Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 14/30/2026. Claims 1 – 2 are amended. Claims 1 – 9 are pending in the current Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takase (JP2012248512A, Machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, Takase discloses a wiring module (Fig. 2, 12; [0017]) to be attached to a plurality of power storage devices arranged in an arrangement direction (Figs. 1 – 3; [0018 – 0020]), the wiring module comprising an insulating protector, that is Takase teaches a connecting housing member 16 that reads on the claimed insulating protector because it is a structure that houses the flexible printed wiring board of the wiring module {i.e. strip-shaped flexible flat cable 43} and is formed of a synthetic resin which is a material that one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to inherently and necessarily be insulating {Examiner note: In [0051] of the instant specification, applicant also teaches the protector being formed from a synthetic resin} (Figs. 1 and 5, [0020];[0022]); and a flexible printed wiring board disposed in the protector (strip-shaped flexible flat cable “FFC” 43; Figs. 5 – 7 and 13; [0020];[0022];[0026]), wherein the protector has a shape extending in the arrangement direction (Refer to how connecting housing member 16 has elongated rectangular shape that allows it to extend along the battery stack in Figs. 1 and 13), the flexible printed wiring board includes a main body part (Refer to corresponding main body part shown in annotated Fig. 7 below) extending in the arrangement director (Refer to elongated rectangular shape of the corresponding main body part of FFC 43 in annotated Fig. 7 and Fig. 13) and disposed in the protector (Figs. 6 and 13; [0026]), and an extension piece extending from the main body (separation section 42; Fig. 7; [0043]).
Annotated Fig. 7 showing main body part of Takase’s corresponding flexible printed wiring board.
Based on the embodiment of the FFC in Fig. 7, Takase further appears to disclose wherein the extension piece having a portion that is curved and the extension piece is inverted by the curved portion, that is in Fig. 7, separation section 42 is shown to be folded over in a manner that forms a curve and inverts the extension piece ([0041]).
The FFC in Takase is housed in connecting member housing 16, more specifically, positioning holes 41 are formed in the FFC and the holes are fitted onto the positioning projections 26A of the mounting part 26 of the connecting member housing to mount the FCC in the housing; and the hinge portion 32 of the housing allows cover 30 to be pulled over the FFC and held in a closed state by locking cover holes 22 (Figs. 5 – 7; [0025 – 0026];[0045]). Therefore by including cover 30, Takase’s protector {i.e. connecting member housing 16} necessarily further includes a structure corresponding to the claimed locking part that overlaps a planar top surface of the protector (Refer to Figs. 5 – 6 And 12; [0025 – 0025]) to define a space between the planar top surface of the protector and an opposing surface of the locking part (Refer to space between underside of cover and the top of mounting part 26, which is a planar top surface of Takase’s corresponding protector).
In Figs. 11 – 13, the portion of the separation section 42 {i.e. corresponds claimed extension piece} that does not include temperature sensor 33 is shown outside cover 30, and the remainder of the separation section appears to be covered by cover 30; therefore, Takase appears to further disclose the claimed structure of wherein a portion of the extension piece is positioned within the space (Refer to space between underside of cover and the top of mounting part 26, which is a planar top surface of Takase’s corresponding protector).
The covered portion of the the FFC , based on the configuration of the separation section 42 shown in Fig. 7 and Figs. 11 – 13, appears to include the folded portion of the separation section 42, as such, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the cover of Takase to necessarily/inherently prevent the curved portion of the FFC from deforming back to an original shape thereof. That is the limitation “thereby preventing the curved portion from deforming back to an original shape thereof” establishes an intended use/inherent function of the locking part, and regarding production and apparatus claims when the structure of recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties/functions are presumed to be inherent. As such, because Takase discloses all the structural limitations of claim 1, and further appears to include at least a portion of the folded part of the FFC in the space between the cover 30 and the mounting portion 26 of the connecting housing member, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the cover 30 of Takase’s connecting housing member to be capable of the claimed function. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that it is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114).
