 16−24) and (Xu et al (BMC Biotechnology 2013, 13:87, 1-17). 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 59-61 and 62
With respect to claims 1, 8, 14, Padidam teaches transgenic animal whose genome comprising a first recombination attachment site and a second recombination attachment site, wherein the recombinase is selected from the group consisting of an A118 recombinase, a SF370.1 recombinase, a SPβc2 recombinase, a ϕRv1 recombinase, and a Bxb1 recombinase (see par. 145, 167, 172). Padidam further teaches embryo (para 167), wherein the animal is produced by introducing a single cell embryo comprising a nucleic acid construct comprising a first recombination site capable of recombining with a second recombination site found within the genome of the organism from which the cell was derived and a nucleic acid fragment of interest, in a manner such that the nucleic acid fragment of interest is stably integrated into the DNA of germline cells of the animal (see para. 172, 212), wherein animal is mouse or rat (see para. 168).
Regarding claims 2, 5, 9, Padidam teaches that the animal of claim 1, further comprising a polynucleotide encoding Bxb1 recombinase (para 205). It is further disclosed that the first Bxb1 attachment site is an attP site; the second Bxb1attachment site is an attB site (para212). Padidam teaches that the first and second Bxb1 attachment sites are separated from each other by 50 to 500 nucleotides (see para. 32) as recombination sites typically include left and right arm separated by a core or spacer region (see para. 212). Padidam discloses a 52 bp synthetic oligonucleotide sequence containing the attP site of Bxb1 recombinase (SEQ ID NO: 16 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1), and a 46bp synthetic oligonucleotide sequence containing the attB site (SEQIDNO:17 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2) of Bxb1 recombinase were cloned in that order between the CMV promoter and luciferase gene (see para. 212). Xu who teaches wild type Bxbl attachment site is selected from an attP site and/or attB site, wherein an attP sequence that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 and/or an attB sequence that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 (table 2).
Padidam contemplated among various embodiment a mouse or mouse embryo whose genome comprises a first recombination attachment site and a second recombination attachment site, wherein recombinase is selected from a group of recombinases including Bxb1 recombinase, however, the reference differs from claimed invention by not disclosing
(i) a first attP Bxb1 attachment site comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 and a second attP* Bxb1 attachment comprising SEQ ID NO: 7,
or a first attB Bxb1 attachment site comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and a second attB* Bxb1 attachment site modified comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8
.Inniss cures the deficiency by disclosing a Bxbl recombinase-mediated cassette exchange (RMCE) system comprising two Bxbl attp attachment sites in the genome, while a donor polynucleotide comprising a sequence of interest flanked by attB is constructed for insertion of the sequence of interest in the CHO cell genome (see page 1838 Fig. 1). Inniss discloses that "Bxbl integrase is very efficient in catalyzing recombination between its attP and attB sites in mammalian cells. The in vitro data shows that altering the GT dinucleotide in the center of the attP site disrupts its ability to recombine with the wild-type attB site, while making compensatory mutations on attB can restore the function of the attP: attB pair. Inniss paired the wild-type GT sequence with a GA mutant that proved orthogonal to the wild-type GT sequence to construct the Bxbl RMCE system "( page 1838, col. 1, paragraph 1, Figure 1A) (limitation of claims 1, 4, 8, 11, 63 and 64). The use of wild-type GT sequences in the RMCE landing pad and the corresponding donor DNA, respectively, paired with the GA mutant, avoids integration of the plasmid backbone into the landing pad as GT and GA are orthogonal. Inniss shows that the Bxbl RMCE system is specific and highly efficient (see page 1845, col. 1, para. 1). This is further evidenced by Jusiak who reported that a point mutation (Bxb1-GA) in the Bxb1 target site significantly increases the Bxb1-mediated integration efficiency at the Rosa26 locus in CHO cells, resulting in the highest integration efficiency reported using site-specific integrase in mammalian cells, that since Bxb1-GA does not cross-react with the Bxb1 wild-type site, it can be used for applications requiring orthogonal target site pairs. Jusiak teaches a toolbox of integrase for inserting payloads such as gene circuits or therapeutic transgenes into mammalian cells (abstract). Furthermore, Jusiak also describes that the mouse Rosa26 locus is a target locus suitable for stable and long-term expression (col. 1, para. 1of the introduction, page 16). Among the base sequences of Bxb1-GA-pENTR-attB-top described in Table 1 (see sequence alignment). Bxb1-GA-Rosa-attP comprising nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 set forth in Table 1.
