DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 3-6, 11-12, 15, and 23-27 are canceled.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 13-14, and 16-22 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 and 2 in the reply filed on November 14, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-10, 13-14, and 16-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(Previous rejection, maintained) Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UniProt sequence (Database entry ID: K9TJJ9_9CYAN; release 2013_03/2013_03; 06-Mar-2013) hereinafter referred to as R1 as evidenced by Woo et al. (KR101971481B1; published April 23, 2019).
R1 teaches a lipoxygenase (Oscillatoria acuminata PCC 6304) that shares 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 of claim 1. Given that the sequence of the lipoxygenase (Oscillatoria acuminata PCC 6304) is identical with SEQ ID NO: 1, it would be inherent for both to share the same biochemical and substrate activity for docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) as evidenced by Woo et al. who teach a lipoxygenase (Volvox carteri) that processes docosahexaenoic acid into a di-hydroxy derivative of DHA (Paragraph 0008, pg. 4 of the translated patent application publication).
Therefore, claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UniProt sequence (Database entry ID: K9TJJ9_9CYAN; release 2013_03/2013_03; 06-Mar-2013) hereinafter referred to as R1 as evidenced by Woo et al. (KR101971481B1; published April 23, 2019).
(Previous rejection, maintained) Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UniProt sequence (Database entry ID: K9VMV7_9CYAN; release 2013_03/2013_03; 06-Mar-2013) hereinafter referred to as R2 as evidenced by Woo et al. (KR101971481B1; published April 23, 2019).
R2 teaches an arachidonate 15-lipoxygenase (Oscillatoria nigro-viridis PCC 7112) that shares 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 of claim 1. Given that the sequence of the arachidonate 15-lipoxygenase (Oscillatoria nigro-viridis PCC 7112) is identical with SEQ ID NO: 2, it would be inherent for both to share the same biochemical and substrate activity for docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) as evidenced by Woo et al. who teach a lipoxygenase (Volvox carteri) that processes docosahexaenoic acid into a di-hydroxy derivative of DHA (Paragraph 0008, pg. 4 of the translated patent application publication).
Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by UniProt sequence (Database entry ID: K9VMV7_9CYAN; release 2013_03/2013_03; 06-Mar-2013) as evidenced by Woo et al. (KR101971481B1; published April 23, 2019).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the amended claim is directed toward the improvement of skin condition and that the reference of Woo does not disclose the use of the mono-hydroxy or the di-hydroxyl derivatives having any effect of improving skin conditions and thus amended claim 1 is not anticipated by Woo (see pg. 7).
The Examiner does not find this persuasive as the claim recitation of “wherein the mono-hydroxy derivative or the di-hydroxy derivative of the polyunsaturated fatty acid improves skin condition” is an intended use of the composition of claim 1 and does not hold patentable weight (see MPEP section 2111.02).
Thus, the rejection is maintained for the reasons previously made of record and for those reasons repeated herein.
Double Patenting
(previous rejection, maintained) Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12291736B2 to Seo et al., hereinafter referred to as ‘736. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Pending claim 1 is drawn to an enzyme for producing mono- or di-hydroxy derivatives of polyunsaturated fatty acids having an amino acid sequence having at least 90% homology with an amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2.
Patented claim 1 of ‘736 is drawn to an enzyme for producing di-hydroxy derivatives of polyunsaturated fatty acids, having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 shares 99.9% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 of instant pending claim 1).
Thus, a comparison of claim 1 of ‘736 and instant pending claim 1 shows that the ‘736 claim 1 is encompassed by and anticipates instant pending claim 1.
(previous rejection, maintained) Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12291736B2 to Seo et al. hereinafter referred to as ‘736. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Pending claim 2 is drawn to the enzyme of instant pending claim 1, wherein the polyunsaturated fatty acid is docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) or eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA).
Patented claim 2 of ‘736 is drawn to the enzyme (of claim 1) for producing the di-hydroxy derivatives of polyunsaturated fatty acids of the enzyme for producing the di-hydroxy derivatives of polyunsaturated fatty acids of wherein a substrate of the enzyme is docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) or eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA).
Thus, a comparison of claim 2 of ‘736 and instant pending claim 2 shows that the ‘736 claim 2 is encompassed by and anticipates instant pending claim 2.
(previous rejection, maintained) Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 19/080,532 (Seo et al.). hereinafter referred to as ‘532. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Pending claim 1 is drawn to an enzyme for producing mono- or di-hydroxy derivatives of polyunsaturated fatty acids having an amino acid sequence having at least 90% homology with an amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2.
Pending claim 2 is drawn to the enzyme of pending claim 1, wherein the polyunsaturated fatty acid is docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) or eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA).
Copending claim 2 of ‘532 is drawn to a method for producing the compound of claim 1, comprising reacting the enzyme having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 with docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). The amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 shares 99.9% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 of instant pending claim 1.
Thus, a comparison of claim 2 of copending ‘532 and instant pending claims 1 and 2 shows that the copending ‘532 claim 2 is encompassed by and anticipates instant pending claims 1 and 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that patented claims 1 and 2 of ‘736 and co-pending claims 1 and 2 of ‘532 do not disclose or teach that the mono-hydroxy derivatives or di-hydroxy derivatives of the polyunsaturated fatty acid improves skin conditions as recited by amended claim 1 of the current instant application (see pg. 9-10).
The Examiner does not find this persuasive as the claim recitation of “wherein the mono-hydroxy derivative or the di-hydroxy derivative of the polyunsaturated fatty acid improves skin condition” is an intended use of the composition of claim 1 and does not hold patentable weight (see MPEP section 2111.02).
Thus, the rejection is maintained for the reasons previously made of record and for those reasons repeated herein.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE THEMISTOCLIS LOUNTOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1652
/ROBERT B MONDESI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1652