Annotated Fig. 7 showing corresponding proximal end portion in Takase.
Regarding Claim 4, Takase discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takase further discloses wherein the extension piece and main body part are coupled to each other via a proximal end portion (Refer to proximal end portion shown in annotated Fig. 7 above), and the main body portion includes a cut-out portion extending from the proximal end portion in the arrangement direction and from which the extension piece is cut out (Refer to cut-out portion shown in annotated Fig. 7 below; [0043]).
Annotated Fig. 7 showing corresponding cut-out portion in Takase.
Regarding Claim 5, Takase discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takase further discloses wherein the extension piece extends outward relative to the contour of the main body part (Refer to how separation section 42 of the FCC is folded in a direction that is outward relative to the main body of the FCC in Fig. 7 and [0041];[0043]).
Regarding Claim 6, Takase discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takase further discloses wherein a detection unit that detects temperature of at least one of the plurality of power storage devices is connected to a distal end portion of the extension piece (Fig. 7, 33; [0043];[0062]), and the distal end portion of the extension piece is pressed against the at least one of the plurality of power storage devices, that the pressure sensor, which is necessarily part of the distal end portion of FCC by being soldered/resin-molded together to said end portion ([0043]), is pressed against the top of the cells by the locking structure of the temperature sensor insertion portion 35 of the connecting housing member (Figs. 10 – 11; [0037];[0050]).
Regarding Claim 9, Takase discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takase further discloses wherein the wiring module is a vehicle wiring module that is to be used mounted in a vehicle ([0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase (JP2012248512A) in view of Takase (JP2013097894A, cited in previous Office action mailed 10/30/2025), hereinafter Takase II.
Regarding Claims 7 – 8, Takase discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takase further teaches the FCC including conductor sections/portions and further having such section/portions connected to electrodes of the temperature sensor by soldering or the like ([0039];[0042];[0045]). The conductor sections/portions are also taught to function as detection lines ([0039]). As such, Takase appears to at least suggest including conductive paths on the FCC that are connected to the sensor {i.e. temperature sensor 33}.
Takase does not explicitly/particularly disclose; however, wherein the flexible printed wiring board has a first surface on which a conductive path is formed, and a second surface on which the conductive path is not formed, and the sensor is connected to the conductive path on the first surface of the extension piece (Claim 7) or wherein the second surface of the distal end portion of the extension piece is pressed against power storage device (Claim 8).
Takase II teaches a wiring module for a plurality of stacked prismatic battery cells and further teaches the wiring module having an insulating protector including a locking structure that allows an extending piece of the wiring module’s flexible printed wiring board to be pressed against the battery cells for temperature sensing with a thermistor (Figs. 1 and 23 – 24; [25 – 28];[81 – 82]). Takase further teaches forming the FPC such that a conductive path 18 is included on the back surface or on both the back and front surface the strips making up the FPC and that thermistor, which is in direct contact with battery cell and included on the extension piece of the FPC, transmits a temperature detection signal to the CPU via the conductive paths included on the FPC ([0029 – 0031]). Takase further teaches that it is undesirable to apply excessive force to the FPC because excessive force can break the conductive paths included on the FPC ([5]).
Since, Takase also teaches a wiring module configuration in which a temperature sensor connected to an end of an extending piece of a printed wiring board (Takase: Figs. 7 and 11), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the FCC of Takase with a first surface including conductive paths and a second surface without conductive paths, as taught by Takase II, and particularly not include the paths on the surface of the FCC that is pressed against the cells, and thus obtain the claimed structure, with a reasonable expectation of success in avoiding breakage of the conductive path due to any pressing force applied on the separation section of the FCC and obtaining the desired temperature sensing capability of the wiring module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 3 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 would be allowable for requiring the following structure: “wherein the planar surface of the protector includes a placement part on which the main body part is disposed, the locking part protrudes, from a distal end of a column part protruding from the placement part, in a direction intersecting a direction in which the column part extends, and the locking part locks to the extension piece from a side opposite to the placement part”.