Bxb1-GA-pENTRattB-bottom comprising nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8 set forth in table 1.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the mouse of Padidam to insert donor nucleic acid that is flanked by attp/attb Bxb1 attachment sites using serine-integrase mediated integration as disclosed in Jusiak, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve the serine integrase system efficiency in a mouse and/or mouse embryo, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated select Bxb1 attachment sites over other as prior art recognized that Bxb1 integrase yielded more recombinants and displayed less damage to the recombination sites as compared to other serine integrase including φC31 integrase (see Xu). Further, prior art also recognized the advantage of altering the GT dinucleotide in the center of the bxb1 attachment site with a GA mutant that is orthogonal to the wild-type GT sequence to construct the Bxbl RMCE system to prevent integration of the plasmid backbone into the landing pad as GT and GA are orthogonal. Absent evidence of any unexpected and/or superior results, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in using Bxb1 attachment site because prior art successfully reported inserting a first Bxb1 attachment site and a second modified Bxb1 attachment to insert gene of interest from the teaching of Inniss. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396).
Claims 6, 8, 13, 60 and 62 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Padidam (USPGPUB 20180346934), Inniss et al (Biotechnology and Bioengineering, 2017, 114(8), 1837-1846), Jusiak (ACS Synth. Biol. 2019, 8, 16−24), Xu et al (BMC Biotechnology 2013, 13:87, 1-17) as applied above for claim 1 and further in view of Schillit et al (Curr Protoc Hum Genet. 2017 91: 15.10.1–40).
The teaching of Padidam, Inniss, Jusiak haven been described above and relied in same manner here. The combination of references differs from claimed invention by not disclosing a mouse or mouse embryo whose genome comprises a first and a second Bxb1 attachment sites or are within a safe harbor locus.
Schillit teaches transgenesis using mice comprising attP sites and attB sites recognized by the serine integrase that are routinely used to insert donor plasmid through PhiC31-integrase using CRISPR/Cas mediated integration into a Rosa26 locus (see figure 15.10.1, Table 15.10.1; 15010.3 and figures) (limitation of claims 60, 62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the mouse of Padidam to insert donor nucleic acid that is flanked by attp/attb Bxb1 attachment sites using serine-integrase using CRISPR/Cas mediated integration into a Rosa26 locus as disclosed in Schillit and Inniss/ Jusiak, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve the serine integrase system efficiency in a mouse and/or mouse embryo, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the instant application. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated select Bxb1 attachment sites over other as prior art recognized that Bxb1 integrase yielded more recombinants and displayed less damage to the recombination sites as compared to other serine integrase including φC31 integrase (see Xu). Further, prior art also recognized the advantage of inserting donor nucleic acid that is flanked by recombination attachment sites within Rosa26 locus because such would exhibit ubiquitous and high expression that is consistent between transgenic littermates and from generation to generation. Further, prior art also recognized the advantage of altering the GT dinucleotide in the center of the bxb1 attachment site with a GA mutant that is orthogonal to the wild-type GT sequence to construct the Bxbl RMCE system to prevent integration of the plasmid backbone into the landing pad as GT and GA are orthogonal. Absent evidence of any unexpected and/or superior results, one of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in using Bxb1 attachment site because prior art successfully reported inserting a first Bxb1 attachment site and a second Bxb1 attachment to insert gene of interest using CRISPR/Cas9 mediated homologous recombination as evident from the teaching of Inniss. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396).
