DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 58-59 are directed to an invention that lacks unity with the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The groups of inventions, Group I, claims 36, 44-48, and 56-57 and Group IV, claims 58-59 lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of an aerosolizable material comprising at least one cannabinoid and at least one carrier constituent, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Naheed (US-20170021025-A1).
Naheed directed to a medication dispensing system, discloses a pharmaceutical formulation that can be used for vaporization (i.e., aerosolizable material) ([0077]) comprising a cannabinoid ([0079]-[0083]) and plasticizers including but not limited to triethyl citrate (i.e., carrier constituent) ([0335]).
Since the “special technical feature” linking Groups I-IV is disclosed by Naheed, the “special technical feature” lacks novelty or inventive step and does not make a contribution over the prior art. Therefore, no single general inventive concept exists and restriction is appropriate.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 58-59 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Amendment
The office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 05/14/2026.
Claims 36, 44-54, and 56-59 are pending and are subject to this Office Action.
Claims 36 and 45 are amended.
Claims 1-35, 37-43, and 55 are cancelled.
Claims 56-59 are new.
Claims 49-54 and 58-59 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected group.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection has been withdrawn due to amendments made to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed 05/14/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 36-48 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The arguments regarding the rejection of claim 36 are persuasive because the Applicant has amended claim 36 to include limitations that were not previously presented. Specifically, the Applicant has introduced limitations regarding the carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
The following is modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Double Patenting
Rejection #1
Claims 36, 44-45, and 47-48 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim1, 21-22, and 27-28 of U.S. Application No. 17/754,672. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite an article for use with an aerosol provision system in addition to the aerosolizable material, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claim 1.
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 21.
Claim 45 is obvious over claim 22.
Claim 47 is obvious over claim 27.
Claim 48 is obvious over claim 28.
Rejection #2
Claims 36, 44-45, and 47-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35-36, 42, and 46-47 of U.S. Application No. 17/767,731. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite at least 55% of the cannabidiol is present in the form of (+)(-) which is not required but the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claims 35-36.
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 35.
Claim 45 is obvious over claim 42.
Claim 47 is obvious over claim 46.
Claim 48 is obvious over claim 47.
Rejection #3
Claims 36, 44, and 46-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 36, 44, 47-48 and 60 of U.S. Application No. 17/767,738. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite additional constituents such as propylene glycol which is not required by the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claims 36 and 60.
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 36.
Claim 46 is obvious over claim 44.
Claim 47 is obvious over claim 47.
Claim 48 is obvious over claim 48.
Rejection #4
Claims 35-36, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16-18 and 24 of U.S. Application No. 18/728,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite additional constituents such as propylene glycol which is not required by the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claims 35-36 are obvious over claims 1 and 25.
Claim 44 is obvious over claims 16-18.
Rejection #5
Claims 36 and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12-13 and 22 of U.S. Application No. 18/580,835. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite additional constituents such as a gelling agent which is not required by the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claims 1 and 12-13
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 22.
Rejection #6
Claims 36 and 44-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34, 36, and 42-47 of U.S. Patent No. 17/767,724. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite additional constituents such as propylene glycol and water which are not required by the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claims 34, 36, and 47.
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 42.
Claim 45 is obvious over claim 43.
Claim 46 is obvious over claim 44.
Claim 47 is obvious over claim 45.
Claim 48 is obvious over claim 46.
Rejection #7
Claims 36 and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and 13-14 of U.S. Application No. 18/579,670. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite additional constituents such as a gelling agent which is not required by the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claims 1, 11, and 13-14.
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 14.
Rejection #8
Claims 36, 44-45, and 57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 16-18, 20, and 23 of U.S. Application No. 19/103,089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to aerosolizable material comprising a cannabinoid such as cannabidiol and a carrier constituent comprising triethyl citrate.
The rejected claims differ from the conflicting claims in that the conflicting claims recite additional constituents such as propylene glycol and water which are not required by the rejected claims, however the rejected claims are present in their entirety in the conflicting claims and therefore all elements of the rejected claims are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Claim 36 is obvious over claims 1, 9, 16, and 20.
Claim 44 is obvious over claim 17.
Claim 45 is obvious over claim 18.
Claim 57 is obvious over claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 36, 44, 47-48, and 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Naheed (US-20170021025-A1).
In regards to claim 36, Naheed directed to a medication dispensing system, discloses a pharmaceutical formulation that can be used for vaporization (i.e., aerosolizable material) ([0077]) comprising a cannabinoid ([0079]-[0083]) and plasticizers including but not limited to triethyl citrate (i.e., carrier constituent) ([0335]).
In regards to claim 44, Naheed discloses the cannabinoid can be cannabidiol (CBD) ([0021]; [0082]; [0085]).
In regards to claims 47-48, Naheed discloses the aerosolizable material further comprises gelling agents, aerosol former materials, flavors (i.e., olfactory active constituent), solvents, or fillers (i.e., further constituents) ([0051]).
Naheed further discloses the aerosolizable material can comprise terpenes, alkaloids and flavonoids (i.e., olfactory active constituents) ([0079]).
In regards to claim 56, Naheed discloses the flavor in the aerosolizable material (i.e., flavor block) can be at least 1 weight percent which is within the claimed range of a flavor block from 1 to 10 weight percent ([0139]).
In regards to claim 57, Naheed discloses the flavor compound can include extracts from cannabis ([0146]), which include terpenes ([0079]-[0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naheed (US-20170021025-A1) as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Whittle et al. (US-20190270563-A1).
In regards to claim 45, Naheed discloses a weight percentage of the cannabinoid ([0026];[0127]-[0132]) and that cannabinoids are effective in pain relief and curing types of cancer ([0014]), but is silent regarding the amount of cannabinoid present in the aerosolizable material and therefore does not explicitly disclose 5 mgt/mL to 100 mg/mL. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the amount of cannabinoid since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed cannabinoid amount is critical and has unexpected results. In the present invention, one would have been motivated to optimize the amount of cannabinoid present in the aerosolizable material motivated by the desire to have a desirable amount present in order to effectively provide pain relief ([0014]).
Alternatively, Whittle, directed to a pharmaceutical composition that can be used in aerosols (i.e., aerosolizable material) (abstract; [0007]), discloses a standard dose of THC (i.e., cannabinoid) to meet clinical needs in aerosol formulations would be up to 50 mg cannabinoids per mL ([0008]).
Whittle further discloses a typical liquid pharmaceutical formulation is preferably 25 mg/mL ([0017]-[0018]).
Whittle further discloses 50 mg/mL of cannabinoids is a therapeutically desirable level of cannabinoids ([0116]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Naheed by making the aerosolizable formulation comprise cannabinoids in a range of 5 to 100 mg/ml, as taught by Whittle, because both are directed to aerosolizable formulations, Whittle teaches a standard aerosolizable formulation comprises up to 50 mg/ml of cannabinoids which is a therapeutically desirable amount ([0116]), it would be obvious to look to a similar reference for a known amount of cannabinoids when the prior art is silent to one, and this merely involves applying a known amount of cannabinoid to a similar composition to yield predictable results.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naheed (US-20170021025-A1) as applied to claim 36 above.
In regards to claim 46, Naheed discloses the aerosolizable material can be a liquid ([0077]) and further discloses the carriers are liquids ([0085]). Since Naheed discloses embodiments with a liquid formulation, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the formulation would be a liquid at 25C, which is approximately room temperature and is the expected temperature of a room where an aerosol device is operated.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADELEINE P DELACRUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755