As established above, Takase discloses all limitation of claim 1. Particularly, Takase teaches a cover 30 that reads on the claimed locking part, because it holds/sandwiches the folded portion of the extension piece {i.e. separation section 42} of the flexible circuit board {i.e. FCC 43} between itself and a planar top surface of the protector {i.e. mounting portion 26 of connecting housing member 16} (Refer to claim 1 rejection above).
The cited prior art however, does not explicitly teach/suggest the structure require by claim 2, specifically the corresponding locking part structure of Takase does not include the claimed structure of “a distal end of a column part protruding from the placement part, in a direction intersecting a direction in which the column part extends, and the locking part locks to the extension piece from a side opposite to the placement part”. Instead, Takase teaches using projections 23 on the cover that engage with edges of a cover locking hole 22 provided on a side wall of the partition walls of the connecting member housing sections 18 of the connecting housing member to lock the cover (Figs. 5 – 6; [0044];[0046]). As such, the prior art does not anticipate/render obvious the structure of claim 2 or require the structure of claim 2 to achieve locking its cover 30 which, as established above, corresponds to the claimed locking part.
Additional prior art found to be relevant to the claimed structure include:
Zeng (US PG Pub. 201/90081311 A1, cited in prior Office action mailed 11/07/2024) teaches a battery connection module with a tray and a circuit unit that comprises a flexible circuit piece and connector (Figs. 1 – 2; [0086 – 0087]). The flexible circuit has an extension piece with a bendable portion; however the bendable piece is held in a seat body that is included on a side edge of the tray with sideward openings included inside to position the bendable portions and connector included on the end of the extension piece (Figs. 3 – 4; [0087]), as such Zeng does not require the claimed locking structure of claim 1 {i.e. locking part that overlaps planar surface of the protector to define a space between the planar surface and opposing surface of the locking part and wherein a portion of the extension piece is positioned within the space} and further claim 2 {i.e. wherein the locking part protrudes, from a distal end of a column part protruding from the placement part, in a direction intersecting a direction in which the column part extends}.
Groshert (US PG Pub. 2017/0271642 A1) teaches a cell-contacting making system for an electrochemical device including a plurality of battery cells that includes a support element 102 and a flexible printed circuit 156 on the support element (Fig. 1; [0070 – 0071];[0133]). The flexible printed circuit has a plurality of pieces that extend from the main body {i.e. secondary portions} and further includes one portion that bends over an edge corner of the tray (Figs. 1 and 4; [0147];[0153 – 0154]). Groshert, however, does not teach/suggest using any specific structure to prevent the bent portion from reverting back into an unbent state.
Nicolas (FR2963988A1, cited in prior Office action mailed 11/07/2024) teaches a battery module with an insulating upper support plate that hold a circuit board; however, the circuit board does not include extension piece with a curved portion, and further, the locking structure of the support plate, while including a column part {i.e. screw}, functions to allow an electric contact element to be detachably removed and does not lock to an extension piece of the circuit board (Figs. 1 – 5; [0001];[0003]), and therefore does not provide the structure of claim 2.
Since none of the cited prior art above teach or explicitly disclose using a locking structure for an extension piece of a flexible circuit board that corresponds to/requires the locking structure configuration claimed in claim 2, no combination of the above cited prior art would anticipate/render obvious the limitation of claim 2. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to modify/have the locking structure as claimed in claim 2 to achieve the effect of holding an extension piece of a flexible printed wiring board while keeping the curved state of the curved portion of the extension piece, and thus improve manufacturing efficiency of the wiring module, as disclosed by the applicant in [0011 – 0013] and [0065 – 0066] of the instant specification.
Claim 3 would be allowable due to its dependency on claim 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/12/2026