Response to arguments
Applicant disagrees with the rejection arguing that the at most, a qualitative teaching that an orthogonal GT-to-GA substitution can be made in a Bxb1 attachment site, characterized exclusively in Chinese hamster ovary ("CHO") cells used for biopharmaceutical cell-line development. As Applicant has previously noted, Padidam, Inniss, and Xu each rely on bulk in vitro cell editing and antibiotic selection to enrich for correctly-edited clones (see, e.g., Inniss, p. 1843, left column; Padidam ][q[0216], [0242]; Xu, pp. 15-16, bridging paragraph), a process incompatible with editing single-cell mouse embryos. Indeed, Inniss reports that control pools lacking both recombinase and negative selection were "over 99% EGFP positive, indicating off-target integration of the targeting vectors and demonstrating the importance of including negative selection to eliminate off-target events." Inniss, p. 1843. The very high-fidelity result the Examiner relies upon to motivate the claimed combination is therefore itself a product of a selection step that is unavailable in, and incompatible with, the one-cell mouse embryo recited in claims 8, 9, 12, 14, and 61. A POSA reading Inniss and Jusiak would understand the reported efficiency and fidelity advantages of the Bxb1 wild-type/GA-mutant pairing as properties of a stably-transfected, clonally- selected, cultured cell line, not as properties independent of that experimental system. Generating a mouse embryo by microinjection affords no opportunity for clonal selection. Such generation must preserve embryo viability and is typically undertaken with the goal of germline transmission of the modification. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicants have further engaged in selective reading of the teachings of Padidam Inniss, and Xu to formulate the grounds for not teaching or teaching away. It should be noted that the ultimate goal of using a Bxb1 “landing pad” in a safe harbor locus, then use Bxb1 integrase to swap in a donor transgene carrying cognate Bxb1 attachment sites or use two heterologous attachment sites that could be used such that the donor backbone is excluded from the final integration product.
In this context, as previously indicated, Jusiak also describes that targeted integration allows the user to insert the transgene or genetic circuit into a locus that favors stable, long-term expression, such as the Rosa26 locus in mice (col. 1, para. 1of the introduction, page 16). It is further disclosed that transgene integration into a chromosomal locus of interest can be achieved by using serine integrases. Jusiak reported mutating the central dinucleotide of Bxb1 target sites from GT to GA nearly doubles integration efficiency at the LP locus we tested, resulting in the highest integration efficiency reported for a site-specific integrase in mammalian cells (see page 18, col. 1, para. 2). Among the base sequences of Bxb1-GA-pENTR-attB-top described in Table 1 (see sequence alignment). Bxb1-GA-Rosa-attP comprising nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7 set forth in Table 1.
Bxb1-GA-pENTRattB-bottom comprising nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8 set forth in table 1.
Jusiak concludes that the identified Bxb1- GA as the most efficient site-specific integration system reported in mammalian cells to date and show that Bxb1- GA point mutant sites are orthogonal to wild-type Bxb1 sites, enabling them to be used in applications such as Bxb1-based RMCE (see page 21, col. 2, para. 1).
In response to applicant’s argument of advantages of the Bxb1 wild-type/GA-mutant pairing in a cultured cell line is not predictive of generating a mouse embryo, it should be noted that prior art of Jusiak concluded that the GT and GA sites do not cross-react and are sorthogonal
To the extent that Jusiak describes the point mutation (Bxb1-GA) in Bxb1 target sites significantly increases Bxb1-mediated integration efficiency at the Rosa26 locus, the rejection is applicable to the instant case. The art further exemplified this allows RCME using dual heterologous landing pads (attP-GT and attP-GA). The donor plasmid carrying matching attB-GT and attB-GA sites inserts in a single, predictable orientation in cell lime. There is no expectation that an embryo machinery could invert, mis integrate the transgene thereby ensuring extending the finding in vitro results in vivo. Further, given that art teaches a cell line showing single-copy stability under this WT/GA orthogonal pairing, the microinjected embryo would predictably yield an identical single-copy animal. Applicants should note that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success, i.e., a reasonable expectation of obtaining similar properties. See, e.g., In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681. In view of foregoing, it is apparent that, one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to integrate large piece of DNA with high efficiency and excluding plasmid backbone into the landing pad would be motivated use Bxbl attachment site and can reasonably be expected to improve insertion efficiency and accuracy in mouse embryos, with reasonable expectation of success, particularly since prior art teaches mice with multiple attP sites in tandem.
