Claims 1-35 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ drawings and preliminary amendment filed April 8, 2022 have been received and entered.
Applicants’ election filed December 15, 2025 in response to the restriction requirement of October 17, 2025 has been received and entered. The applicants elected the invention described in claims 27-29 (Group V) without traverse.
Claims 1-26 and 30-35 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to the non-elected invention (37 CFR 1.142(b)).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 is rendered indefinite by the phrase, “pretreating sodium lauryl sulfate” and the phrase, “an accelerate condition”. What is this “accelerated condition”? What caused this “accelerated condition”?
Claim 28 is rendered indefinite to the extent that it incorporates the above terminology.
Claims 27 and 28 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohira et al. (US 2003/0161873 A1).
Tomohira et al. teach a method of stabilizing a pharmaceutical preparation containing a pharmacological substance (a pharmaceutical formulation) and sodium lauryl sulfate (see page 4, claim 1). Note sodium lauryl sulfate that is commercially available and generally distributed may or may not contain impurities (or may contain very few impurities or produce impurities that are formed a slow rate), depending on the lot, and it is clear before the filing date of the present invention.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach impurities detection on sodium lauryl sulfate or a pharmaceutical formulation the contains sodium lauryl sulfate after a pretreatment under accelerated aging conditions. Regarding this matter, in the technical field of pharmaceutical formulations and compositions, performing a stability test is common practice for persons skilled in the art, and testing of stability using a hot acceleration aging test was a well-known feature before the priority date of the present application.
Claim 27 is not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 and 29 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraki et al. (US 2017/0217927 A1) in view of Nakagaki et al., “Acid-Catalyzed Hydrolysis of Sodium Dodecyl Sulfate”, Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Vol. 74, No. 10, pages 1047-1052 (1985).
Shiraki et al. teach the compound represented by formula (I) of the present application as alectinib, and in TABLE 4 (page 7) teaches sodium lauryl sulfate.
Note sodium lauryl sulfate that is commercially available and generally distributed may or may not contain impurities (or may contain very few impurities or produce impurities that are formed a slow rate), depending on the lot, and it is clear before the filing date of the present invention.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach impurities detection on sodium lauryl sulfate or a pharmaceutical formulation the contains sodium lauryl sulfate after a pretreatment under accelerated aging conditions. Regarding this matter, in the technical field of pharmaceutical formulations and compositions, performing a stability test is common practice for persons skilled in the art, and testing of stability using a hot acceleration aging test was a well-known feature before the priority date of the present application. A person skilled in the art could easily: perform accelerated aging tests on the pharmaceutical formulation containing sodium lauryl sulfate to detect impurities resulting from the degradation of sodium lauryl sulfate; perform accelerated aging tests on the sodium lauryl sulfate itself to detect impurities; and optimize the conditions of the accelerated aging tests using the formation of impurities as an indicator, etc.
Note Nakagaki et al. teach the degradation of sodium dodecyl sulfate (also known as sodium lauryl sulfate) produces dodecanol and hydrogen sulfate ions and that during the process that sodium lauryl sulfate and dodecanol combine to form a complex. Clearly, a person skilled in the art could predict the effect that the amount of alectinib dissolving from the formulation will decrease as the detected amount of dodecanol increases.
Claims 28 and 29 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629