In response to applicant’s argument that the instant application provides evidence of the surprising efficiency of the two landing pads system, it should be noted that Inniss/ Jusiak both teaches the use of heterologous Bxb1 attachment sites to integrate a transgene in CHO cells (see pages 1837 and 1838, figures 1 and Jusiak see above) and shows the superior results with Bxb1 attachment site. Inniss teaches use of wild-type GT sequences in the RMCE landing pad and the corresponding donor DNA, respectively, paired with the GA mutant, that would inherently avoid integration of the plasmid backbone into the landing pad since GT and GA are orthogonal. Jusiak who reported a point mutation (Bxb1-GA) in Bxb1 target sites significantly increases Bxb1-mediated integration efficiency at the Rosa26 locus in cells, resulting in the highest integration efficiency reported with a site-specific integrase in mammalian cells . It is further disclosed that Bxb1-GA point mutant sites do not cross react with Bxb1 wild-type sites, enabling their use in applications that require orthogonal pairs of target sites.
In view of foregoing, the relevance of Applicants' arguments with respect to superiority of using two sites over one site is not apparent. Further, unexpected results have to be commensurate with the scope of the invention. "Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980)." The claimed mouse or embryo merely recite a genotype that is obvious over combination of prior. There is no specific phenotype required by the claims.
On pages 7-8 of the applicant’s argument, applicants assert that Tasic employs identical cognate sites on the donor plasmid and identical attachment sites in the genome, such that cassette exchange results in either integration of the transgene of interest or integration of the bacterial backbone. As a result, only half of the insertion events contain the desired sequence, while the remaining half incorporate plasmid backbone. Accordingly, the high editing efficiency achieved by the claimed mouse or mouse embryo, without incorporation of vector backbone sequences, could not have been predicted based on Tasic. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicants have further engaged in selective reading of the teachings of Tasic to formulate the grounds for teaching away. In the instant case, Tasic teaches the use of multiple sites and suggests the use of noncompatible pairs of attB and attP sites to control for the direction of insertion. Schillit discloses a landing pad comprising JT15 and Lox2272 sites for integration of a transgene within the Rosa26 locus (see figure 15.10.1). Thus, the concept of using two sites over one site is already taught in Schillit and cannot be regarded as unexpected superior results. Further, Innis teaches that Bxb1 has improved efficiency and fidelity. Inniss explicitly states that the Bxbl RMCE system is specific and highly efficient. The teaching of Inniss is further supported by Jusiak who reported a point mutation (Bxb1-GA) in Bxb1 target sites significantly increases Bxb1-mediated integration efficiency at the Rosa26 locus in Chinese hamster ovary cells, resulting in the highest integration efficiency reported with a site-specific integrase in mammalian cells. To the extent that Inniss/ Jusiak describes the point mutation (Bxb1-GA) in Bxb1 target sites significantly increases Bxb1-mediated integration efficiency at the Rosa26 locus, the rejection is applicable to the instant case. Therefore, one of ordinary skills in the art would combine the teaching of Schillit with Innis to arrive at claimed mouse or embryo. Inniss confirms the higher performance of Bxb1 over commonly used RMCE system. Inniss teaches use of wild-type GT sequences in the RMCE landing pad and the corresponding donor DNA, respectively, paired with the GA mutant, that would inherently avoid integration of the plasmid backbone into the landing pad since GT and GA are orthogonal. Thus, the skilled person would be aware of the improved efficiency of Bxb1 and of the possible drawback when using CHO cells would foresee advantages of two sites and Bxb1 when using cells other than CHO by selecting most efficient recombinase, with reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, in view of the fact patterns of the instant case, and the ground of rejection outlined by the examiner, applicants’ arguments are not compelling and do not overcome the rejection of record.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-written description
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 59-63 and 64 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Applicants’ amendments to the claim incorporating the limitation of claim 4 obviates the basis of the rejection. Applicants’ arguments with respect to the withdrawn rejections are thereby rendered moot.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Duportet et al (Nucleic Acids Research, 2014, 42, , 13440=13451) teaches specificity of BxB1 mediated integration (S10).
Luo et al (US 20120124686) teaches introducing a site-specific recombinase and a targeting construct, containing a first recombination site and the polynucleotide sequence of interest, into the mammalian cell. The genome of the cell contains a second recombination site and recombination between the first and second recombination sites is facilitated by the site-specific, uni-directional recombinase. The result of the recombination is site-specific integration of the polynucleotide sequence of interest in the genome of the mammal. This inserted sequence is then also transmitted to the progeny of the mammal.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANOOP K SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632